paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Planet Eclipse EGO 2006 / Planet Eclipse EGO 2006 / Planet Eclipse EGO 2006 / Planet Eclipse EGO 2006

Planet Eclipse EGO 2006 Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Planet Eclipse

Buy Planet Eclipse EGO 2006

Paintball High-End Electronic Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Planet Eclipse EGO 2006
[ View Photos (65) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 111
Average Rating: 9.7 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $1250

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Mechanical enhancements:

- Lower pressure operation. Larger volume of stored air in the valve chamber and in-line regulator allow operating pressure to be lowered by up to 50 psi

- Shorter Bolt. Smaller bolt = less reciprocating mass, and therefore higher cycle speeds.

- Improved trigger design. New trigger loses 20% of its thickness and mass. Improved reaction and quicker return. Centrally mounted prong improves resistance to trigger sensor contamination by light and debris.

- Trigger contoured for easier, faster-for-longer string shooting.

- Larger Trigger Guard gives more room for those with fingers of the larger variety. Or even for those nimble enough to utilize the 3-Finger technique.

- Multiple trigger return options. All markers come with spring and magnetic return options. Simply adjust in magnetic, or spring return mechanism. For smoothest pull, use both.

- Integrated snatch grip. Longer frame allows easier carrying and more pleasing aesthetical design.

- Integrated Dovetail Rail. On/Off mounts directly to the frame. No need for extra rail.

- Rubberised Moulded Ergonomic Button Covers. Adds extra element of protection from water ingress as well as comfort and ease of button pressing.

- 06 Detents. Larger Detent base eliminates pull-thru and adds durability to the detent system.

- New Range of Eclipse Colours: Jet Black, Gun Metal Grey, Navy Blue, Scarlet Red, British Racing Green.

- New 06 Instruction Manual. More Detail, more pictures, more maintenance features.

- New Body Profile. Sleeker design, lower weight, and more style. The Ego6 carries on the legendary Ego mantra of form and function combined.

- New In-Line Regulator. Longer and thinner, the new reg offers greater shooting comfort, added style and a larger internal stored volume. It's new dimensions also allow tighter hose configuration that utilizes easier-to-use push fittings and shorter hose length.


Electronic enhancements:

- New improved circuit board for the new trigger system. New mounting location (not interchangeable with 05 board) and new Optical trigger sensors. New sensors are more powerful, yet use less power than 05 Optical trigger system.

- Advanced Microprocessor; new microprocessor has more power, more memory and greater power saving features than those of previous models.

- More Powerful Eyes; the new Breech Sensor hardware means that the eyes will work in virtually direct sunlight yet use only 20% of the power of the '05 BBSS.

- Improved Battery Life; battery life extended by as much as 63%, depending upon battery type and usage. Continuous tests at 10bps resulted in a 46% improvement over previous models using the factory fitted battery.

- Improved Battery Terminals; new "gripper" battery terminal design is more durable and provides better electrical contact than on previous models.

- Thicker waterproof coating on the circuit board provides even more resistance to water than before.

Software enhancements:

- Improved Breech Sensor Logic; breech sensor is even more responsive than on previous models, which means that the Ego6 is able to react much quicker to paintballs entering the breech.

- Multiple Factory Debounce Settings. Trigger debounce can be set on a simple scale of 1 to 5. Alternatively, users can adjust their own debounce settings. The TT Filter is still available yet can also be switched off completely if required, making this the easiest Ego yet to debounce.

- Adjustable Trigger Hysteresis. Along with the traditional trigger stops, it is now possible to set the trigger activation and release points within the software, providing a level of adjustability far superior to any micro-switch.

- Peak Rate-Of-Fire Indicator; giving two ROF indicators to choose from. Full one second sampling to give "True" number of Balls-Per-Second (same as 05 Ego), or Peak Rate-Of-Fire that gives the rate-of-fire between both the last two consecutive shots AND the fastest two shots achieved in a string. Peak ROF is stored after use for true "bragging rights".

