paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / BT Paintball Design BT-4 Combat / BT Paintball Design BT-4 Combat / BT Paintball Design BT-4 Combat / BT Paintball Design BT-4 Combat

BT Paintball Design BT-4 Combat Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount BT Paintball Design

Buy BT Paintball Design BT-4 Combat

Paintball Low-End Mechanical Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


BT Paintball Design BT-4 Combat
[ View Photos (34) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 93
Average Rating: 8.8 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $160

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The BT-4 Combat is the choice of demanding players who are looking for a solid and cost effective base to build up with custom parts with the ability to use military spec features. The combat comes with BT reliability and battle tested durability
Product Availability 
The BT Paintball Design BT-4 Combat is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (10):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
wolf0076 Sunday, April 17th, 2011
Period of
Product Use:
2 years2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
piranha GTI
Marker Setup: BT-4 Combat
CAR stock
16" J&J barrel with APEX tip
14" 1913 barrel
RIP CLIP
M16 tool magazine
3000 psi hpa tank
remote line
Recommended
Upgrades:
barrel (obvious)
rip clip
Strengths: Durable, Accurate, Reasonable price, Reliable, easily upgraded
Weaknesses: No real weaknesses aside from the usual upgrades needed.
Review: When i first got this marker i was looking at the BT4 Combat or the 98C. the price was perfect for the Combat. and my local shop told me there's not much between the 2. so i went with the Combat. not a regret in the world buying this marker. i've run close to 10 cases of paint through this marker. upgrading the barrel was the first thing i did. then i got the rip clip. finally i went to an HPA tank. this marker prefers the hpa over co2 for sure. This marker is as durable as you could ever want. it's been smashed into trees and eaten dirt more times than i could count playing bush ball in the dives and runs and keeps coming back for more. the worst i've had happen is it uncocked on me. re-cock and go again. i've heard people say it's slightly heavy. that's just fine with me. i'd rather have a marker i know is there. i do recommend running a remote line with this marker if you are using any shoulder stock though, it does cut down on the weight a bit. i've run against other using faster markers and kept up fairly well against them. the customization of this marker is quite open. there's a lot of mods you can get for this marker to make it unique and yours.
Conclusion: I would definately recommend this marker for beginners and seasoned users alike. as with almost all markers. a better barrel is the way to go to add better accuracy and range.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

tyurtddr Monday, November 29th, 2010
Period of
Product Use:
4 years
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann 98C
Tippmann X-7
Marker Setup: BT 14 inc M16 barrel
collapsible stock
expansion chamber
Recommended
Upgrades:
barrel
compressed air
Strengths: Cheap
Simple
Durable
Upgradeable
Weaknesses: Accuracy
Efficiency
Weight
Review: the BT-4 was my first marker, I've had it now for roughly 4 years, although its been replaced by a TM-15. the BT-4 is an excellent entry level marker for a beginner and its strengths are suited to that role.

the marker itself is indestructible. and very simple to maintain. while taking apart the upper an lower receiver apart may take more time then with a spyder, its still very easy to maintain and beginner friendly. while i recommend cleaning any marker after use, unless you have a bad chop the BT-4 is rugged enough that this isn't necessary. in four years experience nothing on this gun has broken and I've only lost 1 o-ring.

in terms of performance you get what you pay for with the BT-4. the stock barrel is mediocre. any cheap barrel like a smart parts 14 inch will improve your accuracy remarkably. running on CO2 it is not the most efficient or consistent. an expansion chamber helps, but for the same price a compressed air tank will do the same thing.
all in all the BT-4 performs well. in Canada the velocity will go +/- 10fps every shot on CO2 in the summer. with a 14 inch barrel you will be able to hit anything in range reliably.

one of the greatest strength of the BT-4 is your ability to customize it. fake magazines, any custom 98 stock, any A5 barrel and anything you can put on a picatinny will fit this marker. some stocks get in the way with using the sights, an offset rail with a red-dot would fix this though.


