paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Planet Eclipse EGO 2006 / Planet Eclipse EGO 2006 / Planet Eclipse EGO 2006 / Planet Eclipse EGO 2006

Planet Eclipse EGO 2006 Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Planet Eclipse

Buy Planet Eclipse EGO 2006

Paintball High-End Electronic Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Planet Eclipse EGO 2006
[ View Photos (65) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 111
Average Rating: 9.7 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $1250

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Mechanical enhancements:

- Lower pressure operation. Larger volume of stored air in the valve chamber and in-line regulator allow operating pressure to be lowered by up to 50 psi

- Shorter Bolt. Smaller bolt = less reciprocating mass, and therefore higher cycle speeds.

- Improved trigger design. New trigger loses 20% of its thickness and mass. Improved reaction and quicker return. Centrally mounted prong improves resistance to trigger sensor contamination by light and debris.

- Trigger contoured for easier, faster-for-longer string shooting.

- Larger Trigger Guard gives more room for those with fingers of the larger variety. Or even for those nimble enough to utilize the 3-Finger technique.

- Multiple trigger return options. All markers come with spring and magnetic return options. Simply adjust in magnetic, or spring return mechanism. For smoothest pull, use both.

- Integrated snatch grip. Longer frame allows easier carrying and more pleasing aesthetical design.

- Integrated Dovetail Rail. On/Off mounts directly to the frame. No need for extra rail.

- Rubberised Moulded Ergonomic Button Covers. Adds extra element of protection from water ingress as well as comfort and ease of button pressing.

- 06 Detents. Larger Detent base eliminates pull-thru and adds durability to the detent system.

- New Range of Eclipse Colours: Jet Black, Gun Metal Grey, Navy Blue, Scarlet Red, British Racing Green.

- New 06 Instruction Manual. More Detail, more pictures, more maintenance features.

- New Body Profile. Sleeker design, lower weight, and more style. The Ego6 carries on the legendary Ego mantra of form and function combined.

- New In-Line Regulator. Longer and thinner, the new reg offers greater shooting comfort, added style and a larger internal stored volume. It's new dimensions also allow tighter hose configuration that utilizes easier-to-use push fittings and shorter hose length.


Electronic enhancements:

- New improved circuit board for the new trigger system. New mounting location (not interchangeable with 05 board) and new Optical trigger sensors. New sensors are more powerful, yet use less power than 05 Optical trigger system.

- Advanced Microprocessor; new microprocessor has more power, more memory and greater power saving features than those of previous models.

- More Powerful Eyes; the new Breech Sensor hardware means that the eyes will work in virtually direct sunlight yet use only 20% of the power of the '05 BBSS.

- Improved Battery Life; battery life extended by as much as 63%, depending upon battery type and usage. Continuous tests at 10bps resulted in a 46% improvement over previous models using the factory fitted battery.

- Improved Battery Terminals; new "gripper" battery terminal design is more durable and provides better electrical contact than on previous models.

- Thicker waterproof coating on the circuit board provides even more resistance to water than before.

Software enhancements:

- Improved Breech Sensor Logic; breech sensor is even more responsive than on previous models, which means that the Ego6 is able to react much quicker to paintballs entering the breech.

- Multiple Factory Debounce Settings. Trigger debounce can be set on a simple scale of 1 to 5. Alternatively, users can adjust their own debounce settings. The TT Filter is still available yet can also be switched off completely if required, making this the easiest Ego yet to debounce.

- Adjustable Trigger Hysteresis. Along with the traditional trigger stops, it is now possible to set the trigger activation and release points within the software, providing a level of adjustability far superior to any micro-switch.

- Peak Rate-Of-Fire Indicator; giving two ROF indicators to choose from. Full one second sampling to give "True" number of Balls-Per-Second (same as 05 Ego), or Peak Rate-Of-Fire that gives the rate-of-fire between both the last two consecutive shots AND the fastest two shots achieved in a string. Peak ROF is stored after use for true "bragging rights".

- Improved Training Mode. Breech Sensor can be switched on and off in Training Mode and all parameters are "live" for a true simulation without the bangs.

