paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / BT Paintball Design BT-4 Combat / BT Paintball Design BT-4 Combat / BT Paintball Design BT-4 Combat / BT Paintball Design BT-4 Combat

BT Paintball Design BT-4 Combat Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount BT Paintball Design

Buy BT Paintball Design BT-4 Combat

Paintball Low-End Mechanical Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


BT Paintball Design BT-4 Combat
[ View Photos (34) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 93
Average Rating: 8.8 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $160

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The BT-4 Combat is the choice of demanding players who are looking for a solid and cost effective base to build up with custom parts with the ability to use military spec features. The combat comes with BT reliability and battle tested durability
Product Availability 
The BT Paintball Design BT-4 Combat is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (10):  First  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  8  |  9  |  Last
        Next Page
MeidaTheMenace Saturday, June 2nd, 2007
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
6 months0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann 98 Custom
Marker Setup: BT-4 Combat
J&J Performance Ceramic Barrel
Empire Reloader II
BT E-Grip
12 Oz Co2 Tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
New barrel, hopper, trigger if u wanna shoot higher than 6 bps
Strengths: Durable.
Reasonably Accurate.
Weaknesses: Stock parts aren't very good.
Review: This was the first marker I ever got, and I think it's a pretty good marker. With the right ugrades, like mine, it can become a pretty good woodsball marker. The BT E-Grip, although nowhere near the E-grip on my A-5, allows you to ramp up to 11 bps. It isn't an amazing gun, but it will never let you down, is priced pretty cheap, and was a great first gun for me.
Conclusion: Well, this is a pretty good, solid marker for woodsball, and definitely for anyone getting into paintball.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment

ender_k Monday, May 21st, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 months36 of 38 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
98 Custom, PMI Piranah....the 98 comes close, but no cigar
Marker Setup: BT-4 Combat
12" Hammerhead barrel
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel. Obviously. If you've seen the stock you know why. Plus it's just a rule of thumb.

Rip Clip feed system, if and when it ever comes out.
Strengths: Shoots well, no kickback, durable and sturdy, good buy for the cash.
Weaknesses: Feed system blows. Some people might not like the weight, but I do.
Review: Ok so I know everybody has written the same old same old reviews on this marker, but I'm gonna do it all over again.

The BT-4 is the 2nd marker I've bought, and I've used a few others. When it was time to go marker shopping, I had 3 in mind: the BT-4, the A-5, and the X-7. Yeah, I actually was planning to play bushball with an X-7. It's just sexy. Plus I'm a chick and it'd look bad ass. But back to the point.

I gave into the BT-4. Why? It was cheap. Its the 98's equivalent, and with an A-5 front end it took some wicked barrel mods. Flatline anyone? Exactly. And with a 98 back end, I was familiar with the setup, and knew that it would be reliable. The mechanism's inside are a little diff, but meh.

Another thing is because I'm a chick I'm small. And usually, markers aren't really setup for small people, unless they're speedball....and then they're just so light you forget you're holding them. So the fact that I had adjustable grips was also a big plus for me. I could change it out to balance the marker for my use....not you're typical 5'10, 160 lb. big boy paintball player.

Now I wanted cyclone feed. But at the same time I didn't. Apparently it's an airhog, and I'm not a paint slinger, so going for the A-5 or X-7 soully for the cyclone didn't make sense. Plus I've heard that there's a new feed system coming out eventually, so I stuck with the BT. Now that I've played with it a little bit, and played some fast games, I've realised this marker does chop. Now I don't shoot a lot of paint, but when I do shoot, it'd be nice if a ball came out. So it irks me. It's my only dislike about this marker so far. So, tips to those who play like me....if you want to play a BT-4....wait for this new feed system (apparently it's called the rip clip and as of now they're 3 weeks behind schedule). It's the same as a cyclone feed, only instead of running off your air, it runs on batteries. How that'll work out, I suppose we'll see.