Conclusion: the BT-4 is designed as an enrty level marker and excells at that purpose. its durable, and easy to upgrade, while the performance is good for the price.

if your think of going out and buying a ton of upgrades and barrel kits and dumping a lot of money into this marker, you might want to fork out he extra money and just go straight to an X-7 phenom or TM-15. these markers run on better systems and you'll get better performance with them then ever possible on an BT-4

all in all excellent marker for the price, will never break down, and performs reliably.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

jl100ct Friday, October 29th, 2010
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
No "Similar Products" - rent guns just don't compare
Marker Setup: BT-4 COMBAT
DEATHSTIX 16" SINISTER BLACK
REMOTE HOSE
GUERRILLA AIR 68 / 4500
RIP - CLIP
E - GRIP
Recommended
Upgrades:
A new barrel - Despite the Stock barrel being satisfactory, ideally a new barrel is needed, if your short of money don't worry, but try to save up
Strengths: Accurate
Reliable
Easily upgradable
Universal rails
Weight Distribution
Adjustable front grip
Customisable
Easily stripped
SNM
Weaknesses: Rear sight inappropriately placed
uneven shooting - even with the Rip - Clip
The Trigger is stiff
Review: I bought this from the helpful people at Mayhem Paint-ball in England. At first my mind was set on the A-5 because of its unique Cyclone feed Technology(At the time). The boys at mayhem told me to wait another year so that I would be able to purchase BT's Rip - Clip. They told me that the A-5's Cyclone Feed System was air powered and so the A-5 was an Air Hog. The Rip - Clip is powered by batteries and 4 Duracell batteries can last 6000 shots! So sold by how genuine they are( if they were money grabbing they would have allowed me to purchase the A-5 which is an extra £30-£40)I bought the BT combat and Rip Clip along with other accessories.
I used this gun at a scenario day and almost instantly fell in love with it! It is so much more accurate than the rent guns at the field I went to. I realised that the barrel would need changing so invested in a deathstix 16" sinister black barrel. I'm so happy that I chose this gun as I could not ask for anything better for the price asked. I'm not saying that thy're are not flaws which need to be addressed because their is.
for example:
The uneven firing gets on your nerves when it does happen, normally in a crucial tactical advance.
The Rear Sight is inappropriately placed - it is not accurate with a remote hose, and is deemed useless with the Gas Tank sitting on your shoulder .
The trigger is stiff, and after a full on day of paintballing your fingers feel sore.
The BT-4 Combat's are Incomparable to guns of similar prices and I am thrilled with the choice both I and the Team at Mayhem made!
Conclusion: Despite Flaws which need to be tended to, these guns are exceptional value for money and a great asset to any keen players "Armoury". It is perfect for beginners and intermediate players alike and, with a new barrel, can eliminate the opponent effortlessly on maps like woodsball. This gun, with a little money spent, can be easily compared with high end semi - auto guns like the X7. I'm giving this gun 9/10 because because nothing is perfect and the flaws need to be fixed. Then I would definitely consider giving this gun 10/10!
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

UMP45_Sniper Saturday, October 16th, 2010
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
Less than a month
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann 98 Custom( Rental)
Marker Setup: Stock
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel
Strengths: Accurate
Heavy
Comfortable
Weaknesses: None
Review: This was my first gun and i love it. Its heavy,i like it like that. The weight balances it out perfectly with a HPA tank. Its extremely accurate and custom friendly. Also very comfortable to hold and it looks awesome.

This was my first gun and i love it. Its heavy,i like it like that. The weight balances it out perfectly with a HPA tank. Its extremely accurate and custom friendly. Also very comfortable to hold and it looks awesome.
Conclusion: It probaly is the best marker out there for beginers or veterans and it is fairly cheap. I got it on sale for 144. Great buy.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

