paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Special Ops Paintball Dagger Vest / Special Ops Paintball Dagger Vest / Special Ops Paintball Dagger Vest / Special Ops Paintball Dagger Vest

Special Ops Paintball Dagger Vest Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Special Ops Paintball

Buy Special Ops Paintball Dagger Vest

Paintball Vests

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Special Ops Paintball Dagger Vest
[ View Photos (4) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 20
Average Rating: 9.3 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $120

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Featuring an ideal combination of a cool, lightweight harness/pod belt design with the maximum payload functionality of a scenario paintball vest, the Dagger is a true woodsball innovation. Comfortable, efficient, and durable, this woodsball vest gives you the feel of "packing light", yet offers all the storage capacity that's typically offered by large, heavy vests. The latest addition to the SpecOps line of position-specific vests, the Dagger is designed for light riflemen (Dagger position) who need to be mobile, but require moderate to substantial amounts of ammo.

The Dagger vest offers the following storage features:
Four 140-round Pod Holders with Optional +3 Pods
Horizontal Tank Pouch that allows you to place the bottle so your remote line runs from the left or the right side. (Holds up to 91 ci. bottle.)
Perfectly Positioned Universal Radio Pouch
Large Front Utility Pocket for Tools, Anti-fog Treatment, Marker Oil, etc.
Pocket (with Plastic Snap Buckle) for one "F-Bomb" (Fat Boy) Paint Grenade
Flip down ID Window with Clear Panel (Ideal for scenario play)
Built-in Hydration Pouch
One Size Fits All
High strength 1000D Cordura® pockets with strong Velcro® Sealing

The bulk of the vest's storage capacity rests slightly above the waist, suspended by two adjustable crossing straps and secured in front with a convenient, locking plastic buckle. This design leaves the front chest area open to give you a comfortable, cool option to wearing a full vest.

Featuring rip-stop fabric and durable Cordura®, (in several different camo patterns and colors), the Dagger is every bit as rugged as our other full paintball vests; but the Dagger occupies substantially less "surface area" on your body, allowing you to keep cool without sacrificing your payload.

The adjustable straps allow players of all sizes and shapes to wear this vest, and it can be comfortably adjusted so it remains securely in place and doesn't shift when you play.
Product Availability 
The Special Ops Paintball Dagger Vest is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (2):  1  |  2
        Next Page
SilverSoldier09 Saturday, August 11th, 2012
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Special Op Heavy Vest
RAP 4 Vest
Marker Setup: Tippmann X7 Phenom
Tech-T cyclone squishy paddles
Spyder Kingman remote line
J&J 14 inch barrel
Allen Paintball 450+ round hopper

Zero Kick Hammer
Rhythm Innovation Hardened Armature Pin
Palmers Persuit Shop QEV kit
Crossfire 4500/88ci tank
Strengths: -Comfort
-Holds 7 pods
-Great to wear in warm weather
Weaknesses: -Elastic bands wear off over time
Review: I was always a big fan of special ops paintball vests, my heavy rifleman vests was always reliable, but I wanted something I could wear during warm weather days and I could feel a tad more flexible in. Well after purchasing this I found that something. This vest is incredible, I felt so comfortable and felt like I could move faster even with having a 90ci air tank. The thing I like most is I don't feel like I get as hot in this vest as I get with my other tactical vests. The only flaw really to this vest is that the elastic bands wear off after a while of use, but I was taught a little trick on how to fix that. Get locking pins three or four down the back side of the elastic band. This way the band will not have as much slack and will be good as new.
Conclusion: If you're looking for a vest that is comfortable and you can feel like you can breathe a little easier in warm weather this is a vest you should definitely consider getting.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

serial killa Sunday, February 8th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
3 years
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Extreme Rage 4 pod velcro holder. Not comparible!
Marker Setup: I run an X7 with the E-trigger, remote co2, and a stiffi C-series 14" Blackcell barrel.
Strengths: Well made. Strong! Holds everything you need.
Weaknesses: None!!!
Review: I purchased this vest as soon as I saw it. I have loved it from day one. It is fully adjustable. It is very comfortable even when fully loaded and ready to go. The locations of all the pockets are perfect. The tank holding position is perfect as well. Makes you forget you even have a tank on your back. Holds plenty of paint, seven pods to be exact. That is almost 1000 paintballs!!
Conclusion: If you want a high quality woodsball vest this is the one. It holds everything perfectly. And it doesnt make you sweat during play. The best vest ever?? I would say so. Anybody who sees it on me wants one.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

