paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / BT Paintball Design BT-4 Combat / BT Paintball Design BT-4 Combat / BT Paintball Design BT-4 Combat / BT Paintball Design BT-4 Combat

BT Paintball Design BT-4 Combat Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount BT Paintball Design

Buy BT Paintball Design BT-4 Combat

Paintball Low-End Mechanical Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


BT Paintball Design BT-4 Combat
[ View Photos (34) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 93
Average Rating: 8.8 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $160

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The BT-4 Combat is the choice of demanding players who are looking for a solid and cost effective base to build up with custom parts with the ability to use military spec features. The combat comes with BT reliability and battle tested durability
Product Availability 
The BT Paintball Design BT-4 Combat is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (10):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  Last
        Next Page
minuteman360 Sunday, November 1st, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
98C Spyder-MR1
Marker Setup: BT4 Combat RipClip Egrip A5-Flatline SmartParts linear barrel
Recommended
Upgrades:
E-grip RipClip Hammerhead barrel or other 14-16 inch barrel
Strengths: Durable good-finish ease-of-use Upgradeable
Weaknesses: Kickback Difficult-field-strip Heavy
Review: I ventured into my local paintball store (TC Paintball)- I inquired about a good start-up gun and the store pro recommended the BT series of markers. They offered a BT4 Combat kit for $160 (The BT4 Combat normally costs about $110-$140 US Dollars. The marker itself is rather heavy compared to most other guns. The combat with the standard barrel shoots with the same distance and consistency as the 98C, not surprising that it shares the same heavy kickback known to all Tippman guns (BT is the initials of Ben Tippman the founder and previous owner of Tippman). By itself, this marker is unremarkable, but offers allot of upgradability, and that is were it really shines. Buy the stand alone marker as a beginner marker only or if you plan on upgrading it latter.
Conclusion: Buy if your just getting into paintball or if you plan on upgrading
Rating:
7 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

PBGolfR32 Thursday, August 6th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
3 months5 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
98c
A-5
Alpha
Marker Setup: BT4 Combat, all stock (apex and rip clip in the future)
20 oz Pure Energy Co2 (camo sleeve cover)
Basic 200 round hopper for now. Looking to get a rip clip in the future.

Recommended
Upgrades:
I'd recommend a new barrel, but the stock barrel on the combat is excellent and does the trick.
Strengths: Appearance
Accuracy
Feel
Weight
Customization (a-5 barrels, 98 stocks and internals)
Powerful
Weaknesses: None so far
Review: Me and my buddies decided to paintball randomly after playing some Modern Warfare.. no joke lol and anyways they ended up getting all Tippmanns (two a-5's and an alpha), so when it was time for me to shop around I stumbled across the BT-4 Combat. In the glass case it looked a lot like a Tippmann product and insanely close to the A-5 so I thought that I'd try it out. When I first picked up the marker and took aim, it felt great. It's weight was perfect (I prefer a more heavy marker then a lighter marker) and it just felt right in my hands. I decided to buy the marker for $149.99 which wasn't really too bad because most places on the net are selling it for $169.99. After doing some researching I couldn't believe that the BT stood for Ben Tippmann. It made me happy knowing that I was getting a Tippmann quality product for a really good price. Also the marker had no problem keeping up with the a-5s in accuracy tests etc.

The packaging on the other hand isn't the greatest as it doesn't include a starter squeegee, hopper or mask, which I was hoping it would include. There is no stock included in the package as well but really who cares.
Conclusion: For the right price this gun is perfect. You're getting a Tippmann quality marker without paying too much for it. The upgrades available for this gun match that of the upgrades for the 98 and a5. If you're a starter paintballer like me and is looking to make your first purchase on a marker, look no further, this marker is the right choice and the right price.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, August 22nd, 2009 at 6:59 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Swordkirby45 Monday, July 6th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
6 months2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann 98 Custom
Sypder Victor
Marker Setup: BT-4 Combat
14" M16 APEX barrel
48/3000 HPA tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
Small Bore Barrel
Strengths: Loud
Accurate when it DOES feed
Weaknesses: Rarely feeds (major problem)
Trigger pull (minor)
Front grip if flimsy
Feed Neck is awkward
Review: I'm not one to complain, but this isn't a very good marker.