mrteeth Sunday, October 10th, 2010
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Only rental guns(Tippman 98)
Marker Setup: I have the bt4 combat with the bt apex barrel and extreme rage overdrive loader and a 20 oz co2 tank.(This came in a bundle)
Recommended
Upgrades:
I recommend upgrading the stock barrel as other barrels are much more accurate then it. It is only 8 inch barrel therefore upgrading the barrel has a lot of advantages.(eg accuracy range) Other than that there arent many other available upgrades... Although the stock barrel is a lot better than you might think.
Strengths: Fast(For the price)
Accurate
Good price
Easy to upgrade
Doesnt chop
Good with air
Weaknesses: Hard to clean(Rarely gets dirty)
Review: This is a great marker for the price. Escpecially for begginers. If you are looking for a good reliable gun that you wont have to do maintanince on often or clean, than this is perfect for you. I have gone paintballing 4 times since i got the gun, it has never jammed, chopped or have any kind of mishap. The only minor thing i have noticed is that sometimes the bolts at the base of the grip will loosen a bit, but that will be easily dealt with. It is relativly light compared to some other guns.(Eg Tippman 98) It performs well in rain and cold weather. It is very durable and easy to use and put together. But it is time consuming.
Conclusion: It is a great gun for begginers i would reccomend this to anyone looking to start paintballing. I love this gun
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

nb2paintball Tuesday, July 13th, 2010
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder MR 4
spyder mr 1
stryker cybrid
jt STEALTH
Marker Setup: bt-4 combat with smarts parts 14" barrel.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel. 14" or 16"
Strengths: Powerful.
Accurate.
mil sim look
upgradeable like a 98.
Weaknesses: 5 Different sized Allen Keys
Review: I tested this gun in my backyard. the targets were about 75 to 100 feet away. I unloaded about 15 balls in like ten seconds and it just ripped the target in half and it hit in the same area. Without the velocity set to its max. Also in my opinion it shot very smoothly.
Conclusion: EXcellent gun stock barrel allows a good range but get a longer barrel it will increase the range to 200 feet shot accurately. overall i think it is a great gun and is worth $110.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Headshuter Monday, March 1st, 2010
Period of
Product Use:
1 year6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippman 98
Marker Setup: Red Dot Tasco, 14 inch Barrel, M4 stock and Remote
Recommended
Upgrades:
Longer Barrel, Stock.
Strengths: Reliable, Accurate, User Friendly, Does not chop, Durable, very costomizable, Easy to field strip, price
Weaknesses: Too many upgrades, Sights ( No one uses them anyways ) , Price adds up with upgrades
Review: This gun is exactly the same as a custom 98, the eternals are completely interchangable. To me it's like a better version of a custom 98, first it's way easyer to field strip, looks better ( more mil sim ). But the 98 is still a great gun. Also there are so many upgrades it's not even funny. Also it is very reliable, it has never failed on me and never choped a ball ( shoot about 3000 paints throught it ) even if i was shooting fast with a normal hopper ( 6bps ). The gun functions very smoothly and never misfired.
Conclusion: I think that this gun is the best bigginer gun because it is reliable and easy to maintain. Also you can grow with it because there's a tone of upgrades. I think that it is probobly one of the best starter gun ( along with the 98 ). I would recommend this gun to anyone who is starting in paintball or wants a good reliable marker.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Will_I_Am87 Wednesday, February 3rd, 2010
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
- Tippman 98c
- Bravo one
- Tippmann X7
- BT Delta (Only difference is the appearance and the feedneck is different)
- Tacamo AK-47
- Milsig K series
Marker Setup: Not much setup except maybe a 14 inch barrel, because I bought a BT4 combat for my cousin.
Recommended
Upgrades:
depends on what type of player you are, if your a back player, take a longer barrel(16 inch and above), if your assault(14 inch) or CQB (less than 14 inch) take a shorter one.
for accuracy wise, probably a red dot sight would help.
Strengths: - Durability, Ease for maintenance, Upgradable, good for its price, reliable (no chop and no jams)
Weaknesses: - accuracy, not very consistent but good enough (no regulator), Front sight
Review: as for my own opinion, there is not much to complain about for this marker since I got it for under 90$ Canadian from my supplier brand new. It performs pretty much like a Tippmann 98 and when I tested it for its accuracy, this is where the weaknesses sets in, with the iron sight the paintball does not goes where I want it to be and I am getting a hard time getting a 1 shot 1 kill on a water bottle with the iron sight on a distance of 50-60 yards away. Since I realized that the front sight is only a piece of plastic sticking out, I noticed that the front and the back sight isint well lined up as it suppose to. The front sight is just lower than the back sight which I consider it as a manifacturers default. Also, when I tested it for consistency on a truck on a distance for 50-60 yards, it was acceptable but more than that, I would assume that it would be innaccurate on a distance. As for the Strengths of this gun, I saw my cousin falling from the stairs and landed on the gun and he picked it up and fired it again. despize that it was filled with sand, it still fires without chop adn jams. As for the maintenance of the gun, when I was about to clean out the sand inside his gun, I took it apart (about 1 minute), rinse the barrel and some parts(about 2-3 minutes), oiled it(2 minutes) and put them all back together(1 minute), I consider easier to maintain than other markers in the market. Also it is very upgradable, it accepts most of the A5 treads, 98 stocks and ect ect. and Finally, the price is pretty good, it goes about 80-150$ canadian, depending who you buy it from.
Conclusion: In general, it is a pretty good gun for its price, you can never go wrong buying this product if your looking for something that you can relie on. But I would recommend using this gun on the indoor field if there is no upgrades on it, because hey.. why would you need accuracy when you can shoot people up from up close with a shorter barrel ;P? Also, it is a very good marker if you are a starter, because sometimes, you would want to look different from the crowd and start playing barbie with your gun and the BT4 combat allows you to do that perfectly, unlike the Tippmann 98, you don't have any rails and you are required to buy them, and buying them cost more money. Overall, comapring the 98 to the BT4 Combat, there is a slight difference, if you are looking for dressing up your gun, get a BT4 Combat, if you just want a gun that has a slightly better performance, get the tippmann 98. All in all, the accuracy and the consistency is okay, just aim with your barrel or chage the the front sight with something else on your BT4 Combat. Probably a red dot will help. As for the professionals, if you are playing on a regular basis, you would want a gun that is easy to maintain, if professionals complain that this gun is not as good as other high end markers, then you should not consider yourself a professional. In general, its the skills of a player that makes the player, not the gun. All in All, I would give a 9 on 10. Great for newcomers for this sport and good as a backup weapon for experienced players.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

