paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Evil Minion / Evil Minion / Evil Minion / Evil Minion

Evil Minion Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Evil

Buy Evil Minion

Paintball High-End Electronic Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Evil Minion
[ View Photos (16) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 38
Average Rating: 9.1 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $800

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
ANTI-CHOP BREAK BEAM EYE
ABS
FUSE BOLT
ADJUSTABLE LPR
HYPER2 IN-LINE REGULATOR
BALL DETENTS
UNCAPPED BPS
ON/OFF BOTTOMLINE
ADJUSTABLE CLAMPING FEEDNECK
Product Availability 
The Evil Minion is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (4):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4
                            
sp1365 Wednesday, May 3rd, 2006
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
2k2 Intimidator
Marker Setup: Blue Evil Minion
Dye Ultralight
Empire Reloader B
Tadao M5
Recommended
Upgrades:
Ramping Board
Barrel
Strengths: Light
Fast
Consistant
Weaknesses: No Stock Ramping
Review: Make no mistake the Minion is a 06 Proto Matrix. With that being said that is a great gun to make a Private Label gun out of. The Minion is machined well and the anno is spot on. The Minion is one of the lightest guns out there and very well balanced.

As for proformance I've been duly impressed. Out of the box the Minion was shooting +- 5 FPS. After breaking the the regs and adjusting everything it is down to +- 3 FPS.

The stock board is decent but as stated above it does not have ramping. This is a problem if you play events that run under PSP rules, so you are looking at an extra 100-150 to the price of the gun.

The barrel is good, but definatly room for replacement.

Gun came with a good parts kits and 1oz tube of Evil Pus. Not the best lube but works in a pinch.
Conclusion: The Minion is a great gun. Super consistant, light, fast. A few upgrades needed especially if playing PSP tournements.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
8 Comments - Add Comment

omenballer Wednesday, May 3rd, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
pm6, pm5, dm4, 5, 6,
shockers
various timmys
Marker Setup: Red Evil Minion
Stiffi Mamba Tip
Hater Board
Recommended
Upgrades:
Feedneck, but its just preference
Strengths: Light
Basically same as pm6
Looks
Speed
Its EVIL
Weaknesses: No noticeble weaknesses
Review: I just got my minion about 2 weeks ago. All the earlier reviews of this gun are entirely false. Anyways concerning the gun, it performs flawlessly. I love my minion. I have only used it for two tournaments so far. I normally play back to mid and this gun has plenty of speed to keep up. The milling on this gun is incredible. In my opinion, this gun looks far better than the pm6 does. Plus its EVIL. The only difference between the minion and the pm6 are that it has EVIL milling, EVIl jewels, EVIL pipe barrel, and a few tweaks to the lpr if im not mistaken. The only thing that I havent liked with it is that it came with proto grips. Evil said they produced the gun too fast, so they had to use the proto grips. Dont get me wrong, the proto grips are VERY comfortable, but the EVIL ones are just sick looking. Once the grips do come out, im pretty sure EVIL will send you a pair for free.

In conclusion, this gun has:
-SPEED
-LOOKS
-WEIGHT
-RELIABILTY
-ITS EVIL, SO YOU KNOW ITS QUALITY
Conclusion: I would definitely recommend this gun. I have had very good experiences with evil in the past with my omen and other things. EVILS customer support is reason enough to buy from them. They make killer products and the minion is no exception. Im couldnt be happier with my minion. EVIL is the most UNDER rated company in paintball. Once you own an EVIL product you will understand
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

f4lloutom3n Wednesday, May 3rd, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
pm5/6, dm4/5/c, nerve, shocker, defian2, NME, ego '05
Marker Setup: Evil Omen 2.0~~red lpc, back block, CCM Feedneck, Psycho Ballistics Drop
Diablo Wrath~~T-board, Psycho Ballistics Drop, Evil Pipe Kit
Egg2 w/ Z-board
68/45 & 72/3k Pure Energy N2 Tanks
Recommended
Upgrades:
Board
Feedneck
Strengths: Speed, weight.
Weaknesses: Little heavier than dm's, not a big deal.
Review: First off, i would like to say the first two reviews on the minon are completely FALSE. The minion is a proto matrix 6, with evil milling,evil jewels on the body, and an evil pipe barrel. It will inlcude the evil grips when they are finished, and if you recieve proto grips, once you send in your warranty card and the grips come out you will recieve them. The minion is also made by DYE, not by evil. It has the same internals and performance as the pm6, only slightly different cosmetics. If some1 tells you minions suck, ask them if protos suck too.