- Improved Training Mode. Breech Sensor can be switched on and off in Training Mode and all parameters are "live" for a true simulation without the bangs.

- Improved LCD Readability. A new display font and larger BBSS icon improve readability. The dynamic battery level indicator is updated much more frequently than on previous models.
Product Availability 
The Planet Eclipse EGO 2006 is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (12):  First  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  8  |  9  |  Last
        Next Page
smartparts Friday, August 18th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Pm6
Marker Setup: Proto Matrix 6
14in UL barrel
Dm6 board
Dm5 eyes
Contract killer grips
Recommended
Upgrades:
UL barrel
CP trigger
virtue
grips
Strengths: Accurate
Efficient
Light
Weaknesses: Loud!!!
More kick then other guns
Review: This gun is amazing! My team mate shoots one of these bad boys and i have to say he has shot mad kids with this gun. I use it alot too so i can vouch for that one. I noticed that the gun still feels featherlight when it has a hopper and 68/45. Over the chrono is shot really efficient at 289 +/- 2. Stock grips were uncomfortable. Felt like plastic. Love the feel after the new grips came on it. It was loud and had kick. only thing i didnt like.
Conclusion: Get it!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

nathan22 Wednesday, August 16th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Dark intimidator
species intimidator
ions
pm5 and pm6
angel g7 fly
dm6
Marker Setup: 06 navy blue ego
stiffi
gold ccu kit
nexus bolt
delrin pin
guerrilla air ambush 45/45
halo b w/rip
Recommended
Upgrades:
Thats all personal preference. Out of the box they perform awesome.
Strengths: Consistency
Efficiency
Accuracy
Light
Fast
Easy to maintain
Weaknesses: Expensive but well worth every penny.
Review: I got my ego the night before a tournament and had no idea how awesome this gun really is. Taking a first glance at it, the gun looks way better than any picture I had seen online.

That night in our motel, me and a team member (Jeffy) were bored and found some old paint in my bag and decided we would shoot it outside. First thing I noticed was that the gun was not loud at all like we were both expecting. It was easy to rip on and extremely accurate.

The next morning at the tourny I was waiting to see how consistent this thing really was. I walked over to the chrono and my first shots were a little on the weak side. I turned the velocity up a bit and then put it over the chrono. The numbers were exactly as follows: 286,285,285,285,270,288,285,271. Not bad for not even being broke in.

Our first game comes up and I couldnt wait to see how it really performs. All day long this thing was ball on ball accuracy. No breaks and no chops at all.

Conclusion: PE makes an awesome product. They have great customer service and are easy to work with. The manual included with this gun is very helpful. So helpful in fact if you cant figure problems with your gun most of the time, then you probly dont deserve to be shooting it. I give it a 10 because its the best gun I have ever shot.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

need4spd Saturday, August 12th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
1 year39 of 43 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
2004 WGP Vertical Feed Mini Orr-acle (Blue Matte), 14" .693 CF Stiffi Barrel, CP Rail, CP On/Off Valve w/ Purge (Chrome), WGP 70cu 4500psi Worrgas, Pure Energy 45cu 4500psi Compressed Air, Empire Reloader B (Smoke), PlanetEclipse E-Blade 2 (Chrome), Nexus Complete Upgrade Kit, Dye Rhino Cover (Blue)
Marker Setup: 2006 PlanetEclipse Ego (Red w/ Black), 2006 STAR Frame w/ Maniac Board (Red), 14" .693 CF Stiffi Barrel, CP On/Off w/ Purge (Black), CP Sling Blade Trigger (Black), AKA 2-Liter Plus Regulator (Black), PBWarehouse Titanium Rammer, Kila Products Instinct Magnetic Detents (Black), Pure Energy 45cu 4500psi Compressed Air, Empire Reloader B (Black), Dye Rhino Cover (Red)
Recommended
Upgrades:
Necessary Upgrades:

