paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / BT Paintball Design BT-4 Combat / BT Paintball Design BT-4 Combat / BT Paintball Design BT-4 Combat / BT Paintball Design BT-4 Combat

BT Paintball Design BT-4 Combat Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount BT Paintball Design

Buy BT Paintball Design BT-4 Combat

Paintball Low-End Mechanical Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


BT Paintball Design BT-4 Combat
[ View Photos (34) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 93
Average Rating: 8.8 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $160

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The BT-4 Combat is the choice of demanding players who are looking for a solid and cost effective base to build up with custom parts with the ability to use military spec features. The combat comes with BT reliability and battle tested durability
Product Availability 
The BT Paintball Design BT-4 Combat is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (10):  First  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  8  |  Last
        Next Page
bennim Thursday, April 3rd, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
1 year2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
98C- alot alike, but less quality
A-5- almost the same, Bt-4 is based off of it, no cyclone though
Marker Setup: Bt-4 Combat
J&J 12" Ceramic
BT M98 Car Stock
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel
Stock (helps more then you think)
Expansion Chamber
Strengths: Easy Upgrades
Field Strip
Picitinny Rails
Front Grip
Weaknesses: No Tombstone (oh well)
no stock expantion chamber
wobbly feedneck (electrical tapes fixes it)
Review: Basically a poor Mans A-5. Most of the features just stripped down a bit.

It really has esay upgrades. i've helped my friends with their 98C upgrades, and let me tell you, it sucks. The trigger comes off so you dont screw anytihng up in there. and the body is all separte. Just a coule of screws and then you throw in what you upgrading.

i have to get my gun clean before a game and it took me about 10 minutes to take it apart, then clean everytihng, then put it together. and i took EVERYTHING out of it.

Then theres the piccitany rails, they let you put most REAL equipment on the gun without mods. scopes, sights, lights, i mean anytihng.

i wish it had a tombstone for some of the easy mods that you can do to them. i also would like to see the expantion chamber become a stock thing on these, then i would be happy.


Conclusion: overall a good gun. GREAT for the price. Pick it up as a 1st or 2nd marker.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Potty391 Wednesday, April 2nd, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
3 years10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
SA Warrior, Spyder Sonix or Victor(cant remember which one, a crappy rental), 98 Custom
Marker Setup: BT4 Combat
J&J Ceramic 14" Barrel
BT4 CAR stock
BT Rip Clip
Tiberius Sight Riser
Oryx Red Dot Sight
Apex Tip
J&J Apex Adapter
Recommended
Upgrades:
Definitly a new barrel, though the stock barrel isnt that bad.
A stock is also nice
Rip Clip!
Strengths: Looks Awesome
Accurate
Not an air hog
Durable
Cheap
Military style mounting rails
Weaknesses: Heavy
Range with stock barrel isnt too good
Review: I have had this marker for about about 3 years now, couldnt have made a better choice. Its cheap and really durable. It looks awesome even when its stock.
The stock barrel is a bit crappy, but I think all markers start out with bad barrels, it can shoot quite far and I havent had a break once with it (i used the stock barrel for about 2 months). Back when i bought the marker I was on a very tight budget but it seemed that this was the best bang for my buck, I havent needed to repair it once and its very reliable in the field. It is easy to strip if needed (oiling, repairs) and it is not difficult to find spare parts as some internals are interchangeable with the 98 Custom

Remember to buy a new barrel and you will have loads of fun with this marker, but if you dont have money for a barrel its also fine... the stock barrel works quite well.
It accepts A5 barrels and 98 custom stocks and there are quite a lot of mods available.. so its the best of both worlds.
Conclusion: I would highly recommend this marker, it costs less than say a 98 custom or A5 but it can be made lots better with the right mods.
I would also recommend a new barrel ASAP. though the stock barrel works ok.
the only reason I give it a 9 is because the barrel sucks and theres always room for improvement
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Monday, August 17th, 2009 at 11:36 am PST
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