- Improved LCD Readability. A new display font and larger BBSS icon improve readability. The dynamic battery level indicator is updated much more frequently than on previous models.
Product Availability 
The Planet Eclipse EGO 2006 is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (12):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  Last
        Next Page
Z07 Tuesday, May 29th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
an ion and noting like this
a shocker just as lite but not nearly as fast
an impulse heavier and slower
and a eclipse autococker just a little bit heavier and not as fast
these are all good gun though
Marker Setup: maniac ego 06
blue dust color kit
cp rake trigger
eclipse cure bolt
Contract Killer grip
2 piece shaft barrel
pulse loader
cp 48ci tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
new grip
new trigger
Strengths: Lite
Fast
Very efficient on air, doesnt break paint unless its old or bad paint
Weaknesses: None except that it breaks bad paint but you just need to buy good paint
Review: This gun is very good and very lite. It is air efficient and doesnt reak much paint. I would recommend a cp tank and a pulse loader because they really madke the gun a lot lighter and faster. The maniac board is the best. I would recommend it if you wnat a new board to anyone beacuse it makes the gun faster and more customizalble.This is the best gun I have ever shot.The only gun I know of that is lighter and just as good is the 07 ego but it cost a heak of a lot more.I love my MANIAC EGO 06.
Conclusion: I give this gun a 10! because it the lightest and fstest gun Ive used.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

sflusch Monday, May 7th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
See my other reviews for other markers I've used.
Marker Setup: Ego6 with 2.00 board, cure bolt, completely stock otherwise.
Recommended
Upgrades:
None needed except possibly cure bolt.
Strengths: Tight, fast, efficient, fun.
Weaknesses: Some say it's loud and kicks, but I never notice.
Review: I've really enjoyed my Ego. I purchased it used at the beginning of December from a friend, and it came to me in great condition.

The first thing I did was go home and read the manual, which is very detailed and self-explanatory. The Ego is simply the easiest gun to work on. Maintenance is a breeze and I have yet to have an problems with the marker. Every time I pull it out of my bag I can expect it to be under 300 FPS, and reg creep has never been an issue. I regularly maintain the rammer with gold cup oil and use vaseline for the hp and lp regs, but you don't really need to get into them much.

The Ego's board has given me no problems, nor have the eyes, and the 2.00 board has all the modes I need, i.e. uncapped semi, capped semi, and capped ramp.

My Ego simply shoots ropes, and I've played in all sorts of conditions, rain, sleet, mud, you name it, and I've had three breech chops (I may be forgetting one or two) in around 20 cases of paint put through it. One thing to look out for if you're getting chops would be the detents. I've found the detents in my Ego to be extremely variable in their durability. One pair lasted me fifteen cases of paint, then the next set only lasted two. In most cases, chops will come from the loader forcing a ball past the detents and then you end up with a half-loaded paintball.

If you have barrel breaks, it's time to reexamine your paint selection, because the Ego can shoot anything you put in it with no problem. The only exceptions to this would be if you're shooting paint that's out of round (such as some seconds paints), cold (I've found around 60 to be where the shell starts going on brittle paint), or you might've just ended up with a bad batch of paint.

The stock bolt is fine, but the Cure really makes the whole thing feel a bit more precise, in that the o-ring around the bolt keeps it from rattling against the sides of the breech, and I think the cure bolt may be a bit lighter than the stock bolt, which for the Ego matters somewhat because, as with all poppets, it has more noticable recoil than a spool valve due to the cyclical mass.

My experience with the marker has been entirely positive, and I really love the adjustability of the trigger. You can pad your rof a bit by backing off the magnet, introducing controllable bounce, or you can make the trigger snappy and crisp by engaging the magnet. Also, it's a great tool for strengthening your fingers because you can engage the magnet all the way and put the Ego on training mode and sit and go for hours without burning through your air.

Speaking of going for hours, the Ego is quite simply the most air efficient marker I've ever used. I can routinely get a hopper and eight or nine pods off a full 68/45 fill.

**Anecdote time!**
We were playing a 3-man tournament recently, and due to poor planning the venue ran out of air. Rather than using a compressor, the people in charge had just used scuba tanks to fill HPA. There was plenty of air for most of the day, but as the finals rolled around they were only getting about 2000 psi (hot) fills. After the tanks cooled down we were looking at between 1500 to 1750 psi in each tank. After scrounging up some spare tanks from other teams who were sticking around to watch the finals, we went and filled all of them up, and played our way through the finals. I and one other teammate shoot the Ego and we only went through a tank apiece in three games (read: 1750 psi took us through three games).
Conclusion: Bottom line, I've been impressed with every aspect of this marker, from maintenance and performance to efficiency. If you have the chance to get ahold of an 06 Ego, I'd go for it without hesitation. The price on used Egos has been dropping since the introduction of the 07, and if you're looking for a good high-end marker for a moderate price, definitely look into the Ego.