Electronic Loader: Empire Reloader B, Empire B2, Odyssey Halo B, ViewLoader Velocity Select Force, ViewLoader Evolution II
Compressed Air Tank: PMI Pure Energy, MacDev LegionAir, Crossfire, Ignition, Evil Scion, Dye Throttle

Optional Upgrades:

Regulator: Eclipse STAR In-Line, CP Long Bottom, AKA Sidewinder / 2-Liter, MacDev Gladiator, Evil Detonator, Dye Hyper2 In-Line
Trigger: Ego Eclipse STAR, CP Ego Sling Blade, Critical Alter Ego
Barrel: SITE Stiffi / Switch Kit, Smart Parts the Freak, Dye Ultralight / Titanium Boomstick, Evil Pipe
Electronics: PlanetEclipse Maniac Board, Virtue Ego Board, Tadao M7 Ego Board
ASA: Critical "Diet" Direct Mount, CP 2k5 On/Off w/ Purge, CP Direct Mount On/Off, Eclipse On/Off Mini Rail w/ Purge
Feed Neck: Eclipse Ego C-Lever, CP Ego Twistlock w/ Collet Sleeve,
Frame: Ego 2006 STAR Frame
Cosmetics: Eclipse 2006 Ego CCU Upgrade Kit


**These upgrades are the specific products that I would recommend. I know that there are other brands that I did not list**
Strengths: Weight, Accuracy, Speed, Efficient, Reliable, Electronics, Adjustability, Tech. Support

**See Below For Elaboration**
Weaknesses: Loud, some people have Regulator problems

**See Below under Reliability**
Review: Out of the Box:
PlanetEclipse is a company that pays attention to detail. The detail is even present in the case that the marker gets shipped in. The marker comes in a custom foam case that has a metal "Ego" engraved lid across the top. The foam has cut-outs for the Ego Marker Body, PlanetEclipse 14" .693 Shaft Solo Barrel , and a compartment for parts. The case comes with a barrel sock, parts kit, and a detailed manual. The manual is in color and it extremely detailed with all the functions of the marker, taking apart / reassembling the marker, and adjusting features (both mechanical and electrical).

The PlanetEclipse 2006 Ego:
The 2006 PlanetEclipse Ego is one of the best all around markers out on the paintball field. It is also one of the top markers over at Eclipse only surpassed by the Nexus, XSV, and SL66 Ego's. The Ego is a marker that has the perfect balance of style, performance, accuracy, reliability, and weight or lack there of.

Weight:
The Ego only weighs 966 grams (2.12 lbs) with the Eclipse On/Off and Ego Regulator attached. It weighs only 1,108 grams (2.44 lbs) with the 14" Shaft Solo Barrel attached. This makes it one of the lightest markers out there period. The Sup-Tol machining (milling) of the marker is phenomenal. PlanetEclipse milled the marker down to it "bare essentials" to achieve a low weight and to also achieve a fast rate of fire. The weight savings enables a player to break off the start to lay down a lane of paint faster than the opponents. It also decreases player fatigue in a game.
I just recently purchased a SITE 14" .693 Carbon Fiber Stiffi Barrel for the Ego. The Stiffi barrel is one of, if not, the lightest barrels on the market, weighing in at 53 grams. When attached to the Ego this package weighs in at only 1019 grams (2.24 lbs), EXTREMELY light.

Accuracy:
Very accurate marker. It takes one to two shots to line up the marker then is extremely easy to consistently hit a specific target. The LP mixed with the near non-existant blow back is what enables this. The Eclipse Shaft Solo barrel is one of the most consistent "stock" (if you can call it that) barrels that comes on a marker.