wildchild7912 Sunday, March 9th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Custom 98
Marker Setup: 98 custom,20"J&J Ceramic,Maddman springs,Ben Tippmann Sealed Bolt System,Psycho ballistics star fire bolt,Dye Stickies 3,DOP aluminum power tube,Cyclone feed,darkHorizon Titanium lite Hammer,Palmer Pursuit Regulator,Special Ops Fixed stock,Bob Long mini gauge,Pro-Team Tac Cap,Lapco Mock suppresor,BossMan Mag kit
BT-4 combat
Recommended
Upgrades:
Expansion chamber or NO2,After Market barell
Strengths: Cheap price,upgradeablitity,easy handeling,quick breakdown,NO TINY PARTS TO GET LOST
Weaknesses: Heavy trigger pull
Review: I bought this after my Custom 98 went down at the local field I was at they let me use it as a loaner(thanks Brett and Brent).I liked the feel it had and lack of recoil when fired,so naturally I decided to give the BT-4 a shot over the A-5 and let me tell you I am an avid fan of the Custom 98,but BT Design has impressed me(not something thats done easily).I thought this was going to be a Custom 98 knock off and man was I ever wrong.for you guys who say it is you have no idea of what you are talking about,But enough of this time for my review.For those who read this I will be camparing it to the Custom 98 to be fair and equal.First of the thing that caught my attention was the A-5 style trigger housing(not exactly like an A-5 but close)reamove two hex head bolts and the grip is free of the marker making any battery change quick and easy,the Custom 98 you have to tear down the whole marker in the field,any custom 98 owner knows it is impractical to do so therefore the BT-4 wins there.I also like the fact that the fore grip is adjustable unlike the Custom 98 and also can be replaced with a mag expansion kit where as the Custom 98 does not any mag kit expansion chamber for the Custom 98 has to mount to the nub of the foregrip which IMO kills the Mil-Sim look again BT-4 wins.
Now for the big one ease of breakdown is well over the Custom 98 no little pins to get lost or front sight spring that flicks out and gets lost or haveing you spend hours crawling around the carpet searching for that elusive but critical piece.Now for the price I bought my BT-4 for $118 with S&H where as the Custom 98 retails for $119 (this is in USD) overall the BT-4 has great amount of potiential and is a good marriage between the Custom 98 and A-5,no wrongs just rights.Overall a great marker and I expect nothing great out of it .
Conclusion: Great beginner to advance marker,well woth its price custom 98's are great markers but BT fixed the hassles of the 98.In a word they took a good idea and made it great.By no means do I hate custo 98's I still own mine and its still a great marker but BT has made several improvements on this idea making it a better choice.its simple and easy to maintain very simple design makes it affordable and easy to upgrade.I don't believe in giving 10's but BT has earned this one with very carefull consideration to the design,like I said no wrongs just rights .
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

WILL21 Wednesday, February 27th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
None
Marker Setup: BT4 Combat
8.5" barrel
200rnd basic hopper
20oz CO2 canester
==in near future==

32 Degrees Whisper barrel
BT4 CAR Stock
BT4 Rip Clip Upgrade
BT4 Electronic Grip
Remote system
Strengths: Co2 or compressed air
balanced
accurate
Durable
Mil standard mounting rails
Weaknesses: Stock aim which does not really work that well with stock setup
Review: I purchased my BT-4 from my local paintball shop. was decently priced.
I searched for a week or 2 for the riight marker to buy which was the best value for money in my price range and stumbled accross the BT4 range and finally decided to go for the combat.

Recieved my marker a few days ago and have only had time to test a few rounds with it.(will be playing a game next weekend though)

Some specifics that I liked:

- The BT4 combat looks and feels really durable and would not get damaged easily in play as personally i play quite rough with diving bumping into stuff and so forth.
- I also like that this marker has a good weight too it (not too heavy or too light) as I am a lightweight player and move positions alot.
- I personally like playing woodsball as well as scenario and thus like the upgrade options for this marker e.g. car stock, barrels, grips, rip clip as well as the mil rails which allows aim sights and scopes.
- The adjustable foregrip which i can change to my own preferences.
- The accuracy on the marker was not bad for a stock barrel and at 80ft i can put 20 shots in a small circle of about a ft in diametre whith out really aiming and just using point shoot methods.
- doesn't chop paint ( went through 1 2000rnd box with no problem)
- Looks great

Bad points:
- So far haven't had any trouble with it and there are no bad things to say about the marker except the aim sight i mentioned in the weaknes section.
Overall the marker is well balanced and I can't wait to test it with a few games.
I feel that this is a great puchase and i got more than my money's worth when i bought this marker.
Conclusion: The BT4 combat is a great marker which gives you more than your money's worth and presents you with a good starting marker which has a wide range of upgrades available for those interested in scenario and woodsball. this is a great marker for me overall.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, February 27th, 2008 at 2:30 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Nephrak Monday, February 18th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
3 months2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
tippman 98(completely stock)
Marker Setup: BT-4 combat with
BT rip clip
x7 low profile hopper
NCstar red dot sight
*EDIT*
14' smart parts linear barrel
e-grip

