paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / DeadlyWind DTI2 Ion Body Kit / DeadlyWind DTI2 Ion Body Kit / DeadlyWind DTI2 Ion Body Kit / DeadlyWind DTI2 Ion Body Kit / DeadlyWind DTI2 Ion Body Kit

DeadlyWind DTI2 Ion Body Kit Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount DeadlyWind

Buy DeadlyWind DTI2 Ion Body Kit

Paintball Ion Bodies

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


DeadlyWind DTI2 Ion Body Kit
[ View Photos (8) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 10
Average Rating: 9.9 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $85

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The DTI2 from Deadlywind's new StinkOps division is a tactical dream come true. Machined from 6061 Aluminum and hard-anodized "flat black", this 1 foot long body shell allows for almost any "Picatinny" style rail mount accessories to be mounted in a variety of positions. Put a bi-pod up front underside, IR flashlight up front on top, night-vision on one of the 60* back rails, and a regular flashlight on the other 60* back rail. Mount a laser* for pin-point accuracy. Or, mix it up-- the possibilities are limitless.

(*some areas may not allow laser use- Always check first!)

New to the DTI2 body is a modified feedneck system. We threaded Ion(tm) (Impulse(tm)) feedneck threads right into the feedport so you remove your current Ion feedneck and thread it directly into the DTI2. Will work with the stock Ion feedneck and any aftermarket versions as well.

The DTI2 also comes standard with an adapter for a Tippmann(tm) M98 style shoulder stock mount and mounting hardware.
We removed more material on the underside of the body than the stock Ion plastic shell, so you should have more room to mount your QEV without cutting or trimming the body
Product Availability 
The DeadlyWind DTI2 Ion Body Kit is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
ionsrox Sunday, February 17th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
none
Marker Setup: virtue board
freak front and back with two inserts
deadly wind dt12
folding g36 stock
cp rolling trigger
drop forword
red dot scope
folding bt front grip
home made mag
Strengths: Strong
plenty of rails
anodized
comes with feedneck
able to use 98 stock

Weaknesses: Heavy
Review: this is a great body for the ion if you want to make it into a woodsball sniper type of gun, but if you plan on using it for speedsball, DONT. Its really heavy, and its a b**ch to get the stock off. Im planning on getting a longbow stock for it next to make it into a better sniper.
Conclusion: If you have an ion and want to get into woodsball/scenario, buy this now, but if you are a speedballer nad you want to put on some sights and light, GET SOME DUCT TAPE
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Rypper572 Monday, May 21st, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Powerlyte 07 body - obviously entirely different style, with the advantage of semi-BOB access. Good body
Marker Setup: Marker #1 - Phantom VSC - Green camo ano by CCI with armson OEG sight ("sniper" rifle)

Marker #2 - SP Ion with Deadlywind stinkops body, JCS folding stock, Deadlywind Wispur barrel or Apex/Python compression barrel, combo foregrip/bipod, L7 bolt, SP 360 QEV, V***** board, VP Scythe trigger, Egg3, 40mm red dot sight, and Evil detonator reg (Light support weapon)

Marker #3 - Tippman E-grip A5 with JCS folding stock, and Python compression kit with 2" barrel cap (total barrel length - 3.75"!!), R5 loader, and PMI Pure energy regulator (CQB beastie)

Marker #4 - SP Ion with Powerlyte 07 blue body, V***** board, Warrior SL2 bolt, Evil Detonator reg, SP 360 QEV, Check-It Drop forward, Stiffie 1 Piece .691 barrel with Python compression Kit, and Deadlywind trigger ("tourney" gun)

Marker #5 - Palmer Typhoon Right Feed/Back Bottle (my baby)

Marker #6 - Brass Eagle Rainmaker 98 - select fire - totally stock with eagleworks barrel (the only good thing that brass eagle ever did)

Marker #7 - nonfunctional but complete Pneumatic Designs Storm (circa 1992) with 14" AA SP barrel. (my first marker, and still a sentimental favorite)

Also...

Twin Tac-8's for kicks and giggles
Strengths: Lots and lots of rails
Looks
Weaknesses: Weight
access to barrel threads and front screw is more difficult
Review: Overall, I think this is a great body. I have not had the opportunity to experiment with other mil-sim/rail bodies for the ion, but after reading various reviews of the other bodies, I chose this one.

