paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / BT Paintball Design BT-4 Combat / BT Paintball Design BT-4 Combat / BT Paintball Design BT-4 Combat / BT Paintball Design BT-4 Combat

BT Paintball Design BT-4 Combat Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount BT Paintball Design

Buy BT Paintball Design BT-4 Combat

Paintball Low-End Mechanical Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


BT Paintball Design BT-4 Combat
[ View Photos (34) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 93
Average Rating: 8.8 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $160

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The BT-4 Combat is the choice of demanding players who are looking for a solid and cost effective base to build up with custom parts with the ability to use military spec features. The combat comes with BT reliability and battle tested durability
Product Availability 
The BT Paintball Design BT-4 Combat is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (10):  First  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  8  |  9  |  10
        Next Page
robotman Saturday, March 17th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
tippmann a5
Marker Setup: tippmann a5 w/e-grip
apex barrel system
smart parts progressive barrel
bt4 combat
Recommended
Upgrades:
e-grip
new barrel
stock
Strengths: Reliable
Well balanced
Same barrel threads as a5.
lots of rails.
Same stock as 98c.
Weaknesses: Sort of heavy.
Chops like a blender with an egrip.
Review: Its a pretty good gun over all.
I think the strengths and weaknesses pretty much describe it.
I do have to say that after a while i started to want some thing more (Thats my opinion)
It just seemed to stock after playing whit it for a while.
Definetly a good first gun for any new player!
Conclusion: Very nice reliable woods ball gun.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

robobart Tuesday, March 13th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
98c, pro-carbine
Marker Setup: BT-4 Combat
Recommended
Upgrades:
New Barrel
Strengths: Dependability, customer-support, and balance.
Weaknesses: Accuracy and to a lesser extent quality control.
Review: The BT-4 is a very good gun. It is basically the same as a 98c, but it has a few nice extra features:

1) Slide-away feedport
2) The balance is better than the 98c, the 98c seems front heavy, while the BT-4 seems just right.
3) The picatinny rails are nice
4) The field strip is easier than the 98c, the trigger/handle comes off in one piece like in the A-5.

There are at least two production runs of this gun. The older production run has a ball-bearing detent, while the newer one has a reversible rubber detent. I got the older one. It looks like BT will support both types. Their customer support seems to be outstanding. The hex wrenches that came with my gun didn't really fit. Oddly enough they fit my friends Spyder MR-1 great.


Also it came missing one of the less essential O-rings. I called BT and they put one in the mail for me right away!

UPDATE: Got the O-ring in the mail today. They gave me a whole new set. What great customer support!!!
Conclusion: It has worked fantastic. When buying a gun I was choosing between a 98c and this one. If you are going for something that is tried and true and stood the test of time, then probably go with the 98. If you want something that is different, and seems like a slightly improved design, I'd go with the BT-4. I'll give it a 9 for now (wrenches/O-ring), and re-review it after more play.

UPDATE: After the good experience with customer support, I've up-ed the score to a 10.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Monday, April 2nd, 2007 at 7:47 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

SabbathFan Sunday, February 25th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
1 year1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
tested an A-5, and an 98 used/owned some of the viewloader series
Marker Setup: BT-4
16in Barrel
Remote Line
48ci 3000
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel
A Good Size HPA (air)
Co2 users get a expansion chamber if you dont want to use HPA
Strengths: Looks Awesome
Detent has lasted over 10,000 shots,
Durable
Good weight
Feel of Gun
Weaknesses: Gas Hog
Upgrades x 10(explanation in body)
Trigger pull
Tearing Down


Review: NEW~!~!~NEW!~!~!~NEW~!~!~! 9/14/2007

well, the bt has started to fail, after 30 thousand paintballs the powertube finaly cracked, i called bt to get a new one and they sent me a new one right away, and what do you know that cracked to..... so i called again and they are sending me a new one.....
so for this annoying incovienence i have to drop the rating from an 8 to 7.5 but i can to ill round up

to start off:

I absolutely love this gun even though it has some weaknesses.

