paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Point Zero Model 83 / Point Zero Model 83 / Point Zero Model 83 / Point Zero Model 83

Point Zero Model 83 Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Point Zero

Buy Point Zero Model 83

Paintball Low-End Mechanical Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Point Zero Model 83
[ Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 147
Average Rating: 7.0 / 10
Manufacturer Website: N/A
Suggested Retail Price: $90

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Semi-auto marker featuring rear-cocking bolt, raised sight rail, and polymer body.
Product Availability 
The Point Zero Model 83 is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (15):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  Last
        Next Page
=iv=gir Wednesday, December 25th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
6 months0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Recommended
Upgrades:
There really isn't much, unless you find a site that sells barrels with zap threading.
Strengths: -Its very very cheap, 20 bucks.
-A good gun to lend to friends if they wanna play
-Small
-Pretty Compact
-Looks like it fires good
-You can do a buncha stupid stuff to it (example: what people do to stingrays)
Weaknesses: -It fires about 20 feet and dies
-About bout 3 months the plastic "field strip" pins wear down snap and your internals go flying everywhere
-The velocity is probably 150 max
-Puttin the hopper on is a boitch
-O-rings break like every 2 games
-Trigger always get stuck and doesn't fire
-sometimes hard to arm
-always uncocks
-freezes up fast
-inaccurate
-curves like motha fockera
Conclusion: Ok, if you want a gun to just mess around with, buy this. But if your actully gonna use it, I would strongly suggest not i really mean not buying this thing. Good to use if your first time playin but after 2 weeks (given the benefit of the doubt) its worthless. I would rather go with a stingray or even talon (yes, talons work better.)
Rating:
2 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

m9872189 Monday, December 9th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
2 years0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
m98(kicks the crap out of this gun)
spyder flash(way better)
Rebel(just as good as spyder)
Marker Setup: Point Zero Model83 stock
12 Rev hopper
bottomline setup
Recommended
Upgrades:
-What's the point of upgrading a gun that could never be better than junk-get a squegee
Strengths: -Dirt Cheap
-You can throw it at someone if it breaks
-I was able to sell it for $25
-came with barrel plug that i Kept
Weaknesses: -Constant ball breaks(21 out of 100)
-bottomline hose leaks and is not secure
-made of a cheap plastic(cracked after a month)
-Loose hopper-to-gun connection
-junk barrel that you cannot upgrade
-air hog(330 shots out of 9oz)
-painful, stiff trigger
Conclusion: If you like wasting your money on worthless crap I would recomend this gun for you-other wise skip it. I bought this gun for anyone to use with me and my friends. Nobody uses this gun anymore after they play with it, they see it is junkand refuse to use it again. If you are looking to get this gun, don't. Go get a talon or some other cheap gun (even a brass eagle is better than this)
Rating:
1 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Darkstarops Wednesday, November 13th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
3 years1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Decked out stingray 2 with 16" spin free riffled sniper barrel- 3 stage expansion chamber, custom extra under barrel grip, ghillie cover and scope! Decked out Winchester Durango with 16" spin free projection rifled sniper barrel- bottom line adapter, a co2 gauge, and custom 6-color desert camouflage painted. Griffin B/L just now getting upgraded. Ordered a new silenced 14" barrel and a co2 gauge that both havenít arrived yet.
How do they compare with this product?
The answer
Everything stock sucks until upgraded!
Marker Setup: SNIPER RIFLE! A fully decked out GT Commando 2 with the new 21" 3-piece thunder pig spin-free projection rifled barrel (Extremely Accurate), Co2 gauge, scope, hair trigger system, Polished internals, polished barrel, and ghillie covers. The barrel is actually rifled. You can look down it and see the straight grooves! I also own a 14" see through chrome plated razor barrel and the stock barrel thatís 13" long.

