paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Smart Parts Tactical Barrel / Smart Parts Tactical Barrel / Smart Parts Tactical Barrel

Smart Parts Tactical Barrel Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Smart Parts

Buy Smart Parts Tactical Barrel

Paintball Barrels

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Smart Parts Tactical Barrel
[ View Photos (8) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 35
Average Rating: 8.6 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $55

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Total military simulation. The Smart Parts Tactical barrel is quiet and accurate at long distances. A perfect sniper upgrade for your scenario paintball gun.
Product Availability 
The Smart Parts Tactical Barrel is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (4):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4
        Next Page
Rewdboy Tuesday, January 30th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
various others
Marker Setup: Spyder MR1, 20 in smart parts tactical barrel, 16 oz CO2, brass eagle pocket hopper
Recommended
Paintballs:
i used stryker from walmart. crappy balls but still shot great
Strengths: Super accurate and looks mean
Weaknesses: Just the length but the accuracy and looks more than make up for it
Review: this came with a package deal from Xtremez.com with my MR-1 for a total of $130. it shoots 100 times better than the stock barrel. i was nailing a 4 in pipe from over 60 ft away about 8/10 with no sight. that mean hitting someone in the face is easy! since you can shoot from so far away they wont even see it coming!
Conclusion: Definately worth the extra $40 (came with my gun) super accurate, light, and looks bad @$$
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

Wraith06 Tuesday, January 23rd, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
6 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Stock BT-16 barrel - decent stock barrel, but does not compare to the Tactical at long range.
Tippman Flatline - slightly longer range then the tactical, but less accurate at distance.
J&J Ceramic - less accurate then tactical, but slightly lighter
Marker Setup: BT-16 w/ 20" Smart Parts Tactical Barrel
Remote line to Pure Energy 72/4500 carbon fiber
Halo B

Backup: 32 Degrees PT Jr. paint pistol
Recommended
Paintballs:
Just about anything. Just steer away from bargain Walmart paint and you'll be alright. Not very forgiving when it comes to lumpy paint. Use fresh stuff.
Strengths: - Accuracy
- Intimidation effect
- Durability
- Reliability
- Moderately loud
Weaknesses: - Length, takes practice
- Cant really shoot it clean
- Body size (explain below)
Review: I've been using the 20" Tactical for a little over 6 months now on a BT-16 and love the results.
- Accuracy at a distance is greatly improved over the stock barrel. Variance between shots can be measured in inches at a distance of 110 feet with decent paint and no breaks. A good backman on the speedball court can destroy the other team on the break.
- Performance is comparable to a stock 98 w/flatline, only the accuracy is better. It's much longer then standard barrels, so you have to get used to the length, but for $40, can't beat the results.
- If you prefer one shot/one kill, this is an excellent choice. Laying down paint? Great until you have a break. Difficult to clean on the field, but easy compared to cleaning a flatline.
- The milsim appearance of the barrel makes it very difficult to put a M-16 style handguard on it. The back end ridges are larger then standard diameter fittings.
Conclusion: An excellent woodsball or speedball barrel. Accurate, affordable, never suffers a scratch no matter what you throw at it, and intimidating to other players. Beats other single piece barrels solid.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

lilmadherb Sunday, October 1st, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
A5 Flatline
Marker Setup: Tippmann A5
E-Grip
SmartParts 20" Tactical Barrel
M82A1 Kit by OpsGear
A5 Stock
NC Star 1x45 Red Dot Scope
72/4500 High Pressure Crossfire
Remote Line
Recommended
Paintballs:
Only tested it with Monster Balls (The cheapest balls I can find at Sport Authority)
Strengths: **Accurate**
**Don't see smoke out of you barrel cause it's PORTED**
**Distance**
Weaknesses: Hard to maneuver with it through brushes
Review: This is a great sniper barrel for all those snipers out there. It is also a good with the EGrip. I had my set to "turbo" mode and I had no ball breaks at all and all my shots were in range of several inches. I was able to shoot a guy about 90 - 100 feet dead on the chest. When I hit my trigger once, I got 2 shoots out (cause of EGrip) and 2 shots were literally an inch away from each other so accuracy and consistency was definitely there.