I'm going to give the 06 Ego a 9 because of the issues I've had with detents. There have been a few people saying I should go ahead and get the Killa detents, but in my mind that's money that would be better spent on paint. Replacement detents are cheap and PE is really great about customer service.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

sgtmarkins Saturday, May 5th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
SFT and NXT Shockers
Tried ION's
Marker Setup: 06 Ego
Ti. Ram and Dart bolt
Halo B-V board
Nitro Duck 68/45
Recommended
Upgrades:
None
Strengths: Maintenance
efficiency
weight
does what you want it to
Weaknesses: Price New
Got mine used (about half price)
No mechanical weaknesses!!!!
Review: Cant say enough about this marker. I thought I was impressed with my Shocker with Preditor board?? I found the Ego had all the mode's I needed, 15 bps is all you need and all you are allowed on most feilds.
The ease of maint. could not be easier. It is as easy as owning a Spyder, and even easier than a Shocker (less o-rings and lube used).
This marker has made me a changed man (I'm off the SP wagon).
If you have the money PE makes a great product either way you slice it, nothing too flashy it just flat out works.
Conclusion: Get it if you can. You will have NO regrets.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Pman09 Tuesday, May 1st, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Angels
Matrixes
Marker Setup: 06 Aqua Origin Ego
Hybrid feedneck
Maniac board
Halo B w/ rip
68/45k Centerflag
Recommended
Upgrades:
Maybe a new barrel or bolt but not a very big necessity
Strengths: Very light
Super duper fast
reliable
consistent
no chops
easy to tune
Weaknesses: None that ive found
Review: I traded for this gun a few months back and it was one of the best decisions ive made in my paintball career. It's an amazing gun and has yet to let me down on the field. I'll just go through the good and bad aspects of this gun now.

Weight:
Its not much lighter than an 05 ego but is still an extremely light gun even with a bulky halo and 68ci tank. Its easy crawl around with in the snake and also easy to snap shoot with.

Speed:
It gets up to very high rates of fire easily because its got a very nice stock trigger. Its has like half spring and half magnetic controls for the trigger so you can make some cool adjustments for your liking. I can get jumps up to 20 bps according to the little screen rof indicator in stock semi. Its really easy to hold streams when laning because its fast and doesnt have much kick either.

Reliability:
Not breaking down in the 3 months ive used it is pretty impressive. I just chopped a ball last weekend for the first time but it was crap paint so....it wont be chopping very often unless ur a cheapo.

On the Chrono:
I usually have about +- 5 on the chrono on a good day. Just minor adjustments of the lpr can make it shoot a lot better.

Conclusion: Super good gun and you can find em used for about 700 now the 07s out.... just pick one of these up its really not that much different. SUPER AWESOME
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

ego6baller Monday, April 30th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
etek,
Marker Setup: reds peppers sticks
mini max
tadao board
Recommended
Upgrades:
new board
really about all you need, everything else helps very minimally
Strengths: Fast
light
extremely reliable
easy maintenance
air efficiency
Weaknesses: Stock board: hard to get bounce out
Review: I have had my 06 for over a year now. I HAVE NEVER CHANGED AN ORING. I has not need one yet. A very reliable marker, once broken in becomes very predictable in velocity.

For you tinker's ones you set it up, leave it alone!!! I have seen more messed up ones because of tinkering then any other problem.

Conclusion: The best marker i have ever owned. you recommend to any tourny or serious rec baller
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

killerwhale Monday, April 9th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
angel g7, timmies (ripper, alias, species alien, 2k5), shockers, ions, rails, freestyle 7s

none compared with the egos except for the angels
Marker Setup: 06 ego no ups (working on it)
92 ci 4500 psi crossfire tank
VLocity
Strengths: Light
Fast
Looks awesome
Very adjustable
Fast
Feed neck
On off asa
Eyes
Weaknesses: Loud
No unlimited ramping
Kick (not too bad)
Price
Review: Once i got this gun i freaked. i got it for last Christmas and have it in my hand about half of the time now. awesome gun, feels good in hands. turnable reg, you can adjust it to your choosing. four way adjustable trigger. rips like none other. the kick is kind of high for a high end gun. angels are much quieter w/ less kick.
Conclusion: Buy the gun it is very wicked
If you have 1000 dollars and don't know what to spend it on, here you go
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, April 10th, 2007 at 1:48 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

bobalis Saturday, March 31st, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
2k5 Intimidator
Marker Setup: 2006 Gun Metal Gray w/red parts Ego
Ti rammer
Nexus bolt w/delrin pin
Halo B w/rip drive
68/4500 tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
Possibly a barrel
Strengths: Light
Small
Quiet
Low Kick
Stupid Fast!
Weaknesses: Balance (kinda)
Review: Ever since I laid my eyes on an ego, I knew that I had to have one. Took me awhile but I finally got a used one for my timmy and some cash and let me tell you, it was a great decision. This marker is significantly lighter than my timmy and slightly smaller. The frame and the trigger are very comfortable and with the magnets, allows me to shoot faster than I've ever shot before. This gun rips, simple as that. There are a lot of people who say that the kick in egos is worse than most high end guns or that they are super loud but this is not the case for me. Actually, I find that my ego is just as quiet as my timmy was with the eigenram and has less kick than the intimidator too. I guess those are the benefits of getting the gun teched by someone from XSV. The LCD is works great, stock feedneck and barrel are good and the milling is grand.