Recommended
Upgrades:
a better barrel, i just got my gun so i will my edit review and talk about the accuracy when I purchase the barrel. an e-grip for some diversity in firing modes
*Edit*
better barrel is a good idea, the stock barrel constricts the markers potential by a bit
rip clip if you plan to buy an e-grip
a red dot sight ( just get a cheap one) to replace the iron (plastic?) sights
Strengths: See review.
Weaknesses: See review.
Review: Key Strengths:
very durable and reliable.
very upgradable
accuracy is decent out of the box(even better when upgraded)
doesn't chop paint
doesn't hurt your wallet
Looks greats

Key Weakness:
Heavy
stock parts are okay but I would recommend upgrades
can be bulky when a large barrel is used with a stock



My friends and I all have a bt product of some kind an assault or combat but i have seen many a-5s and X7s and i must say that Ben Tippmann does seem to be able to compete with Tippmanns no problem. I must say I am not disappointed. Bt-4s are a great guns for the price and probably the best deal you can get for a low end blow back marker.
tippmann a-5s and ACT 98s are great guns too but bt-4s are able to compete without any problems. I see no reason to purchase a 98 or a-5 for more money unless you really have problems with chops(ACT) and desperately need a cyclone hopper( which can be a gaz guzzler might i add) X-7s are another story. I would say it is the equivalent of buying designer jeans . You pay more money for the same thing except there might be a rip in it as many people have claimed they received lemons.
This was my first gun i received( my 15th bday) Great gun for a starting player and yet there are so many options for an expert or for me to continue with it. Though tippmann claims that the x-7, a-5s are the most customizable that might be true from a pencil and paper perspective but remember that bt-4s are A-5 threaded and that all tippmann 98 stocks. Also the picatinny rails used to cover the top and bottom of the gun are extremely useful, allowing you to put any attachment that fits on picatinny rails ( Theres alot of them!) and even crazy scenario stuff like grenade launchers or miltary standard acog scopes. Bt-4s have so many choices available that i would (in my opinion of course) say to you...

If any of the things i have brought up appeal to you, save yourself the $,

Buy a Bt-4
Conclusion: If you want a good ,reliable starting gun you can upgrade and customize to your needs. Get a bt-4. You can't go wrong!
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Monday, April 28th, 2008 at 3:04 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Ethercist Friday, January 18th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
6 months4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
07 piranha(nearly the same)
Tippmann 98c
Marker Setup: BT M16 barrel kit
Liberty 98c collapsible stock (3 position)
Sight rail(m16)
Standard 200 round Xtreme rage hopper
M16 Magazine(storage)
Recommended
Upgrades:
New barrel
stock
remote
expansion chamber
Air tank

Magazine(replaces fore-grip)
Strengths: Good beginner gun
Loads of upgrades
easy to replace parts(internal)
Weaknesses: Slow field stripping
some key parts are expensive
doesn't fire too fast either.....
Review: This is my first paintball gun and the best about the BT-4 combat is all the parts that you can upgrade it with. The other part with this gun is it's really good for both woodsball and indoor so it's pretty much all you need to startup. The final part is the price it's a good mechanical gun, lot's of upgrades, fun to look at, what more could you ask for?
Conclusion: I totally recommend this product to first time paintballers and long time professionals
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Friday, February 29th, 2008 at 8:25 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

outoftowner Sunday, December 30th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 months3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
-zap ZXS 400 (piece of junk compared to this)
-icon z (ok but still not as good)
-a pirannah, forget witch one (about the same as the icon z)
-BT-4 assault (just took a couple of shots with it, just as good as the combat)
Marker Setup: -BT-4 combat
-red lazer cross hair sight
-flashlight on lower rail (just to show it off i usually take it off before games)
-9 oz CO2
-standard 200 rd hopper
-zap rec series paintballs (check review body for how they worked)
Recommended
Upgrades:
-a longer barrel (stock it is only 8 inches)
-stock (not neccessary but it makes the gun look more at home)
-double trigger kit (the stock pull is a little hard)
Strengths: -TOUGH
-sweet looking
-highly upgradeable
-doesent chop
Weaknesses: -Alot of parts to take apart
-A little bit of weight
Review: THE GUN
Well first of all this gun is quality, it is all aluminum or metal consruction and feels like a pickup could drive over it and nothing would happen. The barrel is an aluminum barrel and is 8 inches long, it is ok but could have some inprovement like a 12 or 14 inch, the body does have some weight to it but the sliding foregrip compensates for most of it. A couple of extras the gun gives you is a sliding foregrip that slides i think 4-6 inches i forget, and a removable feed neck that is just convenient. Also the picatinny rails are great for mounting things like my lazer crosshair scope and flashlight.

