paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Point Zero Model 83 / Point Zero Model 83 / Point Zero Model 83 / Point Zero Model 83

Point Zero Model 83 Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Point Zero

Buy Point Zero Model 83

Paintball Low-End Mechanical Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Point Zero Model 83
[ Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 147
Average Rating: 7.0 / 10
Manufacturer Website: N/A
Suggested Retail Price: $90

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Semi-auto marker featuring rear-cocking bolt, raised sight rail, and polymer body.
Product Availability 
The Point Zero Model 83 is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (15):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  Last
        Next Page
danny pelt Wednesday, November 10th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
A stick in the shape of a gun, a cap gun, a potato gun, watching my dog take a crap, oh yeah, I got this really neat squirt gun at the dentist's once.
Marker Setup: TL Plus with 21 inch three piece CMI tru-flight barrel. PT Extreme
Recommended
Upgrades:
A proper burial, or if you are cheap, I'm pretty sure that the plastic is flammable, buy some matches, or even a zippo lighter. Another good one is a nice steep clif to throw it off. Oh, the plastic floats, send it over the edge of Niagra Falls.
Strengths: This lightweight model is compact and extremely easy to throw!
Weaknesses: The pins like to fall out while you're paintballing.
Review: This gun used to have a 7.7 rating. That's messed up. There must be a whole lot of crack heads writing reviews. Anyone who gives this gun a rating over 1 is an idiot. This gun almost turned me off of paint-balling. I mean the guns that I have now aren't that great but they kill this. Now I have a little story about this gun, when I first got it, I was holding it up to my cheek and shooting it(with no mask no paint and no CO2). Well, the bolt isn't supposed to go all the way into the gun, but it did, and it took about half of my cheek with it. It took two minutes to uncock that piece of crap, and by then there was a huge blister on my face. The point of this story is that if you buy this gun, than you are obviously too dumb to defend yourself from it.
Conclusion: This gun is a danger to your health. It will turn you into a retard if you expose yourself to it for too long. The bolt of this gun has been known to clamp on to the faces of any idiot that buys it. If you want a gun to just "mess" around with chances are, you're not going to paintball with it. If you want to go shot cars, use the Model 83, it won't leave any dents, chances are that the paintball will just bounce off the car and hit the "gun" and cause all the pins to fall out, then, just watch the thing explode in your hands.
Rating:
1 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

Saijin_Naib Wednesday, November 10th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month15 of 21 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
Less than a month
Similar
Products Used:
AKA Viking, Spyder e99, PMI Tracer
Marker Setup: Point Zero-Model 83. Bob Long EX Chamber & Foward Drop, Tippman A-5 Stock Barrel.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel, EX Chamber, Spring kit (i think the ZAP ZXS 400 kit works, same gun)
Strengths: Cheap, Durable, Light, Balanced
Weaknesses: Low BPS, Low FPS, Okay Accuracy, Freezes if wet/rainy, Sputters
Review: Ive not done anything to maintain it, and I doubt my friend did either when he had it. Still hangin in there, and for what it cost me (15$) its a friggin great gun. Ive tagged out my friend who was using the AKA Viking in the face. I guess its not the fastest,strongest, or most accurate, but if you use it right, it wont really let you down. Its not a paint spraying machine though. Id say I got like 3-4 BPS max without chop. Not bad for manual blowback. It does sputter as other reviews have mentioned, and its FPS is not at all predictable. It also does leak if you dont cock it before you put the CO2 in, and I guess it kinda wastes alot. That could just be from removing the tank from the foward drop/ex chamber though.
Conclusion: For a beginning player like me, who is rather limited on funds, it performs great. It shoots paint, puts it basically where you point it, and fires about as fast as you can pull. If your starting out, or short on cash, its a good gun. If you dont fit that category, Id reccomend another gun (Icon, or other Spyder clone). Im keepin the Pointy till it craps out, and I may just get the Icon anyway.
Rating:
8 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, November 10th, 2004 at 11:15 am PST
I found this review  
6 Comments - Add Comment