The only thing that I found that can be considered a weakness is when I have my gun full setup, I find that the balance is not in the center of the marker (like my timmy) but more towards the back. I really don't find this an actually weakness because each marker feels different and I'm just going to have to get used to it.
Conclusion: Overall, I highly recommend this marker. I waited quite awhile to get one and I tell you, the only reget that I have is that I didn't get it a year ago.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

usaf127 Wednesday, March 21st, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
DM6, Etek, Ego 05, Ion(lol)
Marker Setup: Gun Metal 06 Origin Ego
Cure Bolt
2 Piece Shaft barrel
Maniac Board
Recommended
Upgrades:
Cant really think of any atm...but thats cause the origin comes with REALLY nice stock parts
Strengths: Speed
Looks
Dependable
Accuracy
Weaknesses: Little bit of an air hog
Some ppl may find it a little loud

Review: Got my new ego a few days ago and its amazing....theres not much else to say other because if your reading this you probably already know about an ego. You can pick up a maniac ego for around 650 if your lucky....got mine brand new for 625 off a friend. This is by far the best gun ive used thus far...better then the DM6 and much better then the Etek.
Conclusion: If you have the money get this gun
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

coolrazer Thursday, March 15th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Intimidator, the Ego is much better
Marker Setup: -PM5 w/ UL Frame
-'06 Shocker
Recommended
Upgrades:
Maybe a barrel
Strengths: Light, compact, very efficient
Weaknesses: None really
Review: Wow! I think Eclipse really has a winner with this gun. The ego is the result of tons of testing to put the best tournament grade marker in the hands of players. Not only is the gun one of the lightest on the market, it's also one of the most efficient guns out there! It was kind of tricky to figure out how to program the modes and set everything up, but after I sat down for about 10 minutes and read the manual I was able to get everything done. I went out and played woods with some friends one day and used an 06 Ego, with about 2200 psi left in my 68/45 and was able to play the entire day without filling up. I'm pretty sure I shot a hopper and about 5 pods, and I still have enough air for at least a hopper full of paint. To sum it all up, this gun is a great deal and is very efficient! If you haven't guessed, efficiency is important to me.
Conclusion: I would recommend this gun to anyone looking for a new gun.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

kodiakwood2 Monday, March 5th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
05 Pro Stock with System X reg, CP on/off, Eclipse LPR, E2, Freak barrel system and 68/3000air, spring kit, polished hammer lug
A PM5 w/ultra lite grip frame
Ion
Marker Setup: '06 Ego Maniac, shaft 2 piece barrel, 68/3000 HPA, V Locity hopper
Recommended
Upgrades:
Additional barrel backs for various paint sizes
Strengths: Reliable, quiet, smooth, deadly accurate, simple to set up
Weaknesses: A thinner grip frame, Keep your eye on it at public fields
Review: Model: Eclipse '06 Ego w/ Maniac board, dust black
I'll start at the beginning:

ASA- a bleed off type on/off. Smooth effortless action. Although there is still enough air in the marker for one more shot after you de-gass.

Velocity- adjustment is in the reg. It's simple to use with an allen wrench, after break in the reg keeps the velocity with-in 1-3 fps.

Grip frame- if you've ever used an E2 this is pretty similar. simple push buttons on the back of the grip frame make operations a snap, you can adjust display from timer to ROF to a bunch of other things.

Bolt action- Ok the Ego bolt is a short light weight little thing, a pull pin on top makes field strip a snap. when you put the bolt back be sure to line up the pull pin with the notch in the rammer, you get use to it pretty quick.

Barrel- a factory equipped "Shaft" barrel comes stock, a nice 2 piece barrel with left handed threads between the front and back pieces. That would be great for my cocker. The .693 stock back piece is quite accurate but a couple of additional sizes would be the nuts, Eclipse does not have additional sized backs in cocker threads to match the "Shaft"

Feed neck- just plain perfect.

general overview- This marker rips, there are so many ways to adjust it you could stay busy for months playing with the settings. The trigger is easy to tweak, although I'm no 30 bps type of guy but I average between 8-12 bps in regular rec play. There is a faint kick in the marker operation, but it doesn't really affect anything. clean up and maintenance is a breeze, I've used the marker in a couple of different settings, PSP (ramping) and semi-. You can cap the ramping anywhere you want very simply with the e-grip settings. Very air efficient and light.


Conclusion: This marker will bring your game to a new level. With the '07 out the price on an '06 EGO maniac is dropping. You should be able to pick one for under a grand
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (12):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media