paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Bob Long Empire Intimidator 2006 / Bob Long Empire Intimidator 2006 / Bob Long Empire Intimidator 2006 / Bob Long Empire Intimidator 2006

Bob Long Empire Intimidator 2006 Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Bob Long

Buy Bob Long Empire Intimidator 2006

Paintball High-End Electronic Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Bob Long Empire Intimidator 2006
[ View Photos (14) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 25
Average Rating: 9.4 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $1250

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The premier marker in paintball! Designed and built by Bob Long, a legend in the sport of competitive paintball. He sets strict build standards to insure the Empire Intimidator is one of the fastest and most accurate markers in the game. Extruded aircraft-grade aluminum bodies keep the Intimidator light and streamlined. Some of the most highly advanced circuit boards and sealed memory chips make up the Intimidator's internals, combined with a friction reducing micro switch trigger system, this marker is capable of over 20 BPS.

Features:

* Used by Bob Long's Oakland Assassins/Oakland Empire!
* 1.5" shorter than the Intimidator Alias Marker and other 2005 models
* 1.6 pounds (without a reg or barrel) which is 8 ounces lighter than the Alias
* FASTER - shorter bolt length has improved cycle time
* Completely new Ram and Poppet system - allows marker to operate at even lower pressures, virtually eliminating kick by using less force to move the ball. Lower pressure and lighter ram.
* New look to the LPR system
* Completely new ram bumper system. Ram cap now encloses the sleeve by threading onto it, verses into it like before
* Grip features an integrated rail system
* Accepts the same board and solenoid as existing intimidators
* Added functions on the LCD, including the option to modify your ramp starts and caps and multiple modes to meet various league standards
* Custom 14 inch barrel insures marksman's accuracy
Product Availability 
The Bob Long Empire Intimidator 2006 is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (3):  1  |  2  |  3
        Next Page
matt67 Sunday, April 5th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
2k4 alias, vice, pmr,slg,etek, rapper,marq6
Marker Setup: 2006 empire 2 pillow bolt, bob lob drop , bob long cam drive, bob long clamping feedneck, cp barrel .693, ccm carbon fiber barrel kit .690-.693 bob long swivel reg
bob long dime gauge, dye rotor
Recommended
Upgrades:
barrel kit, dime gauge, swivel reg, pillow bolt, cam drive, clamping feedneck
Strengths: Accurate, fast, shoot at someone they are done looks
Weaknesses: People only want to play on your side, crybabies, less family time
Review: Well i pick a brand new 2006 empire 2 in white dust with blue accents from bob long direct for 425 after shooting a 2k4 alias for about 4 months these guns are amazing fast accurate i live in hawaii so i get to play many very good player and some pros
but most are just novice with high ends had a friend get a vice two weeks ago shoot it it was faster and lighter but it was 325 dollars more also so i'm good all in all i think any high end poppet marker is about the same on the field the vice and ego are alittle lighter and are amazing markers but they are too expansive right now you can get a
gen4 intimidator ,infamous, or empire , ripper 3 for 425 plus shipping these are brand new never used 1400+ dollar guns so when people say yeah that's nice but may 1200+ dollar marker is better i get to remind them that a 1400+ dollar gun that sat on a shelf for three years is still fast accurate and better then their 1200+marker that will be worth 600 next year
Conclusion: For the 425 i paid it rips out of the box accurate, fast, you need a good barrel and trigger
if you have the money get a vice, closer, ego, or other poppet marker but in one or two years i'll get one myself for 425 or less and i'll still get 200-300 dollars for my gun as well
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

jcron12 Friday, January 30th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
SONIX, ION, 06 EGO, G3, TIPPY
Marker Setup: ion stock
48 3000 hpa tank
empire reloader 2