The best part about the barrel is it is PORTED. Since I'm a sniper guy, I don't like to be seen at all. So whenever I shot my marker you were not able to see any smoke coming out of the barrel even if your shooting with an EGrip. My buddy couldn't find me for awhile cause he saw no smoke when I was firing right at him. I was able to pick off guys without giving my location.

I also bought my barrel on eBay for $39.
Conclusion: Best barrel for the buck. Great and I mean Great accuracy. I will recommend for any sniper out there. I love that it's PORTED and you can see any smoke come out.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Curly Fry Sunday, September 3rd, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
stock tippmann barrel sucks itself
Marker Setup: apache loader is the best get it or a halo b just dont get and egg!
Recommended
Paintballs:
all paint was tested extensiveley using 500 rounds except for visible paint i used 400 rounds

marbilizers - better than super swirls but a little pricey

super swirl - best deal for price

XO industries vein paint- its like a real gun for about 200ft (im serious)

jt tactical paint- as good as marbilizers but again about 5 bucks more than super swirls

scorch - just horrible in this barrel but otherwise is a very good quality paint

big balls - so bad never buy these for anything

seconds paint for opsgear.com - okay but get other paint

tiger swirl - little worse than seconds paint but its very cheap

visible paint - good but i can only find these in 200 round containers

polar ice - as good as marbilizers in summer but the
best in winter

tork - above average but not as good as super swirls
Strengths: Accurate
imtimadation
improves range
cheap
looks
works good with several paints
Weaknesses: Long get used to it
Review: Alright well i get this barrel out of the package it came in and immiediatly went to friendly fire (my local field) and used 2000 rounds of xo industries vein paint. A song comes to mind... ebony, ivory together in perfect harmony.... anyway thats how i felt about the relationship between this barrel and the paint. but since im not made of $$ i decided to try out other paints. marbilizers where very good but didnt come close to vein paint. so i tried super swirls and they were above average. But when i tried scorch paint (normally very good) they just rolled right out of the barrel when i did the barrel test so they are way too small for this barrel.

when i played woods ball i was able to stick my barrel through the brush and shoot easily at my friends on the other team but the good thing is the counldt hit me because the brush it would liquefy the paintballs before it even came close to me.

when i played speedball with this barrel it was also remarkable. since im a back man and i need to shoot around 15 bps and shoot strings of paint i was surprised that it waas still accurate at high speeds. now i am very much better than i was a long time ago since i have the smat parts 20 inch tactical barrel.

Conclusion: Awsome accuracy awsome range and incredible awsome if used with xo vein paint. very cheap as well. get it you wont regret it.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, September 3rd, 2006 at 9:22 am PST
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

Sniper_Man_98 Tuesday, August 29th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
tippmann 98 custom stock barrel [total crap]
Marker Setup: -Tippmann 98 Custom
-20oz CO2 Tank
-20'' Smart Parts Tactical Barrel
-4x Crossman Scope =]
Recommended
Paintballs:
i've only used Zap [walmart blue paintballs] and some sort of gold ones from Canadian Tire [cant remember name], i perfer the bigger balls, they seem to shoot through the barrel better
Strengths: -Accurate
-Intimidating look
-Awesome sound
-Sweet price
Weaknesses: Size sometimes gets in the way of moving through the brush
Review: i first bought my tippmann 98 c for $75 off a guy at my work, no knowing that the ball latch was missing, once i got the latch i noticed the lack of accuracy with the stock barrel, so i went down to my local pro shop and saw the larger than life barrel on the wall. at first the guy in the store reccomended the 14" barrel but said if i perfer sniping to go with the 20", so i picked it up for an equal $75 [Canadian Dollars], and since i have sniped every poor sucker in my way
Conclusion: i would reccomend this for woodsball, scenerio play, or anyone who just loves the look on the other players faces when you show up with a barrel bigger than a honda civic.
and did i mention the ACCURACY FACTOR!?!?!?!?!?!?!?!?!?1?

