paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Planet Eclipse EGO 2006 / Planet Eclipse EGO 2006 / Planet Eclipse EGO 2006 / Planet Eclipse EGO 2006

Planet Eclipse EGO 2006 Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Planet Eclipse

Buy Planet Eclipse EGO 2006

Paintball High-End Electronic Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Planet Eclipse EGO 2006
[ View Photos (65) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 111
Average Rating: 9.7 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $1250

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Mechanical enhancements:

- Lower pressure operation. Larger volume of stored air in the valve chamber and in-line regulator allow operating pressure to be lowered by up to 50 psi

- Shorter Bolt. Smaller bolt = less reciprocating mass, and therefore higher cycle speeds.

- Improved trigger design. New trigger loses 20% of its thickness and mass. Improved reaction and quicker return. Centrally mounted prong improves resistance to trigger sensor contamination by light and debris.

- Trigger contoured for easier, faster-for-longer string shooting.

- Larger Trigger Guard gives more room for those with fingers of the larger variety. Or even for those nimble enough to utilize the 3-Finger technique.

- Multiple trigger return options. All markers come with spring and magnetic return options. Simply adjust in magnetic, or spring return mechanism. For smoothest pull, use both.

- Integrated snatch grip. Longer frame allows easier carrying and more pleasing aesthetical design.

- Integrated Dovetail Rail. On/Off mounts directly to the frame. No need for extra rail.

- Rubberised Moulded Ergonomic Button Covers. Adds extra element of protection from water ingress as well as comfort and ease of button pressing.

- 06 Detents. Larger Detent base eliminates pull-thru and adds durability to the detent system.

- New Range of Eclipse Colours: Jet Black, Gun Metal Grey, Navy Blue, Scarlet Red, British Racing Green.

- New 06 Instruction Manual. More Detail, more pictures, more maintenance features.

- New Body Profile. Sleeker design, lower weight, and more style. The Ego6 carries on the legendary Ego mantra of form and function combined.

- New In-Line Regulator. Longer and thinner, the new reg offers greater shooting comfort, added style and a larger internal stored volume. It's new dimensions also allow tighter hose configuration that utilizes easier-to-use push fittings and shorter hose length.


Electronic enhancements:

- New improved circuit board for the new trigger system. New mounting location (not interchangeable with 05 board) and new Optical trigger sensors. New sensors are more powerful, yet use less power than 05 Optical trigger system.

- Advanced Microprocessor; new microprocessor has more power, more memory and greater power saving features than those of previous models.

- More Powerful Eyes; the new Breech Sensor hardware means that the eyes will work in virtually direct sunlight yet use only 20% of the power of the '05 BBSS.

- Improved Battery Life; battery life extended by as much as 63%, depending upon battery type and usage. Continuous tests at 10bps resulted in a 46% improvement over previous models using the factory fitted battery.

- Improved Battery Terminals; new "gripper" battery terminal design is more durable and provides better electrical contact than on previous models.

- Thicker waterproof coating on the circuit board provides even more resistance to water than before.

Software enhancements:

- Improved Breech Sensor Logic; breech sensor is even more responsive than on previous models, which means that the Ego6 is able to react much quicker to paintballs entering the breech.

- Multiple Factory Debounce Settings. Trigger debounce can be set on a simple scale of 1 to 5. Alternatively, users can adjust their own debounce settings. The TT Filter is still available yet can also be switched off completely if required, making this the easiest Ego yet to debounce.

- Adjustable Trigger Hysteresis. Along with the traditional trigger stops, it is now possible to set the trigger activation and release points within the software, providing a level of adjustability far superior to any micro-switch.

- Peak Rate-Of-Fire Indicator; giving two ROF indicators to choose from. Full one second sampling to give "True" number of Balls-Per-Second (same as 05 Ego), or Peak Rate-Of-Fire that gives the rate-of-fire between both the last two consecutive shots AND the fastest two shots achieved in a string. Peak ROF is stored after use for true "bragging rights".

- Improved Training Mode. Breech Sensor can be switched on and off in Training Mode and all parameters are "live" for a true simulation without the bangs.