PROS:
-Loud (scares the crap out of people)
-Its accurate when it DOES feed (more on this later)
-Sturdy and durable

CONS:
-RARELY FEEDS. I don't know why, but for whatever reason, only about HALF of the time you pull the trigger will it actually fire. My guess it that it has something to do with the awkward feed neck.
-Trigger pull. It's a little harder to pull than other triggers (takes for force) but this isn't anything major
-Flimsy front grip. Because of the design, the front grip, no matter how tight it is, will be loose (side to side). Once again, nothing major. I'm just a little bit picky.
-FEED NECK IS AWKWARD. (I don't have a better way to explain it). You can slide it on and off instead of it clicking in place like a Tippmann. My guess is that this causes the hopper to stop feeding balls to the marker.
-BT customer service is terrible. I was on the phone "waiting for a representative" for about 30-45 minutes before I gave up and hung up the phone.
Conclusion: Anyone thinking about getting this marker should try a Tippman 98 Custom instead.
Rating:
5 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

Ojuyn Friday, June 12th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
3 months2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann A-5
Marker Setup: Bt4 Combat
14` J&J Ceramic barrel
PCS M4 folding stock
NCstar Red Dot Scope
Bt Bipod barrel adapter
Bt Bipod
Remote coil
Recommended
Upgrades:
PCS M4 folding stock
Remote coil
14` J&J Ceramic barrel
Strengths: Very Durable
Light weight
Quiet with new barrel
Weaknesses: Bad stock barrel its very loud
Review: The bt4 combat is a great gun overall.for only $160 you can get a gun with durability and very customizable. although its a little loud with the stock barrel that can easily be change by getting a new barrel. since I got my gun i hav never had a ball break once.
Conclusion: For the price it is a great durable and customizable marker...So Go Get One!!!!!
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

sop_warmachine Tuesday, June 9th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
2 years2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Proto SLG 08
Tippman 98 Custom
Tippman A-5
Marker Setup: - 16" Barrel
- Collapsible Stock
- Rocket Cock (modified from a 98custom)
- Halo B Hopper
- HPA tank
- Remote
Recommended
Upgrades:
- Barrel definitely due to poor accuracy with stock barrel
- Rocket Cock (got to modify it) because it keeps all the crap out of the open cocking mechanism.
- Remote
Strengths: - Accuracy
- Weight
- Reliability
- Strength
- Can shoot HPA or CO2
Weaknesses: Can be slightly heavy with a steel tank.
Review: Okay, I started playing paintball about 2 and a half years ago and have owned a BT4 all but 1 month of my paintball experience. I purchased my first BT4 because a buddy of mine had one and I liked the way it shot over his 98 custom as well as the physical appearance. Since I have been playing, I have played with a few other markers and still feel that the BT4 comes out on top. Performance is about the same with my BT setup and an A-5 but there are several things that bring the BT4 ahead. For starters the BT can take upgrades (except barrel) from the 98 custom which has been out forever. This is good because the price is cheaper and you can find them anywhere. The A-5 on the other hand can only take upgrades meant for the A-5 due to the design change that Tippman went with after firing Ben Tippman. This includes the X-7. The X-7 also has a different upgrade bolt on pattern that the A-5 and BT and the 98 custom. Another great thing is that in the 2+ years that I have owned it I have finally run into my first problem! My valve is leaking where the braided hose screws into the marker. This is going to cost me 40 bucks. Whoopty freakin do! My buddy has a speedball gun that goes into the shop every time he plays. Its crazy!
Conclusion: Okay, I was running out of room up there. Either way, to conclude my ramblings, this marker is fantastic. Its simple, accurate, beautiful, and gets the job done. Most importantly, it doesn't cost a fortune. I have since bought a 2nd BT4 for a backup and sold my Proto SLG which was broken. I hope this helps and if you have any questions feel free to ask them on my teams forum at www.swatopspaintball.com. Thanks!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Fin_T Sunday, May 31st, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann A-5, Tippmann 98 Custom, Spyder MR1.
Marker Setup: At the moment a completely stock BT-4 Combat but I am getting an Apex barrel and Rip Clip.
Recommended
Upgrades:
New barrel (Stock barrel is alright but it could be better)

Rip Clip if you want to shoot faster.
Strengths: -Durable
-Cheap
- Accurate
-Looks
Weaknesses: Everything has room for improvement.
Review: I've gone paintballing with the BT-4 a few times now and it hasn't disappointed. Just today i took it to the Phoenix Project 20 Columbian Connection. My marker was dropped a couple of times, sand got in it and was shot a few times as well but it still performed great. This is just proving that this is a reliable gun for it's price range.

If you're looking at this review then you are on the verge of buying a paintball marker. If you are new to the game then you should think of this gun as one of your top choices.
It is reliable, customizable as you get better, pretty cheap and a great gun for its price

Conclusion: I recommend this gun to new and regular paintball players.

Out of 10 I'm going to give it a 8.5/10.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

pbpaulo Saturday, May 9th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
More than 5 years6 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann A5. Basically the same as the BT4 Combat, just feeds faster and costs about 120 bucks more.

Ego 09. Doesn't compare. The Ego cost me $950 used and the Combat costs 150 new. Get real. My current marker.

Tippmann 98 Custom Platinum Series. I wouldn't be caught dead with this gun. It is simply a waste of money. The barrel is tiny, the trigger feels terrible when you shoot, and it chops like every second ball.