11 out of 10 stars
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Redz Rules!!!!! Sunday, August 27th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month0 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
16 progressive Just as accurate
Flatline Less accurate
Pepper sticks Duhhh
Marker Setup: Dust Black 05 Shocker
Crossfire 68/4500
HaloB
Redz Pepper Stickz
Smart Parts tank armour
Recommended
Paintballs:
Any
Strengths: Accurate
Quiet
Cool Looking
Weaknesses: Long
Gas Hog
Long
Long
Review: My friend has this barrel on his A-5 and I have to say its pretty impressive. Accuracy is great and so is noise. However because its so long it uses lots o gas. My friend is conservative and he still runs out of air before the trigger happy people. As far as i'm concerned you should just save for a little bit longer and buy the opsgear 18in fluted sniper barrel. Its the best barrel for accuracy and its only 80 dollars.
Conclusion: Save up and get the fluted barrel. But if you have a smarts parts fetish then go ahead.
Rating:
7 out of 10
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment

Ravenwulfe Saturday, July 29th, 2006
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
3 months19 of 19 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Smart Parts 14" Progressive, good barrel, just hasn't worked as well for me.
Marker Setup: Tippmann A-5 Basic, Black Finish
Smart Parts Tactical 20" barrel
BT Designs Carbine Stock
Brass Eagle 20oz Co2 tank
Atomic Energy 12 oz Co2 tank
Crosman red dot sight
Raised sight rail
CP gear Canadian Forces helmet scrim for the barrel
Recommended
Paintballs:
Any that is a proper fit, small are dececent, however.
Strengths: -Very accurate
-Great looks
-Thus far, no breaks
-Not very picky with paint
Weaknesses: -Length takes adjusting to
-Only comes in 20"
-Air efficiency (explained)
-One piece
Review: While my Progressive has done me well throughout the years, there comes a time where everyone finds that their first upgrade barrel that was fairly inexpensive just isn't living up to what you wanted. It just didn't seem to be getting the accuracy that I wanted. All the Progressive is is the next step up from stock, needless to say, there's steps above even that.

So after a couple year with my Progressive I found myself taking more carefully aimed and longer shots, and keeping people's heads down, if not taking them out. While the Progessive was killer in my charges and close encounters, I've found myself taking the side road more often than going right into the thick of things. After all, sneaking up behind people's much more satisfying.

So I go to my team's semi-sponsor and I decide to take back my BT AK-47 barrel (didn't like how the parts were mounted to it and it performed worse than the Progressive, accuracy wise, in my practice shots), and turn it in for the Tactical Barrel on the wall, I thought it was also that 16 inch beside it (didn't see the "flash suppressor" at first), and he hands me the 20 inch. My friend loves his 20" barrel, so I thought "sure, this could be fun." After all, I've heard it was very accurate and it was rifled. Me being a former soldier knows how rifling is a wonderful thing.

Now, some of you people may be of the opinion that rifling doesn't do anything in a paintball barrel, as range isn't as much of a factor. It does if you have the right paint to bore size match, as rifling works like this: Even in a real firearm, when the bullet is fired, it is pushed out of the barrel and the rifling grooves carve miniature notches into it that cause it to spiral. They aren't very deep or noticeable usually, but they do make a great effect and they put a horizontal spin on the projectile. It's the same deal for paintball rifling, but if your ball's too small, it won't matter anyways.

Anyways, my first test was a rainy, crappy day that effected everything and everyone from the most seasoned veterans to the newest of new player, fogged EVERY SINGLE MASK on the field (My V-Force Profiler fogged, the ref's Dye Invision was fogging, et cetera), and everyone was worried about moisture homehow getting into their hoppers.

Well, this barrel did me some justice.

Dispite the fact that I could barely see what I was shooting at, and my manual accuracy was effected a bit from discomfort and bad positioning, I was still able to keep the guy's head down with single shots (I had to manually feed my cyclone on my A-5 because my wrachet stripped and wouldn't catch in that game), but whenever I shot, the guy would keep his head down, because the shots were landing very close to him, and I was shooting at a vauge blob of black. I probably could have hit him easier if I had a proper paint-to barrel match, but this is only a one piece barrel, and it was field paint only, which happens to be a bit smaller than the bore size.