98 CUSTOM
GRAVITY QUANTUM
20OZ
12OZ
Terminator barrel
Recommended
Upgrades:
idk
Strengths: Fast
Weaknesses: None
Review: My first impressions of this gun were fast comfortable. this is my friends gun its fast accurate he has a stiffi on it shoot sweet loved it if i had the money i would buy it. but ya some of us arrent rich little noobs. Im on a very tight budget
Conclusion: I would recomend this gun to anyone.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

jamalbpb Saturday, November 15th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
proto slg, diablo wrath, Angel 05 speed
Marker Setup: bob long 06 empire intimidator, crossfire 68/45,vlocity,dye boomstick
Recommended
Upgrades:
new asa, and maybe a new barrel, extra detents
Strengths: Very fast, easy to turn on and maintain
Weaknesses: It is sort of sharp around the edges and i have cut myself .
Review: This gun is very good looking and fast. When I got it I thought it looked great and shot wonderfully. It out shoots a lot of guns at my field. They are very light and compact, which is good. Again the only problem is when the detents break they are very inacurate and chop,but detents are very easy to find on ebay and such. Very acurate when there are detents in it,very good gun.
Conclusion: A good gun for a good price, buy one if you can.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

warparty_mw Sunday, September 28th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
3 months3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
06 Infamous intimidator- near same marker, but has different body
GZ intimidator - with complete 06 parts (only thing stock is the body)
Alais intimidator
Lasoya Intimidator
08 Impact Ego
DM8

Marker Setup: 06 Empire Intimidator
- Dye ultralight barrel
- Shock Tech screw on/off ASA

Smart Parts Impulse
- Bought it as a old school marker a month ago

Invert Mini
- Virtue Board
- Hybrid clamping feedneck

Airsystem
-Dye Throttle 68/4500

Loader
-VLocity JR. with Virtue Chip
Recommended
Upgrades:
- New barrel- Stock Assassins barrel is perfect for Nelson EKG
- Our home field gets Nelsplat for sponsorship so I switched to
Ultralight
-FAST Loader-I have a VLocity JR. with Virtue chip, this works great (needs full batteries)
Strengths: Very Fast
Very Light
Reliable
Easy to find parts ( Many parts are interchangeable )
Weaknesses: Nothing at all performance wise.
Review: like I said above, This marker is Very fast, Very light weight, Reliable and parts are plentiful and readily available

If I HAVE to say any thing negative about the Empire Timmy, it would only be that it is a little hard to clean and can be scratched fairly easily, so dont take it into bushball (like you were going to anyway)
Conclusion: Apart from the Impact ego, this is the BEST marker I have ever fired. I do not own that ego because there is no way I can afford it. The 06 Empire Timmy is huge performance for very good cost. Mine was only $490 on splatterpaintball.ca (Sept. 2008)
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

yeoldespyder Monday, March 31st, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Lower End Markers- Haha don't even ask....
Shocker- Meh too soft. Can't really feel it working.
Marker Setup: 06 Empire Intimidator
Halo
Cp Barrel (2 piece)
Steely Tank
CP ASA
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel.
Reg, only if you want to.
Trigger may not fit some players, but it suits me perfectly.
Drop forward....once again, only if you want to.
Strengths: Fast
Comfortable
Air Efficient
Looks
Trigger
Weaknesses: Sharp edges, sort of hard to clean.

Review: I'm not that good with maitenence and technical stuff, so I am just going to explain all of the good and bad things that happen on the field when this marker is in good working condition:

GOOD:
Relatively light, and compact. Easy to walk the trigger. Air Efficiency is pretty amazing. The eyes work well, the marker is very quiet, the stock feedneck actually works. ITS FAAAST.

BAD:
Sharp corners (not too exposed, in a hard to reach place if your holding your marker correctly. Balls MAY chop if the eyes aren't in good condition, but thats the same with a lot of markers. In terms of cleaning, it has some hard to reach places.