- Improved LCD Readability. A new display font and larger BBSS icon improve readability. The dynamic battery level indicator is updated much more frequently than on previous models.
Product Availability 
The Planet Eclipse EGO 2006 is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (12):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
Paint3all Monday, July 25th, 2011
Period of
Product Use:
3 months2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Etek - very similar in construction, but a newer version
Axe - nice gun, nice to hold, but didn't like the trigger (maybe just a personal thing)
mini- i like the axe better because it is bigger and i have big hands, but an exelent gun as well
Marker Setup: 2006 Ego (virtued) with a Vlocity Jr. and virtue chip
-and for winter/woodsball-
Tippman 98 Custom with quickthread flattline barrel, and cyclone feed system.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Virtue that sucka!
Strengths: See review below
Weaknesses: It's age- Upgrades are becoming more and more difficult to find
Review: I absolutely love this gun, its simple in design and love the feeling of the popit valve as you shoot. You get the recoil you expect with a gun but not too much.

STRENGTHS
Price - in 2011 you can buy one for around 300 bucks, and they are just as nice as any marker out there today. This may seem shocking and a bunch of people will disagree but it shoots as fast as most fields will allow just like every other electro-pnumatic gun.

Hand grip- the spot to hold the gun just behind the bolt is simple but nice

Ballance - EXEPTIONAL, better than any other marker ive used (just as good as Etek)
Conclusion: Love the gun, love the price (in 2011 NOT in 2006!) and i am very satisfied
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Dover Saturday, January 22nd, 2011
Period of
Product Use:
2 years2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Orange County Bushwackers SL66
Sacramento XSV Ego 06
1 of 150 blue e-star camo Etek1
Bob Long Closer
DYE DM4
Proto Minion 07
SP Ion, Ion XE
Angel LED, Angel A1
AutoMags and AutoCockers
Invert Mini

The Ego is an extremely well-made and reliable tournament paintball marker.
Marker Setup: I'm a hardcore poor gun whore, seventeen (17) markers and counting:
Orange County Bushwackers SL66
Sacramento XSV Ego 06
1 of 150 blue e-star camo Etek1
Bob Long Closer
DYE DM4 (dust black)
Proto Minion 2007
SP Ion (ShockTech body kit)
SP Ion XE
WDP Angel LED 1999
APS Angel A1
2 Invert MINI (gloss black, dust olive)
5 WGP Autocockers (Bob Long, 2 E-Cockers, pump Trilogy, E2)
6 AGD AutoMags
2 JT E-Excellerators
1 VL E-marker
Recommended
Upgrades:
Laser Eyes, Barrel Kit, Adjustable Rammer Cap, Kila Magnetic Detents, Cure Bolt.
Tadao board if you like LED display.
Strengths: Well made, 2nd Generation Ego
Weaknesses: Was expensive ($1400) but value now dropping. QEV's can prone to damage.
Review: You are looking at the second generation Ego, the first being the 2005 Ego.
More appointments but really minor changes were made; most noticable the trigger / board relationship.
Otherwise parts are interchangeble between the 05 and 06 Ego's.
Very well built, tight technical tolerances, precision made.
Planet Eclipse took the knock-open poppet marker to the next level.
Conclusion: You can find used Ego 06 very inexpensive now, just over $300 US.
Highly recommended due to low maintenance and quality build.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Kia-Ya Sunday, April 4th, 2010
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Marker Setup: Ego6 Freak Barrel
Dust Blue CCU kit
Tadao Mushasi 7 Board
50/4500 Ninja Tank
Camo VLocity
Recommended
Upgrades:
New board
Strengths: Everything
Weaknesses: Stock Board
Review: I Just got this gun used for $300. Ok, the reg is wonderful, +/- 5 FPS when I used it. At first after you haven't used it you should dry fire it a few times because of a massive bolt stick before extended disuse. I also love the milling, best milling of all the ego's IMO. The stock board however capps the BPS at 10 with eyes on so... It's accuracy is ball on ball, some think its recoil is to much and there is too much noise, I personally like the noise and kick, a possitive report that you have fired. No chopping at all unless you use old brittle paint, however a cure bolt may be a good investment.
Conclusion: All in all a wonderful buy, price is going down now and they still can rock your face off so I highly recommend.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

XxoneshotxX Saturday, September 19th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
i have shot an 09 ego, etek 2, nxt shocker, and an ion
Marker Setup: I shot an 06 ego with a maniac bored halo b loader with rip drive and v35 board, a 68 45 tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
none stock these things are beast
Strengths: Fast, accurate, reliable, little to no cleaning required and did i mention shoots amazing
Weaknesses: Lil loud but who cares we arent playing woodsball here
Review: Over all a fantastic buy definately need to pick one up or a newer model. I got mine from a friend of mine that was about to trade it to some kid who wouldnt appreciate the sheer power of this gun its is a dream when it shoots and is amazingly reliable
Conclusion: Buy it u will love it and it will last a life time i havent cleaned mine in about a month or so took it out back yesterday shoots lasers
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