ag09 Wednesday, May 7th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Spec Ops Recon 6
Various Packs
Marker Setup: A-5 with RT, stock, remote
Strengths: Lightweight
Cool
Able to carry a reasonable amount
Camelbak
Weaknesses: Price at times
Velcro can mess with the sewing
Horizontal tank w/ CO2
Review: Well, I wanted a vest for D-day 08, that could hold a camelbak, a decent amount of paint.
This is it, nice and cool, great harness, fits me pretty well, I'm about 6 ft and in decent shape, so you don't have to be fat to fit in this one. Velcro strap holds it in place. Water pouch works really well. I've found the grenade pouch to be great for holding mask cleaning stuff or rags if you don't do the nade thing.

My 1st gripe is the tank holder, which I've heard problems about with CO2. Horizontal wise, but I've got my 88/4500 now so I don't really care :)

2nd is that that velcro on the strap is very strong, which is great, but if the hooks hit other stuff, it can cause minor fraying. Grr.

Conclusion: Overall, a very good product. Happy I bought it. Very nice, light, carry what I need, and not the stuff that I don't.

I would buy this again.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

urbanswat12 Sunday, February 17th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
never really used a vest before
Marker Setup: vs1 w/qlock, Reloader II Empire, smart parts 16 inch all amarican barrel

tippman 98 w/ gravity fed hopper, Blackpoint Engineering 98 Combat Folding Stock, laser dot sight, and 16 inch Linear barrel

stock overlord rx
Strengths: 4 Pods
Great Digi Camo
Comfy
Hydration Pouch
Waist Belt
Detachable pockets and holders
Weaknesses: There is nothing wrong with the vest.
Review: I have gotten this for a gift on christmas because i was complaining that my ball harness was too small for me.

the first time i tryed it i noticed it was very light and flexible (that was with the 2 pods full of paint and the compress air tank).

It took some time getting used to and to figure out where everything was but after that 2 day learning period i figured everthing out.

after that it was the paridise

i ran up to a bunker and i murcyed a guy winning the game for are team
Conclusion: It is a very good vest and if you can buy it i would recommend it.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

KGknight Sunday, December 9th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
4 + 1
Marker Setup: tippmann 98 custom, j & j ceramic barrel, double trigger. running a crossfire tank
Strengths: Manueverability
storage
Weaknesses: I wish i could make the shoulder straps tighter
Review: I used this product for the first time at waynes grand finale. Prior to that i had put it on adjusted the straps to the right fit. I am very please with this vest and suprised at how well it stays secure while i am running. I through on my 68/4500 hpa tank and 4 150 rod pods and through out all my running around it barely moves if any. I crawled around, did sprints everything and the vest stays snug along with the tank and pods. it is also cooler IMO to other vests that have a tendency to trap your body heat which is great in the winter but here in florida (especially south) we really do not see too much of winter. there are loops on the shoulder straps that allow you to carry additional packs (sold seperately) It came standard with a radio pack and map pack on the shoulders. Near your waist there is a grenade pack and another pack for whatever you choose.
One thing that suprised me as well is that there is a velcro waist band in addition to the clip straps, which ensures that the vest is secure. the color i purchased it in was digi woodland and it looks great. THe only thing i will say is that if you are smaller or have a small body frame that the shoulder straps may not adjust tight enough for you. if you can try this vest on before purchasing i would recommend it just to guarantee that you can adjust it to your own personal likeness. other than that i would absolutely recommend this vest, i love it and plan on using it everytime i play.
Conclusion: If your looking for a vest to carry up to 7 140 pods, a large hpa tank and any other gear you can think of this it.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

CQB.Wardog Monday, September 17th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
2 years0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Flurry vest, more modular than this model
ICS Vests, much more restraining than this
Various pod belts in my lifetime
Marker Setup: Tippman A-5, Special Ops air thru stock setup with remote
Strengths: Secure, tight tolerances, durable materials, long lasting product
Weaknesses: The main front pockets are too small to hold much of anything
Review: I've been using this as my main pack for a year and change now, and I'm very happy with how well it's held up. Played everything from urban to speedball with it, and it works very well in all terrain.

My model is digital camouflage, which matches the SO Digi very well. Over the few years, the camo has not faded, even if the material has taken more than a few scrapes.

I like the placement of the pods on the back, and I often don't fill all the way for shorter games. I've never used the +1 straps, never needed to carry more than 4 pods at a time. I use the horizontal tank all the time, which balances a lot nicer than a vertical tank. The only problem is you have to secure the tank straps, then the velcro. Otherwise, the horizontal tank straps come loose and the tank can get loose.

