paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Smart Parts Tactical Barrel / Smart Parts Tactical Barrel / Smart Parts Tactical Barrel

Smart Parts Tactical Barrel Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Smart Parts

Buy Smart Parts Tactical Barrel

Paintball Barrels

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Smart Parts Tactical Barrel
[ View Photos (8) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 35
Average Rating: 8.6 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $55

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Total military simulation. The Smart Parts Tactical barrel is quiet and accurate at long distances. A perfect sniper upgrade for your scenario paintball gun.
Product Availability 
The Smart Parts Tactical Barrel is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (4):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4
        Next Page
TheDuke1973 Friday, February 29th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
nothing that long or similar.
Marker Setup: Tippmann A5, Polished inside,Vortex Mod,Palmer Stabi..
Recommended
Paintballs:
Dunno, but high bore paint im sure.
Strengths: Dident find any
Weaknesses: High Bore size, my paints did swirl to the sides with this barrel.
Review: Body is smooth, and the barrel in itself looks very nice. Nice job from Smart-Parts,
Killer Sniper looks, but they promise maybe a little to much :-) well i dident try with exact match of paint yet, but other barrels work better with small bore paints.

I can only give it 7 in grade, im not happy for that barrel, highbore paints is not that easy to get here, so i go back to freakset :-)

Conclusion: If you want this barrel, be prepared to scout for high bore paints, or else you wont get anything good from this. thats my opinion to that.
Rating:
7 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Overdryve75 Saturday, February 9th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
6 months4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Marker Setup: Spyder Fenix - 14" Boomstick barrel; custom drop forward, grips, and tourney board.
Spyder MR1 - 20" Smart Parts Tactical barrel w/ glow sights; custom stock and grips.
Recommended
Paintballs:
Something decent; works well with just about any paint so long as it's not cheap crap.
Strengths: Accuracy, weight, price, and sheer novelty (come on, it's 20 inches!).
Weaknesses: Awkward length
Review: A great barrel for woodsball players with a sniper mentality. It even turned my mediocre Spyder MR1 into a respectable marker. Very good accuracy; I can consistently hit small targets at upwards of 25-30 yards, with decent paint. It's nothing special, but still good enough for me to use as my primary woodsball barrel.

Definitely not for speedball or close quarters... those 20 inches of precision become a serious liability if and when you get bunkered. I recommend carrying a backup (I use a Zeus G1) if your field will allow it, just in case you get cornered. Players who use stocks, especially, should be aware that this barrel will turn your marker into a four-foot-long beast that sticks out of cover, makes fast movement difficult, and provides an attractive (albeit skinny) target for your opponents. An extra-long squeegee is a wise investment, also.

Crazy length aside, the barrel is remarkably light and durable. As for appearance, well... basically, the thing looks goofy. You're sure to get a few stares before games, but people have to respect it when you take them out with single, precision shots. Plus, there's a certain rebellious appeal to it's awkwardness... you'll definitely stand out from the Tippman A-5/Custom crowd.

There are more practical and more accurate barrels out there; but for the price, it's a solid upgrade. And, of course, there's something to be said for being the only guy sporting a 20" piece of hardware... but we won't go into that.
Conclusion: A great choice for casual-to-intermediate woodsball players on a budget.
Rating:
8 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, February 9th, 2008 at 8:55 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

jjaameskenny Thursday, January 3rd, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
ive used a progressive,linier (cant spell it) Tactical (duh) Freak barrel kit
Dye Ultra light all american
Marker Setup: Spyder Extra 2007 with 14 Freak barrel (speed ball)
Tippmann 98 Custom with 20 inch Tactical barrel (woodball)
Tippmann 98 Custom 14 inch Progressive and pen spring mod (lender gun)
Recommended
Paintballs:
procaps? bronze,silver and gold worked good for me even in cold weather
zap worked ok kinda bad somthimes tho
RPS Menace? worked ok for me
thast all i can remember haha

Strengths: Intimidation
Very accurate with right bore sizes
Weaknesses: Kinda long but you get used to to
Co2 shoots out alot in rainy weather
Review: Ive had this barrel for about....3 months i got it at some army surplus store and i paid about 50 dollers for it and its been worth it so far. Its really good for longer games i found and its perfect for sniping in woodball (ive also dropped this barrel many many times on concrete grass etc and it has like no dents or anything so its really strong0
Conclusion: If you can get it for around 50-60 dollers i would buy it cause its a really good reliable barrel
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Eun-Hjzjined Wednesday, October 17th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippman 98 Custom Flatline
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98 Custom
Tasco Red-Dot 1x30
Tasco Riflescope 3-9 x 32
Lapco dual offset rail [NATO / Warsaw pact]
Smart Parts Tactical 20"
Strengths: - Solid construction
- Intimidation
- Price
Weaknesses: - Length
- A ball break would most certainly cause you to leave the field
Review: I bought this barrel from badlands paintball a little over 2 weeks ago.