This marker looks amazing and performs even better.
Conclusion: If you don't want to spend all of your money on a new model, with all of the fancy crap on it, go with the timi. Its a pretty decent 'gun in terms of cleaning and maitnence. Good, and efficient. Go for it.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Monday, March 31st, 2008 at 10:34 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

sciontay Thursday, April 26th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
other timmys, angel fly, wrath, shockers, cockers, ion, much more
Marker Setup: Red / BLK gloss Empire 2006 intimidator w/ revolver kit, empire reloader b, cp direct, empire fuel tank coming.
Recommended
Upgrades:
none really its great, just a FAST loader
Strengths: Speed, weight, luscious color, very compact, shoots streams, very consistant
Weaknesses: Price, over all the marker is great.
Review: Well.....actually i was so eager to open it up i basically cut the end of my freakin finger off!!!!but it was worth it. The first thing i noticed was the awesome color, the black looked like it had been dipped in hot tar!!!!!!very cool. I had to wait a week before i could play with it because i left for OKC in the morning. On the field it is every thing a person could want in a marker (look at strengths above) no chops at all and very sturdy, not a big gas hog either. This GAT shoots streams of paint. The LCD is very easy to work and the stock FRENZY board is not bad at all.....IT is very easy to get to the internals and to put it back together. The trigger is smooth just like any Bob Long marker.
Conclusion: Overall this is a very good marker and is a must buy (if you have to money) i have had no problems with it and it is a perfect 10
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

azndragon2222 Wednesday, March 14th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
ICD Promaster
WGP Zero B Karnivor
SP Vision Shocker
Dye DM6
Dye DM4
Proto PMR
Invert Mini
SP Ion
PE Ego6
PE SL66 Ego
Bob Long Alias Intimidator
Bob Long Classic Ripper
Marker Setup: Primary Setup:
Bob Long Gen4 Empire Intimidator
Hard Detents
16" Deadly Wind Wisper Carbon Fiber Barrel
Custom Products Grip Regulator
WDP A1 On/Off ASA

Secondary Setup:
ICD Promaster
12" Bob Long Intimidator Stock Barrel
Bob Long Torpedo Regulator
Hybrid Shizzle Panelz
eBay Delrin Spike Bolt Pin
CCM Heli-Clamp Feedneck
Vaporworks S-4 Bearing Trigger
Shocktech On/Off ASA w/ Drop #2

Loader:
Empire Reloader B
Hybrid "East Coast Killers" Backplate

Tank:
ACI Bulldog III 68ci/3000psi
Dye Rhino Cover
Custom Products Nipple Cover
Recommended
Upgrades:
On/Off ASA (Does not come with one)
Harder Detents
Membrane Pad
Barrel
Board
Strengths: Fast
Light
Comfortable
Accurate
Efficient
Weaknesses: Hard Maintenance
Poppit O-rings
Tedious Board Settings
Torpedo Reg Break-in Period
Review: I got this gun new for $600 and figured its a very good deal on a legit High-end gun (the Promaster is consider as a Mid-level High-end gun). When i first shot this gun running at around 60 psi, i kept getting velocities at around 180. fortunetly, one of the guys at the chrono knew a thing or two about timmys. ive never owned a timmy, so i didnt quite know what i was doing. after playing around with the HPR and LPR, i managed to get it to shoot at around 290 fps. the torpedo reg needs a long break-in period before getting consistant. even now, im getting spikes at nearly +/- 8. performance wise, it is very fast. settings allow for no bounce. it feels very comfortable and is fairly accurate, though a barrel upgrade might be a good idea. i had an occasional chop here and there, so the eyes could be better (an after-market board can give better eye logic). maintenace is pain, especially with the poppit o-rings (most noticably the MIDDLE o-ring). settings on the board can be tedious, but relatively easy to work with.
Conclusion: All in all, its great high-end gun. i will say though, this is NOT for someone who is mechanically challanged because this gun requires a LOT of care. taking it apart can be very complex for a noob, but any experienced player will love this gun.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, March 18th, 2007 at 1:03 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Kevinversteeg Monday, December 4th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Egos, other ram operated guns.
Marker Setup: 06 timmy, AKA Products, Critical trigger
Recommended
Upgrades:
A diff gun, maybe a new feedneck
Strengths: VERY VERY FAST
Comfortable
Very consistant
Weaknesses: Its been broken more than it has been working
Review: Got this after a turney for 500. for the first month EVERYTHING broke. I had to replace the board, poppet, valve cap, noid, hoses, eyes, and battery harness. none of it was my fault except for the eyes. When it shoots, it has a fairly flat trajectory and is VERY fast. it is fairly constant, but not as much as i would want to. it is just EXTREMELY complicated to take apart and maintain, and its very ridiculous to have to take the entire gun apart to get to the o ring that comes off the most.
Conclusion: Deff not worth the money. But when it shoots, its amazing.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

