paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Special Ops Paintball MP5-SD Shroud / Special Ops Paintball MP5-SD Shroud / Special Ops Paintball MP5-SD Shroud / Special Ops Paintball MP5-SD Shroud

Special Ops Paintball MP5-SD Shroud Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Special Ops Paintball

Buy Special Ops Paintball MP5-SD Shroud

Paintball A-5 Accessories

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Special Ops Paintball MP5-SD Shroud
[ View Photos (3) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 8
Average Rating: 7.9 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $50

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Give your Tippmann A-5 an intimidating military look and feel with the new Special Ops MP5-SD Shroud! The sturdy shroud with foregrip is free-floating so it won't scar or damage your barrel, and it's simple to install. Designed and built by fellow woodsball players, the realistic mil-sim shroud is constructed from durable injection-molded plastic to withstand a lifetime of punishing woods paintball play. Intimidate the opposition and dominate the field with the durable Special Ops A-5 MP5-SD Shroud.
Product Availability 
The Special Ops Paintball MP5-SD Shroud is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
demoteam44 Thursday, February 14th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Stock A-5 Foregrip- i didn't like the foregrip in the first place, so my bias is going to say that this is one SOO much better.
Marker Setup: Tippmann A-5 with R/T
MP5 SD shroud
MP5 Air-thru mag
A5A2 Commando Stock
14" Linear SmartParts Barrel
Adco Hot Shot red dot scope
Strengths: Doesn't take long to install
Feel
Price
Weaknesses: None
Review: I love this thing. It not only is functional, but also makes the gun look AWESOME! I feel that it is easier to aim and get a good shot off with this shroud. It's built really nice, it really doesn't look like plastic when it's on the gun. When i went into the store to check it out, i was having second thoughts about it because it looks dumb in the package. I asked the guys at SOF (best store EVER!) to put it on wone of their A-5's they had there. They did, and i was in love. The only concern i have, is if you get a barrel break, and the paint by some means gets out and into the shroud, it takes a <bol>LITTLE</bol> bit of time to clean out.
Conclusion: Although it doesn't really effect the performance of the gun (in my opinion it does) but it makes the gun look freaking bad a**.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

ryan.o Saturday, August 11th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
a-5 plain: simple but effective
Marker Setup: A-5
mp5sd shroud
9mm gas through mag
mp5sd slidding stock
Strengths: Look
Weight
Price
Weaknesses: The shroud does not come off easily
barrel cannot be cleaned while on the feild
Review: Some strenghs of this particular setup are its looks, and realism. Not only does it look awesome, but feels, and weighs like a real mp5. This marker intimadates and turns heads of vetrans and noobs alike.This shroud has a bit of weight to make it more realistic but is not too heavy. It is also very affordable and can take quite a beating.
Conclusion: This is a pretty good shroud, can take alot of abuse, It makes a good addition to the A-5 and is well worth your money. There are faults but they do not affect your gameplay
Rating:
7 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

napalm42 Tuesday, April 3rd, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
none
Marker Setup: Tippmann A-5
Tac Cap
1x30 Simmons Red dot scope
Folding Raider Series PDW stock
Aluminum Gas through Mag
Spec ops SD shroud
stock barrel
CMI thunderpig micro coil remote
Strengths: Great material,
Super light weight
Looks and grip

Weaknesses: Difficulty to put together and take apart
Review: This is probably the best thing i have ever seen and used, I have also read all the other reviews from the other people, and i decided to give it a shot and test it myself... This was the best idea i have ever had, not only are they wrong but its an incredible product.

The main problem people complain about is the fact that it is hard to take out your barrel and clean it mid game, yet this is an A-5 we are talking about, you can use a straight short squeegee and get it fixed in a second.

Yet my only main complaint (not the fault of specops) is that unless you use a barrel the stock length (and perfectly align the shroud) or a longer barrel, the paint doesnt always make it out of the shroud.

but on a whole the looks are incredible, the shroud can be taken apart after a tops of 3 minutes for me, and put bak together with another 3

this isnt a problem because between games i can clean everything out.


I LOVE THIS THING BUY IT and dont listen to them about the shorty shroud because that elminates the whole purpose of it looking like the SD MP5,
Conclusion: LOVE IT i feel it is a very strong product and very good design, the only flaw is one made by the consumer for having too short of a barrel and not having a straight shot squeegee




MAJOR EDIT!!!!!!: i have been playing with this for a while and after my last game i
decided to do something about the field strip ability of this thing, so I
made a very simple barely noticible mod to it and now its just as
field strippable as unscrewing the barrel, and it is still as sturdy as it
was before
just go to www.undergroundmodshop.com and go to the forums and search for tippmann A-5 SD shroud mod

Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, June 5th, 2007 at 6:58 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