The minion is very clean looking IMO. I love the evil milling and the evil grips are tight. The minion also has very small amount of kick and is very quiet. It is very easy on paint, which will give you less ball breaks and more time playing, instead of swabbing your barrel. If you want to try out a minion, but you don't know anybody that has one, get out to the local field and find somebody with a pm6. The eft edition minion has even better parts and isn't too much more expensive. I believe they can be found at http://evilstore.com.
Conclusion: buy the minion, and live EVIL...
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

twichyfingerII Wednesday, May 3rd, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
i have shot almost every gun out there
Marker Setup: upped omen and minion
Recommended
Upgrades:
LPR(not really needed)
trigger if you dont like stock.
this gun pretty much comes perfect out of the box.
Strengths: This gun has absolutely no kick. Awesome reg and on/off.
Weaknesses: None, basic maintenence keeps this bad boy up forever.
Review: OK, the minion is a PM6, it just has different milling, which makes it 2 oz. lighter than a regular PM6 and it has aluminum eye covers. this gun shoots SO fast with NO kick. i have yet to break a ball. it may lack in efficency but not enough to bother me. i truly cannot put into words how smooth this gun shoots and looks. i have had zero problems ever and evil tech support is great. If you are looking for a marker to take your game up to the net level this is it, this gun is extremely well built and is made from quality parts. no worries here this gun rocks.
Conclusion: Definately get it, it looks sick and preforms great. Those other 2 reviews are lies. No kick, super fast, and pretty easy on the wallet, what more could you want?
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

primetimejr Wednesday, May 3rd, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month23 of 25 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
dm4, dm5
Marker Setup: evil minion, reloader b, 45/4500
dm4, reloader b, 70/4500
Recommended
Upgrades:
trigger, i prefer the cp triggers to stock
aftermarket board so that you can get psp mode and whatnot
Strengths: Light
Beautiful milling
Great customer service
All other matrix strengths
great price at $725
Weaknesses: Efficiency (sort of)
Trigger
Uses proto eye ribbon
Review: i could not decide between the minion and the pm6. after some time, i decided on the minion because i did not like the single rubber eye cover on the pm6.

This gun is probably 1/2 - 2/3 of a pound lighter than my dm4. It is even lighter than the pm6 by an oz and probably 3 oz lighter than the dm5. I believe it is only 1.5 oz heavier than the dm6. Anyways, even those with weak wrists won't be able to complain about the weight.

It comes with evil customer service which has been top notch. It comes from the factory ready to rip and is consistent and has no kick; like all other matrices. If you have any questions or problems, Evil is right there to help with you and the great thing is, if you live on the east coast or mid-west, it takes less time to send it for warranty since it goes to chicago; where as dye warranty has to be shipped to san diego.

Another great thing about this gun is that it comes with a .692 12" barrel where as the pm6 only comes with a .690 12" barrel. Aside from the eye covers, the oz of weight, the barrel and the better looks (my opinion), the minion and the pm6 are identical in every way.

As soon as i received the gun from evil, i put a cp trigger on it, hybrid bolt guide and a twist feedneck. None of these were required but i prefer cp triggers over stock, love being able to work on my bolt without using an allen key to get to it, as well as getting better efficiency, and i absolutely love twist feednecks. After i put the parts on, i changed the board to a lucky board with a codex chip. This is where i ran into the only real weakness to the gun. It still uses the proto eye ribbons which are a pain to put back into the board. With wire eyes, it is really easy, you just push the pin into slot and you're good to go. With the proto eye ribbons, you have to get the ribbon into the coupler and push the clamps in. It seems really easy except when you have big hands and fingers since the ribbon does not just move in any direction you want. On a positive note, lucky is making wired eyes so that we can get rid of the ribbon.

I used the gun for a whole day of x-ball tryouts. All that i had to do was raise my hpr and lower my lpr to 2 turns out. I got the gun set to 285 fps, and although the gun was new, it was +/- 5 fps. I shot a case through it and by the end of the day it was down to +/- 3 fps. Throughout the whole case i only had 6 barrel breaks and it shot just like the dm4, only in a nibble stature.

