paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / BT Paintball Design AK-47 Barrel Kit / BT Paintball Design AK-47 Barrel Kit / BT Paintball Design AK-47 Barrel Kit

BT Paintball Design AK-47 Barrel Kit Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount BT Paintball Design

Buy BT Paintball Design AK-47 Barrel Kit

Paintball Barrels

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


BT Paintball Design AK-47 Barrel Kit
[ View Photos (4) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 10
Average Rating: 7.8 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $120

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
High quality tactical barrel with military style details. Adds distance and accuracy while providing the custom look you desire.
Product Availability 
The BT Paintball Design AK-47 Barrel Kit is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Navy Sniper Friday, October 2nd, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
32 degrees 14" barrel
Marker Setup: VL Charger
Strengths: The Apex works very well, great distance, pretty good accuracy.
Weaknesses: Big gap between stock and gun, no manual, and you have to adjust it.
Review: I could get free shipping from the online paintball shop if I bought another item, and wanted to try out a BT Apex so this barrel at $49 was a pretty good deal, it only ended up costing me about $25 thanks to the free shipping.

After the gun I found some small print that said it didn't fit on all guns. We have some VL Chargers and they use spyder barrels so I thought it would fit. You can adjust where the grip fits from left to right, but you can't slide it forward or backward because of how they have it set up. So now there is a couple inch gap between the rear of the grips and the front of the gun. It looks a little funky, but isn't horrible either.

The BT Apex is great, hugely better than my other barrels, but louder too. I read a review that said that because of the way the paintball dropped coming out of the barrel that you couldn't shoot from a prone position. I tried it out, and had no problems. I ran some good paint as well as some old and really, really old paint through it and didn't have a single paintball break.
Conclusion: I saw some people paid $100 for the barrel, which is steep. I think $50 or so is a pretty good deal. If it had fit correctly on the gun, i would have been willing to pay more for it. I will be getting Apex's for the other guns. The extra range is great.
Rating:
7 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

nap519 Wednesday, January 14th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Marker Setup: Tippmann custom 98,
Response Trigger,
Cyclone Feed;
BT foldable stock,
BT-47 Apex
remote coil.
Recommended
Paintballs:
No junk like zap or B.E., any mediocre. or better
Strengths: Accurate and great look
Weaknesses: Very large...and very large
Review: This is an amazing barrel accurate feel and great look. this isnt the best barrel for speedballers, but for wodsball or urban its great. The horizontal grip is better than the vertical it helps steady the gun increasing accuracy. It is also very durable. The apex looks great on it, no more can on a stick.
Conclusion: Great product. durable accurate and just plain awesome
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

robbymc Wednesday, June 11th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
98c stock barrel
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98c marker
-BT AK-47 barrel
-Commando stock
-1x40 red dot sight
-Cyclone feed
-Response trigger
-Double trigger

Recommended
Paintballs:
Fluid
Dynasty
Strengths: Looks
Weaknesses: Large
Fragile
Uneven
Review: It is more accurate than the stock barrel. A lot bigger than I expected. It doesn't fit flush at all, it isn't noticeable unless you try to find where it doesn't line up but it still bothers me since I inspected it. You will need Allen keys to adjust the sight. Other then that it shoots well and is decently accurate for those smaller fields.
Conclusion: If your going for the AK style gun, then it's a must have. Otherwise don't spend your money because your not going to get the performance you expected when searching for an accurate gun.
Rating:
6 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

xlRainlx Sunday, February 18th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
98 Custom Stock Barrel
98 Custom Pro Barrel
Marker Setup: Marker: Tippmann 98 Custom
Operation: Mechanical, semi
Barrel: AK-47 Barrel
Stock: Collapsible Stock
Hopper: 200 round
Tank: 20 oz. CO2 Pure Energy
Scope/Sight: none, yet
Sling: Universal CORE Sling
Recommended
Paintballs:
Bonus balls
Strengths: Pretty accurate
Intimadting
Strong
Comfortable
Pretty cheap on paintballonline.com
Weaknesses: Needs more distance, would be better with apex.
A little big.
Review: Ok. The day my AK-47 barrel came, I was like a kid at Christmas. I took it out for some test shots and was a little dissapointed with the accuracy but it was better than my stock barrel so I decided it was worth the price(around $60). I really love the design and it just looks plain fearsome when used with the collapsible stock. The only thing that really actually bugged me was the size and weight. I'm taking it for real-time play this weekend so I will get back with more results

Update: February 17, 2007

This barrel is better than I thought. It is pretty accurate and does add some useful distance to your shots. I would definately recommend it for those who want a cool looking efficient barrel.
Conclusion: A very cool barrel. I would reccomend it for those looking for the AK look on their marker. if you are gonna get this barrel I would suggest getting it at paintballonline.com for around 60 bucks.