Speed:
The PlanetEclipse Ego is also one of the fastest markers on the market. It is very capable of firing the 15 bps that tournament (NPPL, PSP, NXL, Millennium Series, Etc.) allot markers to fire at on SEMI 2. SEMI 1 is the "uncapped" firing mode. The marker will fire at fast as the trigger can be pulled, limited to how fast the Loader can feed the balls.
**Note This next setting is NOT practical, just for fun**
I was capable of achieving 45bps (no paint / air, just the solenoid).
To achieved this:
With a setting I found on PBNation(dot)com (do a search for E2 Speed Settings)
Adjusted the trigger to its most sensitive setting (the trigger would bounce just touching the marker),
Placed a Electric Tooth Brush on the trigger. The ultra-sonic vibrations enabled it to get up to 45bps on the ROF setting.

Efficient:
With a 68ci 4500psi tank you can get around 1,650 shots (Taken from PlanetEclipse(dot)com).
With a 45ci 4500psi tank I am able to obtain around 1,100 shots. My Ego is equipped with a AKA 2-Liter Plus Regulator so that could play into it.

Reliable:
The Ego is a very reliable marker 98% of the time. The Ego rarely chops a ball, one every couple thousand balls. I did however have a problem with my marker firing over 300fps at a tournament that I played at. I was unable to get it under 300fps, so I decided to take apart the regulator. I found that the seal was damaged. Since I installed the AKA 2-Liter Plus Regulator the Ego has been extremely reliable. If you have this problem just replace the Inline Regulator Piston from PlanetEclipse.

Electronics:
The Ego electronics are very easy to navigate through. If has a up, down, and select button located on the grip, that controls the LCD display. The buttons allow you to turn on/off any feature of the marker. It also has ROF and Training modes. If you are looking for more speed out of your Ego you might want to purchase a Tadao M7 Ego Board. This was allow you a faster ROF.
**Do note that if a Tadao board is installed the LCD screen will be replaced with LED lights.**
There is a new board out for the Ego. It is from PlaentEclipse and is called the Maniac Board. This board has all the speed of a Tadao with the ease of the LCD display that comes in a stock Ego. It has 9 de-bounce levels, ramping, can achieve 25bps, unlimited ramping (limited to how fast the loader is), and has every tournament setting available. It is a very limited production upgrade. PlanetEclipse is only making 2000 of them.
**The Maniac board is ONLY sold with the 2006 STAR frame.**

Adjustability:
With the settings that you can adjust with the Electronics combined with the settings of the trigger, the Ego can be dialed in to any players "style" of play. The trigger has 4-points (both electronic and magnetic) of adjustment to enable any player to "dial-in" the trigger.

Tech. Support
PlanetEclipse is one of the best companies for customer support. I had issues with my E2 board in my 2004 WGP Mini Orr-acle with saving features. I contacted PlanetEclipse and the immediately sent me a new board. I have also contacted them for some custom anodized parts and they were willing to work with me to get them done (haven't done it yet though). Every time that I have e-mailed their customer support they have contacted me within a days time.
Conclusion: If you are serious into tournament paintball and are looking into upgrading to a "better" marker, then get a 2006 PlanetEclipse Ego. With a mixture of speed, weight (non-existant), accuracy, consistency, and great customer support, the Ego wins hands down. If you are one of the people that says the $1,125 price tag is a weakness then you are wrong. The Ego is worth ever dollar.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, February 13th, 2007 at 6:16 pm PST
I found this review  
11 Comments - Add Comment

