paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Origin Basic Training Paintballs / Origin Basic Training Paintballs / Origin Basic Training Paintballs

Origin Basic Training Paintballs Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Origin

Buy Origin Basic Training Paintballs

Paintball Paintballs

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Origin Basic Training Paintballs
[ View Photos (1) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 29
Average Rating: 6.7 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: N/A

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
This is one of the best cheap paintballs on the market.
Product Availability 
The Origin Basic Training Paintballs are newer, so they should be commonly available.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (3):  1  |  2  |  3
        Next Page
Arctic Sniper Sunday, May 3rd, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
You name it I've probably put a few of them down range.
Marker Setup: When I used this paint...
-Tippmann A5
-E-trigger
-Expansion Chamber
-Stiffi Barrel .691
-Bushnell Trophy Red Dot optic to test accuracy
Recommended
Barrels:
I only shot them through my Stiffi.
Strengths: It is very cheap paint and performs well for the cost.
Weaknesses: It is by no means anywhere near the best paint out there.
Review: First things first this is a cheap paint. Don't expect this to be the best paint in the world. It is what it is. It's really good paint for the price. While playing there was nothing the paint did that messed up my game.

After playing with this paint for the day I took what paint I had left home and the next day went to my private field behind my house, put my optic on my A5, and started testing it for consistancy and accuracy. At 20 yards for the most part I was putting each ball right on top of the previous one. At 30 yards I was still shooting a 6 inch pattern with a random ball here and there spinning off into maybe a 12 inch pattern (I'm assuming those were the dimpled ones). Out to 50 yards I could still expect to hit a soda can with a 5 round burst.
Conclusion: Everyone blames the paint when they don't hit their mark but by having a red dot site on your marker you can really see exactly how inaccurate you yourself can be by watching that dot wave back and forth over your target.

Any marksman knows there are many factors into shooting accuractly not just your projectile.

This paint gets a 10/10 for cheap paint but because it is a cheap paint and it's performance isn't as good as more expensive paint I'm giving it an 8/10.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

jjgoforward Sunday, February 1st, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Orderpaintball house paint, Heat, Nightmare (and it was), Whack, Stinger, Wrek Elite
Marker Setup: 07 Fusion Green and Black all stock
Halo Frontman TSA E'hopper
Carlton/Crossfire 88/3000 HPA
Recommended
Barrels:
Overbore for sure
Strengths: Price?
Weaknesses: Many blemishes, dimples
Poor fill color
chalky
Review: Well for $44/case this may have been the worse purschase of paintballs I have ever made. We bought the case as the entry level paint at a local field. The box was undamaged and the paintballs were nicely packaged in sealed bags. There were no ball breaks in the bags, so the handling and packaging were good. However, that is were the good stops. First the paintballs were not uniform in diameter. A few were significantly smaller. It seemed that at least 1 in 10 paintballs were dimpled. One paintball had three dimples on it!
The brown shell seemed ok. It was certainly less brittle than Marbs etc, but it broke in good contact. We didn't get a barrel break or break in the hopper all day.
However the fill was very poor. It was chalky white that you couldn't really see from the other side of the field. So you never really knew if you go someone out. Also I was wearing a black and gray Dye jersey and I could barely see the fill on myself!
If given a choice I would not use Origin Combat Basic Training again. All of the other paintballs I have ever used have been better quality for less money than these.
Conclusion: If you have another choice in this price range-take it. These are not a very good value.
Rating:
6 out of 10Last edited on Friday, July 24th, 2009 at 12:00 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Littlebighorn Thursday, January 29th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Heat-better
Spank-better
Impact-better
Marker Setup: Dangerous Power F8 blue/clear
DXS 48/4500
Richocet Apache
Recommended
Barrels:
nothing cause balls stink
Strengths: Cheap
Weaknesses: HURT!!!
Fill is impossible to see on someone
Never breaks
Review: These are probaly becoming the most popular feild paint now of days. Thats because they are cheap, but they dont work. The fill looks like snot and ive been shot before felt the paint but couldn't see it. It hurts to get shot by these because they dont break they just bounce. And since they dont break you get shot 20 times until one finally break on you
Conclusion: dont buy these just pay the extra $10 dollars and get the premium it will be more fun for EVERYONE!
Rating:
2 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, January 29th, 2009 at 6:15 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Sidicas Saturday, August 23rd, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
3 months2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
Draxxus Rec-Sport. The Rec-Sport is much better suited for speedball or light woodlands where you're not shooting people behind foliage. Basically any field where you can position yourself to have a clean shot at somebody, is a bad field to use Basic Training paintballs on.
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98 Custom Pro (Stock everything) w/Crossfire 68/45 tank.
Recommended
Barrels:
Highly recommend the flatline. These paintballs are so small that the flatline can put a ridiculous amount of backspin on these babys. Somebody with an X-7 was shooting so far with his flatline that they went over the nets on the opposite end of the field and were landing half way into the neighboring X-Ball field. These were full tournament size fields. I've never seen a paintball shoot that far. Lobbing distance is just ridiculous with a flatline, but you aren't going to hit anything at that distance, let alone get a break at that distance. Though some people were a little worried about safety, accidentally shooting over nets = bad.
Strengths: They're really hard paintballs. Shoot through grass, bushes, leaves, twigs, etc.
Weaknesses: They're hard.
Hurt a lot.
Lots of bounces.
Review: They hurt like hell when you get hit by one, but the great thing about hard paintballs is that you can shoot people through foliage. It makes woodsball games a lot more fun when you can jump behind a bunch of thick grass or a bush and with a few shots, you'll have made yourself a nice little hole in your cover to shoot through.
If you run low on air, you're totally screwed. These paintballs will not break at less than 250 fps, with a target at 30 feet.
Conclusion: These paintballs will tear right through any grass, twigs and bushes as if they were paper. Recommend padding or a 20 foot no shooting rule when in use. They will cut into uncovered flesh at close ranges, breaks sharp. Recommend 280-290 fps and used in heavy woodlands where most people are under foliage, most of the time.. For the price, they deserve a good rating. They do what they were made to do, play great in thick woodland. I don't recommend that they're used anywhere else.
Rating:
8 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, August 23rd, 2008 at 7:11 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