I unfortunately I have not been able to use it much yet. I have ran about 300 or so rounds through the barrel in my back yard though.

I first saw this barrel over at special ops paintball, was going to order it the next day but it was pulled from the site. I then quickly hurried over to badlands and purchased it for $54 and shipping to my door.

I Quickly unpakaged it and tore off my stock 98c barrel [piece of garbage], twisted it on and CRAP.... oh well... People have been saying that the porting lines up quite nicely, but I found that the porting was titled on about 45 degrees from being paralell with the ground.

It is quite accurate and alot more quiet that the stock barrel and the flatline.

My backyard is only about 50 feet at its widest, so I dont have alot of room to test the accuracy with.

With the stock barrel I was placing rounds within 4 to 6 inches of the center of the taget.
With the smaprt parts barrel it was reduced to within an inch every time.

I was very impressed, but am itching to get out in the woods with this new barrel.

I am quite certain that with this, a decent stock and a bipod you could be fairly accurate to 150 feet with great paint [ within 4-5 inches, but DON'T quote me, I haven't tried yet :( ]

Conclusion: I recommend this to anyone who is looking to step up and improve their marksmanship game, or for those who are already good and who want to put the fear of god into those poor suckers on the other end of it.

I'm giving it a 9 strictly becasue the porting didn't line up as I expected. Otherwise it's a 10 all around.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Ra-Hell Wednesday, June 6th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
6 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Thunder pig Tru-flight 14"
Marker Setup: Tippmann A5, Response trigger, Dead on Aluminum Power tube, Polished internals, Swat force red dot sight, Riser mount, 14 Oz CO2, Hopper Elbow.
Recommended
Paintballs:
This barrel is not paint picky however cheap paint is not recommended.
Strengths: Accurate, Very well made, Looks, Price!
Weaknesses: None so far.
Review: I was looking for a long barrel and I thought about the Opsgear Interceptor barrel but looking for a longer barrel I came across the Smart parts Tactical. I must say that it was a difficult decision. I considered all the good reviews about both of them and in my opinion the money factor was decisive. I had mine trough a friend who bought it in phoenix for about 39 bucks plus tax I was also considering the Apex barrel (which I got now but need to try more to give an honest review) but after more than 6 months I really believe the purchase was a well worth one, I mean, it exceeded my expectations, I use it with a red dot scope and it's pretty accurate I can place my paint in a small place at a decent distance 40 to 60 meters (131- 196 feet ) It's an excellent option for those looking for as much as possible for every dollar, I mean it! this is a great barrel, I have read many reviews mentioning that one of the weaknesses of it, is that it is too long..... well I think that you can't complain about that if you went for more than 18", right? I still want to give a try to that Opsgear one but until I can afford it I will happily stick with the tactical.
Conclusion: All in all this is a great barrel I would recommend it specially with a stabilizer or at least an expansion chamber because it would increase the consistency and accuracy.... it is also necessary to mention that the lenght increased the Fps so I had to tighten the screw at least two full turns but that is no big deal.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, June 9th, 2007 at 2:56 pm PST
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

forgotenskier Tuesday, May 8th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Smart Parts 14" Frek junior
stock a-5 barrel
Marker Setup: Tippman A-5 with car stock and red dot sight
Recommended
Paintballs:
definately a miedium size ball. Too small and you don't get the accuracy. Too big and the friction of such a long barrel breaks them
Strengths: Accuracy
Intimidation
Very durable
Weaknesses: Length at first
Not rifled
Review: I think it is a great barrel. It is not too loud but neither is it real quit. Sound really isn't an issue though when you shoot your opponent on the first shot. I have dropped mine a few times while running and it is fine without any obvious scratches and no dents.

When I first got it all my buddies wanted to be on my team even though I hadn't gotten any better since the last time we played. The intimidation factor is great. I think that is mostly what you are paying for with this barrel even though the accuracy is much improved as well.

The only thing that I would say against it is the lenght when you first get it. You need to watch out that you don't hit things. Sure it is durable but can still be scratched. Even though it is not rifled it is still the best barrel that I have ever used.
Conclusion: It depends on what games you play. It is definately a great woodsball barrel. If you play speedball or other games in closer quarters try looking at something a little shorter and more manuverable. I only give it a 9 because i'm not willing to give anything a perfect score
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

mystery sniper Monday, April 16th, 2007
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 14 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
B.T. Apex Barrel
J J Ceramic
Marker Setup: Kingman Spyder MR-2
B.T Apex Barrel
Draxxus Pulse Hopper
Recommended
Paintballs:
Midnights
Marbilizer
Rec.Sport
Strengths: Looks
Weaknesses: Price
Length
NOT accurate
NO Distance
Review: Most people keep giving this barrel a good review, it's not that great. Yeah, it looks good, but everyone saying this barrel is accurate, quiet, jus plain awesome..don't know what they are talking about.