Update: February 17, 2007
I would definately say that you should get it for the price(around 60-70 bucks on paintball online). It is better than using the stock barrel and just looks plain cool.

I give this a 9 outta 10
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

zdmechanic Monday, September 4th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Stock A-5 barrel: the standard I guess.
Marker Setup: Tippmann A-5 with Trinity AK expansion chamber and AK-47 barrel.
Recommended
Paintballs:
Super Swirl is all i have used so far.
Strengths: Looks cool, comfortable to hold and aim if just using the barrel as a grip.
Weaknesses: Not a great increase in accuracy, louder than stock barrel.
Review: The main reason I purchased this is because it looks cool. With the Trinity expansion chamber (looks like a banana clip) it will make your gun look pretty sweet. It's not a huge increase in accuracy, but i do believe anyone who wants to buy this is more obsessed with how it looks than how it shoots.

The only negatives i have are that it's louder than the stock barrel and totally not worth $100+. It's looks are not worth that much, however if you realy want people (or just kids at the paintball field) to stare at your gun, then this is perfect.

When i bought mine, it was slightly off too, but with the right allen key you can adjust it and make it so that the barrel and sights line up perfectly. Get it if you want to play terrorist matches!
Conclusion: I dont think it was worth it's current price, but i bought mine in a package deal. It's accuracy isnt a plus, but it does the job while looking cool. I give it an 8 because for the amount of money spent on it, they could have at least ported the barrel or something to increase the accuracy.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

rogue_trooper99 Friday, August 11th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
bt16 barrel
Marker Setup: -a-5 camo
-bt 47 apex barrel
-car stock
-warsensor remote
-trinity ak 47 exp. chamber kit
-68/4500 psi air tank
Recommended
Paintballs:
procaps and combats
Strengths: looks cool
Leigh weight
good construction
Weaknesses: Takes a little getting used to fixing it
Review: this product by bt is really good i like it it looks cool. i bought it with the apex version so i
don't really know what the basic preferment's of this barrel dose, but combined with the apex its just plain cool and packs a good Punch and lots of acc.
this is what i think of the basic barrel:
-looks good, really gives your gun the look and feel of the ak
-love the hand guard
-isn't to hard to clean since you can take it all apart
-hasn't pop or broken 1 paint ball yet.
- light weight
this barrel is pretty solid to, it hasn't broke down on me, even with all the spills it took
and finally water doesn't affect it.(plastic most part and little metal parts but still water resistance).
Conclusion: Buy this If you want a good looking, accurate gun.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, March 11th, 2007 at 6:33 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

kingmob4313 Tuesday, June 13th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months5 of 11 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
JJ 16 Inch Brass Barrel
JJ Ceramic 12 Inch Barrel
Stock A-5 Barrel
Stock Pro-Lite Barrel
Marker Setup: Tippmann A-5 Marker
Lapco Offset Sightrail
Adco Red Dot Sight
BT Folding Stock (review pending)
Recommended
Paintballs:
No recommendation.
Strengths: Appearance.
Reasonably Accurate.
Weaknesses: Loud.
Heavy.
Complexity / Poor Fit.
Poor Construction.
No Manual.
Can not be Retrofitted with Apex.
Review: The barrel's displays average accuracy, really no better than the stock barrel which is unfortunate, especially considering the price of the barrel.

Additionally, the barrel is far too complex to ship without having a manual. It needs 3 different sized allen wrenches to disassemble and absolutely must be disassembled to fit the marker.