AdagioDolente Friday, August 1st, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
Less than a month
Marker Setup: Alpha Black
Strengths: None that I can think of
Weaknesses: Not accurate
Review: I paintballed for the first time this week. I played two days and the first day was great. I used some paintballs (unknown brand) but they were nice and accurate and broke every time. I had a few of those left on my second day and so my hopper was mixed with the Origin Basic Training (green fill) and the unknown brand (pink fill).

Every splatter that was straight on target was pink... everything that pulled left and right was green. Enough said.

I'm not an experienced player, but I noticed that the balls were slightly smaller than my first bag-o-balls. They might work in some other markers, but in my alpha black they sucked. I wasted more paint than I wanted to simply because I couldn't hit a guy in the back when he was standing still from 40 feet away. I'm not a good aim...but I'm better than that. At the end of the day most of us were going on the honor system if we got hit because half of them wouldn't break... we made someone bleed though... that was cool I guess.
Conclusion: Great for stepping on when you throw them in the dirt out of frustration... otherwise don't bother.
Rating:
3 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

priceman3 Saturday, May 31st, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
monsterballs
spectrum
Recommended
Barrels:
small bore size
Strengths: Thickpaint
Cheap (30$ for 2000)
Weaknesses: Dimples
Small
Review: i go out and play with my friends once every 2 weaks so were just having fun. the balls dont break all the time but i like that cus when the ball doesnt break it hurts liek hell also the paint is really think so its annoying.The fill smells horrible aswell
Conclusion: Wouldnt use the paint if i were in a tourney but i highly recomend it if yur playing in your backyard.
Rating:
7 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

l1ryan1l Wednesday, May 21st, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Evil
Midevil
PMI Premium
Stingers
Marbs
Marker Setup: 07 DP Fusion
Spyder Imagin 04, Razzor barrel, Dagger Trigger, clamp feedneck,
Spyder MR-1, barrel grip, MP-5 front sight, home-modified grip, home-modified skeleton stock
Recommended
Barrels:
none
Strengths: There are no strengths whatsoever
Weaknesses: Everything
Review: Key noticible weaknesses

-most are soft
i get 500 for free (cant complain, but im writing a review) every time i pick one up it's soft

-all are rediculously small, i cant think of any bore size that would fit theze, they're like under .68 it's rediculous so none even shoot straight

-all are warped none are even round some are even like an egg shape they all curve like a mother ......

-even for $30 they suck....
Conclusion: I get these for free but i wouldnt pay jack for these
Rating:
1 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

Headshot38 Sunday, April 6th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
all piant out there
Marker Setup: 07 Smart parts Ion
16" freak
QEV
Halo B
68/45 DXS air tank
Recommended
Barrels:
.689 or smaller. You REALLY should go smaller
Strengths: Price (cheap)
fill (nice and thick)
Weaknesses: Shell (see review)
Review: OK well this paint is ok. Compared to other stuff though, it kinda sucks. But you can get it for cheap and it does shoot so why not. But it is really small, so the smallest bore size you can find would probably be best. Now the shell is not the best, actually it is kinda really bad. Not quite Monster ball bad, but bad. It is really hard, kind of like ... cement hard. thats a good word for it.
Conclusion: If you got the money, then dont get this stuff. Get the next best one your proshop sells, it is probably ten times better than this for a few bucks more.
Rating:
5 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Bigauggy Wednesday, March 19th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Marbs,Chronics.Brass eagle<--- BASURA. Everything DIABLO, Draxxus RecSport, etc
Marker Setup: A5 with RT, 14"JT barrel, polished internals, HPA, double trigger.
Recommended
Barrels:
14"JT barrel .68
Strengths: Cheap(33$/case).Good thickness.Good viscosity.Washes out easy
Weaknesses: Funky Color. Random egg shaped balls. Dries like wax.
Review: I have used these balls on and off for the last year, and all in all I am satisfied with them. They have been very consistent with their performance. Of course they are not marbs, or anything DIABLO, but for 33 bucks a case you really cant go wrong. Very rarely will i find seems on these balls. I have NEVER had one of these break in my marker. EVER! I will have the occasional ball that hooks like a boomerang, but they are typically when im shooting at weird angles or something. I have only used them for speedball, no scenario, or woodsball, and thats mostly what i play, so i dont know how they perform in the sticks.
Conclusion: Use em. They're dirt cheap, and a pretty solid performer.
Better than rocks

BTW: If it doesnt break KEEP SHOOTING :)
Rating:
7 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, March 19th, 2008 at 2:41 am PST
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

McEd Saturday, March 15th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Marker Setup: SP ION XE
Dye Throttle hp 70/4500
VLocity jr.
Dye Rhino Cover Olive
Strengths: Cheap ($30)
Weaknesses: Bouncies
Review: Well thought that these balls were better than the paint at the field for about the same price. They worked fine with my .689 bore barrel sozz. ya. nuthin else i can say about this lower mid grade paint. also i have had no gun or barrel brakes with and with out eyes on different guns. just difficult to break on other pplz
Conclusion: Ok ballz . Pick them up if you don't want to pay alot of muny
Rating:
7 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, March 15th, 2008 at 8:18 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (3):  1  |  2  |  3
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media