NateMac13 Monday, May 17th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
2 years1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder Victor -- the model 83 is made a little more cheap and there are no upgrades for the model 83. Shooting the same paint with both of these guns is roughly the same. The Victor shoots a little more accurate.
Marker Setup: 3A Invincible E Power electronic gun
Viewloader Revolution electronic feeding hopper
Recommended
Upgrades:
I don't think there are any upgrades for the Point Zero.
Strengths: I bought mine very cheap. Accurate with good paint.
Weaknesses: Loud. No upgrades. Doesn't shoot cheap paint accurate. Some are very over-priced.
Review: I bought the Point Zero Model 83 as my first paintball gun. It's lasted for 3 years, although I don't use it anymore. I think it's a good gun for a little kid to go out and play with, although there are better guns for them. It shoots accurte if you have some decent paint. If you have cheap paint, this thing will shoot them all over the place, which is partly the cheap paint's fault. I wouldn't spend more than $35-$40 on it. It's a good entry gun for a youngster if you can find a cheap one.
Conclusion: It did good for my first gun, I was pleased with it. If you're trying to find a cheap gun for a newbie, I'd recommend the Point Zero Model 83, the Spyder Victor, or a Black Maxx....they're pretty much the same quality. Although if you ever want to upgrade the gun you get....get the Spyder. There are no upgrades that I know of for the Point Zero.
Rating:
7 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Brian S. Sunday, April 18th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested2 of 13 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Talon Ghost, Thats the only "similar product"
Marker Setup: Pirhana EXT Pro G3
12 Volt Revolution hopper
Tear Drop Barrel
20oz. CO2 with anti- siphon
Recommended
Upgrades:
none exist
Strengths: hmmmmm, dunno
Weaknesses: Everything
Review: If you noticed i said only tested, well i actually own it. I fired about 20 rounds and i was done. I got it for free from one of my friends and i think i paid too much for it. the stock barrel is about 5 inches long with no porting, its so inaccurate and you cant buy a different barrel, cause they dont make any. next off its plastic, need i say more.

- If you get an adapter for a 12 gram C02 tank and a small 50 round hopper, you could use it as a side arm (i guess)
Conclusion: this thing is flat out horrible -DO NOT BUY THIS- I would give it a zero but i cant
Rating:
1 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, April 18th, 2004 at 1:29 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

pointzero owner Friday, March 5th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 years
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tracers,spyders,inferno
Marker Setup: Point zero with 8oz tanks (easyer to act as a handle) and 6" plain spyder barrel
Recommended
Upgrades:
If at all possible try to find the drop down expansion pack for the pointzero just because vertical tanks get in the way when in a lying down position.
Strengths: Cheap,plastic,trigger has a long pull not a ammo/air hog,very light
Weaknesses: inaccurate shots and long trigger pull
Review: Cheap Light after 3 years of use .well 12 games every summer so 36 days at about 6 hours a day ..what ever that adds up to that ammount of useage i havent had any problems with breaking parts so thats a blessing i guess. this gun is for the more reserved player who moves about cautiously since the plastic body is not going to tolerate alot of wear .
But they are cheap and iv got a friend who bought 2 of them left the small barrel on them used 12g cylinders and 45 round hoppers . they are a realy good spray & pray gun with 1 or 2. a pre 2000 edition pgp has more accuracy. for the money they are a realy good entry level for children 7+ as the gun doesnt pack alot of punch i had to actually yell to people and say your hit! and get in to an arguement over it cuz ..like i said not alot of power.
Conclusion: good for thoes occasional players & a Entry level semi for players 7+ its a good buy if you have a day job and arent to fanatical. its deffinitly not for any prospecting sharp shooters.
Rating:
5 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

PaiNTbaLLfReNzY Wednesday, February 11th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Super Soaker, Nerf Gun, potato gun, spitwad shooter, things of low caliber like that.
Marker Setup: Eclipse Impulse
12v Revvy X-board
Crossfire 45/4500
Recommended
Upgrades:
There are no upgrades except a better marker. This thing really takes the cake when it comes to horrible markers.
Strengths: Easy to throw as Danny Pelt, my friend from school, would say.
Weaknesses: You would have a better chance running up and smashing paintballs on your opponents head.
Review: I shot it and wanted to puke. It sounded like I was shooting a nerf gun and just made me sick. I would rather smear dog poo on the inside of my mask then use that thing ever again.


- Really really light so you can easily bop a kid you don't like with it. You can even do it toma-hawk style like Sitting Bull and chuck it at a tree, car, neighbor, friend, Johnny Knoxville, step parent, or something of that nature.

- Probably made in a third world country so you know you're getting A+ quality! ;-)

- Horrible

- All of them should be sent to Davy Jones' Locker.

- Plastic is just not kosher.

- Very ugly. I would rather shoot a bright orange cap gun.











All around, the worst marker money can buy.