BT4 Combat. Great gun. it was actually my first gun, and it proved to be the best $150 i ever spent. My only complaint is the stock barrel, but we'll get to that later.
Marker Setup: Primary gun: Ego 09 out of the box. Best marker I ever laid eyes on.
Secondary gun: BT4 Combat. My upgrades include:
TIppmann Straight Line Barrel
E-trigger
Collapsable stock



Recommended
Upgrades:
For the BT4 Combat I would definately recommend a new barrel, an e-trigger, and a stock.
Strengths: Sounds good
Nice trigger feel
Price
Well balanced
Great Overall.
Weaknesses: Rough trigger
Looks fake
Too much plastic
Feedneck
Review: One day, a friend of mine came over to my house to show me his new Autococker. Yeah, it had all the fancy stuff, trigger, barrel and all, and i took out my new BT4 Combat (it had never been tested since I had bought it the same day he came over) and we went round back and gassed up. Our target was about 100 feet away, and was a five square inch plank of wood. I was using red paint and he was using yellow so we could see who shot where. Now, i had heard alot about these Autocockers as it was the beginning of my paintball career, but i wanted to see one and i had great expectations. So we started shooting and stopped when we had fired 10 bullets each. I looked up at the plank of wood and I saw yellow painted scattered all over it, and red paint stains in a big blob in the middle. I was thinking how can I only have hit the target one time and why is the stain so big. So we went up close, and i saw some red ball shells on the floor and some paint right and left. I had hit the target 7/10 times consecutively DEAD CENTER! I cant stress this more, DEAD CENTER!!! My friend looked down and couldn't beleive his eyes, he had hit the plank every time too, just that the paint was scattered around.

Now for the actual review. This gun could use an electric trigger, but if you're like me and like to know you're shooting a gun when you're shooting one, you're not gonna want a 2mm pull trigger. The problem with this one though is when you shed alot of paint, like after 2000 balls, you're finger starts getting sore.

A new barrel is a definate must. This should be your first upgrade. I would reccomend a Straight Line Tippmann barrel for Rec/hyper ball players like me, and a Flatline or an Apex for the woods.

The rear sights are practically useless. The rear sight is below the front one, so they serve no purpose whatsoever. I you use your sights alot, invest in a BT4 M16 carry handle and an M16 barrel for the best accuracy.

The gun is pretty loud, and i like that in a gun since in hyperball the loudness doesn't matter. It also scares off newbs which makes shooting at them twice more fun!

That's as far as the gun goes, now i'm going to give you the criticism of this gun from a rec/hyper player.

Now, I play in a speedball team and we're in the top 5 in Greece, and I use my Ego 9 there of course, but when i play rec ball and hyper ball i use my combat so that nothing happens to my Ego. I started off with hyper ball and rec ball too. So, the Combat is excellent at these rec and hyper distances, and is a real dog too, moving from one obstacle to another, I will occasionally roll on the ground over my Combat and it still keeps shooting like a dream. I have had no need to invest in a better gun since I am no rec or hyper ball enthusiast, and especially as my gun shoots and works beautifully.

I was between an A-5 and a Combat when I went out shopping for a marker. I tested out both, looked on the web, did my homework and since I was on a tight budget of $300 and didn't really want to spend all of it, I bought the Combat and bought the barrel and stock for it for less money than a stock A-5.

Edit: One thing I forgot to mention is that the gun does jam alot. This happens because the cocking spring moves up a little and then you can't pull the trigger back. Dont worry if the gun jams. 95% of the time it is the weak spring. If you jimmy the spring and pull it back and it still doesn't work, it still cant won't be a big problem unless something in the triggering mechanism broke or chipped.

Conclusion: If you're thinking of buying a BT4 Combat, just make the next step and buy it. It is for begginers/intermediates more on the beginner's side, and also makes for a great first gun. I think this gun is amazing and the only reason I'm giving it a 9 and not a ten is because there is always room for improvement.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, May 10th, 2009 at 5:28 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