BRASSKNUCKLES Thursday, March 1st, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
none
Marker Setup: Tippmann a5
was e trigger
jcs red hot power tube
ops gear mp5 sliding stock
special ops mp5 sd shroud
special ops mp5 air thru mag
32 degrees starfire
jcs jet click
1/8 inch qev
32 degrees macroline kit
scepter grenade launcher
Strengths: Strong reinforced plastic fiberglass.
Weaknesses: Getting to your barrel.
Review: Well I bought this item and I was impressed by the looks of it. Makes your marker look like a mp5 for real. But then comes the barrel cleaning. Man if you break paint in your barrel get ready for a chore to get this thing apart. I would miss every other game because of this. So when I got home the first thing I did was cut the front off of it. Too much trouble to get to your barrel.
Conclusion: Get the shorty shroud.
Rating:
7 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

FlamingoChavez Tuesday, February 27th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Special Ops A5A2 Shorty Fore Grip
Marker Setup: Tippmann A5 (Primary Setup)
=Vortex mod
=E-Grip
=Off Set Rail Adapter
=Dove tail to picanny rail adapter
=Flatline Barrel w/ custom SMG shroad and Spec-ops foregrip or J&J barrel w/ sepc-ops =MP-5 shroad
=Palmer Stabilizer
=NCStar 42mm Red dot site
=32 degrees remote
=Car Adjustable Stock

Tippmann 98 Custom (Alternate Setup)
=Lapco Bigshot or Flatline
=Dark Horizon Titanium Hammer
=BSA Red dot site
=AK Sniper Loader
=Car Stock
=Remote Air
=Psycho Ballistics Rocket Cock
Strengths: Solid Construction
Easy to Grip
Very Ergonomic
Looks Good
Weaknesses: See Review Body
Review: Construction:
Right off the bat, I was kinda disappointed. Several of the screw holes weren't drilled out to the proper widths, and I had to reem them out a little with my knife to get them started. For some strange reason, I can't imagine why, Special Ops didn't use the same size screws compatible to the Allen wrenches needed for the rest of the marker.

The shroud mount was wobble free, and very solid, it felt like it was just an extension of my marker. The grip holds really well, I actually found it to be slightly sharp where the two halves of the shroud come together, if you don't wear gloves while playing, then you might want to take a file and wear down the edges a little.

Barrel Removal:
I have a 12" J&J edge kit, and my barrel sticks out of the shroud about a half inch. That ticked me off a little at first, but I quickly realized it was a HUGE strength. This shroud is annoying as crap to dissemble. I'm able to take my entire barrel out without having to remove the shroud.
Conclusion: If I had a shorter barrel then my 12" J&J kit, then I would have given this mod a 6 (I certainly wouldn't have been as generous as the person beneath me), but seeing as I do have an adequately long barrel which allows me to remove it without having to take the shroud apart, I'm giving it an 8 because its still not easy to dissesemble (but I don't have to do it as often, as others might) and its ridiculous that spec ops changed the Allen screw size on this shroud.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Terminator 2 Friday, January 26th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 months0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
A5 ump shroud (if you call this similar)
Marker Setup: Tippmann A5, e-grip WAS, Saw stock, UMP shroud, JCS trigger, Qloader, Werks and Qloader barrel, remote disconnect.
Special ops paintball ION Q bow setup with Qloader mod from Qloader
Strengths: Looks, weight, grip, price
Weaknesses: Number of screws to assemble and disassemble,
Review: A friend of mine currently owns this shroud and I have had a chance to test and check it out.
The construction is really well planned out and weight is almost unnoticeable and it looks great. It mends with the body nearly perfect.
My biggest problem with this is the # of screws needed to put this thing together. If there weren't so many screws it would make it easier to remove and or clean.

Since I research things to death before I buy them I already understood using a shorter barrel or/and the stock barrel, would be a problem in removing w/o shroud removal. To compensate for this one should have at least a 12-14in barrel to remove w/o shroud removal. 14Inch barrel leaves adequate room to easily grip the barrel to remove. The 12inch can be done but you have only about 1 inch to grab and twist.
An easier fix is to purchase a straight shot squeegee.
Conclusion: great mod if you want an MP5 look. I recommend a 12-14inch barrel if you want to have this SD version.
Rating:
8 out of 10Last edited on Friday, January 26th, 2007 at 9:48 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Neo_Enhander Wednesday, November 22nd, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
SpecOps MP5 SD short shroud
Marker Setup: Tippmann A-5
Lapco 8 Inch BigShot
SpecOps MP5 Mag Kit
SpecOps MP5 SD Full Shroud
OPSGEAR AK Folding Stock
Red Hot Power Tube
APE E-Grip
TechT Vortex
QEV
---------------------------------------
Tippmann 98 Custom
OPSGEAR 18 inch Interceptor Barrel
OPSGEAR Barret Muzzle Break
OPSGEAR Raider Shroud
OPSGEAR Gas Thru Raider Mag
FX 6 Point Stock
----------------------------------
Tippmann 98C Modded to WWII Thompson Sub Machine Gun
Strengths: Looks
Weaknesses: Barrel Removal
Review: I bought this shroud and loved it at first. It looked killer and got a bunch of comments from the guys at the field. But after playing one game with it, I realized how bad it was. If you have a barrel shorter than 12 inches, you cannont take the barrel out if you break. You have to take the whole shroud off, which is time consuming. I ended up sawing the front part off and left the back part(the MP5 SD Short shroud). Works just fine now.
Conclusion: Looks good, but wasnt carefully thought out.
Rating:
7 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

