paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Smart Parts Tactical Barrel / Smart Parts Tactical Barrel / Smart Parts Tactical Barrel

Smart Parts Tactical Barrel Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Smart Parts

Buy Smart Parts Tactical Barrel

Paintball Barrels

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Smart Parts Tactical Barrel
[ View Photos (8) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 35
Average Rating: 8.6 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $55

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Total military simulation. The Smart Parts Tactical barrel is quiet and accurate at long distances. A perfect sniper upgrade for your scenario paintball gun.
Product Availability 
The Smart Parts Tactical Barrel is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (4):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4
        Next Page
Patman24 Saturday, March 20th, 2010
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Smart Parts linear barrel, a-5 flatline barrel, stock a-5 barrel
Marker Setup: tippmann a-5, remote line, smart parts tactical barrel, m4 car.stock.
Recommended
Paintballs:
high bore size
Strengths: VERY VERY ACCURATE!!!! slick looks good AMAZING
Weaknesses: None so far
Review: i got this barrel about 4 days a go and i absolutely love it is is so acurate i cannot believe i cannot wait to try it at the field i will write a follow up review once i have and so far i have only used Re-balls in it so far so i cannot asses breakage and how easy it is to clean. i got home and opened the box and OMG IT SHONE LIKE A MIRROR yet the outer coating went perfect with my a-5 i love it best barrel ever so far i have tried anyway SOOOOOOOO GOD DAMN ACCURATE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Conclusion: Amazing barrel a must buy for any woodsballer this barrel is soo accurate will write another review once i have thoroughly tested it but first impressions AMAZING!!!!!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

tyguy123 Sunday, March 22nd, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
None
Marker Setup: TIPPMANN 98 CUSTOM PLATINUM A.C.T. SMARTPARTS TACTICAL 16" in. BARREL
Recommended
Paintballs:
Diablo and J.T. Tactical
Strengths: Intimidating, acurate, good with sniper.
Weaknesses: If ONE ball breaks you cannot clear the barrel by shooting.
Review: This barrel is absolutly amazing! the silencing holes on the side and the end of the barrel are very helpful. With this barrel you can catch your apponents by suprise.
I recomend you get this barrel if you are a snake in Speedball. When you run up the field with this puppy, you wont regret it.
Conclusion: If you get this barrel, make sure you have a pipe squeejy on the field. If you dont your going to regret it. ALWASE have a barrel cleaner with you because if a ball breaks with this barrel you CANNOT shoot it clean.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

noob slayer43 Thursday, January 29th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
J@j barrels
Marker Setup: proto slg
stock
halo b hopper
(clamping feedneck on the way)

Tippmann 98 custom A.C.T.
Double trigger
JJ 16 inch barrel
Car stock
Recommended
Paintballs:
Almost any i dont like to use field paintballs though because some is cheap
Strengths: Looks cool, in right conditions accurate,
Weaknesses: Picky with fps, Sometimes isnt very accurate.
Review: Bought this barrel for a good price of 30$ at a local field and it was pretty good not as accurate as i thought if you are on the right fps andthe wind isnt blowing or anything WOW is was good i was hitting people from a pretty good ways away.
Conclusion: I liked this barrel not as good as i was hoping though.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

nodamnamesleft Sunday, December 28th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Opsgear 18 inch Interceptor- Only tested
Stock A-5 Barrel- Like apples and oranges
Marker Setup: A-5
6 point CAR Stock
MP5 Mag gas thru
Smart Parts 20 Inch Tactical
Recommended
Paintballs:
So far XO industries V1 Series works really good
Strengths: Accurate, Cleans itself well
Weaknesses: Length takes getting used to
Portings difficult to clean
Review: So i picked up this barrel to improve my accuracy and it did just that. With the stock barrel the balls would go about 20-30 feet then veer off in a random direction. With the tactical, the balls would be consistently accurate at 75+ feet. Vast improvement. After i had put about 500+- rounds through it,Ii took it off my marker and had a look down it to see if it was dirty. There was barely any grime in it. The length was a bit awkward at first but it was quite easy to get used to. This is definitly a good barrel for the A-5 and i would reccommend it for people who like to sit back and play "sniper" . Close quarters is a bit tricky but it can be done.
Conclusion: All in all this is a good barrel that i feel is worth the investment. it improves accuracy and makes the marker look better at the same time.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, December 28th, 2008 at 8:09 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