Recommended
Upgrades:
Co2 Gauge, 14" Internally Riffled barrel thats extremley accurate. A bottom line if it didnt come with one. Go here to buy the barrel from my friend billy! Oh and polish your internals
Strengths: Light waieght, Very durable, Extremley upgradable, Havent had one ball break not even BE balls, Makes a great side arm, assembled with pins instead of screws for quick assembly and disasenbly. Very easy to clean and maintain. You can throw this thing in the closet for 11 years and it will come out working. That is if you throw it in working.
Weaknesses: You really cant find a replacement sring for the hammer. The spring for the trigger will get kinked over a period of use. I dont have a bottom line on mine. I took it off and put it on my winchester wich is basically the same thing. The stock barrel kinda sucks. It is pretty loud.
Conclusion: BY IT!!!!

Over all this is a great gun for everyone. I am a pro and this gun is my back up. Weather its your first or second gun it is the best. This was the gun that got me started and it keeps me going. If you really want a barrel badly and dont want to pay 22.00 e-mail me and I will tell you what you can do to get it cheaper. Sincerely

Matthew Fulton

A proud member of Silent Steel
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, January 29th, 2005 at 12:43 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

paul83 Tuesday, October 29th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
2 years0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder Compact-better
Tippmann-better
Talon-not as good
Marker Setup: Everything stock
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel-if you can find one
Strengths: -good on gas
-fairly accurate
-don't need tools to change the power
-cheap-only about $70
-doesn't chop balls
-pretty tough for being plastic
Weaknesses: -made of plastic, although it is still tough
-stock barrel sucks, too short
-not easy to upgrade
-doesn't perform as well in colder weather
Conclusion: For begginers, this is a good gun. It may be plastic, but I beat it up time and time again and it hasn't cracked yet. The biggest problem with it is the fact it's not easy to upgrade.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

madmax3 Monday, October 28th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
6 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Strengths: this gun is very good for the newb. i took it paintballing at a place and it shot quite accurately.also its not hard to clean at all, the velocity is 1 that u twist a nob and it goes up and turn it the other way it goes down. its quite good on co2 becuz i shot 500-600 shots then it ran out. ITS DIRT CHEAP.
Weaknesses: its not good for the tourny player, its very hard to get upgrades, although my friends spyder sport barrel worked on it and then my gun was insane. it doesnt come with a bottom line. dont snap shoot it or else its mad barrel break, but its fixed with new barrel (if u can find 1)
Conclusion: its a two thumbs up for a newb who isnt sure if they wanna get serious into paintballing. i havent had any bad things happen to it , but it definately not for the advanced or tourny player.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Bitter_orphan Sunday, September 15th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
2 years1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippman 98 custom
Marker Setup: basic factory modle
Recommended
Upgrades:
barrel
Strengths: Pretty good gun for a newbie. fairly accurate. lasts a while before breaking or anythingthe fireing rate is pretty nice. i rarly ever broke paintballs while fireing. good for even seasoned players. ive beeten my friends that were all using tipmmans and spyderds but of cousres skill is also a requierment. the gun can easily kerp up with medium class spayders and other brand name guns.
Weaknesses: hog on c02, crappy barrel, not good in sub zero temperatures. i haven't been able to find a barrel upgrade
Conclusion: good gun for newbies. a players cit will only run you about $150 CND that also includes a 9 oz tank
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Taco_Joe Monday, August 5th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
1 year1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann 98 custom, Brass Eagle Avenger, Field Pirahnas, Spyders, Spyder clones
Marker Setup: 2002 Smart Parts Impulse, 20 oz C02 with anti-siphon and on/off, Max-Flo regulator, tapeworm, custom trigger job, 12 volt smoked revolution, cricket board, Smart Parts smoke coloured sticky grips, 14" All American, and a gas thru grip.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Bottem line C02 adapter, barrel from Barrels of America (they make the only barrels for the Point Zero)
Strengths: This gun even though made out of plastic is almost indestructible. Don't be fooled by the price, this gun is great for beginners or for anyone that wants to have fun. It's actaully pretty accurate with the one stage 8" barrel, I can hit targets okay over 75 yards away. The bonus of a raised sight rail and right sided feed is good for newer players because they don't have to learn how to shoot down the side of the gun. While the trigger pull is kind of long, you can get a good rate of fire out of it. The sound the marker makes allows you to scare the renters becuase it sounds like a M9 9mm pistol! It's good a good handle and has a pretty good size. I sometimes use it instead of my Impulse to have some fun with the renters and to really tick off the cocky gun owners who ridicule this marker.
Weaknesses: It's kind of hard to field strip, you have to take apart the gun to clean out the bolt, and it can be pretty hard to remove the pins that hold the gun together. The trigger pull is long and hard, but when you use it alot, it eventaully get lighter. The same goes with the rear cocking nob, it's hard to pull it back when you first get it but after a couple of times using it, you'll notice that it's easier to pull back. Also with the nob, I would suggest getting a aftermarket beavertail if you intend to stay in tight to your bunker, as the nob itself is long and it can hit you pretty hard.
Conclusion: This gun is great for the beginner player and is one of the better lower end markers out there. If you decide to get into the sport, I suggest getting this marker. Or if you want to mess around with the lower end guns and don't want to spend a lot of money, go for this. It's worth the money ($100 Canadian where I bought it). And you can get on Ebay for $35 Canadian sometimes. Go for it!
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