THE PERFORMANCE
First things first, this gun does not chop paint, i was using the worst balls out there on it, they were greasy varied in sizes and just were junk, and this gun didnt chop one of them. On CO2 this gun was average, but from what ive herd from the forums is that after a little polishing of the internals it will work way better.
Conclusion: I would recommed this gun to everybody from a beginner to a well seasoned professional, it is durable, easy to work and also works in any conditions, will never break or have lack of service and is so upgradeable that you can have any variant of looks or performance to it, best gun ive ever owned.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
5 Comments - Add Comment

Jap197 Thursday, August 9th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
2 years2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
tippmans
Marker Setup: Tippman 10 in. m-16 barrel with a riser , bsa red dot, ricochet 2k hopper, bossman mag kit, 98 custom stock.
Recommended
Upgrades:
I recomend a better barrel and a sling for your gun if you get tactical.
Strengths: Accuracy
Rate of fire
runs on co2 or compressed air
doesn't chop
very durable
Weaknesses: The stock barrel.
Review: I was looking for a good woods ball gun and i stumbled apon the BT4 combat. And i was amazed by how cheap it was and how great the reviews were. So i bought it and got some upgrades for it and now its working perfectly giving me the accuracy i need to get the job done.
Conclusion: Its good for new players and experienced players.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Friday, August 10th, 2007 at 1:39 pm PST
I found this review  
5 Comments - Add Comment

bpython6 Friday, July 27th, 2007
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested0 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
pcs mechanical
Marker Setup: bt-4 stock
java 200rd hopper
crossfire tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
new barrel
Strengths: Accuracy
Ruggedness
Upgradeability (so i've heard)
Weaknesses: Heavy
Range
Mechanical
Review: I was just starting paintball and this was my fields rental gun. Honestly I love the sport
but this gun is so so. Kinda heavy but gives you that feeling of solididity. long trigger pull
so you cant go fast but makes up in accuracy but at the same time dosent have good range. its ok for speedball in stock but youd want to upgrade it for woodsball. I dont think you could take it out with a tank though never jams. its mechanical so I was
getting slaughtered. all in all its average thats all i have to say.
Conclusion: Dont buy this gun but if its a rental take it.
Rating:
5 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

Paintball_When Saturday, June 2nd, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month11 of 11 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann 98, Custom Pro, A-5, all Tact markers, BT-4 assault, Banshee and iron horse!
Marker Setup: BT-4 Combat with car stock, BT-4 assualt sight rail, 14" smart parts barrel, and gravity hopper.
Recommended
Upgrades:
The stock barrel is awsome itself, but you could get better accuracy with a new longer barrel. Other than that its all set up!
Strengths: Looks, Weight, ROF, BPS, CO2 consumption, upgradability and just the marker itself + the price!
Weaknesses: Nothing that I have yet to see is a weakness in the BT-4 Combat.
Review: I wasn't sure what gun to buy.. so I went onto pb review and read what everyone had to say about all Tippmann models and all that. I also had a budget of $300 and didn't really want to spend all of it. So I decided on buying the Tippman custom pro.. wow big mistake, the gun brakes a lot of balls and is a huge gas hog!! I broke it in 2 hours. I took it back to the place I bought it and asked to get a new one in.. 4 weeks later I was wondering where it was.. CP rail had a strike and couldnt get any product to the store where I had bought it... so I said "screw it im buying something else." I decided ( after reading all the reviews on here ) to buy a BT-4 Combat! The second I got home I was like OMG OMG this is so awsome! I got all the stuff ready, and noticed it didn't come with a hopper.................... and was like *UCK. Thats is the biggest downside of the BT-4 Combat which I didn't add in the Weakness part of this review. Other than that, all the reviews that rate this gun well and say good things about it are so true. This gun is good from the momnet you pick it up till the moment you put it down and all over again! It is accurate with the stock barrel, but could do better with a new one. The only difference between the Combat and the Assault is the sight rail, stock and barrel and maybe the trigger pull, but that is disputed. It looks great but itself, but Looks amazing with a stock and sightrail. I used it today (June 2nd/07) and used like 2500 paintballs~~~and guess what..... NOT ONE BRAKE!!!!!!!!!!! like seriously I was only out of Co2 once ( the Combat can do approx: 1000-1200 shots on a 20oz Co2 ) This gun is very impressive! I never measured how far away my targets were, but im guessing like 35-45 yards away (105-135 feet ) (~~ I would hit a body sized tree about 8 out of 10 times dead center 4 feet up from the ground.) It is accurate as said before, cheap, looks good, Co2 efficiant and fun!
Conclusion: I would say buy it if you want a reliable, cheap, fun, upgradable, amazing marker! I was amazed after I shot it a couple of times. It is more than worth the $150 canadian dollars I paid and I don't see why it doesn't go for more! Anyway, it is an amazing marker, and you will love it!
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, June 2nd, 2007 at 11:19 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (10):  First  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  8  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media