DoomJockey Monday, July 31st, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
05 Proto Matrix, DMC, 05 Shocktech Shocker
Marker Setup: 06 Ego, Crossfire 68/45, Halo B, Freak Kit
05 Proto Matrix, Virtue, CP reg, Orange Bolt, Shocktech ASA and Feedneck, custom bolt back
Recommended
Upgrades:
new barrel?
Strengths: fast, accurate, SEXY, shoots face, easily maintained
Weaknesses: people complain of all the face I shoot
Review: Ok. So ive had my Ego6 for a little while now, and i just got rid of my 05 Proto. I got rid of it because it wasnt so realiable, so i asked around and managed to save up some money and get an Ego and my goodness was i surprised. first off, pictures do not do this thing justice. IT IS SOOOOOOOOOOOO BEAUTIFUL. just drop dead gorgeous in person. then you know the rest, its super fast, super light, super accurate even with stock barrel and poo poo paint. Now the biggest thing i was on was the reliability of this gun. If im gonna pay that much money, it better be able to fix itself. But i just got through a couple of tournaments, one was at night, it was raining, took mud in the barrel, and dirt out the ying yang, foggy like crazy. Still this baby shot like no other, no dwell or FSDO issues. Kept on strong and shooting like it was from the start. It easily strips down, easy to adjust the settings other than the fact you have to open up the grip to do so. Otherwise, its awesome awesome marker, super duper reliable, and thats one of the biggest things in my opinion.
Conclusion: BUY ONE!!! Super reliable, Fast, Accurate, Sexy, Gorgeous, Beautiful.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Monday, July 31st, 2006 at 12:48 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

teamthundercats Sunday, July 23rd, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Angels, DMs, 05 Ego, Karnivor, Timmys, etc.
Marker Setup: 2006 Planet Eclipse Ego - Halo B Rip Drive, PMI 68/4500 Carbon Fibre, DART Bolt
Smart Parts Ion - TechT L6 Bolt, 360 QEV, Shocktech Drop Forward and On/Off ASA
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel Kit (if wanted), DART or Nexus Bolt
Strengths: Speed, UI, Trigger, Light Weight, Accuracy, Low Maintanance
Weaknesses: None
Review: My Ego came from Action Village on a Friday, so I set it up and took it to the field the next day.

Setup:

The Gun comes in the box with the 06 Marker, a 14" barrel (.691), a barrel sock, manual, and parts kit. Note: the gun does not come with the 3/8 inch allen wrench needed to remove the rammer cap, so make sure you have one. When I got the gun, I removed it from the box and lubed the bolt and the o-rings of the rammer. To remove the bolt, you simply pull up on the pin and slide the bolt out. You can even do this while the gun is pressurized, making cleaning a snap at the field. I then removed the rammer cap and lubed the three o-rings on the rammer (the part below the bolt). This was done in approx. three minutes. The gun already had a battery installed and started right up.

Play:

The gun is great on the field. The adjustability of the trigger allows for very high ROF on semi 1 (I average on the Average ROF display from 14-16 on my strong hand and 12-14 on my weak). The accuracy was also very good for a stock barrel, but that is also dependant on the bore sizes of the pant, so if you are planing on playing in tournaments, I recommend geting a nice barrel kit like the Sly or Stiffi (the Ego takes cocker threaded barrels, BTW.) The balance of the gun makes it easy for a front player to run and gun, making run throughs a lot more effective. The LCD and board also are very user friendly, the LCD being easy to read and the board making every setting on the gun easy to switch to the way you like it.

Strengths:

Speed: 30+ BPS on Semi 1. The fast recharge rate makes it easy to achieve high ROF on semi with no problems.
UI: The user interface is excellent. The same great software found in the E-Blade 2 for Cockers.
Trigger: Four-point adjustable trigger with adjustable spring tension and magnetic tension makes it perfect for even the most picky of players.
Light Weight: Very light and balanced, making it easy to bring up off the break to start firing as quickly as possible.
Accuracy: Ball on ball (with approx. .689 field paint from my field) even with the stock barrel.
Low Maintanance: It takes about five minutes to clean and lube the bolt and rammer and clean the eyes and the detents. Enough said.
Conclusion: In my opinion, the Ego6 is the best gun on the market. At $1100, it is an investment, though, so make sure that you are really serious about the sport before putting down the cash.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