truman_5 Sunday, July 21st, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
tracer, black maxx, silver eagle, samurai(but this is lots better)
Marker Setup: genesis, 14"barrel,
Recommended
Upgrades:
expansion chamber, bottomline, if u can get the bigger zap barrel from the electric.
Strengths: cheap, light, good feed, doesnt break paint to bad, can use good paint (marbs, all stars,el-tigres) upgrades r cheap, good backup gun, easy to find, good starter gun, can hold two at a time for double fire(only tried once)
Weaknesses: cant upgrade barrel, inaccurate, looks bad, crappy barrel, will only last a while, its plastic, doesnt shoot far, electric hoppers dont work to well wit it for some reason
Conclusion: its good for beginners but u should get something else if u r serious about your game. for anyone starting, get this instead of ANY brass eagle guns(raptor, samurai, saber) but its good nonetheless.
Rating:
7 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Phat John Saturday, July 20th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Marker Setup: Matrix with Trinity LPR, Aardvark Red Bolt kit, Aardvard 45 Grip frame, Aardvark red, white, and blue stickie grips, Aardvark switch trigger, Enigma red low rise, red back plate, Black CP flame drop forward w/ red asa, 16in Dye Boomstick, and Nitro Duck 90ci 4500 psi
Recommended
Upgrades:
Whatever you can find for it.
Strengths: It is really inexpensive i got mine for $30. I will work as a back up gun being fired maybe 100 times in a day but beyond that i don't trust it. I use a matrix so i barely need it for a bck up gun it is mainly for someone else.
Weaknesses: It is innaccurate after about 25 yards and has no range at all. It is made of plastic and some screwed up matel for the bolt.
Conclusion: It is good for someone you rarely needs a back up otherwise for newbies get the pg1 pro
Rating:
5 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, January 29th, 2005 at 1:21 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Winchester Wednesday, July 10th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Minimag, M98 custom, Bushmaster, Automag RT and my baby 2k2 Angel Fly w/ Freak kit
Marker Setup: M 83 with 12 volt revy 12 oz. co2 and a remote with a 4+1 pack
Recommended
Upgrades:
Electro trigger or any kind of double trigger
Strengths: The good where do i start well first off the barrel is as accurate a Freak kit also you can probably get 4 bps and it gets good gas mileage plus it is as small as a minimag
Weaknesses: The bad is its got a long trigger pull just go to the gym lol or use some oil then the cocking rod is a little hard to pull back just put oil on it and that is it aalso it is pretty load but if you snipe pull it will scared the crap out of them so it could be also gun lol
Conclusion: my final statement is that this is a great gun for beginners or people that are snippers that want in accurate gun and a cheap gun Buy this gun it is awesome you we love it and you wont regret it
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (15):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media