paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Origin Basic Training Paintballs / Origin Basic Training Paintballs / Origin Basic Training Paintballs

Origin Basic Training Paintballs Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Origin

Buy Origin Basic Training Paintballs

Paintball Paintballs

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Origin Basic Training Paintballs
[ View Photos (1) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 29
Average Rating: 6.7 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: N/A

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
This is one of the best cheap paintballs on the market.
Product Availability 
The Origin Basic Training Paintballs are newer, so they should be commonly available.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (3):  1  |  2  |  3
        Next Page
jomacoco Saturday, March 8th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Diablo Crush
Diablo Heat
Severe Storm
Severe Atmosphere
Several others...
Marker Setup: Spyder Sonix with Shocktech antichop bolt, 32degrees remote coil, j&j ceramic barrel 14"
Recommended
Barrels:
I guess you could use a small bore barrel
Strengths: Cheap ($35/case) kind of accurate.
Weaknesses: Very small bore, THEY DON'T BREAK!.
Review: This is a very cheap product and lives up to it's cheapness. This paint won't break on contact and therefore hurts like hell, which sucks when you are on the business end of the barrel. The filling is very clear, so it is hard to spot. Even though they are kind of accurate, i doesn't compensate for the hard shell and bounsiness.
Conclusion: I realy dont recommend this paint. We had pballs from towo diferent cases from two diferent stores and ALL had the same problems. If you are realy into paintball spend the extra cash and get better paint.
Rating:
3 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, March 8th, 2008 at 6:27 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Airborne507th Friday, January 4th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month12 of 14 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
RPS Marballizer - The Best
Zap Chronic - Better
Marker Setup: AGD MiniMag, 68/4500 Nirto Duck fiber tank. Expansion chamber forgrip. Intelliframe wl blade trigger. Smart Parts Freak kit. Stainless steel back. Barrel is either 7" Freak or 14" All American front. Q-Loader with Custom Mounting Socket (CMS).
Recommended
Barrels:
SMALL Bore
Strengths: None
Weaknesses: SMALL size
Review: I took my nephew to play paintball on Wednesday 1/2/08. I just gave him a new marker kit. So I was showing him how to use the marker and then play some games. I bought a case of the field paint Origin Bootcamp. The paint looked cool with its camo shell. I grab a few balls and start to size them. I first place the ball in my .689 bore insert and it rolls out. Then my .687, .684, .682 and then finally an insert I thought I would never use .679. Which is the smallest insert in the kit. Now the ball did not just roll out but only bearly. It was not a good match.

We load up and head to the chrono. I get him dailed in and then start on my marker. My marker is an Air Gun Design MiniMag. One of the best markers ever made and it has a wounderful regulator. We I was getting some fps spikes of +/- 10, 20, 30 fps which is not normal for this marker. This was because of the paint to barrel match. After about 8 shots a ball broke in the barrel. The chrono read 268. I shot a few more time and 2 more breaks.

They called for the rec ball players to get ready and my marker was a mess. I left my marker on the table so I could walk my nephew onto the speed ball field and watch him play. I returned to work on my marker so I could play with him. Took it apart and clean her all up. Went to chrono and broke some more balls (chrono read 254). Took my marker apart and cleaned again.

Now let me say that when I chrono I do not aim at anything. I am looking at the chrono. So I did not see how the ball shot. Well I was about to find out. I was not going to chrono my marker again because of the balls breaking.

I went to play. The balls shot right and left and hooked up and down. I mean all over the place. The only safe place was were I aimed. Never seen anything like this. When I aim my MiniMag it hits the target like an arrow when I use Marballizers. I am taking about one shot one kill. Then 50 balls into this and several barrel breaks I call my self out. I thought I was shooting hot and that is why the ball are breaking and all over the place. I go to the chrono and the marker is not shooting hot.

These balls are to small. At least the case of 2000 that I just used. Hell I even broke out my trusty Lapco "Autospirit" barrel and tested a few balls. And thinking this would suck to have a Freak kit and still have to carry around barrels, what a waste of money. Well I was relived because the balls just fell right through the Lapco barrel.

I played one more time so my nephew could at least say we palyed a game together. It was 4 on 4. Same thing, shots going every which way and then a barrel break and as you know that makes it worse. Surprisingly I won the game. It game down to me against two. I sprayed and prayed and hit one guy and the other ran out of amo.