sammynacpb Friday, May 8th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
Pmi Black maxx- Simple design that works but not gas efficient.
Piranha G3 W/ E-force- You can shoot alot of paint thru this thing. Fast and quiet.,
Marker Setup: Just bought the Combat.
BT-4 Combat
8.5 inch stock barrel
200 Round Tacamo gravity fed.
12 oz CO2.
NCstar Red Dot Sight
Recommended
Upgrades:
Would recommend an apex but not needed but get the e-trigger and the rip clip, Great design.
Strengths: Efficient
Affordable
Well made
Too durable
Weaknesses: A little heavy after 4 hours of play
none really
Review: I am going to introduce you to this marker. The BT-4 combat is the most efficient and simple marker on the planet. You could drop this thing. it'l still shoot. Fill it with water, itl still shoot. Run it over with a small car, the thing will still fire. This marker prides itself on the ability to be durable in the worst situations, with great accuracy and power aswell. It has a sleek milsim look and picatinny rails for mounting red dot sights and lasers. This marker is used at almost all fields in toronto as rental markers due to the fact they are easy to clean, they are efficient and very rarely break down.
Conclusion: This is my gun...... it should be yours too...............
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Paintball-VC- Thursday, May 7th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippman A5 and C98, Spyder MR1. The A5 is "better" but you get what you pay for, right? More features, to some, means a better gun. The C98 is basically the SAME gun as the BT4 Combat, internally. The BT4 is nicer looking in every way though. MR1 is a love it or hate it gun, from MY experience. I've seen many problems with MR1's that I've never seen happen to a BT4 but I've never owned one so...
Marker Setup: BT4 Combat, A5 Flatline, Halo Loader, Rear Velocity Adjuster, Upgraded Spring, Remote Line and a Tactical Flashlight / Foregrip combo straight outta Hong Kong!
The BT-4 Communist!
I also rock an all black Proto Matrix Rail with Halo, On/Off ASA, UL Trigger, Trinity clamping feedneck, 14" JJ barrel- soon to be a 14" or 16" Freak and maybe a drop.
Recommended
Upgrades:
You must get a new barrel, like any paintball gun. Depending on the barrel you choose you might have to buy the spring kit because the stock spring is pretty soft. It's probably good for most barrels unless you do something dramatic like put a Flatline or an 18" barrel (I don't recommend a barrel that long though).
Strengths: Extremely Simple
Cleaning it and oiling it can be done in 5 minutes
Reliable
Upgradable
Weaknesses: Feedneck is a little wobbley with heavy hoppers
The ASA is pretty ugly... ;)
Review: I bought this gun for MilSim purposes and it does the job, very well. Honestly, I didn't come here to review the BT4 Combat specifically because there are many reviews here that I agree with and I think do the job. Mostly, I wanted to settle the A5 Flatline + BT4 debate I was reading so much about because I liked the concept of flat trajectory shots.

Well, I got a BT4 and put the Flatline on it right away, I never shot the stock barrel, no point. So, first of all, anyone who says they don't work well together didn't bother to make the right adjustments. The Flatline is VERY temperamental and it has a Sweet Spot, which happens to be right around 300 FPS- AKA legal limit. Like I said earlier, I had to change the spring. I bought the MEDIUM / Grey spring off a friend for $2 and the BT4 gained 60 FPS. Since I was already shooting in the 280s it was more than enough to give the Flatline the speed it needs to put the backspin on the ball and shoot a "flat" shot. By "flat" I mean that you have to remember you're shooting paintballs. They are NEVER perfectly round and will not go perfectly straight- at least not every shot. No amount of backspin or barrel length will change that so, yes, even a Flatline barrel has some variation in it's groupings. But it does deliver on the flat trajectory once you've tuned your gun properly and that makes using your "iron sights" really nice.

I can only really think of one negative thing that comes from putting a Flatline on a BT4 Combat. The barrel shroud extends to the top of the gun and so to take it apart you have to remove the 2 screws that hold the bolt in place just to remove the feedneck off the back of the gun. It's not major but it's an inconvenience to me ;) other than that, I can think of no reason why someone shouldn't try this combo.
Conclusion: I think that if you are buying or bought a BT4 Combat and WANT a A5 Flatline because it looks super bad*ss but aren't sure it will perform than have no fear. It works just as well on a BT4 as on an A5 and maybe even better... because the barrel does come up so high on the gun body, the iron-sights actually line up with the ball's trajectory almost perfectly. Also, I feel that the Flatline doesn't like long bursts or full-auto; it looses a lot of accuracy after the first shot. So, in my opinion, don't bother getting an E-Grip for that reason and they are finnicky and unreliable. All in all, I think BT4 Combat is a good gun for the little money it costs and for a little more money you can make it a great gun.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

bulletproofcpt Thursday, May 7th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
2 years
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Smart parts vibe (speedball gun)
sp ion
BT 16
Marker Setup: Bt4 combat
Bt rip clip
Recommended
Upgrades:
Nothing
Strengths: Accurate,extremely reliable,cheap,customizeable,not an air hog
Weaknesses: Nothing
Review: This gun is great it is very reliable I dropped this thing in to mud puddles and dropped i dont know how many times and it works perfect uses little air and is very accurate and the upgrades are limit less u can make it look like any thing an ak an m16 even a saw


EDIT: i have used this gun for 2 years now and it is still working like a champ ive lost 2 screws to it a trigger screw and this guns been to hell and back and still works a truly great woodsball gun
Conclusion: Yes i would reccomend it
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Friday, April 1st, 2011 at 3:16 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (10):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media