I bought this gun at a bike shop that specializes in bikes, rc cars, and well paintball. i got it for a good price of $99 (they broke up a package deal and i don't think they were paying attention). I got home and immediately opened it, and obviously it was the coolest looking thing to come out of a box. I was eager to use it after what my friends have told me about it, and when using it playing them in the woods. My first time putting it to a serious test was at Matt's Outback which is an amazing field and also reviewed on pbreview. the gun fit right in with all the other woods ball players that were playing that day. the gun preformed amazing, first crono was a roughly 280ish so i made no adjustments. The gun held up in the games through out the day and i roughly put 2500 paintballs through it that day and i went through 3 20oz co2 tanks. About 4 trips later i had some fun with extra money i had and i purchased a 16 inch barrel, and a remote line, also that day i rented and HPA tank a wow did the barrel and HPA really increase the accuracy of the gun (no idea who made the barrel it was something brother and it was $14 they just wanted to get rid of them). but sadly that was my last time at the field due to my focus on flight lesson instead of paintball.

Issues with the upgrades

The one thing i truly hate about this gun is the lack of upgrades, on all the websites i look at its always referring to the A-5 or 98 correct me if im wrong but i believe the BT-4 has a5 threads (i know that) and 98 internals (correct me their). I also have no idea if a stock for a 98 will fit on a bt, and that is what i want my next purchase to be, along with a HPA tank, the upgrades for the BT are extremely confusing (in my opinion) and wish sites could realize that tippmann is the only upgradeable modestly priced woodsball markers on the market.
Conclusion: This gun is a great gun for any level of play with the right upgrades (if you can find any) you can have a extremely kick butt woods ball marker.
Rating:
8 out of 10Last edited on Friday, September 14th, 2007 at 7:29 pm PST
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

SkyNet2x Friday, February 23rd, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann 98 Custom- sturdier
Tippmann A5- its an A5. Nuff' said.
Marker Setup: BT-4 Combat
F.E. Collapsible CAR stock
LAPCO Bigshot 14" Barrel
Pure Energy deluxe remote line
Recommended
Upgrades:
Stock
remote kit
upgraded barrel
Strengths: - Upgradeable
- can grow with you
- 98c endcap, A5 barrels
- removable front grip
- Cheap
Weaknesses: - poor design on screws
- Tedious disassembly
- impossible to field strip
- Gas PIG
-sucks without upgrades
Review: When I first bought the BT-4, I was looking for a Tippmann-style gun that was expandable but cheaper than the 98 custom. The BT fits both these requirements to a "T."

The BT-4 is designed by Ben Tippmann, one of the Tippmann brothers who broke away from the parent company to form his own. It makes sense then that the BT-4 is essentially a clone of the 98 Custom. The BT has a 98c endcap for recieving stocks, and an A5 barrel adapter that allows it to receive barrels designed for the A5. The front grip is removable and completely vertical - unlike the 98 Custom - which is really handy. The BT is cheap, only around $140 (in Canada, anyways) which is always nice becuase you're not paying for the Tippmann brand name.

Maybe I'm rough. Maybe I'm an idiot. What I do know for sure, however, is that after ONLY 4 DAYS OF USE, and maybe 6 times being disassembled and reassembled, this gun has been experiencing some issues. The chassis/ main body is made of an extremely soft white metal, maybe aluminum, that is really easy to disfigure. While screwing the two halves of the gun back together again one day, I noticed that the nut I was trying to screw into was no longer there! Instead, it had ripped THROUGH the chassis under the minimal force of tightening the screw.

There are also 2 Chicago screws that attach the pistol grip to the rest of the frame. The receiving side of the screw has a hexagonal head that is sunk into the material of the grip. However, the grip is made of a composite plastic, and the hexagonal heads sometimes spin in their little hole, stripping the material until it has been rounded. You can now no longer attach the grip to your gun, because the screws cannot be tightened.

A couple minor things: This gun is a major gas pig. Not really a big issue for most, but if you're playing in the back field with some buddies on the weekend, it can be a pain. The other thing is that the coating scratches really easy. After only 1 day of play, my gun looked like it had been used for a whole season. After 1 scenario, my friend's BT-4
Conclusion: This gun is a good one for beginners, mostly because it can grow with you. You can expand it with any stock designed for the Tippmann 98 Custom, or any barrel designed for the Tippmann A5. Unfortunately it has some minor design flaws that MAY be an issue, but many people don't find it so.

I WOULD STILL BUY THIS GUN if you are not uber-hardcore, or if you are looking for a cheap but reliable backup marker. However, if you can afford the dough for an A5, its worth the extra cash.