The grenade pocket and the front main pocket are the weak points, as they're almost completely useless. The pockets are either too open to secure anything, or too small to hold anything of value. I've taken to keeping cash in the ID pocket, as it won't get lost in there. However, the hydration pocket is a life saver in hot day games, and I've abused that feature many times in the past.

It's also not a full vest, so you can't carry all the things you'd need for long periods of play. I like to carry some emergency energy bars on the field when I can, and you simply can't in this vest. But it makes up for that by being ergonomic. Unlike a vest, you have a lot of range of motion in this, and that makes it easier to maneuver. It's not unlike wearing a normal pod pack, but with a few bonus features.

I also like how the dagger vest folds down nice for storage. A lot easier to transport than my vests, even with pods in them.
Conclusion: This product isn't for everyone. If you don't need the tank holder or the grenade pockets, don't bother with this one. But for scenarios, this vest does hold all the essentials. Unfortunately, it's not a true vest so it won't hold all the things you really want. But as a hybrid, it's a good way to have your pack and some extra stuff. If you're a gear hound, skip this one and go for a full vest. If you're more a speedball guy looking for that scenario pack, this is the better product for you.
Rating:
7 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

warrdogg Monday, May 7th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Strengths: Light weight
Durable
Craftsmanship
Appearance
Weaknesses: None really just a few minor gripes
Review: Let me start off by saying when I ordered the Dagger I was thinking the price was too steep. I ordered a custom vest and found the process over the phone to be easy. When I received the vest and took it out of the box I was stunned. The appearance was just amazing. It looks and feels like a real military set of webbing. I ordered Multicam and it matches my uniform exactly. The colour is amazing.

I went over every stitch and could not find one problem with anything. It is really adjustable and fit me very well with minimal tinkering. I have been using it playing woodsball and have not been gentle with it. It is taking the beating very well. I believe this will last a very long time because of the superior craftsmanship..

What appealed to me was how light it is. I wasn't as hot as I would have been with a full vest. It has a lots of open space to breathe. A plus on those hot days.

I got padded shoulder pads for extra comfort but I really think they aren't necessary. The internal elastic belt is a must. I was rolling, jumping, and diving and the vest remained in place with no shifting even fully loaded. I got the integral sling for those long days and found it to work very well. My pouches are Molle so I can switch them whenever/wherever I need them. The 6x8 pouch holds gloves and I got the scenario pouch. It holds a squeegee, tools, rags, a map and more. It carries tons of stuff and has many options. My set up is 4+3 with vertical pods and a horizontal tank. I'm 6'1" 220lbs and fits me very well. There is loads of room to expand the straps for more clothing for colder weather play

There are also 2 Velcro pockets that are secure for wallets, keys, etc. These pockets are inside the vest. I didn't even know they exsisted but are a real bonus for items you don't want to loose.

My minor gripes are as follows. The vertical pods are easy to get at but twice when I opened the pouch to get my pod the lid was open and I lost 100 balls. I will learn to check the lids before I pull them out. The horizontal tank pouch has Velcro and buckles to secure it. I found the buckles slide off to the sides of the tank, but the tank remained secure. I just criss-cross the straps now. The last one is the waist buckle is only adjustable on one side. So the buckle doesn't sit dead centre on my waist. Very minor and doesn't effect the vest.





Conclusion: I would get this vest. It is designed for function and will take a beating. It looks sharp and is lightweight. I would go with the custom design and molle pouches so you get exactly what you want. Once you have it on you will not think of the price, which is not really not much for what you get. No product is perfect but this is as close as it gets to a 10.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Friday, May 11th, 2007 at 9:30 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Donster 125 Sunday, April 15th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Trinity Tactical Vest (a clone of the Flurry Emmissiary Vest)
Marker Setup: Tippmann A-5, SP 20" Tactical Barrel, Special Ops A5A2 Stock, Shorty Grip, Dagger Vest (Digicam), Marauder II Battle outfit (Digicam), Opsgear UMP gas-through mag, RIchochet R5 hopper, Lapco Offset sight rail, Armson Pro-Dot Max Duty Gunsight, Orange Howitzer Bolt, Vortex Mod, BT Fixed Sight Rail
Strengths: Light
Durable
Camo
Ergonomic
Cool/Open
Weaknesses: Adjusting straps
Review: Strengths:
NOTE TO READERS: I refer to the product as a vest for ease of writing, but in fact is is a harness system.