Now onto the weight. I've seen some people for it, and some people against it. So take it from you're little, under 5 foot, 90 pound girl. The weight is a good thing. If you play bushball (and if you're reading a reveiw on a BT-4 I sure hope you do) you want some heft to your marker. You want to be able to dive into a hole full of sticks and not be wondering if it's gonna scratch your marker, or damage your marker. It takes the abuse. And if you're thinking "Well what about when you're actually firing with it?" The weight is a good thing there. It keeps you stable, and I don't even play with a stock! This gun is straight shooting (especially with a hammerhead on it....it's sexy), so when the gun stays put regardless of you're strength, carrying something a little heavier is a-ok.
Conclusion: All in all, this is an awesome deal. It's cheap, since Ben Tippmann isn't huge in paintball yet, but they're coming up. Which also means upgrades are going to start coming fast and furious, especially for this little marker. So instead of shelling out the $400 for the A-5, or the X-7, play it smart. Play a not-quite-stock BT-4 (replace the barrel, I'm begging) for a little while. Grab the upgrades as they come. You'll still be rolling with the big boys no problemo....and you can still afford paint in the end.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment

han_daddy Monday, April 30th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann 98 Custom
Marker Setup: BT-4 Combat
J&J Ceramic 12" barrel
everything else is stock
Recommended
Upgrades:
Definitely get a good barrel
Strengths: Picatinny rails
Good on gas
Easy strip (but not onfield)
"No" chops
Weaknesses: Alan wrenches are wrong size
Power tube is plastic
Field stripping out of the question
Review: I have actually played before (i.e. more than 3 months) but that was so long ago and I was never that serious about paintball then that I don't think it really counts. In the recent months, I've used Tippmann 98 Customs (rentals) and thought they were OK. Since all the rentals use stock parts, there's not much to say about them. I bought the BT-4 based on a friend's recommendation and a lot of reading-up on my own. It seemed like a good middle-road between the 98C and A-5 both in price and in performance (based on the literature, anyway).

This gun is VERY customizable. Cosmetically speaking, it can take any real gun part that adheres to the picatinny standard. It also takes 98C stocks, and the stock barrel threads are compatible with A-5 barrels. There are adaptors, though, should you want more exotic barrels. BT is also coming out with the equivalent of the cyclone feed, called the rip clip, for those who want to shoot faster without chopping. So it is also customizable if you are looking for performance upgrades. There's also a forum by BT users (bt.warrior-online.com) for all the BT markers.

I played this past weekend (April 28, 2007) with really nice weather, and the marker performed very well. I didn't get any chops (about 1,000 shots); and I was shooting about 4-5 bps. However, there were a few barrel breaks due to low-quality paint. (You can tell they were barrel breaks because paint seeped out of the bore-holes on the barrel whereas the area near the feed elbow/detent was practically clean). We had some old paint that I decided to use 'cause it seemed like a waste otherwise -- bad idea. I just fired a few more shots and cleared my barrel (the J&J ceramic barrel really is nice) without even using a squeegee (spell?). I used a 20oz CO2 tank that was filled up from my last trip (didn't do much that time with the tank other than chrono and fire test shots) and it lasted for first quite a few games (more so than the rentals using the same gas setup). Only closer toward the end of the day did I finally refill (though the tank still had gas) out of fear that I'd run out mid-game. The marker was chrono'd at about 285. So I'd say it was pretty good on gas.

Even with the 20oz tank screwed onto the marker, I didn't even notice the total weight during my games. The marker feels solid when you hold it. It's fairly easy to strip, though not as easy to field strip as, say, an MR-1.
Conclusion: This is a solid marker if you are into woodsball. I bought mine new for $105. Definitely buy a decent barrel. Though the stock barrel is OK, it's nothing to write home about and you get much better accuracy and range with a decent 12" to 16" barrel. (This goes for any marker, though.)
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, May 1st, 2007 at 12:22 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

B_Cad Thursday, April 26th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month20 of 26 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
Less than a month
Similar
Products Used:
Tippman Custom 98
Marker Setup: BT-4 combat
Recommended
Upgrades:
Pretty much all you'll need is a ( longer ) barrel.
Strengths: Distance, power, acurracy
Weaknesses: It comes with a short stock barrel.
Review: Well im new at painball and it's alot of fun. I've shot this gun about 4,000 time and havn't choped one ball and it dosn't realy jam. It is so acurate and so powerful I was playin with my friends and I shot all of them at least 3 times and I didn't get hit once. I had the chance to get this or a Tippman, but I chose the BT. Most of the people I play with have Tippmans and I don't regret getting this gun.
Conclusion: If your a woods ball player you deffintely want this gun it's great im gonna give it a 10.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Argelmcgee Sunday, April 22nd, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Marker Setup: Tippmann A-5 with Response Trigger
Polished Internals
Palmer 12 inch Brass Barrel
Lapco Snapshot Barrel .687
Pure Energy 68cu 4500 psi Compressed Air
Palmer's Stabilizer
SpecOps A-5A2 Stock
Kingman Java Remote Coil
TechT Vortex Mod
JCS Redhot Powertube/ Hexadecagonal bolt

