paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / BT Paintball Design BT-4 Combat / BT Paintball Design BT-4 Combat / BT Paintball Design BT-4 Combat / BT Paintball Design BT-4 Combat

BT Paintball Design BT-4 Combat Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount BT Paintball Design

Buy BT Paintball Design BT-4 Combat

Paintball Low-End Mechanical Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


BT Paintball Design BT-4 Combat
[ View Photos (34) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 93
Average Rating: 8.8 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $160

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The BT-4 Combat is the choice of demanding players who are looking for a solid and cost effective base to build up with custom parts with the ability to use military spec features. The combat comes with BT reliability and battle tested durability
Product Availability 
The BT Paintball Design BT-4 Combat is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (10):  First  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  8  |  9  |  10
        Next Page
danthemanwhocan Thursday, November 2nd, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
tippman 98
Marker Setup: bt-4 combat
tactical car stock
apex barrel
m4 sight rail
halo led frontman
Recommended
Upgrades:
barrel (apex)
Strengths: Accurate with apex barrel
Good range
Very strong gun(never broke down)
Very modifiable
Weaknesses: Bit heavy
Gas hog (700 shots to 16oz co2 can)
Review: when i 1st started using this gun i was amazed by the quality for the little money it costs.All my friends and i go recballin and they loved it too so we all ended up with bt-4s. The gun has lots of upgrades and things to do with it eg double triggers barrels and stocks etc. Its pretty much a tippman a5 but cheaper and slower.
Conclusion: Buy this gun its great for beginers and awesome for recreation paint ballers. I love it !!!

the only reason i give it a 9 is because of the gas usage and weight when modified..
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

williamkablitz Friday, September 1st, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
6 months1 of 10 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
tippmann 98c stock
tippmann pro carbine stock
Marker Setup: tippmann 98c teardrop barrel, and stock barrel, 32 degree remote line, flat olive paint job.

bt-4 combat 32 degree remote line, j&J ceramic barrel, a-5 flatline barrel, raised sight scope, car stock.
Recommended
Upgrades:
very possibly an expansion chamber but I havn't tried yet so don't quote me on that.
barrel upgrade wouldn't hurt
Strengths: Sliding hopper elbow
Not too pricey
Looks good
Easy tear down
Weaknesses: Uses a lot of C02
Speed and accuracy
Upgrades (see review)
Sights
Review: First off I'll tell you that this marker accepts A-5 and 98 parts. (A-5 barrels 98 stocks and internals which can get confusing and the internals from a 98 don't even fit right, I tried) Whats up with that? I know BT is Ben Tippmann but, it is a different company and marker. There arn't too many BT-4 specific upgrades yet.

I bought this marker between 6 months and a year ago after playing woods ball with some friends.

The first time I played I used a rental tippmann pro-carbine and had a great time. The pro shot straight and fast and only used a 20 oz. tank to about 1200 balls, played all day on one tank. Needless to say I was hooked and decided to buy a marker. Not wanting to be like every body else (tippmann 98's - A-5's) I bought the BT-4.

First time I played with this marker I just couldn't seem to hit squat, and the speed felt slow even after many adjustments. By the end of the day I had gone though about 3 20 oz. tanks of C02 to 2000 balls. Wasn't happy at all.

Feeling maybe it was just high expectations, I bought a J&J 14" ceramic barrel and a 32 degree remote line hopping to improve the accuracy and C02 usage for the next month of play. Didn't work!!

Decided to buy a flatline barrel after the second game to see if it would help. Nope!!

I'm Sorry, but I just don't like this gun. Its pretty sorry when I could be happier with a used rental pro-carbine than a brand new marker. Needless to say I became like the rest and bought a used 98c off of eBay for $80 that seems to be better stock with the 8.5" barrel than the BT-4 with a remote and flatline or J&J.
Conclusion: I don't recommend this gun to anybody new or experienced. Do yourself a favor and buy a used 98, pro-lite or pro-carbine off eBay. Save yourself a $100 (not including upgrades) and get a tippmann, you'll be Glad you did.