Not sure what barrel could shot these balls. Maybe that is what the field wants. You would have to spray and pray and use up your amo just to keep the other players at bay. They make money because you have to buy more paint. I will bring my own from now on.
Conclusion: Balls are very small and if you cannot make them fit when you have a barrel kit then I am not sure who can shoot these well.
Rating:
1 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

vududoc Friday, December 28th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
PMI premium, Marbs, Draxxus triumph, Procaps, white box, xball
Marker Setup: Primary:
US5 Tactical kit (mech and AEC)
PE 72/3000
PE Remote
Double trigger
Shocktech Bolt
Lapco 14" bigshot
12V Revvy

Secondary:
Pirahna 07 GTI (mech)
J&J 14" Ceramic
12v Revvy
PE 72/3000
Trinity Gauge
Recommended
Barrels:
medium bore
Strengths: Thick fill
Bright green
Cheap
Weaknesses: Stink like feet
seams cause some hooking
Review: Overall great paint for the price ($30bux a case). i thought about the price when purchasing this paint and expected crap. However a minor flat spot here and there in a case and great quality get a 10 in my book. a great alternate to monsterballs for 4 bux more. They are a bit stinky like feet so i dont think id like to taste it. noted that it is a thick fill and ive been shooting at 32-38 degrees with co2 and HPA and theyre great.
Conclusion: Highly reccommended for cost and quality. I revised the rating down due to the seams causing inconsitant shots but for the price you can beat it. anything beyond 60-70 feet the flight was off.
Rating:
8 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, January 2nd, 2008 at 8:45 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Chickenmunga Monday, October 1st, 2007
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
CORE Ultra
Spectrum white box
Stinger
Nel-Splat
Marker Setup: Invert Mini
Crossfire 45/4500 LP
Viewloader VLocity Jr. with Gangstar chip
Recommended
Barrels:
.691, although I think the paint was fairly small
Strengths: Cheap
Consistent size
shoots more like tourney paint
stores well
Weaknesses: Clear/green glitter fill hard to see
Doesn't wash easy
gummy fill?
Review: The balls tend to be of a consistent size, seams are good. Accuracy is similar to tourney grade. They last pretty well in storage, but smell worse than most.

For all the paintballs I've ever shot, I'm used to... well, PAINT. In the case of Origin, however, it's almost indescribable as to what exactly is inside.
The fill is kind of a cloudy-clear substance that has green glitter in it. When freshly applied to your opponent, It is very hard to see, even close up. After drying, the fill turns to a tacky PASTE. I can't think of anything quite like it at the moment, except for processed cheese spread or the innards of a fig newton, but thicker. It's like someone made a gummi bear bleed!
Trying to clean it from your gear is nasty. It doesn't wash off clothes very easy because it clumps and you have to pick it off with a fingernail. I was lucky and didn't get any gun breaks from being shot, but I'm worried that it could easily clog up a gun if you had a barrel break or a chop - regular paint washes off, this stuff becomes tacky.

EDIT: I have been meaning to reevaluate this, but have put it off for quite some time. Sorry!

I have since talked to several store/field owners, all of which claim the gummy effect is a good thing. I broke a ball in the marker (due to using too small of a bore), and I can confirm that it is a bit easier - the paint doesn't seep into cracks as easily. However, I would still assume that if you were to let it sit, the paint would be hard to remove.
Conclusion: (EDITED)

Re-evaluating this product, I have mixed feelings. The manufacture is very good, but the fill color and gumminess is something I still haven't become accustomed to. My main concern after re-evalutation is the problem with clothing: It needs to be picked off with a fingernail before washing, then requires several washes before it's completely gone.
Rating:
6 out of 10Last edited on Monday, March 3rd, 2008 at 8:23 am PST
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment

cclaxattack30 Monday, June 18th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Too many kinds too list.....
Marker Setup: Spyder Pilot ACS Blue/black, Dye sticky grips, 14 inch carbon fiber barrel, Halo TSA backman LCD
Recommended
Barrels:
not Exactly sure. Specifcly not the Smart parts 20 inch tactical
Strengths: Cheap
Weaknesses: Broke in my barrel
didnt break on contact
Review: I went to a local Speedball field with a few buddies and since its field paint only we bought what they had, Origin, and loaded up for our first game. I noticed the balls werent breaking much but since i figured it was cheap i didnt care....until a kid was rushing me and i hit him 3 times without one break. He gogged me, and of course it broke. Also, through out the day i had 4 balls break in my barrel. Rather dissapointing =/
Conclusion: I really dont reccomend using it since it didnt break very often, except in your barrel.
Rating:
4 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

^_^ Monday, January 8th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month5 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
- Diablo Heat
- Seconds.. (meh)
- 32 Degrees Team Colors
- Diablo Nightmare
Marker Setup: Bob Long 2K5 Alias Intimidator Black w/ Blue Accents
- Smart Parts Freak Jr. Kit or System X 2 Piece Barrel
- Tadao Infamous M3 Board
- Custom Products Regulator
- Custom Products Direct Mount On/Off ASA
- Hybrid Gen 06 Grips
- ViewLoader eVLution 3 (to be replaced with VLocity eventually
- WGP 50/3000 (going to be soon replaced with crossfire 45/4500)
Recommended
Barrels:
Any .689 one piece barrel (or .688) or any barrel kit
Strengths: - Price
- Didn't have any barrel breaks
- Pretty consistent bore size
- Thick fill
Weaknesses: - Has some seams
- Has some dimples but not many
Review: This is the field paint at one of my local fields so when I played there not too long go I had to use this. It's great stuff! It's only $42 a case, and it shoots great! There are hardly any dimples in them, but they do have seams.. this paint has a very thick fill it would be hard for those cheaters (cheating shows a player's lack of skill... plus cheaters ruin the sport) to wipe! After using this paint I have to say I came away very impressed as I didn't have one barrel break in the entire case and it shot very nice all day! If you want some good well priced paint check this out!
Conclusion: Awesome paint for the price.. never shot anything this good for the price actually so if you need some good well priced paint check out Origin paint.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