Although it's so bad you shouldn't have to pay for it.

it should come complementary in the mail.
Conclusion: Don't waste your time, money, and your dignity using this. It will only give you sorrow...and perhaps cause a series of upchucks. Anyone who gives this product a rating of over one should seriously just punch themselves in the face. This product is the worst excuse of a paintball gun and it shouldn't deserve anything. I think giving it a one is pushing the envelope
Rating:
1 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

chromesoul Tuesday, February 3rd, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
1 year10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Zap zxs-400/Winchester Durango/Point Zero (they're all the same gun), almost every crappy BE marker out there, Tippman
Marker Setup: Point Zero w/ bottom line and upgraded barrel
Recommended
Upgrades:
-New barrel - Yes they're out there. It's custom-threaded, though, so make sure the barrel is for Zap/Point Zero/Durango. If you use the stock barrel, polish the hell out of it.
-Bottom line if you so wish
-LUBE. This gun performs great if you keep it really well lubed. Also, cleaning and sanding the internals helps tremendously for accuaracy and noise.
Strengths: -Dirt Cheap
-Light
-Suprisingly accurate
-Fun to tinker with
-Very gas efficient
-Compact.
Weaknesses: -Loud.
-Not the best firing rate.
-Rear bolt
Review: I picked this thing up at a pawn shop for $25. I have to admit, I love this gun. While my friends Tippys are obvioulsy better markers, you'd be surprised at how well this gun can hold its own in the hands of a decent player. Upgrades are minimal, but there are a few out there. Accuracy's actually quite nice in the short range. Even with a new barrel, you're not gonna pick off players at a good distance with this thing. For my occasional woodsball games, this was an excellent find. It performs very decently (nothing incredible, but not too shaby) overall, and performs incredibly considering I payed what some people pay for a BE Blade for it. The low cost makes me more willing to tinker with it, not to mention fall on it, bang it around, and occasionally throw it at other players and run (it's a surprisingly effective diversionary tactic).
Strengths
-Dirt Cheap. I bought this thing used with a 9 oz tank and VL hopper for $25.
-Light (but tought). I'm not sure what kind of polymer this thing is made of, but despite what everyone thinks, it's virtually indestructable. Believe me, as cheap as this thing was, I haven't been gentle with it.
-Suprisingly accurate
-Fun to tinker with
-Very gas efficient
-Compact. With a 12gram adaptor and 45 rnd hopper, it makes a great side arm.

Weaknesses
-Loud. This doesn't bother me at all, but everyone who sees it seems disturbed by this. Cleaning the internals and filling the handle with styrofoam/resin/etc helps some.
-Not the best firing rate. Tinkering with the trigger helps the long hard pull. Cleanly pulling the trigger all the way back each time eliminates 85% of all chopping problems. This gun is relatively accurate and not meant to sling gallons of paint. If you try to keep the rate of fire on par with a spyder, you're gonna chop some paint. It's rated at 6 bps, but 3 is about all you can get and consistantly not chop.
-Rear bolt. While it helps to keep crap out of the gun, it's a pain to cock. Try drilling a small hole in the cocking knob and sliding a key ring through it. Also, watch the bolt. It will catch you in the cheek if you're someone who tends to not pay attention.
-Despite the gun's overall good performance, you will be mocked by players with "real" guns.

Many people have pointed out that it would be better to save and by a better gun. I agree with this since most people noted the gun retailed for about $50-$70 originally. Now that it has come down a good deal and price, I recommend you pick one up if you are developing an interest in paintball. While this is not the greatest marker out there, it is probably the best gun for beginners or occasional players. A search of Ebay can find one of these (or similar models) for less than dinner and a movie, so what have you got to lose?
Conclusion: Perfect beginner gun...good back-up or sidearm...decent intermediate gun (especially if you're looking for a slight challenge/handicap). Yes, the elitists with Angels have better guns. Yes, they will probably cane you in a match. But you might be surprised what you can do with this little gem. Please note that my product rating is aimed for the Beginner-Intermediate range.
Rating:
7 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