ericfreakyv Friday, November 10th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
pms, karnis,
Marker Setup: ION , NDZ fire body, CP barrel, QEV, CCM no-rise feedneck, Evo II hoppa', centerflag nitro tank, orange bolt, hybrid gripz.
Recommended
Upgrades:
barrel, on/off
Strengths: Speed, weight
Weaknesses: Not that "special", onyx out now, accuracy
Review: This gun is very nice. My freind bought one and i have occasionally played with this a few times over the last year. The weight and speed are very nice. My freind is a back player and im a front man, and the gun made an easy transition to each position. I heard he had some problems with the gun but he got them fixed and the gun is running again.

When i say its not that special i mean its not the best in any category, but it is near teh top 3 in each category, making it a good overall performer. I noticed the odd ball (using evil so it wasnt the paint) and accuracy wasnt the greatest, but dont let it stop you from buying this gun.
Conclusion: Overall this gun is very good, it can shoot faces with teh best of them. If you can find this gun cheaper than other high ends dont be afraid to buy it cause you wont be dissopointed. i wanna give it an 8.5 but...
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

SJC Sunday, October 22nd, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Own: dm5, ion, soon getting nxt

used: g7, a4 fly, shockers (stock and PL), alias timmies, dm6s, dm4s, ego5, ego6, pm5, pm6... i like this better than just about any gun ive used except my dm5, and i like the 2 the same
Marker Setup: dm5, virtue chip, lucky board, lucky laser eyes, 18" ultralite

empire 06 timmy, virtue board, hardshell bolt, hybrid grips, cp reg, cp asa, cp guage, 18" ultralite
Recommended
Upgrades:
hardshell bolt- makes alot more air efficient and quiet
cp reg- makes more air efficient
techna katana trigger- makes alot faster, but not necessary
virtue- more consisten, faster, easier/quicker to use than stock board
Strengths: Extremely fast
Very very light
Good accuracy
Very air efficient
Weaknesses: Kind of loud
Dosent shoot through paint well
Barrel breaks if paint isnt very hard
Review: i bought this gun used, but it came in great condition. i have always wanted one and i love it. i went to my field (im friends w/ 2 timmy techs there) and they checked it out, they loved it. i lubed my reg (cp), my ram, and put a virtue board in it.. i air it up and it shot beautifully. if you keep this gun lubed it will work flawlessly.

first round i go out and the gun is shootin great. i adjusted the output pressure to about 78-79, i shot some into the chrono and i got 250, 251, 250, 251, 251, 251. very consistent. i went onto the field and the gun had great accuracy. its so light and easy to run with.

***after about 3 hours of play, however, just before a round started, i turned the air on, turn my hopper on, turn the gun on and hit the trigger...BAM, my gun just started shootin (like full auto), but leaking from bolt/ram/breach area. i took it to my friend.. he lowered my output pressure a little bit and took my bolt out and put it back in.. and it shot fine.. still not sure what that was***

i was usin tork that day, and i noticed the gun chopped every once in a while. i'm told gen 4s are not wat so ever easy on paint, so DONT USE BRITTLE PAINT in this gun.. plus, it dosent shoot through barrel breaks well.
Conclusion: Overall, i love this gun and couldnt even think of selling it. I want anyone who is thinkin about buying one, to go out and buy it. put upgrades on it, lube it well, and u wont ever want to get rid of it. Its a great all around gun. I'd give it a 9.5 b/c i did experience a problem w/ it.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, October 22nd, 2006 at 10:38 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (3):  1  |  2  |  3
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media