I've been playing with the Apex for 1 year now, and when i saw the new smart parts barrel, i got it. If your going to spend more than $50 on a barrel, it should be accurate, quiet, and actually RIFLED, it says rifled for a reason, but its not, its smooth bore. And accurate, yeah rite, i might as well have been using a stock barrel.

Then theres distance. wait, for this barrel.....what distance..... to hit a target at 20ft, you have to lob them, i guess if your going over a wall, but for sniping...NOOOO!!!
Conclusion: Dont buy it, its not worth it,save your money and get something like an apex or flatline if you want an accurate barrel.
Rating:
2 out of 10
I found this review  
6 Comments - Add Comment

paintball48 Sunday, April 15th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
2 years0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Flatline
All american
Marker Setup: Ion
Fire bolt
Virtue quv
All american barrel
Empire b2
Pure energy 48ci 3000 psi
Recommended
Paintballs:
anything over 40$ is usally good
Strengths: Accuracy
Weaknesses: Length
Review: I would not get this barrel because of the lenghth is way to long and they only have one size.the accuracy and distance are good but it is realy hard to play with.if you are playing woodsball i use to hit trees bushes all the time and it got realy hard to keep the barrel in the bunker thats why i gave this product a 6
Conclusion: Do not get it its not worth the money.
Rating:
6 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

Nightwriter Wednesday, March 7th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
6 months0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
15" Proto Barrell- much better porting and bore makes much better barell
Marker Setup: Tippman Custom Pro- with proto barell, empire auto feed hopper, Tapco folding stock
Recommended
Paintballs:
I play with field paint and chronic as well as nightmare and evil.
Strengths: Intimidating
Weaknesses: Too long
Review: I got this barrell because it looked nasty, i thought i was gonna rape everybody because i had been buying accesories to mod my gun to format a sniper style.

First off when i would run around with my gun and try to kneel or crouch i was always plugging my barell into the ground, second when i had to run through brush or low branches i would get snagged. and third if you break a ball there is no squeege on earth that can clean it. i bought a 20 gauge cun rod and cleaning head as a squeege.

One night while playing a night game at the local corn maze i broke a ball and i didint realize it so i kept shooting and my barrells coated in busted paint. I couldnt find anything to clean the frozen paint nobody could find a squeege to clean it, so i stuck it in my cars tailpipe to loosen the frozen paint then took it down to the icy river to rinse it.

i know youre probably thinking that you can bend the laws of the universe and physics to make this barell work for you but you cant. This barell takes more gas to push a ball out of the gun, it bore is too big so theres no real gripping the paintball its bouncing around in the barell. in retrospect it was my fault for buying the barell just because it looked cool i should have known better.
Conclusion: Looks cool but im sure you can find a better barell.
Rating:
5 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

kingsniper Wednesday, February 21st, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
1 year4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
nothing in comparison
Marker Setup: regular 98
smart parts tactical 20"
tasco red/green dot scope
spec ops sniper stock
rocket cock 2
and soon to have a chameleon rfile rag
Recommended
Paintballs:
any
Strengths: Very quiet
Can stick through brush and get a good shot
Very accurate
Intimmidating

Weaknesses: If a ball breaks you better clean it
Review: This is the best barrel for any paintball sniper. When I got home I put it on my gun and shot it about 10 times at around 70-80 ft. The results were shocking, I hit a tree about the size of a basket ball pole 9-10 times and that was even with scorch paint.

When I went to Bull Creek in Ohio (very good place) I sniped about 7 people out from 50-90 ft.
The first one I hit was their leader. When the paintball hit him the first thing he acted like he didnt know what happen uintill he saw the paint on him. The people following him must of thought it was a lucky shot or something because they kept walking. So I shot a nother one off and unsuprisingly it hit a nother person. They finaly found a bunker of some sort and got behind it. I jus waited for some one to stick their head out or any thing and eventualy some one tried to shoot. So I shot him in the mask (from about 55 ft). That leaves only 2 more left. One trys to run so I shoot about five shots nd they actualy missed : O. I geus the kid got courage or something so he charged where he thought I was shootig from so I pegged him. Then this is where the intimidation factor comes in because the kid got so scared or something that he jus surrendured
:P.
Conclusion: You dont need any mods like fake suppresors or an aditional break because 1: it screws your accuacy up and 2: It makes ur gun louder
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (4):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media