musicianist737 Saturday, November 15th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
alpha black stock
Marker Setup: alpha black tactical (shroud and stock)
AR15 scope mount
3x-9x scope
tac handle and picattiny rail
Tiberius Bi-pod
Tiberius laser sight
Recommended
Paintballs:
Mostly any. Cheaap balls get you cheap results but anything will work in short range.
Strengths: Intimidation
accuracy
Weaknesses: None by my standards
Review: I started paintballing over the summer with my friend. His setup was an X7 with a bigshot barrel and an apex tip. When I eventually got my gun and all the extras we would shoot in my backyard (up to 100 feet of straight open range). By comparison my gun was much better at grouping the paintballs than his and he was using a bigshot. At that range the apex made little to no difference. The barrel is amazing and I am keeping it rather than go apex or flatline. The price ($40) wasn't that bad either. My first objective was intimidation. With the above stuff on my gun it achieved great results. To use it on the field was amazing. I also get free air on the field so I have never had an air problem with it.

Story: I was on a field (can't remember the name) and behind an oil truck front tire well. There was a small hole that was the only area i was exposed to the enemy. The other guy was about 25 feet away and behind a jeep. Having a barrel this long I stuck it through the hole and had an extremely easy time of hitting this guys friend in the knee and then hitting the orignal guy.
Conclusion: I recommend. I don't recommend over the bigshot or the Apex. Everybody has their preferences and the other parts have proven vary good. However when it come to grouping shots and scaring your opponent the tac barrel is the way to go.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

GianM87 Tuesday, October 14th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
1 year3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippman 98 Custom stock barrel
14" Tippmann 98 Custom barrel (forgot where I got it from and the manufacturer)
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98 Custom
Smart Parts Tactical 06 20" barrel
Double Trigger
Brass Eagle 20 oz. CO2 tank
JT Elite Headshield mask
------------------------
Soon to be added:
Response Trigger
Cyclone Feed
Recommended
Paintballs:
Medium bore. Small will work well too. So far I haven't had a problem with my paint choices.
Strengths: Very accurate
Intimidation factor
Looks great
Stealth
Reliability
Quiet
Pricing
Weaknesses: Length takes some getting used to.
Review: Back in December 2007 I was in the market for a newer, more reliable barrel to add to my Tippmann 98 Custom. The marker itself is still in a relatively stock condition, although I had a 14" barrel that satisfied my expectations as to how it should perform in woodsball scenarios. However, the more I played with my barrel the more disappointed I became with it. If there was any residual paint from either a chopped round or if one ball in the bag was compromised, my shots would go wildly off target. Even when the barrel was in its best condition, it wasn't as consistent as I would like it to be, especially since I prefer to fill the sniper/marksman role and do it well.

I did some research, browsed several online paintball site's selections, and found the SP Tactical on one of the sites. It was 20", which perked my interest since a longer barrel is typically more accurate, so I did some research on just this barrel, read several reviews from this website, and weighed the good and the bad before I made my purchase.

Initial experiences:
When it arrived I immediately tried it on my marker to get a feel for it. The extra length gave my marker a more balanced feel, although I noticed it also affected my ability to bring it to bear on an imaginary target around a corner. I knew I would have to rethink my gameplay to compensate for the extra length. I was impressed with its accuracy when I fired my first round. I picked a 8" diameter tree about 50 ft away from where I was standing and fired five rounds into it. Four out of the five hit well within the target tree, the first round having barely missed it.

In my first woodsball game with this barrel on, it immediately drew notice from the crowd and friends. A few friends chuckled and quoted sniper mottos and the field master joked that I had to be two extra feet away from my target in order to make use of the "live or die" challenge. It did intimidate some players a bit, making some people try to avoid me altogether, while others focused on me to eliminate me early. So people noticed the "big stick." When I first dropped my gun to my side, the barrel was so long the tip scraped the dirt a bit and I had to inspect it to make sure I would have clean shots.