I give it an 8 because: The BT-4 is good for beginners, being cheap and simple. It is really upgradeable, not quite to the extent of the A5 but the next thing to it. Thats the bonus: It can grow with you. I don't intent to get rid of mine or replace it anytime soon, and I would not be ashamed to be a veteran player with a beefed-up BT-4.
Rating:
8 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, March 3rd, 2007 at 3:04 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

MFrymus Monday, February 12th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann A-5
Marker Setup: BT4 Marker
Stock Barrel
Gravity Feed Hopper
20oz CO2 Tank
(Un-upgraded Marker)
Recommended
Upgrades:
1. !!!!!BARREL!!!!!! - Very Important! ( 14'' or 16'') - possible J&J
2. FEEDNECK - Necessary!
3. E-Grip - Important - slow gun!
4. Trigger - Not necessary (Double)
Strengths: - Strong
- Good Balance
- Not Really Heavy (Greater than Normal Though!)
- Good Price
Weaknesses: - Chops Like Hell!!
- Horrible Accuracy
Review: This is a very good gun to be using but it does in fact have a few major problem in it that probably most markers have. The feedneck on this gun SUCKS! i highly recommend replacing it unless you like playing with a lot of chopping. The balls constantly get stuck and chop.

The Stock Barrel is very very short and it needs a new barrel. I played with this gun and it had bad accuracy. I used great paint so it wasn't that it was the barrel. Paintballs flew in all directions even holding it still.

Another problem on this gun is its trigger. The pull is extremely long and it can't go very fast no matter how fast you are. It can reach up to about 3-5 bps.
Conclusion: It is a pretty gun gun to use but without any upgrades on it, it sucks. It would be a LOT better!! with a barrel and feedneck to prevent chops - a major loss in your paint. Strong gun gun but upgrade NECESSARY!

I would give this gun a 6.5 but ill give it an 7 to be fair.
Rating:
7 out of 10Last edited on Monday, February 12th, 2007 at 3:24 pm PST
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

Hanee Monday, January 29th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
1 year1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
98 Custom
Marker Setup: BT-4
14" JJ Ceramic
Recommended
Upgrades:
New Barrel
New Sight Rail (Stock one does not line up right)
Strengths: VERY Durable
Adjustible hand grip
Weaknesses: Uses alot of CO2
Heavy
Inaccurate (Stock)
Review: Well after playing paintball for a year with my friends I decided it was time to get my own gun. After some searching I found this gun. It looked nice and with a price tag that was less than a 98 Custom. So after some debate with me financial situation I decided to get this gun and all my friends went with a 98 Custom or just got a 50$ gun and have MR1ís now.
So I ordered it online and it came in after a few weeks and out of the box it shot nice. I went to our paintball course and shot a bit but when I got to shoot my friends 98 Custom I immediately saw the difference. The 98 Customs accuracy was great so I got my JJ barrel. After I got that the accuracy was much better than the stock 98 Custom.
As for weight, hour long paintball games I donít mind but when I played a 8 hour scenario game I felt the weight BAD. But if you go remote that takes a lot of weight off.
As for using a lot of CO2 I just have three 20 oz tanks so itís not much trouble for me. I have dropped this gun many times and it still keeps going.
Conclusion: If your new to the sport and dont have alot of $$$ then this gun is a good choice. It gets an 8 because it could be more accurate stock, take less CO2 to run, and didn't weigh a ton for the long games
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

irobotnic Thursday, January 25th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
98 Custom
A-5
Marker Setup: 98 Custom, 48/3000 Pure Energy HPA tank,Empire 14" Barrel, Gravity feed hopper,everything else stock.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel of course
E-grip because it has a bit slow of a rate of fire
Strengths: Durable
Nicely Priced

Weaknesses: A bit heavy
Trigger pull a bit heavy
Not to many upgrades
Short stock barrel
Review: Well this gun is not bad. I remember when I rented them before I got my 98 Custom. They are a bit cheaper than the 98 Custom bit still good. They are very durable and can take some wear and tear. It is pretty good as soon as you get it. It is a great gun for begginners like me, and it works very well with C02, as in another case some guns don't work as well with it.
Conclusion: This gun is pretty good. I recomend it. it, I rented one since then, and i realized it's not so diffrent from my 98 Custom, They are like cousins. This gun works very well, is consistant, and will keep up with you for years to come.
Rating:
7 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, February 22nd, 2007 at 4:58 pm PST
I found this review  
5 Comments - Add Comment