A few points

#1 - There are a ton of rails, as you can see from the pictures provided. The back/side rails are not quite horizontal, and can make adjusting a sight a little more difficult than if the rails were true horizontal, but on the same token, actually push a sight that is mounted on it, a bit upwards, which is nice. Plus, it looks different, and thus is pretty cool.

#2 - There is a dovetail mount on the upper spine of the body, but they seem to be a bit small to fit standard dovetail accessories. I've tried some of my old dovetail sights on it, as well as a dovetail rail-riser on it, and they won't completely lock down on it as it is too narrow. I may have to use shims or something else to make it fit.

#3 - The body is actually longer than a standard Ion body in the front and the back. In the back, this is not such a big problem, unless you're used to shoving your face all the way up to the back of your standard Ion body when you fire. You'll get used to it. You can mount 98 Custom stocks to the body with little fuss or muss. HOWEVER... In the front, the body extends around 2" past the end of the breech, and taking the breech screw on/off is done through a little hole on the top of the body. Taking the screw off is not so bad, but putting it back in is kind of a pain. This is not a semi-BOB or BOB body, so you HAVE to dissasemble the body to access the bolt. Minor annoyance, but if you use the marker alot, this can begin to wear on you. In addition, if you use a 2 piece kit, especially a stiffi switch kit, you MIGHT have a problem if the barrel separates from the sizer. It'll be a pain to get the sizer out on its own (stuck down in the body).

#4 - It weighs a fair bit more than the standard body, but it isn't so bad. The Ion is very light to begin with, and compared to my other Mil-sim marker (Tippman A-5) it is still a fair bit lighter. Combine this body with a CF barrel and a remote system, and you shouldn't have a big problem.

#5 - the feedneck actually screws to the body, and not the breech/can, so you've got to remove it from the can and re-screw it to the body itself. Again, not that big a deal.
Conclusion: Overall, a great body with lots of WOW factor in the right crowd. (woodsballers will love it, speedballers will mock it) Looks like the best ion milsim body out there from what I've been reading, and I'll have to agree.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

suicide squadd Saturday, January 20th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
None
Marker Setup: SP ion
Deadly wind DT12 body kit
Lapco adj stock
CP reg
Techt L7 bolt
Qloader
6 pods
CMS
Apex
Strengths: Looks
Can use a stock
Can use many attachments
Weaknesses: Can be hard to reacemble
Review: This body kit adds a cool tactical look to the ion. You put a stock on it some sights a lazer it will look awesome. I highly recommend this body to anyone who wants to add a tactical look to their ion.


i need more words i still need more words i still need more words i still need more words i still need more words i still need more words i still need more words
Conclusion: If you want to add a tactical look to you ion get this body.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Neo_Enhander Friday, January 19th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
SO Blackcell
Marker Setup: Tippmann A-5
OPSGEAR M4 SOPMOD Kit
Red Hot Power Tube
APE E-Grip
TechT Vortex
QEV
------------------------------------------------------------
-------------
SP ION
Deadlywind Tac-Body
J&J Elite Edge Kit
Dye Stickies
TechT L6 Bolt
Virtue Eyes
UDF Feedneck/Roller Trigger
Eggy II
SP QEV
Tippmann 98C Modded to WWII Thompson Sub Machine Gun
Strengths: Looks AWESOME
Accepts 98 Custom Stocks
Very Durable
Weaknesses: A little heavy
Review: This body kit is the best thing thats ever happened to my Ion. The looks are killer, functionality is awesome. Accepts 98C stocks if I wanna put one on it. People have mistook my Ion as a AGD Tac-One becuase the looks are so similar. I cant say enough about how Deadlywind has perfect products.
Conclusion: GET IT! You wont regret it!!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

icerk Tuesday, January 16th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
None
Marker Setup: ION W/ Blackheart board
QEV
Deadlywindz body frame.
Strengths: Easy to put together. Rugged. Durable.
Weaknesses: The most key weakeness would hae to be the slight weight it adds
Review: I bought this frame before I bought my Ion. The Ion was my second gun. I had no issues putting it together. I do have SP QEV installed. The front screw can be placed in with no major issues and I have big fingers. All you have to do is drop it in the barrel and let it roll into the hole. I am not the most experienced person when it comes to maintance of a paintball gun but I can brake this gun and frame down in minutes. Clean up can be easy I toss mine in the sink and scrub it with a dish brush.....No scratches so far.....
Conclusion: If you like military sim guns this is good choice. I have received many complements
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Gordofski Monday, November 6th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
None, other than stock body.
Marker Setup: Deadlywind DTI2 Body
QLoader
Model 98 CAR Stock
SP 360 QEV
68 4500 Pure Energy
Otherwise stock ION... For now.
Strengths: Many mounts
Solid construction
Accepts Model 98 Style stocks
Body pre-cut to fit QEV
Weaknesses: None.
Review: I like to play woodsball, and was instantly sold on the mounting selection and ability to accept a stock. To my supprise the DTI2 has a dovetail mount along the top behind the feed neck. I decided to throw a relfex sight I had on a BB gun on there with my qloader... And it cleared the feedneck (it being at a 90* angle). I decided it my be fun to play witht the red dot reflex sight and to my supprise it worked quite effectively! The Model 98 stock I put in and the added weight of a full aluminum body help negate kick quite well.