RuffnexBonzai Friday, July 21st, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
2 05 Egos with Tadao, DART bolt, Star trigger, Ultralite barrel.
DM5,PM6,Alias Intimidator,Dark Intimidator,FS8. I've owned all of these...
Marker Setup: 06 Ego, 45/45 Crossfire reg w/ SCI bottle, VLocity.
Recommended
Upgrades:
If you prefer a microswitch, then get a Tadao or Virtue board.
Other than that, none.
Strengths: Air efficiency,weight,comfort, easy to shoot ropes, accuracy.
Weaknesses: Too sexy, ya don't want to scratch it and trigger guard
Review: I had two 05 Egos with Tadao M7, DART bolts and star triggers and both were awesome markers, but after owning the 06 for awhile - I pick the 06 over the 05. It has less kick, is less loud and better balanced.

The only thing I prefer on the 05 over the 06 is the trigger guard. Your middle finger has very little room to move back and forth.Other than that, this is the best marker I've ever owned and shot. At first I was totally biased against the optical trigger, but once I got used to it, it's great!

I'll be keeping this marker until I feel there is another that will help improve my performance.
Conclusion: Get it... it's damn satisfying!
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Friday, July 21st, 2006 at 3:32 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

a hobo Tuesday, July 18th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
angel 1
dm6
generation-e matrix
Marker Setup: angel 1/ halo B with rip drive/ hp nitroduck tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
None
Strengths: Speed, air efficiency, accuracy, great trigger, light
Weaknesses: None
Review: I tested the ego and was almost going to buy it, but I liked the angel 1 a little more in trigger adjustability and was a little lighter than the ego. The thing loved about the ego was the trigger, it fired like there wasn't even a trigger on it. I thought it was lighter then the DM6 and performed much better( my friend has one and the bolt wont stop leaking). Even though I chose the angel one over this, it is still a great marker and highly reccomended.
Conclusion: I originally intended to get this marker because I tried my friends EGO out and thought it was awesome. If you have the money and don't want the angel 1, get the EGO( I chose the angel out of personal preferance that is all).
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, November 23rd, 2006 at 3:24 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

SCOTTR Thursday, July 13th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Angel LE, Smart Parts Nerve, Smart Parts Ion,
Marker Setup: Gun Metal Eclipse Ego 06 with Dye Throttle 70 cubic inch 4500 psi tank, XSV Drop forward, 16 in Freak Barrel Halo B with rip drive and V35 Board and Speed Feed. Purple nexxus upgrade package

SP Ion with
Smart Parts Q-lock Low Rise Feed Neck, NDZ Silver flame aluminum body kit, NDZ Silver wave trigger, NDZ QEV, Angel Air 68/3000, KAPP Drop Forward, CP Reg, 14 inch Freak Kit with silver aluminum AA Front, Halo B Loader with Rip Drive and Victory board.
Recommended
Upgrades:
I use the freak on every gun I shoot, as I believe it to be the best barrel system on the market, however the barrel that the marker comes with stock is very good. Other than that it comes with the best of everything.
Strengths: Fast, accurate, light, super sexy looking
Weaknesses: loud? I don't think it really has any
Review: This is a great gun, hands down. I have never shot anything that even resembles the quality I feel when holding this marker. I know a hundred people have written in saying this is the best gun ever, and it really is. It is blazingly fast and accurate as a paintball gun can be. I'm not going to say that it shoots ball on ball every time, but it is one of the most accurate guns I've ever seen. It is pretty consistent with the new angel A-1, better than a shocker, and the high end timmys.
Conclusion: This is a great marker, the price tag is a bit steep, but you really do get what you pay for in this case. I would recommend this to anyone looking for a high end tourniment gun.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