Blade Boy Saturday, January 3rd, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Blade, Tippmann Model 98 Custom, PMI Black Max, Spyder
Marker Setup: A Point Zero Model 83, 12oz, 45rd hoppers, Quick Change 12g CO2 adapter
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel(if you want)go to www.paintball-loco.com for good barrels, Bottomline
Strengths: Very accurate,good range, great on gas, light, durable, great sight rail, good quality
Weaknesses: Sorta hard to cock, but you only have to once a game. Adaqute trigger
Review: This is a great gun for the price, compare it to any Tippmann 98 or Spyder or similar. Used mine in a one on one battle in woods. Faced a much better player. I am only an average one. He had Tippmann 98 Custom with sniper barrel. Made him think twice about attacking me. This gun can put paint where you want it. i was using a 12 gram in it with quick change and it lasted with good volocity and range for about 30 rounds of paint. I conserve paint. Only take aimed shots. Others who are trigger happy would not like this gun casue of the trigger. It's like dual stage target rifle trigger which i am very finmilar with so it works great. Great for rec. play and backyard play.It's great when you scare the crap out of people ( ethier coming very close or hitting them) with a 50 dollar gun and thiers is 200.
Conclusion: The people who give this gun a bad rating dont know how to take care of thier paintball guns or play. Cause this thing rocks. It's comparable to any middle level semi in the 50 to 250 dollar range. Buy it if you want good price, great performance, and you are a person who isn't trigger happy. Play Safe and Fair!!! A nine cause of the small cocking and trigger problums that are just not real things to comaplain about in a 50 dollar gun.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, January 3rd, 2004 at 5:59 am PST
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment

Mr. Joshua Saturday, December 13th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Brass Eagle Samurai
Brass Eagle Stingray
Kingman Spyder 68
Many Pistols (AFT, Sidekick, PT Professional, PGP)
Marker Setup: - Tippmann 98 Custom, Response Trigger, Flatline, Folding Stock, 12vRevvyXBoard, Scope
- Tippmann A-5, E-Grip, Flatline, Expansion Chamber, Drop Forward, Red Dot
- Smart Parts Impulse, Vert Regulator, Halo B
- "Havok" Grenade Launcher
Recommended
Upgrades:
Nothing seems to be available but don't need anything. I have mine with a 4oz bottle and a small 40 round hopper.
Strengths: Cheap, looks like crap so deceiving, shoots decent, as good as any other plastic gun.
Weaknesses: range, accuracy, rate of fire, no aftermarket items, looks cheap so it looks cheap
Review: OK, this is a plastic gun, so don't even try to compare it to anything metal, compare it to plastics. With that said, the longevity of this gun is in question. But I know most paintball players only play 5-10 times a year max or they would go broke. So with all of that said, this plastic gun should last a couple years, before you upgrade to an Angel!

Now this is better than anything Brass Eagle has in plastic, the design is nicer than the Stingray II. It performs like a pistol, which it seems no one previously has admitted. Shooting this reminds me of shooting my Sidekick, and it's shot MORE reliably that that pistol. Since you pick and choose carefully versus spraying and praying, you are surprised at the accuracy. Of course you can't shoot someone half a football field away, but you can reach the next bunker.

You pull the trigger and it shoots, so it's all up to the style of play of the player to compensate. If a guy who can rush the bunker or flank the target and close in, all he needs is 3 well placed shots from this gun with deadly results. Also, it is fun as hell tagging out someone who is using a high end marker.
Conclusion: My Point Zero is a mini-gun backup, and I use it when I encounter a ball break , or run out of air in my Flatlines. Then it's time to assault, no more sniping.
As a main gun, 0 out of 10 no way is this a main gun
In the realm of plastics, a 8 out of 10.
My overall ranking is compared to pistols, since all pistols can be upgraded to direct feed and bottle adapters.....it's all included with this gun, and it won't cost you $150, more like $20 (they're practically giving these things away...I got mine with a magazine subscription!)
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

spyderLover Thursday, October 30th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
2 years
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Recommended
Upgrades:
NONE get a new gun instead of an upgrade (seriously!!!)
Strengths: light, cheap.
Weaknesses: plastic, ( says it all) very innacurate.
Review: No matter how cheap it is don't buy this gun. Get a better gun. I made the mistake of buying it. Ok, it may look like an average, cheap gun but don't buy it. PLEASE. It's all plastic (except the barrel and bolt and CO2 nozzle thingy) which should explain something. Even with a new barrle it is still EXTREMELY inacurate. I forever regret buying that barrel. If there was one thing good I could say about this gun is that it's $30 and it may be alright if youre a super newb. BUT ONLY if you're an uber newb that doesn't play much and just wants a gun.
Conclusion: Don't buy this gun. I must admit it is better than some Brass Eagle Talons and stuff but I don't recommend it. Get a more expensive spyder. Even if it is more expensive this gun really is not accurate.
Rating:
4 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (15):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media