Durable: The material this vest is made out of is very strong and tough. I beleive its 1000D cordura, but i am not too sure about it. either way, i can crawl around in the mud, over rocks and in the water and this will still be in one piece when i get up.
+2

Camo: I have the Special Ops Digi camo pattern of my vest. It is very good quality, with no fading spots and really helps to my to blend in to my environment.
+2

Ergonomic: The vest is really well designed. It is light and open, perfect for snipers and light riflemen who need the freedom of movement, yet still need to carry some ammo. I personally use this vest to snipe with, but at the same time, i can hold my own should i ever be drawn into a firefight. The elastic waistband is probably the most innovative feature in that it effectively displaces the weight of your equipment on the small of your back and abdominals instead of on your shoulders. I could run around and hit the ground and my stuff didn't move an inch. I was loving it!


NOTE: some people complain about the pods and the fact that they are located on the back in a verticle fashion. I for one dont find that there is anything wrong with that setup and IMO, it is really easy to take pods out and put then back in. The only issue i can forsee is that other than the 4 pods that the vest can take, there are 3 elastsic loops that allow someone to carry an additional 3 pods. i dont like to travel that heavy, but taking the pods out and putting them back in to these loops will be difficult to do so.
+4

Cool/Open: The vest is designed purposely so that the wearer will remain cool all day and not get overly hot. This was a good feature, and will come in handy during the summer months. AS i said before, the fact that the vest is open lets you crawl around on your stomach and otherwise be un-hindered.
+2

Weaknesses:

Straps: As i said, this is a harness system. I for one found it difficult to adjust the straps, but once it did, the vest fit me perfectly. It is not so much as difficulty in terms of adjusting the straps, it just takes a bit long IMO. Still, i like this feature because it is one size fits all and can be adjusted to whatever the wearer desires.
-1
Conclusion: Overall this is a great vest. Perfect for those who want to travel light and fast, but still have enough ammo to finish the job. Perfect for snipers/sharpshooters and light riflemen.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

irish_fury Tuesday, March 20th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Gen-X 4+1 pod belt
Marker Setup: A5
Mp5 foregrip
airthru butstock
PMI coiled remote
Flatline barrel
Strengths: Durable, Granade Pocket, Bladder holder, Breatheable, Rear horizontal tank holder, cool looking
Weaknesses: None found
Review: Well upon buying a vest I decided to get the Dagger over the Broadsword 6 mostly because of the bulkyness of the vest. the Dagger is very breatheable and will fit most people. It has very sturdy pockets and buckles. it has room for a Co2 tank, 4 140 round pods, 1 grenade, ID, Squeeges allen wrenches etc and a radio. The smaller size means less bulkyness. it is very sturdy and just an amazing vest.
Conclusion: I would recomend this to anyone playing Woodsball or Recball over a regular pod belt, but it would not be practival for speedball, but for what it is desighned to do it does it best.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

OIC Wednesday, March 7th, 2007
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month4 of 10 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
4-1 and 6-1 Harneses
Strengths: I liked the idea of this vest, open and cool.
Weaknesses: Getting pods in and out, Horizontal tank holder.
Review: I started off using the vest and not running a remote, because the tank holder is horizontal, using CO2 tanks would just let liquid fill the hose. So that sort of made my remote useless. I had lots of problems after getting all strapped into the thing to actually reach my pods. Having to have somebody along with you to help get the pods in and out, sort of kills any hope of having any real stealth. Running the pods vertical, is a bad idea in my opinion. After using it for several hours in the real heat, I found the front to be open and cool, but the back did become hot. Because I spent to much money and liked the idea of this vest, I got a regular 6-1 and took the vertical pod holders off the vest, and the horizontal tank holder, and tried to attache the standard 6-1 to the vest. I still did not get the comfort, feel, or use I was going for. I ended up just going with a cheap regular 6-1 and added military suspenders to it ( they are called LB for load bearing). That seems to work the best. Its cool, and I can use a remote, and I can easily get my pods in and out. It doesn't look as cool, but I will take function over looks any day.
Conclusion: The vest is well made. Maybe just too rigid. I think its a good idea, but needs to have horizontal pods and vertical tank like most other harnesses. I will not spend that much money on any vest ever again. I think I learned my lesson, and found what works for me at a third of the price. If you are using HPA and your flexable enough to get to the pods, it may work well for you.
Rating:
4 out of 10
I found this review  
5 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (2):  1  |  2
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media