Backup:
BT-4 Combat
Any barrel I scrounge off my A-5
Polished internals
New trigger spring
Recommended
Upgrades:
New barrel, polished internals, new trigger spring or electronic trigger
Strengths: Durable, reliable, simple, easy to use, upgradeable, inexpensive
Weaknesses: Relatively inefficient, relatively hard to take apart.
Review: Ok, I actually won my BT-4 at one of the West Point scenario games. My team (E-Jam Red Raiders) won MVT, and I had the right ticket for the last BT-4 they were giving out. I got home, polished it up, and replaced the horribly stiff stock trigger spring with a cut-down clicky pen spring.

Gun is a basic blowback semi, relatively inefficient, and needs at least a new barrel to get to normal accuracy, but it will last for EVER. There's not much else you can say. The trigger mechanism and handle seemed more durable than that of my A-5, which was cool, but I dislike the inability to quick-strip it, which just translates to more difficulty taking it apart.
Conclusion: Reliable gun, well worth the $160.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

GMoney00013 Monday, April 9th, 2007
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 26 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmans
Marker Setup: Currently nothing
Recommended
Upgrades:
Upgrades?...Not even worth buying
Strengths: Not much
Weaknesses: BT-4 itself, nuff-said
Review: My friend bought this gun at our local shop for around 150$. By far the biggest waste of money i've ever seen spent on paintball, and on anything for that matter. This gun is terriblye unaccurate. You're better off shooting forty yards to the left of the guy and you'd end up hitting other players. Honestly, im supprised my friend lasted the whole game, but at the end, he was bunkered because of the rate of fire given by his gun, about 4 bps. next game, he shot a bolt out of his barrel and the feedneck cracked cuz of the blow back from the c02. The c02 effiency....damn...wastes sooooo much on terrible shots..my friend got 300 shots out of a 20oz. after my expeirence with this gun, if u buy it, you have a thing for throwing money out of the window.
Conclusion: See above
Rating:
1 out of 10
I found this review  
9 Comments - Add Comment

Mr.K Saturday, April 7th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month8 of 9 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder Elite (my first marker)
Tippmann A-5
Tippmann 98 Custom
Marker Setup: Tippmann A-5:
Flatline barrel
Tapco T6 stock
Pro Caps remote line with slide check
Lapco Spyder to A-5 barrel adapter

Kingman Spyder Elite (circa 1999):
Smart Parts Linear 14" barrel
Shockteck Striker Springs

BT-4 Combat (Rental):
Smart Parts Progressive 12" barrel
Custom camouflage paint

Tippmann 98 Custom:
PMI Razzor 14" barrel
Custom camouflage paint
Recommended
Upgrades:
As is the case with most stock markers, replace the barrel.
Strengths: Well-balanced, fairly accurate out of the box, mil-sim upgrades.
Weaknesses: Plastic, spring-operated feed elbow assembly latch. Field stripping.
Review: Bought a BT-4 Rental from a former paintball field operator getting out of the business. I paid $65 (he included a V-Force mask, Extreme Rage dual pod carrier, and a 20 oz CO2 tank.)

I got to try it and played a few games before I shelled out the cash. I was impressed with how balanced the BT-4 was and it's accuracy and distance for being completely stock.

The marker was well maintained for being a former rental. The inside and internal parts were clean and lubed.

As far as upgrades go, I took my BT-4 Rental apart and custom painted it camo (since I primarily play woods ball.) I bought a Smart Parts 12" Progressive barrel online, which I should be receiving at the beginning of next week. I would have bought a 14" barrel, but with the distance I was shooting with the stock 8.5", I figured 12" would be sufficient.

Take down and cleaning is a cinch.

My only complaints are field stripping the marker...forget about it -- there are too many screws to lose and too many allen wrenches to juggle -- and the means the plastic feed elbow assembly is secured to the BT-4.