Cleaning this gun is just as easy as the rest of the matrix family since it has the fuse bolt system. If you are a newb, there are stickies on pbnation to show you how to clean it. Take the bolt out, put some hatersauce on the o-rings, put it back in and rip.

Although the gun was new, i noticed that the gun had acceptable efficiency. With the hybrid bolt guide (essentially the 530 mod to reduce kick and increase air flow) and the top hat spacer (increases efficiency) and using a 45/4500 i was getting 3 pods and a hopper before dropoff on a cold fill to about 3200. This was actually more than i was expecting since it will translate to 5 pods and a hopper off a 4500 fill without the regs being broke in. After using it for a month or 2, i'm guessing that i will be able to get 6 pods and a hopper off a 45/4500 fill or about 1000 balls.

The final point i want to address is the price. at $725 this gun is a steal. When the pm6 came out if started being retailed at $925. This is a high end gun at $725 and can compete with dm6's (1300), ego6's (900-1400), angels (1000+) and timmies (1200) with no problems.
Conclusion: If you love how matrices shoot and are considering either a dm6 or a pm6, don't forget to look at the minion because you will be more than happy with it.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
6 Comments - Add Comment

robinsucks Wednesday, May 3rd, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months5 of 9 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
PM6 - The PM6 is a slightly heavier version of the same gun with stupid plastic eye covers.
Marker Setup: Minion with Stiffi Tip
Ultralight frame
Hater Chip
Lucky Board
DM5 ball detents

Halo and Evil 5k 68.
Recommended
Upgrades:
What I listed above or save yourself the time and effort and buy the Evil Team version from evilstore.com
Strengths: Fast, accurate, light and smooth.
Weaknesses: No ramping board stock.
Review: Dye makes great guns and this one is no exception even though it is branded by Evil. It is a PM6 (2006 Proto Matrix) with a different, lighter body and two metal eye covers. Add the Hater Chip, Lucky Board, Stiffi Tip and even an UL frame if you can spare the $ and you have one of the best markers in paintball right now. Clearly worth the money. Fantastic performance.
Conclusion: Well worth the money. Buy one today and mow some fools.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

tntpoof Wednesday, April 12th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month12 of 27 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
DMC..DM5 DM6 .a few other guns Timmys Ego so on
Marker Setup: Stock ..Freak 12" and Freak 14" Rest is stock
Recommended
Upgrades:
Freak kit thats all Oh replace rear trigger frame screw with next longer 1 in parts kit only 1 thread holding that bad boy in
Strengths: Easy to adjust.shoots ropes Fast
Weaknesses: Rear trigger frame screw fell out air screwhole needs to be on the bottom
Review: Drove 118 miles to pick this gun up it was worth it got it for about 250 under retail.. heck id pay 1000$ for it.. LOL..Opened the box andsaid a four letter word started with S ened with H LOL.. you have all the adjustments you need no need for a ramping board aint no skill in a ramper anyway.. Took it out and ran 2 caces through it it Rocked as all the guys that got shot by it.will say. LOL isnt all that bad on air I run a Dye Throttle 72 ci with 4500 psi.. only had it at 3000 psi and ran a case through it..
Conclusion: Buy this marker you wont be disapointed at all..
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
17 Comments - Add Comment

k-odyevilpballa Wednesday, April 12th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested10 of 20 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
My ion, upped imps timmys, only one that compares is timmys
Marker Setup: sp ion white micro drop eclipse qev detonator reg cp slingblade trigger twister feedneck sp stickies freak barrel
Recommended
Upgrades:
none
Strengths: Fast smooth accurate
Weaknesses: None so far
Review: Okay , so i was at my local field and danny benites ,of chicago evil factory came up and asked me for a slice of my pizza, so i give him one ,then he asks if i want to try out his gun, woow heck yes ,so i take it over to th chrono and start shooting, wooow it shoots ropes, no recoil nothin, and its super accurate.
Conclusion: Well i only tried it once but for 600-700 bucks ied say go for it, im givin it a ten, cause when i used it it was perfect
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, April 13th, 2006 at 7:47 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (4):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4
                            
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media