Installing the QEV was no real hassle, and the M98 stock adapter fits in quite well. The body is somewhat longer, there being excess inches so the stock fits in at the back, and the barrel screws into the chamber a few inches from the front of the body as well. This may seem bulky to some, I suppose. However with qloader under the barrel on the front, stock/tank at the back it balances decently. I did have to grind down the feed neck threading on the DTI2 to fit the qloader feed neck into the breech threading, however. Yes, that is right, there is feed neck threading on the DTI2 body as well. Depending on how low you like your hopper to sit you may want to grind this off so you can screw it directly into your breech. I did so my reflex sight cleared the feed neck on my qloader, but that was mere millimeteres, probably not worth it to most people!

There was a lapco milsim body at the local field where I bought my ion, and it looked inferior to the deadlywind. It was far more bulky, less mounts, uglier. Lapco is still a good company, but they lose this round.
Conclusion: Great body, solid constructiion, so many mounts, looks cool, accepts stocks, has a dovetail mount. Solid!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Dogg3r Friday, October 6th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Dynasty Body, but I really wanted a "Milsim" look and something that I can use a red-dot sight on...
Marker Setup: Sp Ion Black
DeadlyWind DTI2 Body
V Board
Orange Bolt
Freak Barrel Kit
Centerflag Reg
Egg Loader
Adco Mirage Red Dot Sight
Some Trigger I updraded and liked...forgot the name
Q-Lock
Strengths: Looks, Picatinny rails, and the feel of a real gun.
Weaknesses: Finish can scratch but not easily. Buy a black Sharipe marker and your fine.
Review: This is the second aftermarket body that I have installed on my ion. The first was also metal, and from a well known brand.

Both added weight that some people do not like, but I prefer. The metal feel and the weight gives it more of a steady "milsim" feel, and improved on the kickback.

The ability to mount rails on the top, underneath or either side is great if you want to use a red dot sight (I love it, it saves on paint). Flashlights and laser pointers could be mounted as well, but why bother?

It works, it looks cool and it priced right along other manufacturers.

Conclusion: I'll give it a 10. Not just because I own it, I really like it...and the other people that see it like it as well.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

BAMF-HacKeR Monday, September 18th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Lapco Milsim Body (not enough rails, back end big)
Marker Setup: 2006 Smart Parts Ion, Deadlywind StinkOps Body, Lapco Low rise feedneck, TechT L6, Lucky Stage 2 Firecan, Lucky Stage 3 Donut, Lucky Stage 4 Spitfire w/mac noid, SP 360 QEV, CP Long reg, Dust freak back, 12", 14" and 16" AA tip, Virtue EZ-On black, Virtue Red Laser Eyes, CP 2k5 on/off with bleed, CP Perfect Rail, Hybrid Snow Grenade grips, Kila Reaction Detents, Virtue Membrane pad, Custom Milled frame for membrane pad, BSA 11 Step Red Dot Sight, Swatforce Tactical Light, BSA Tactical Light and Laser Sight

2006 Smartparts Ion, Virtue Board, Dye Membrane Pad, Virtue Blue Laser Eyes, Virtue EZ-On, Foehn v2 Body Kit, TechT L7 Bolt, AKA 2-Liter + Reg, CP Sling Blade Trigger, SP Q-Lock Feedneck, CP 2K5 ASA w/bleed, SP 360 QEV, 2K6 Freak Back w/SS inserts, Stiffi Mamba Tip, SP Mini Drop, 2K6 Hybrid Contract Killer Grips, Kila Reaction Ball Detents, NDZ Snatch Grip
Strengths: Lots of rails
Quality construction
Easy Installation
Weaknesses: Installing front frame screw
Review: OK to start off, this is an AWESOME MilSim body. I had the Lapco MilSim body and swapped it out for the Deadlywind. The Lapco did not have enough rails to mount sights, lights, etc.