chimley08 Sunday, July 9th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
05 ego
wgp superstock
System X NME
Marker Setup: 06 ego blue with grey parts
Recommended
Upgrades:
M7, stiffi, D.A.R.T. bolt
Strengths: Low maintanence
Easy to use
Weaknesses: programming/ROF
small trigger guard
slightly strong kick
Review: this gun is very very nice. i took the magnet out of the trigger and it was much faster. one problem is that the semiauto setting is capped at 15. local tourneys usually allow uncapped S.A., and every once in a while you can get your fingers to really move. one must also go inside the frame to program the gun, which gets a little irritating. you can really feel the kick on the gun, and i have to look around for some ups to diminish that. the small trigger guard really annoyed me because of the way I walk my gun, but i guess it can be dealt with.
Conclusion: This gun is worth the money for sure. There is some minor problems but nothing is perfect. If you have the money i would go for this gun.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

wise690 Friday, July 7th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Shocker: doesn't compare
PM6: doesn't compare
Marker Setup: Ego-6: 2.04: gun-metal grey
Guerrilla Air 68/45
Empire Reloader B
Recommended
Upgrades:
Clamping feedneck
New macro fittings
Tadao (preference)
Star parts (also preference)
Nexus or Star bolt
Strengths: -In review, to many to list.
Weaknesses: Macro fittings
No clamping feedneck
Review: Strengths:
Efficiency: Impressive. Around 1,500 shots per 68ci, 4200 psi fill (42 after tank cools)
Kick: Huh?
Battery consumption: I haven't switched batteries yet.
Barrel: Tested with Brass Eagle Monster Balls: 300 rounds on Ramp-1, no breaks, tight groupings from a 50 foot distance.
Bolt: Stock bolt is shaved at the top to prevent chops and load balls into breech easier. Also, the bolt is slotted towards the front where it makes contact with the detents.
Trigger: Trigger has 4 points of adjustments. Trigger pull is a little long, but can be adjusted.
Regulator: Reg is consistent. Milling doesn't look that great.
Nav console: LCD screen is easy to see, NAV console is very easy to use.
Board: Stock board features 6 firing modes: 3 various ramp modes, 2 semi modes, and 1 training mode. Training mode prevents the rammer from striking and uses a small amount of air. Not a live-fire mode.
Ease of maintenance: Lube the LPR and reg. Oil the rammer. Basic cleaning of the breech.
Manual: One of the most impressive manuals I have ever read. Manual includes several pages of trouble-shooting in the back, along with an easy to understand walk-through of using the Ego, making adjustments (not necessary), cleaning/oiling/lubing the Ego, etc...
Anodizing: available colors are impressive. Gun-metal grey is great, Navy blue is also a great color. NOTE: Planet Eclipses anodizing is somewhat bad at the same time. It fades over time. A simple look at XSV's Ego's is a good example of this statement.
On/off: ASA is great. The only negative I find is that it stretches out behind the frame a little. Causes the tank to sit back a little further, not much though.

Weaknesses:
Macro fittings: The stock macro fittings make it difficult to remove macroline. This isn't a big deal though. Macro fittings cost about $3 a piece.
Feedneck: More of a negative than a positive. Stock feedneck does not clamp, but it can be tightened with a hex wrench, so the stock feedneck is not a big deal.

First impression:
When I first opened my Ego box, I was amazed by the anodizing, it looked great. The box is very sturdy and protects the Ego impressively. When I picked the Ego up, I was amazed even more. It is very light. (As you may already know, the Ego is one of the lightest markers on the market.) The trigger pull is very light, but somewhat long compared to an Eclipse E-Blade 1.

Testing:
Tank- Guerrilla Air 68/4500, 4200psi fill after cooling. Paint- 300 rounds of Brass Eagle Monster Balls (not my usual pick of paint). Barrel- stock Shaft solo 14". Mode- Ramp-1.

No evident breaks. Tight groupings from an estimated distance of 50 feet. 400 psi per pod/hopper. This brings the average efficiency to 1400-1500 shots per 68ci, 4200 psi fill.
Conclusion: All in all. The Ego is a very impressive marker. I would reccomend it. The price seems steep, but it is worth it. I don't regret it at all. I will give this marker a 10. I do think it is perfect. Review will be updated upon further use.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (12):  First  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  8  |  9  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media