It was a poor design decision by BT Paintball Designs to use a plastic, spring operated latch to secure the feed elbow assembly to the picatinny rail.

The other day, while attempting to reload and close the lid on my hopper, I knocked the feed elbow assembly completely off, spilling my paintballs onto the deck.

I had to order a completely new feed elbow for $7.50, which included shipping, because the latch was worn down and it would not stay secure, in place.

Losing my hopper and feed elbow because BT chose to use plastic rather than a screw has forced me to lower my rating.

Conclusion: All in all this is a great marker. The positives outweigh the negatives. It shoots straight, is well balanced, and fairly durable. It is a good choice for us woods ballers and scenario types. The stock barrel is fine for CQB. I also like the mil-sim upgrades, though they are a bit expensive.

BT Paintball Designs customer service/support is excellent and responsive.

The BT-4 is a nice, quality, cheaper alternative to more expensive markers with the same performance.

Though I bought mine dirt cheap and with the few issues that I've encountered, I still wouldn't hesitate to buy one brand new (less than $130.)
Rating:
8 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, May 5th, 2007 at 3:00 am PST
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

King_Of_God Saturday, March 31st, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
6 months4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippman 98
Marker Setup: BT-4
A-5 Flatline
Halo B hopper
Recommended
Upgrades:
NEW BARREL!!!!!!!
remote cable if you dont like the weight
Strengths: accurte
nice feel to it
A-5 barrels
takes 98 parts
Millitary weave
Weaknesses: HEAVY
5 allen keys
time consuming feild strip
sights dont help unless flat line
Review: ok first lets get one thing out of the way. i love this gun! in my opion it takes the best out of the 98 and then throws the barrel threads of the A-5 so its kind of a mish mash of the tippman products (even though BT means Ben Tippman) the selling point for me was that this gun was very cheap around 80 on ebay the moving fore grip is like a god send beacuase you can exchange the stock front grip for a acctaul millitary grip/parts...vury nice! another big plus is that this is a very accurte gun even with the stock barrel its still deadly out of the box but i would still recomend you get a differnet barrel to get the full potentiol out of this bad boy. now for the bad this is a very heavy beast ussauly with a full co2 and hopper mine weighs about 7 pounds also the feild strip is extremely long because you have take off the grip frame to get to all the guts. another very minor thing is that the sights dont help because they are 1/2 a inch below so unless you flatline it it will not help you at all (but who uses the sights any ways?)
Conclusion: great gun good buy and the good outways the bad A LOT with this the fact that you also get to put on real millitary parts is a very good idea instead of shelling out 30 dollers for a complete rip off of a paintball version
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

goftoid93 Sunday, March 25th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Marker Setup: Bt-4 combat marker,
16 inch barrel,
200 ball hopper.
Recommended
Upgrades:
A longer barrel.
Strengths: Well accurate
very reliable
nice weight
Weaknesses: barrel
when Co2 is low guns accuracy can be off
Review: Even though I am pretty rookie in the paintball marketing stuff i still fell that i can give a good opinion for those thinking about buying this marker.

The price for this gun is amazing compared to the tippman A-5 and the Tippman 98. You are pretty much paying less for an equal or better gun.

The accuracy of this gun is pretty good with the stock barrel but an upgraded barrel would work you wonders. Another thing is to buy at least a 20 oz tank because when it is low, the accuracy is well off.

The look of this gun is totally military... especially if u get it in camo. Along with most of Ben Tippman's markers. I also like the weight of this gun because it feels like you are holding a gun, and not a toy.
Conclusion: I feel that this is a good marker for people that feel like going to a paintball field once or twice a month, having some fun, and shooting some balls.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

c1rca57 Tuesday, March 20th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month4 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
tippmann 98 custom
Marker Setup: bt-4 combat
stock barrel
20 oz co2 tank
200 round gravity feed hopper
Recommended
Upgrades:
none
Strengths: Look
Price
Movable feeder

Weaknesses: None
Review: The first time i bought this gun it was missing a screw and i couldn't believe it. i had to take it back and get a new on. it shoots great and looks nice. i haven't found any weaknesses yet but i might find one soon. i thought it was cheap i mean it was only 15 for the gun and was the cheapest from everywhere else.
Conclusion: Buy this gun if you dont got that much cash it only cost me 250 and is great quailty but what else can you expect from a tippmann.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (10):  First  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  8  |  9  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media