While in play, the barrel threw me off so much... I'm the kind of player that'll crouch low or even go prone and crawl further up to avoid detection and set myself up for a proper shot. A lot of woods that I play by have open fields that have 5-6' tall grasses and shrubs growing by mid-spring, and the dead grasses from the previous year were still standing tall, making ideal concealment for sneaky players like myself. The problem was, my gun was catching on the grasses and holding me up a lot more than I had expected it to. The only way I really got around that inconvenience was to just put my whole body into a turn while easing my marker through the grasses so I could bring it to bear on my intended target.

Overall experiences:
After figuring out the in-game feel, then I started noticing the advantages it'd give me while in the fields and woods. If I'm in a heavy patch of grasses, I'm able to remain relatively concealed while I can have the tip of my barrel poking out and at my intended target. The porting makes it quieter than the other barrels out on the field, so I can usually get off a couple extra shots before players know where the fire is coming from.

As for its reliability, I have had only a couple rounds break on me inside the barrel due to some sand getting inside while I was defending a flag set in some sand dunes (no, I was not playing on a beach although I'd bet it'd be an awesome experience). Even after firing the marker a few times to get the paint and any sand out of the barrel, the overall accuracy was still up to my expectations.

Now, almost a year after my purchase, I'm so used to it that it serves more as an extension of my arm. Going back to my 14" barrel, I'm usually back to my 20" after just a few shots because of my dissatisfaction from the loss of accuracy and "quirky" feel (I lose the feel that I'm shouldering a rifle and I'm swinging around a SMG). I know accuracy is affected by whatever sized paint I'm shooting, but I've used cheap Monster balls to higher end and field-only paint, and I haven't observed any noticeable change in accuracy. So really I have no preference to what I'm shooting as long as it fits through the barrel.

I've received plenty of feedback from the barrel's performance, of which several friends have told me it's quieter. One friendly rival sporting an automatic marker with a flatline system told me that "I'm usually the only player he's concerned about going up against not because of my rate of fire (as fast as I can pull the trigger), but because my shots go where I want them to." Since I'm that guy that'll run a good quarter mile to flank the enemy and crawl to get even closer, I tend to get the jump on people more than he does. Even with us going toe-to-toe hiding behind a trees pumping paint into each other (and those unfortunate trees), I usually have the luxury to leave my cover and pop a few rounds into him before he can recover as he's reloading his hopper (since he goes through a whole lot more paint than I do). Granted, this has more to do with player's skill and game tactics, but when I find myself in situations where I have a window of opportunity of just a few seconds, the last thing I want to do is worry about my shots veering off target. Compared to the flatline system my friend uses, I don't have the range he does, but I do have the accuracy, since I can tilt my marker on its side without having my shots veer to the side like a flatline equipped marker's paint would.

All of the above review applies to my stock Tippmann 98 Custom. Now (10/14/08) I'm about to have my first game with my marker with a Response Trigger and Cyclone Feed System installed, and I'll come back to write my initial and overall thoughts once I've seen some action.
Conclusion: This barrel is designed for the woodsballer in mind. The increased accuracy and reliability on the field makes it a superb barrel to play with regardless of a player's overall experience, although its length takes some getting used to. Being an avid woodsballer myself, I am very happy to have this barrel on my marker. I have only played in a speedball setting twice, the first was with my 14" before I had the SP Tactical, and the second game with my 20". It performed flawlessly in the setting I was in, as I was able to keep a constant stream of fire directly upon my hiding target's head and contend against the other team without any real limitations imposed on me due to its length.