P8ntballer51888 Tuesday, February 5th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
1 year0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
WGP Trilogy Pro with WorrBlade
2005 Planet Eclipse Ego
Marker Setup: 2006 XSV Ego
Star Frame
Tadao Board
Dye Ultrlight Barrel
Halo B w/ V35
NXe Pack
CenterFlag 68/4500 Carbon Fiber tank
JT Proflex
2006 Proto Pants
Recommended
Upgrades:
Tadao Board
or
Virtue Board
Strengths: Everything!
Weaknesses: Nothing!
Review: I bought this gun knowing it was good and all, but i had not idea how good it actually was until i shot it....OMG its amazing....this gun shoots at lightning speeds and is still EXTREMLY ACCURATE!! For anyone who has never shot and Eclipse Ego before...go to your local field...shoot one...and i promise that you will want to buy one right then and there...its AMAZING
Conclusion: Buy this gun because it is the best gun on the market....
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

protomaster44 Wednesday, January 30th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
PM6 (good but not as good)
Alias (mine was nice, but not an ego)
shocker( not close)
Marker Setup: 06 ego with:
ul barrel
sidewinder reg
star frame
tadao m7 board
cp on/off
critical trigger
Recommended
Upgrades:
star frame
cure bolt
Strengths: Air effeciency
Lpeed
Looks
Weaknesses: Some say noise, but it doesn't matter in speedball
Review: I think that this marker is awesome. I took it out one day before i bought it from a friend and i was mowing faces. It is unbelievable. I got a whole case off a 68/4500 tank. I was amazed. This gun is deffinately worth it if u can get one. I can't find any downsides and i bought it used! I tip my hat to eclipse on this one. Good job guys.
Conclusion: In review, I say that this marker is great. It is accurate, quick, and great on air. I would reccomend this gun to anyone.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, January 31st, 2008 at 2:33 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

06 ego Monday, December 31st, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
nothing that comperes
Marker Setup: 06 ego,vlocity,68/45 dsx,
Recommended
Upgrades:
nothing maby new barel????
Strengths: Nice
Fast
Light
Accuracy
Screen
Easy to clean
Customer service
Manuel
Weaknesses: Ummm
Review: i baught my ego about 2 months ago it was my first true high end gun and it was great.
all i can say is wow what a sexy gun VERY NICE i got myne used 4 500$ good price.
the maintence is pretty easy i had a problem with it but i got it fixed and now it works like a dream.now on to the speed this gun is fast very fast the screen is cool it tells u how fast ur shotting mode ect nice acc make my life alot easyer well not really but wtv and that all i have to say
Conclusion: This gun is great i think u should defenatly buy it
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Pnkskater656 Wednesday, October 31st, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
etek ego
quest
shocker
Marker Setup: gloss black 06 ego
Recommended
Upgrades:
ti-rammer, cure bolt.
Strengths: Fast, efficient, light, easy maintenence.
Weaknesses: Does'nt shoot as striaght as some would like
Review: Well I got my 06 ego in a trade about 3 months ago, and it came with a ti-rammer, and cp trigger.

Speed- This gun is very very fast, with the right settings you can have a gun that is fast and legal.

Accuracy-It doesn't shoot as straight as I would like, but you get used to it and you wont even notice it after a while.

Efficiency-I don't actually have a number of shots that I've gotten off of my 68/45, but I can say that when my teammates are getting air, I normally still have around 2k left in my tank.

Maintenence- This gun is very easy to clean, and I mean very. Not too many o-rings, but all of the o-rings that it has are easy to get to, and even the solenoid is easy to clean.
Conclusion: If your in the market for a little older gun that is amazing, then get this gun, you won't be dissapointed.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

PBOverlord Tuesday, June 5th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
6 months2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Various SP markers, Dye markers, a few Bob Long markers (marqs primarily)...basically enough to compare this product.
Marker Setup: Red and Black 06 Ego
Tadao M7 Board
Ultralite barrel
Recommended
Upgrades:
I'm very satisfied with what I have on my marker. The Tadao Board is fast, and the Ultralite barrel is accurate. The only other thing (and this is simply for user preference) would be a trigger.
Strengths: Efficiency
Reliability
Adjustable
Weight
Speed
Pretty simple to clean/lube.
Weaknesses: Internal hosing
Review: I had purchased this marker about 6 months ago via the nation. The man claimed he had been playing on a team in D3 at an NPPL event somewhere (I keep thinking Chicago, but that can't be right...). So after purchasing the marker, I was pretty sure it would be broken in and fully adjusted for maximum ability. I was partially right. While the marker has never malfunctioned on me or let me down during a game, upon shooting it I was mildly disappointed. The trigger pull was long and felt unadjusted, which I thought was odd for a D3 player. The bolt also seemed to return just a bit too slow when I fired the marker (just when I was dry-firing it in my backyard). So I decided to service the marker a bit and see if I could fix it up.