Jeff_Meister Friday, January 5th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder Victor
Spyder Rodeo
SP Shocker
Marker Setup: Shocker '03 vision with:
-HE Bolt,
-ShockTech gas thru grip,
-Shocktech feedneck,
-New Designs Roller Trigger
Smart Parts All American two piece 12'' and 14'' with freak kit.
Halo B with Rip Drive
68/5000 Evil Scion HPA with Dye Rhino Cover
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel
E-trigger
HPA
Strengths: Reliabilty
Weaknesses: Speed
Field stripping
Review: The BT-4 is in the same league as the Tippman 98c, and well it performs much like the same in my opinion. Ther marker has a tough shell, but because of this it is heavy. I really doubt you could break it however. Stock the marker in incredibly slow, and not overly accurate, but not horrible either. The marker is a good woodsball gun if your looking for something other than an A-5 or 98c, but its practically the same thing. My biggest gripe would have to be cleaning. Stripping, there is not field strip to begin with, and I find it annoying to clean paint out of the picatanny rail. It has an offset hopper, which allows for aiming down the barrel, which is nice for beginners but absolutly unnecassary for experienced players. An E-trigger and E-hopper would be a great upgrade for this marker to competetive. Also a longer, new barrel. If your getting into speedball just dont even bother though, its simply not worth it. Woodsball, its a decent gun, and has worked flawlessly everytime I have used it, even under demanding conditions. HPA would help its consistency a lot as well, but runs fine on CO2 no problems.
Conclusion: Its a tough reliable marker. Not recommended for speedball, would use for woodsball however, some ups make it a great marker. Decent marker stock as well.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Hammhead Tuesday, January 2nd, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
spyder special edition
tippmann pro carbine (back up gun only)
Marker Setup: BT4 combat
bt designs egrip
14inch freak jr w/.689 insert
JT 50ci 3000psi HPA
Empire realoader (clear)
custom pro style drop forward
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel
drop forward
Strengths: Very Very Reliable
Weaknesses: Stock barrel is only 8 inches.
Review: I got my BT for my birthday. The gun has been very reliable even with the E-Grip. The stock barrel is kind of loud but a longer barrel will make all the difference. The E-Grip is capable of around 15bps whcich is fast for a Tippmann. The gun is very acurate with the 14ich freak jr and the .689 insert. I use Origin Frontline or Orgin Signature Series.
Conclusion: For the price of the gun you cant get a better deal. also the reliability is incredible.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

bvdave Thursday, November 30th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann Custom pro
Marker Setup: Stock
Recommended
Upgrades:
Expansion Chamber
barrel
Strengths: Very durable
Accurate
Tough
Low mantinance
Movable front grip
Weaknesses: Feedneck, easy to break hard to replace.. not as good as 98
Review: I am very impressed with the job BT did with this marker. It is very simular to the 98 but with some differences.

LIkes: I love the foregrip, you can take it right off or move or closer or further away, makes for a better fit no matter how long or short your arms might be. I also love the body. The body will look much better with scenario upgrades such as stocks or barrel kits then any 98 will. I also prefer the finish and paintjob. my 98 scratches like nuts and they look terrible due to the type of coating. this is a more sleek and durable finish that even if scratched will not stand out nearly as much.

I found when I took this marker apart it was one of the simplist markers I have ever worked on. I absolutly loved it. no springs poping out at me like on the 98. everything is extremily straight forward and easy to figure out. if you get a chance and havent seen it yet, take one of these apart! i was very impressed at how simple it was. meaning less parts to loose and less things to break.

I find it also feels more durable in general. I find the stock barrel to be pretty accurate however it is something I would recommend upgrading in the future anyways for better accuracy (like every paintball markers stock barrel)

I found it to be amazing on co2 compared to what I was expecting. my first use I got close to 1000 shots on a 12 oz tank (chronoed under 275) which is part of the reason but its still great. in fact I have 2 of these and was using them both that day which was relativly warm and each marker got about 1000 shots from the 12oz tanks they were using. i was expecting 500 so i was impressed to say the least. when I put it up to 285 however I expect this to drop.


Perfect marker for woodsball, if speedballs your thing I suggest you dont buy this, but if you wanna play some real paintball buy it and get into the woods!
Conclusion: if you want a extremily durable marker this is for you! its also great because everyone owns tippmanns so you dont need to be a sheep... if you like scenario this is also perfect as BT seems focoused mainly on super tough scenario stuff and there are many great upgrades for this marker. and super easy to clean and strip no small springs and stuff to loose like on 98.

Recommended!
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Monday, January 8th, 2007 at 4:48 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (10):  First  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  8  |  9  |  10
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media