But to quote I love my A5: "Its soul is woodsball; if you are a speedballer do not buy this." Overall, I give it a 9.7 for my experience with this barrel.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, October 14th, 2008 at 8:44 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Rogue ICEBERG Wednesday, August 27th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Smart Parts Linear (both 14 inch and 16)
Flatline A5
Marker Setup: BT-4 combat
Brass eagle 50 round pocket hopper
9 oz brass eagle
3000 PSI HPa tank
redline red dot scope
Recommended
Paintballs:
medium bore
(but small works fine only small difference of maybe a foot at 150 ft)
Strengths: Killer looks
accurate
fairly quiet
not picky on paint
Weaknesses: Length takes getting used to
Picky on velocity
Review: I came across the barrel at opsgear but had not heard much about it. I decided to take a chance. When I cracked the box open I released this was probably one of the nicest looking barrels I've seen but did it perform. After firing of a thirty round hoopper I was surprised to see that the balls all struck with in a foot of each other at 100 ft.
FIrst game I had a little trouble manuavering with the lenght as I only use 14 inch before that. I quickly adapted and found my self being more patient because I knew that only a couple shot where needed. after a 4 hours of playing I had fired less than 20 balls and had 5 kills. I was duely impressed. performs great in rain and cold though in really cold weather you may break balls if your on CO2 so run Hpa and you will be fine
After more experience wit hthe 20 inch I now am able to hit targets 150 plus ft with ease. wit hthe proper scope adjust ments your untouchable with this barrel ( yes you need a scope its that accurate. with the tactical on your side no other sniper stands a chance
Conclusion: Great barrel awesome for milsim and length is easy to get used to.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Ireland LLC Sunday, June 15th, 2008
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Stiffi
Marker Setup: Tippmann A-5
W.A.S. E-grip
Stiffi Switch with .687 back
90-4500 Nitro Duck
LPK w/ CP Reg
PMI Remote
Recommended
Paintballs:
Any
Strengths: Looks
Weaknesses: Does not help performance at ALL!!! Bends.... Way too long.... Wastes gas
Review: This barrel does not do a thing in performance in any way at all. I'm not sure on the bore size, but I am for certain that when you put a .68 paintball in the barrel it rolls out with plenty of room to spare. The porting also keeps the barrel from saving any air at all to help in the range aspects. I thought it would be interesting to see if a 20" barrel could out range a 8" barrel. Nothing could be further from the truth. The 20" may have shot a foot or so further but that can't even for certain. On top of all this, the barrel is very easy to flex so I can't imagine that that could help in accuracy....... Save your money and buy a nice barrel...... This thing is garbage!!!
Conclusion: Do not buy! Huge waste of money, I guarantee you will be disapointed if you purchase.
Rating:
4 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

maxtergm Tuesday, June 10th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Marker Setup: BT-4 Q-loader
Spyder red dot sight
12 oz CO2
Smart Parts Tactical Barrel
Strengths: Very accurate!
Dead silent
Low cost
Weaknesses: Very long but not a problem for me
Review: This barrel is absolutely amazing! If the valve on my gun wasn't so loud then I would never be heard by anyone. When I accidentally dry fired at a group on patrol (my loader was jammed) it took two shots before they even realised they were being shot at. Even when I was playing with extremely small paint I could hit people at nearly long ball range.
Conclusion: As I said before: dead quiet, scary accurate, and my personal favorite, inexpensive. I would give it a 10 but I know that some people find really long barrels unnecessary and inconvenient, but for me this is a perfect barrel.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

lordofsayde Tuesday, April 15th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann 98c standard barrel
Marker Setup: 98c, 20" tac barrel, CAR stock
Recommended
Paintballs:
Medium grade
Strengths: Very accurate
Weaknesses: Short range
Review: I purchased my first gun, a 98 custom, with a few upgrades in a "kit". I used the 20" barrel for about 3 months, then at a friends house i tried his A-5 with a stock barrel. i noticed the 30 foot difference in accuracy, so i put on my standard 98 barrel and tried firing, it went about 25-30 feet further than my 20" tac barrel. but it was less accurate. As my friends and i were trying to figure out why, since it shouldnt be doing that, we noticed the bore of the barrel was HUGE. I dont know if it was a factory error, or a different model. I am not sure but the paint would lose energy around 70 ft.
Conclusion: Well, it is very accurate. therefore good for the aggresive woodsballer, but it u are looking for some range AND accuracy, an APEX barrel is the way to go.
Rating:
5 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (4):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media