I took the bolt out, and proceeded to remove the rammer cap, and then the rammer. Right around then I found the problem. The man who had the marker before it had lubed the rammer. I was surprised. I mean, the guy had made several, several Ego deals on the nation before, and I thought by now he'd know how to properly service his markers. Anyway, I cleaned the lube off of the rammer and the internals, and applied a fresh coat of oil to the rammer and bolt. Upon airing it up and firing again, it felt much smoother and seemed to glide with each pull of the trigger. As is usual for Planet Eclipse, a very nice marker.

Then I set to the task of adjusting the trigger for maximum performance. That didn't take too long either. The stock trigger really function well, and I found a great poition to adjust it too. I screwed the spring screw out far so that there was no pressure to keep your fingers from walking it, screwed the magnetic screw out almost all the way so only a small amount of magnetic energy was pulling it back, and screwed the top screw until the back of the trigger was millimeters away from clicking the microswitch. If you still have the stock trigger, I'd suggest a similar configuration. After adjusting the trigger as described, the 06 shot ropes and dished out paint like no other. The Tadao board helped a fair bit, as well.

Time to go through the features:


Performance

No contest here. As I've said, the marker has never let me down during a tourney or on a weekend practice, and the smooth shot of an Ego has little competition in the industry. If you keep your marker oiled and lubed properly, the 06 will never let you down. No surprise, freak occurances here. You take good care of it and it will be faithful to you.

Efficiency

With some embarrassment I have to admit that I haven't tweaked this marker yet. The field I primarily attend has all day air available to all players, and I typically fill up after every game, so I never have had the urge to fool around with dwell, LPR, and HPR to achieve maximum efficiency. However, I believe the dwell is set to the Tadao factory default, the HPR likely runs around 200-210psi (PE decided to not include a gauge, likely to make the marker as light as possible), with the LPR typically flushed with the cap. I can still get about 3/4 of a case to and entire case off of one 45/45 fill. Definitely a great marker for efficiency.


Reliability

Hasn't let me down yet. I haven't aired my marker up to find that a leak had 'mysteriously' formed in my rammer, nor have I had to walk off of a game due to marker malfunction. The only thing that ever happened was really my fault. A few buddies of mine wanted to play woodsball (they're more recreational guys), and I decided to bring this marker out and just tone it down to straight semi, slow as possible. So the three of us played in a huge wooded area. It took me 30 minutes before I came into contact with one of them. We both saw each other about 20 feet away, and both lifted our marker. I fired, and nothing happened. Then I was out in about 4 second. After looking down at my marker I realized the Ego has an auto-turn off. After the marker had been on for so long without being fired it shut itself off, and, without checking, I was left to die. I suppose that's one thing mech players will always have over us.

Maintenance

Very simple. The bolt and rammer slide out easily and only need a drop or two of oil. both the HPR and LPR are very basic and easy to clean. The HPR functions mainly on a spring stack, and the LPR primarily only needs one piston o-ring lubed. After playing with it for the first time, I took it home and decided to break the entire thing down. That means all the way past the manifold, into the true internals of the gun, where the magic happens. It's usually suggested to service this area once every 20,000 shots, but I felt like familiarizing myself with the marker. Very easy process (except for the hosing, which I'll get to in just a few moments), and is simple to take apart and put back together. I've got to tip my hat to Planet Eclipse on this one.

Internals

The internals of the Ego are great, no doubt, except for one small thing: the internal hosing. There is one hose that is apparent when you disconnect the Ego frame from the body, that is connected to the HPR (the VA above the HPR, really). This hose is a complete pain to remove. It is fixed on barb fitting, and that ensure that it does not blow off when the marker it aired up, but also makes for a difficult removal. Planet Eclipse disappointed me a bit here. I really feel that they could have used smaller versions of macroline fittings and used a hose similar to macroline to connect the two. Instead, they opted for the barbed fitting. If you attempt to pull the hose, it goes nowhere. It's recommended to use tweezers, and I did, but they didn't make it much easier. After five or ten minutes, I was able to remove the line with a pair of tweezers and a pin. Unfortunately, there was a small hole (minuscule) created on the top of the hosing, and when I aired the marker back up it was creating a small leak. I had to cut the small area with the hole off, and then try and udjust the hose so no air leaked out. This was a real pain that took close to 30 minutes (the hose refused to stop leaking until I got it in a perfect spot). I thought about replacing the hose, but it turns out you can only purchase is directly from PE overseas, which costs about 35 bucks for shipping, with the hose as only 3 or 4 bucks. Since I didn't feel like paying that much, I adjusted the hose to the point that it would no longer leak.