The body is very well made and fits the gun perfectly. The milling is 100% and the feedneck hole is a perfect fit. I like that on this body you do NOT need to remove the feedneck to get the body off. The feedneck attaches to the body and sits directly above the stock feed port. (very good measurements must have been taken, nice job Deadlywind!)

The tail cap is aluminum as is everything on this body, no plastic here, and comes out by removing 2 screws. It allows for 98 stocks to be installed.

The screw holes are tapped very well and there are no issues when screwing in your frame screw, except for the front frame screw. Well not really an issue, I needed to hold the screw with needle nose pliers so I could stick the Allen key through the hole in the body to screw it in. Not a big deal, but I figure I would mention it.

The body is a little long, but I like that, because the back half can be easily used as a snatch grip.

Another review said they had a hard time installing the QEV. I did not experience that. Clipard QEV went right in no issues at all.
Conclusion: I would recommend this body to anyone wanting to make a MilSim Ion. It is made very well and fits perfectly. All the rails give you countless mounting options and the ability to add a stock is a great feature...
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, December 10th, 2006 at 8:04 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

spect89 Wednesday, June 7th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months12 of 12 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Stock Ion Body, Tried on Dynasty Body
Marker Setup: SP ION:
Blackheart, TechT L6 bolt, Air Soldier QEV
Manetic Detents
Q-loader Feed Syst, Q-lock Feedneck
DT12 Bodykit, SpecOps Longbow Stock (98C)
Palmer LP Regulator
N2 on Remote with Guerilla Ambush Regulator
Strengths: Aluminum, Customization, Allows for a Stock.
Weaknesses: See Body.
Review: Note: I am a custom gun designer, this is my first build on an sp ion. My goal was a scenario rifle for the sniping enthusiest. See photo that matches gun setup. Most parts I have drawn together into the setup will be rewarded with a thourough review.


First, in looking for a bodykit for your marker you decide your aim is to mount a sight, flashlight, lazer, or whatever you fancy.

This is the bodykit you are looking for. I have spoken to a representative of every manufacturer that makes a tactical bodykit and have been most satisfied with the response from Deadlywind's service and of their design goals, as they were my goals as well.

There is a rail in every location that is benficial as a mounting option, no other tac body can claim this. The body has it's own threads for a feedneck, allowing for trouble freein internals removal.

This body can take any Tippman 98 custom stock. However, if you have a stock in mind look to see if there is at leas a half inch of the stock that is the same shape as the mounting cylinder. If not, you can always custom fit it with a grinder. This is not a weakness of the body, as the expected audience are those that are customizing guns anyway.

Conclusion: This is currently (2006) the best tactical body for the sp ion. If you are looking for this type of body, then you will only be limited by your creativity in mounting options and styling. Enjoy.

Note: I didn't check my spelling.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Monkman Monday, January 30th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month7 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Stock
Marker Setup: Old Setup
SP ION
Deadly Wind DTI2 body
AKA Sidewinder Reg
NDZ QEV
Blackheart Board
NDZ Trigger
CP 14" Barrel
Black Egg
88cui 4.5k psi

New Setup
WGP 05 Super Stock
WGP locking feed neck
DYE UL Barrel
Crossfire 72cui 4.5K tank
Strengths: Weight
Looks
Rear socket is kind of cool
Weaknesses: Hands of a surgeon to get the SP QEV installed
A tad bit long
Review: I would say that overall this was a good upgrade. I was impressed with the weight and the styling. You will have to meditate and get a good shoulder massage before installing the QEV. You really have to take your time which is not a big deal unless you are late for the game. (Edited: I siwtched the SP out and the NDZ model which seems to be a little smaller. The NDZ QEV went in with no trouble.)

I have not had a chance to put on any mil-sim equipment. There is enough room for lights, sights and whatever else you think you might need. If you like to dress up like a tree you will be able to attach just about any kind of camouflage. Also their is a rear socket that is threaded for some of the Tippmann 98 stocks.

The length is kind of an issue for me only because you have no choice but to remove the body to get a good look into the breach during cleaning. Now that I read that back to myself it seems like their are bigger problems in life.
Conclusion: If you are looking for a military style body for your ION I would recommend this one. It is light, looks great, and you have a ton of options for equipment placement. I'm giving it a 9 since my fingers on my left hand still hurt from putting in the QEV.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, September 28th, 2006 at 11:24 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media