OlUncleGearHead Thursday, January 19th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month13 of 15 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Opsgear G36C Grip
Tippman BT-16 Barrel
Marker Setup: Tippman A5
Special Ops SD Shroud (modified - See edit.)
Lapco Theaded Aluminum mock Suppressor
Smart Parts Freak Front
Smart Parts All-American Back
Special Ops MP Mag to Remote
Special Ops Flattop Rail
Opsgear G36C Stock (for now)
Pure Energy Remote
Strengths: Authentic looking
Weight
Accepts stock front ring sight and vertical grip
Weaknesses: Setup (see review body)
Hardware (see review body)
Barrel Access
Review: BACKGROUND
Anyone with a passing knowledge of firearms notices that the Tippmann A5 paintball marker looks strikingly similar to the Heckler and Koch MP5K, the cut down personal defense weapon version of the famous MP5 9mm submachine gun, used widely around the world by police and military tactical and counter-terrorist teams. This shroud replicates the distinctive front end of the MP5SD, the version of the sub-machinegun that features an integral baffle-type sound suppressor.

PACKAGING/CONTENTS
The packaging is a simple plastic bag, with a stapled on cardboard closure. It contained the two halves of the shroud body, a bagged selection of screws, a small bag of shims and a simple instruction sheet.

CONSTRUCTION
The shroud is built of matte black fiberglass reinforced plastic. The screws are anodized black. It should be noted that this shroud imparts no sound suppression properties. Holes in the shroud accommodate the ‘fin’ that is part of the front of the marker receiver. There is a space at the front of the grip to fit the stock front sight, as well as a section underneath that will allow you to use the front vertical grip is desired (or a number of aftermarket parts designed to use that mounting point). However, a longer screw will be needed to utilize this feature. Considering the SD Shroud will add just under 11 inches to the overall length of the marker, the weight addition seems almost negligable

FIT AND FINISH
The SD Shroud attaches to the marker using longer screws that replace the screws d the two halves of the A5 receiver together for a secure, wobble-free fit. Setup is a rather simple matter of mounting the two halves, noting if the barrel runs straight down the shroud. If not, the selection of shims will be sufficient to adjust the shroud so it will sit properly, although it can be a time consuming process to get right.

The barrel is where the real problems begin. The A5 barrel adapter has a tendency to loosen so that it turns rather easily in the receiver after a few months of use. This means that the barrel can have quite a bit of wobble, and when using a shorter barrel can be firing perilously close to the edge of the shroud. This can be solved with the mil-sim paintballer’s secret weapon: electrical tape. To be fair this is a flaw of Tippmann's, not Special Ops.

The 'ribbed' section of the shroud provides a really solid, non-slip grip surface both for gloved and non-gloved hands.

The shroud, once installed, makes removing the barrel for cleaning quite a chore. The shroud opening is about 1’ wide, which doesn’t give much room to get your fingers in to remove the barrel, ultimately meaning you have to remove the right hand side of the shroud to access the barrel. If you're playing a long game this could be a real hinderance if you should chop a ball.

**EDIT**
After playing a game with a case of dimpled and misshapen Torks (at an isolated field, so I didn't have the option of hiking back out, driving an hour to pick up a case of new paint) I've discovered that 'quite a chore' doesn't really adequately describe getting your barrel out. It's damned near impossible to do quickly. If you are serious about a MP5SD look, I suggest you instead get the 'Shorty' version of this shroud and use a Lapco Mock Suppressor. I just finished Dremelling off the front end of the shroud and replacing it with the threaded alluminum supressor which allows for much easier barrel access. This setup also has the added advantage of getting rid of the somewhat unsightly row of four Special Ops logos along the barrel.
**END EDIT**

In a somewhat poorly cogitated move, Special Ops couldn’t get or chose not to use screws that use the same Allen wrench sizes as the stock screws, meaning you’ve got one more hex wrench to carry around with you (and hopefully not lose) in your maintenance kit.

Another small issue is that because the shroud runs to the edge of the cocking handle, it can be a bit tough to hook the knob with a finger to cock it. Special Ops did have the foresight to put a strip on non-ribbed surface around the cocking handle, so it won't prematurely wear out your glove, or rub you finger raw.

CARE AND MAINTAINANCE
Once you get that inevitable marker hit, you'll have to clean this sucker, and luckily, that's a fairly easy chore. Most of the paint will just wipe off with a damp rag. However, since there are 9 screw holes to suck up the paint and trap it, it's probably be worth the effort to just wholly remove it and give it a rinse. Just make sure you dry it well and oil the brass screw fittings.
Conclusion: A solid cosmetic modification, but with some technical issues. This is a solid buy, and really enchances the mil-sim look of the A5, but has some serious drawbacks. It's disappointing to see that from the retailler whose corporate motto is "Mods that make sense".
Rating:
7 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, February 7th, 2006 at 12:01 am PST
I found this review  
6 Comments - Add Comment
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media