Speed

I have never used the stock board to the Ego (the man who sold it to me claimed he would send it a week or two later, but he was never able to). However, I can tell you that the Tadao achieves everything you would expect from an aftermarket board. BPS goes as high as your hopper feeds, there are tons of different modes and special settings to make fool-around matches unique, and, of course, all of the required settings for several different tourney-based leagues, such as the NPPL and PSP. This marker can shoot faster than you'll ever need, let's leave it at that.

Weight

It's light. I really don't know what else to say. Picking up any other marker after holding this really makes you realize just how light it is. With a VLocity mounted on top and a 45/45 Throttle on the back (my personal setup), running is a breeze and sometimes you forget the marker is even there. It seems like in the 07 season many companies are focusing on weight as a major selling point, but I really don't see why you'd have to get any lighter than this marker.

Accuracy

As is with any other marker, accuracy is determined by the quality of your barrel and, more importantly, your paint-to-bore match. If you shoot the Ego with a .689 back and you're using .689 paint, you'll be firing nothing but ropes. With smaller or bigger paint sizes, the accuracy tends to decrease only slightly. With an incorrect paint-to-bore match, on a standard size NPPL X-Ball field, I'd say each ball would hit the middle X within a 3 foot radius (firing from the break-out point). The marker deals out paint quickly enough that the 3 foot radius doesn't make a huge difference. Don't worry, you'll hit your target.
Conclusion: A great marker for the serious player. A little pricey if bought new (still costs about $1000 if bought new from a site), but with the rush of 07 marker you can find these on the nation for $650-$750, which is pretty nice for a marker you'll never have to replace. The only real factor I can count against this product is the internal hosing which I personally find so tedious to remove and replace. Not to mention a lot of Planet Eclipse customer service takes place out of the UK rather than the US (I believe most of their stuff ships from there as well). But despite these two minor factor, the marker is amazing and can compete at any level of play. When markers are capped at 15 bps in most of the major tourneys today, it really doesn't make a huge difference that an 07 can punch out a higher firing rate. Both marker are legally only allowed to fire at 15, and that's the most each will get in one second.

A superb marker for the experienced player. Small rich kids please stay away; you're ruining the sport I love.

I haven't gotten to glance at the 07's internals as of yet, but with luck they've fixed the barbed fitting problem. If it wasn't for that minor inconvenience (only really affects you when you're performing a complete strip-down of the entire marker and all of it's components), I would be awarding this marker a perfect score.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

Marich01 Saturday, June 2nd, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
DM6, PM6, G7 fly, shockers, ions, cockers,
Marker Setup: Black ego, 68/45 hp, vlocity jr, cure bolt
Recommended
Upgrades:
cure bolt
Strengths: After the gun is broken in, it is very consistant and accurate.
Weaknesses: Without the cure bolt the gun isnt as consistant.
Review: I have owned two egos, both have served me very well, they are fast, reliable, and consistant. They are easy to maintain and very fun to shoot. It is a great gun for speedball and even recball/woodsball.

The only downfall is the regulator, if you get shot then you get to use a q-yip and papertowell to clean the little groves but it isnt bad, The only reccomendation i really have is to get a cure bolt as soon as possible.

Another thing is that i have found that the vlocity hopper, jr or regular have worked very well with the ego line of markers, halos and empires are also well but i would stick with the vlocity. I have also tried the pulse with the rf chip, i for some reason would rather get a vlocity jr with a gangstar chip for cheaper.

Overall, out of the box the ego only needs a fast hopper, a nitro tank, and if you have the extra cash get the cure bolt. Everything else such as the TI rammer, and LAAV are not needed, the ti rammer reduces kick slightly but i found it to be a waste of my money as well as the luck air assist valve. which actually made my ego less consistant, and it protruded out the back. Over all just a waste of money for the lucky accessory.

Conclusion: I would buy the ego, if you do not have the money to get an 07 ego, the 06 isnt that bad at all, it is fairly cheap used too.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment
                            
Pages (12):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media