But when I could see people clearly, I was hitting very close to them when I was in a pinch, and I managed to get my first up close goggle shot of somebody. I was a very happy camper. One thing I had to get used to with the barrel was the added length, which I ended up having the barrel in the dirt when I was reloading my pistol (I wanted to try that in a game for a change), I safetied the marker and cleaned out the junk best I could, and the accuracy wasn't effected afterwords, and dispite there still being some dirt in the barrel when I cleaned it, most of it was gone. Not bad.

The next month, I got a red dot and I adjusted my Crossmann superscope to fit on my A-5 and decided to shoot a couple hundred rounds to sight them in. I was pleased to notice that the paintballs struck in very close proximity to each other, so sighting in was fast and painless for my red dot, and the only problems I had sighting in were entirely that of my superscope, which requires a lot of tweeking to make much of a difference. I can't get it to sight in any lower for some reason, but the shots were consistantly just below the point where the crosshairs met. Very impressive.

The barrel is more of an 18" with a 2" flash suppressor (I measured), and it stops hugging the paintball after the 18" as there is a slight, I estimate, just under 1mm drop when it gets to the flash supressor. So for those of you hearing that 20" is bad for efficiency, and 18" inches are the extreme maximum, I am of the opinion that this is basicly a 18" barrel with an extra 2" of cosmetics that don't have any effect on accuracy, consitancy, or efficiency. There are four large cut outs in the "flash suppressor" that easily let the gas behind the paint escape from the barrel before it's even out of the flash suppressor. While this is better than a 20", I believe (I havn't done any extensive testing between the two to tell you for sure, but this is just my fair logic) that it's still a bit less efficient than say, 16" or less because long, goofy barrel lengths like 18" and 20" start to effect your efficiency, regardless of what some people tell you. But if you play at a field with free refills, than I wouldn't even consider it a problem, because you just fill up between games.

Now, the barrel just looks awesome. It's got nice styling and cuts, and the flash suppressor part, while adding unnessessary length, definantly makes this an appealing military-appearance barrel. If you put a kit over this, it would defininantly look like it belongs. This barrel will get you some nice comments as well (when I went to the field last, people were calling for "the sniper", while waving me over because they wanted me to make long shots just because I had a ridiculously long barrel, a stock, and a sight rail with no sights (I used the sight rail so I can use it for an iron sight with my mask, as the stock gets in the way). I felt flattered and humoured at the same time, because most of the people had more camoflauge than I did, as my combat uniform is olive drab.

Just keep in mind that it's the barrel's quality in construction, paint to barrel match, and the player's skill when it comes to accuracy, not the length. Having a super long barrel will not help your accuracy (unless it somehow boosts your confidence and you believe in yourself more or something), but this barrel certainly is an improvement over first-upgrade class barrels. While it's certainly annoying that it's only a one piece, this allows it to be consistant throughout and is rarely a problem. Just hope your field paint is a close enough size (if you want a quick test, if your paintball rolls out of the barrel with no resistance, it's way too small. If it gets stuck barely in the barrel, it's too big. If it gets stuck part way through but a light blow in will knock it out, it's probably about right.)
Conclusion: This is a great barrel for recreational and scenario paintball, and if you can find the right size paint for it, it will be a great shot. It's accurate with cheap and small paint as it is, but aim for a medium bore. If you think that a long barrel will be in your way, see if you can try out a 20" from someone you know to find out for a few games and decide. It is very accurate and it certainly fit my bill.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
16 Comments - Add Comment