AmbushOrigin Sunday, January 7th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Pretty much every PMI/RPS paint, 32 deg., BE,VL,JT,Almost every Draxxus/diablo paint.
Marker Setup: 06 Sun Origin Ego-CP rake trigger,Function TI rammer, yellow Hybrid Gen 6 grips, kila detents, Redz Pepperstickz barrel kit
Blue NXT Shocker-5pc. hammerhead pro kit
Silver Evil Pimp-hybrid lpr, AKA 2lt. + reg,check it clamping no-rise,kila detents,5pc pro hammerhead kit
Trilogy sport-pepperstickz kit
A5-5pc hammerhead battlestickxxx barrel kit
Recommended
Barrels:
i used the .689 back from my pepperstickz kit. Teammate used my .686 hammerhead bore. Paint runs .684-.687ish Occasionally a oddball .689ish
Strengths: Very consistant (one of most consistant paints ive used)
Cheap
Breaks on contact
Weaknesses: Fill isnt really bright, light offset teal/green color..
some dimples
Review: Used these over the weekend at my team practice, I didnt have high hopes of this paint.. especially with the price of 45 and it being practice grade paint. But WOW! was i suprised... Always broke on contact, not one barrel break, not one chop.

This paint is very consistant, and its a small bore. Roughly .684-.687 bore.. i was using a. 689 but it shot great. Rest of my team was using between .684 and .689 and it shot great also. Occasionally there was a oddball that was about .689-to .691 but they still shot out of the small bore barrels.

The fill in this paint isnt the greatest, but its better then some paints. Its a light offset teal/green mint type color, not real thick.. but not watery. It was easy to wipe off after a game, but still noticeable that you hit someone.

Conclusion: Overall a great paint! blew my expectations out of the water, and will be buying alot of this stuff from now on. At 45 a case its a great value, not 1 barrel break,chop and stuff is accurate. Also very few dimples from what i seen.

Cant wait to try out rest of origins line of paint, these guys def. know what thier doing!
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Friday, January 12th, 2007 at 4:58 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Albino Dino Saturday, December 23rd, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
X Ball Bronze
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98 Custom
Tippmann Drop Foward
98 Custom Cyclone Feed
Response Trigger
Tippmann Double Trigger
Tippmann Camo F/X Kit
12 in. CMI Thunder Pig Barrel
Pure Energy 3000 PSI Compressed Air Tank
Recommended
Barrels:
Custom Products Classic Barrel
J&J Ceramics Barrel
Smart Parts FREAK Barrel
LAPCO Bigshot Barrel
Strengths: Nice Color
Shape
Accuracy
Range
Price
Weaknesses: Not the Roundest Thing Out There
Review: I use these paintballs more than any other, simpilly cause there the best buy in my book, a case is only $46.25 and pretty much everyone of em busts. Another good thing about these is they dont bust on every tree branch they hit. Id suggest these for speedball cause there more of a tournament style paint to me "dissagree if you want"
But there pretty Decent in the woods as well overall there a good buy.
Conclusion: If your local shop selles these bad boys id get em. I guarentee you will like them.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Silent Death105 Wednesday, June 28th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Only other paintballs I bought from Command Post -Don't remember the names
Marker Setup: AGD TAC-ONE
no accessories yet
Recommended
Barrels:
around .688
Strengths: Good for woods ball especially when shooting through brush
Fairly cheap-$15 for 500
Weaknesses: The only weakness is there is dimples but not an outrageous amount
Review: I recently bought these this summer and they work great with my Tac One. I easily can shoot through the brush and the accuracy is great.Never had 1 break with these yet and I have been in many battles with my friend's at my house.They also break on contact but don't break on every twig which is a bonus.I was owning my friends while their crappy wild streaks bounced off of me.
Conclusion: Try them- you will not be disappointed for the price
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

BIGBILL105 45 Tuesday, June 20th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
x-ball bronze.
Marker Setup: 05 vision shocker
halo b w/ rip and 9 volt mod
68/4500 compressed air tank
Recommended
Barrels:
All American
Strengths: Cheap-strong-thick fill
Weaknesses: Small bore size and hard
Review: Me and my friend went to a field to play at and they had xball bronze and origin basic training. We didnt really know much about the origin paint and we knew the xball paint was decent so we bought that. The xball paint seemed to alright but it was around 10 bucks more than origin. When we got our next case, we decided to save a little money so we bought origin. My friend and I both thought it shot wonderful and we had no chops or beaks. At times it was a little innaccrate but it was great. This paint got blenty of bounces since it is so hard. This paint is probably one of the best paint for the money. I will def. buy this paint more often.
Conclusion: This paint is awsome for the price. But make sure you have a small bore barrel/ barrel back.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (3):  1  |  2  |  3
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media