LuckyRicochet Saturday, December 19th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
Tippman 98 Custom=Similar, but cheaper
Tippman X7
Marker Setup: Normal 20oz co2 tank
Regular 140 round hopper
Stock Barrel
Recommended
Upgrades:
Maybe a better barrel
Stock
Strengths: Durable
Pretty accurate
Not heavy
Good sight
Cheap!!$$$
Weaknesses: Gets unaccurate when low on Co2
Review: The gun is a basic starter gun. It is durable, medium weight, and and all around okay gun.

If you are a beginner, this is a good choice for a starting gun. The sight is an improvement over the Tippman 98 customs sight. It feels good to shoot and is quite accurate. It will decrease in accuracy and then range when you get lower on co2.
Conclusion: Beginners should try this gun out. It's easy to use, and the price is very acceptable.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Verin Friday, November 20th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
Tippman 98 Custom
Marker Setup: BT-4 Combat; 14 inch Nightstick Twisted Barrel; 3000 HPA, Rip Clip Hopper; Adjustable Shoulder Stock
Recommended
Upgrades:
I recommend a longer barrel and HPA. I also like the Rip-Clip Hopper because it uses a halo system.
Strengths: Durable, Accurate, and Stable.
Weaknesses: Too many bolts to take apart.
Review: This is a great marker. First and foremost is has a nice weight to it. I really like the Rip-Clip hopper because it is off set and I can aim down the barrel. I choose to add a shoulder stock which I found wasn't difficult but Tippman seems to have a affinity for putting excessive amounts of bolts on his guns. The bolt thing aside it really is a good marker. I only play woodsball and scenario only. Which it is modifiable to look like an AK 47 or M16 I however have refrained. I would recommend this gun to anyone.
Conclusion: I would recommend this gun to anyone just understand that to break it down and clean it will be slightly time consuming. Otherwise I don't think you will get a better marker for the price.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (10):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media