Donster 125 Tuesday, July 25th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
6 months7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Custom 98 flatline
stock A5 barrel
Marker Setup: Tippmann A-5, SP 20" Tactical Barrel, 3 pos. CAR stock, Opsgear UMP gas-through mag, RIchochet R5 hopper, LAPCO offset sight rail
Recommended
Paintballs:
X.O. Industries with a V1 shell; these are godly paintballs that made the stock A5 barrel seem like it was good. These balls will work for any barrel and i highly recommend them for this barrel. Incredibly accurate!
Strengths: Accuracy
Looks
Automatically being recognized as the sniper
Quiet
Weaknesses: None! This barrel is great, and they also make a 3 piece version of it!
Review: I love to snipe in paintball so after finding out that the flatline didn't have the accuracy i needed in order to snipe, i moved to this cool looking barrel. The reviews on it have been really good, so i went for it. Straight out, i was worried that because the price tag was so low, i thought it was shoddy quality. BUt i was wrong. The barrel performed very well. At least my friends said so. BUt i was iffy cause after coming off of the flatline, the range was not very impressive. so my opinions were not very high. BUt both of my freinds were saying that that was to be expected. They said it was performing well when compared to their barrels. And the accuracy was batter then the flatline, i only did one mesuring test at 15 feet, its shot grouping was less then 1 foot. But thats very unipressive. Throughout the day i shot my gun at targets and it was very consistant and easy to predict. My friends have a BT-16 barrel and i was making better shots then they were. They lenbth took some getting used to, but i overcame that i even bunkered 3 kids with my barrel cause i was the only man at the time that was in the positions to do so, and the barrel length didn't interfere with that. I was sniping people, but i wasn't making any 1 shot one kills cause i dont no how to predict my barrel perfectly yet (since i used to use a flatline), but that should become better over time. IT should also become better when i get a sight as well. I also noticed that the barrel noticable quieted down the report of my marker, another added feature.

Overall Impressions:
Overall i am very pleased with this barrel and it is a 1000 times better then the flatline in terms of sniping. I was picking off peoples hoppers and everything with my barrel. I like it alot. The length could be a downer for some people, but not for me so would the whole air effeciency. I however get free CO2 fills, so that is not so much of a problem for me.

EDIT: Sun. April, 29/07
I have put in an order for a lapco snapshot kit. I did this because i wanted perfect accuracy all of the time. The other day, i had dimpled paint and i kept chopping. If i had a barrel kit, i could stick in a large insert of back and play relatively chop free for the rest of the day. since i didn't have one that day, i was chopping every 2 or 3 shots. this still is a great barrel and provides great accuracy, but i suggest to go with a kit upfront and not have to worry about stuff like this. furthermore, for tippmann guns, lapco and J&J barrels are supposed to be the best, so i went with lapco.
Conclusion: I thourougly enjoy this barrel and i recommend it to people who need the accuracy and at the same time want a cool looking barrel. They now make a version of this barrel with a freak back. this is really good. i however will most likely stick with this barrel becasue all of the fields i go to have a perfect, or close to perfect piant/bore match .in that case, the rifling will (IMO) provide better accuracy then the freak kit (assuming both have a perfect paint/bore match. thus, it is more financially viable and more accurate if i stick with this barrel. i raised my rating to a perfect 10 because i only gave it a 9 b4 because this barrel wasn't in 2-3 piece construction. i now raised my review accordingly!
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, April 29th, 2007 at 2:14 pm PST
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

E2_Cocker_Man17 Thursday, June 29th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
32degrees whisper, stock, armson
Marker Setup: stock tippmann 98 custom, and tippamann 98 custom w/ Response trigger, SP Tactical barrel, benchmark expansion chamber, DOP drop w/ air america 5k psi guage, whisper barrel upgraded internals. Also O - B fade Oracle autococker w/ total freak kit, E2, Nexes Ram QEV's LPR Internals Dart Bolt, Dop on/off drop, EVo 2, 88/4500 PMI, Evil Detonator
Recommended
Paintballs:
PMI, Draxxus, Polar ICe Shrapnal
Strengths: Light, accurate, price, medium sound
Weaknesses: No weaknesses
Review: Great barrel for the price, the barrel is very accurate, i if i use it on the gun w/ response the accurcy goes down becuase of 2 much barrel bounce. Other wise great barrel for sniping because of accuracy and stealthness I thought that the barrel was pretty affordable. I got mine from pbgear.com
Conclusion: Great barrel recommend getting one for woodsball
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Team Discovery Monday, June 5th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
6 months3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Marker Setup: Tippmann A-5
Smart Parts 20'' Barrel
4X Optical Sight
Strengths: Accuracy
Velocity
Wow-Factor
Weaknesses: Price
Review: After Purchasing my Tippmann A-5 i soon realized that i would need to purchase a new barrel. After considering several possibilities i purchased the SP 20'' barrel. Right away i noticed dramatic improvements. My gun shot faster more accurately and more consistently. This is a great upgraded. Although it can be expensive out of the store you will soon find that it is worth every penny.
Conclusion: This is a great upgrade to purchase.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (4):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media