Also, one would expect the pieces making up the shroud of the barrel to be constructed of higher quality plastic. The central retaining ring for the barrel snapped in half with barely thumb tight pressure on the allen screw to lock it down. Also the fit and finish are pretty sub par as well. Pieces rattle and clatter when the barrel is moved around.

Conclusion: The look of the barrel is quite nice, but the performance, durability and price leave a lot to be desired. If you like the look of the barrel, buy it, along with a better performing 16 Inch barrel and just move the plastic pieces onto the better barrel.

But standing alone, considering the price of the barrel, it's accuracy, durability, packaging and construction leave an awful lot to be desired.

The fact that it looks so damn good is the only reason I'd rate it higher than a 3. If there were better alternatives, I would rate this as low as a 2. If the price dropped to a reasonable 60-70 dollars, I'd up the rating by two points.
Rating:
4 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, August 1st, 2006 at 9:03 am PST
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment

diegoballa Sunday, May 21st, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
6 months3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Stock spyder barrels
14" smart parts teardrop barrel
18" interceptor(at night)
stock ion barrel (good)
Marker Setup: Tippmann A-5
Opsgear AK clip
BT AK barrel kit
OpsGear AK folding Stock
E-Grip
JCS power tube
Recommended
Paintballs:
All star
Chronic
scorch (never broke one)
Strengths: AK-74u (new style look)
Good accuracy
Flat black not brown
Weaknesses: Some scratches
price
Review: OK my style barrel because i play scenario paintball.It cost a little to much but worth it if you want the AK look.It sucks though because like three days after I got it the apex version came out for 10 bucks more.I'm working on getting the apex version.
Conclusion: Pretty good barrel,12.5inches long. get it for the pure intimidation factor
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, May 21st, 2006 at 6:50 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

unicorechoice Friday, April 28th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month11 of 13 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
just a stock Werks barrel on my Custom Pro
Marker Setup: Tippmann Custom Pro
(Drop Kit,
Double Trigger)
Ben Tippmann Car Stock
Ben Tippmann Adjustable Sight Rail
Recommended
Paintballs:
Cheaper White box worked fine, and anything higher.
Strengths: The grip feel and the oh so pretty-ness of it!
Weaknesses: Big/long, only bad if your into ....cough... speedball
Review: I bought the Bt-47 (apex version) barrel a couple of weeks ago. I know this isnt a review for the apex so I'll focus on the AK style part of it.

I was going for the ak47 look for my gun. I accomplished this by a long shot. My gun is now the sweetest looking out of anyone's I know. At 16 inches long, this sucker is massive. The giant upside is the horizontal grip option it opens up. I ripped the bottom half of my vertical grip on my Custom Pro (basically a 98) and now just use the barrel grip. Combined with my stock, I now have the total mil-sim package going on. It looks and feels like a real AK (or what I can imagine an ak would feel like). If you use a sight rail, you now have a raised sight which is wicked because without a raised sight, you can't use the marker's sight with a mask on and your stock. I weighed my gun and with the Ak package it weighs 9 pounds without paint. So its big. The barrel pieces are quite well made, most plastic.

I found this barrel to be awesome last weekend when I played. The apex was great. The grip was soo sweet. It felt more natural, like a real gun ,and more balanced. All my friends admired the look and pretty much thought it was the bee's knees. Thats about the gyst of it.
Conclusion: Buy this sucker If you want a good looking, accurate gun.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Friday, April 28th, 2006 at 10:50 pm PST
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment

Starwind1985 Friday, March 10th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month4 of 10 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
Stock A-5 Barrel
Smart Parts Progressive Barrel
Marker Setup: Tippmann A-5
BT AK-47 Barrel
Trinity AK Expansion Chamber
OPSGEAR Long Wire Stock
TAC-CAP Loader
1x25 Red Dot Sight
Recommended
Paintballs:
Marballizer
Super Swirl
Strengths: Looks
Accuracy
Weaknesses: Expensive
Cheaper barrels are just as accurate
Review: I've actually been using this barrel for about a month and a half, but that's not on the menu. There's not really much to say about this. It's a decent barrel and looks really cool...but it also has a $100-120 price tag. Unless you are just dying to get the AK look, get something else. If you must buy an expensive barrel, get a flatline.
Conclusion: This average barrel is not worth the above average price.
Rating:
5 out of 10
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media