If BT comes out with some good upgrades to the internals of this gun I might buy them in hopes of it helping with the C02 and speed but I'm not counting on it. And I've already tried to use 98c internals in this gun and they fit to tight and didn't help at all.
Rating:
4 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

Kae9 Tuesday, August 29th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
-Tippmann A-5
Marker Setup: -Stock BT-4 with 20in A-5 barel, 20oz c02
Recommended
Upgrades:
-double trigger
-barel(14-20 in)
-A-5 cyclone hopper
Strengths: -Durable, strong, fast, easy to upgrade
Weaknesses: -Weight
-Some stock parts
-BT-4 is an "air-hog"
Review: I have been using this gun for just over 6 months now and have never had a jam or crack. Its a solid, dependable tactical marker with only a few defaults. It is not very air efficiant and it is quite heavy(for a marker). Not recommended for beginners. Strongly recommended for the players who love intense S.W.A.T-like markers. The acuracy is satisfying as well as the speed. Could be a little faster(double trigger).
Conclusion: Greate gun for woodsball and casual scenario. Not at all recommended for speed ball or fast paced games. I do recommend the BT-4 to all real players!
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

humanbeersponge Friday, August 25th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
1 year3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Hired markers
Ion
Marker Setup: BT 4 Combat.
E Grip
MG20 Magazine Carrier and SA80 Magazine.
Evo 2 Hopper
Cut down JJ Ceramic and Apex Tip
88cu 4000psi Pure Energy Air Bottle
Remote Coil - Ops Gear with Slide Check
Ops Gear G36 Folding Sto
M4 Carry Handle
Rap4 Tac Ten Vest
JCS 98C Powertube.

Recommended
Upgrades:
Better barrel.
Strengths: Accuracy
Reliable
Cheap
Easy to maintain (Idiot Proof)
Weaknesses: None Really
Review: Bought a package to get me started, got sick of hired guns chopping balls. Got a package of Marker, JT Elite Mask, 20oz Tank for ?130 dont know what that would be in dollars.

Used the marker for the first time on Sunday the 20th August. Worked really well, not a single ball chopped after approx 1000 balls used.

With my experiance only being the BT 4 and hired markers then my new BT is a huge improvement. Time will tell how reliable the marker is long term.

Update 06/09/2006. Just upgraded the barrel to a 16" smart parts progressive, and a remote coil. Will be using these next weekend and give a report.

Update 07/06/2006. trialed the Smart Parts against the stock barrel, firing from about 60` at a brick wall ,the stock barrel was giving a grouping approx 10" diameter. Changed to the Smart Parts and this improved to approx 6" grouping. Noticed that when the balls were impacting on the wall the ones fired from the stock barrel were leaving shell debris in about a 8` diameter when using the Smart parts this seemed to increase. iI had to clean the upstairs windows which is about 20` from the impact point. This was using cheap Spank paint.

Update 17/9/06 - Played for a full day using the BT 4. Shot over 1100 balls and not a single chop. This is a good solid marker. If you are looking at starting out then this does the job. Its solid and reliable and thats what first timer want. You dont need to go down the line of must upgrade ASAP. Buy this enjoy yourself and then with more experience you can decide what upgrades will best suit you.

Update 17/2/07 - Having put many thousand of paintballs of varied quality through my marker I can say reliablilty has been superb. The BT has not let me down once. I have changed the powertube for a JCS Powertube which seems to be better than the stock powertube. The marker is rugged and takes abuse with no complaint. The E-Grip is a nice peice of kit but make sure your hopper can keep up or you will end up spraying liquid paint. I cannot understand low scoring reviews, this is a great marker and highly upgradable. Dont believe idiots saying no upgrades. This simply is not true. Also BT`s customer services are second to none. One guy I know called them and spoke to Ben Tippmann to get a issue resolved. You cant get better than that.
Conclusion: Worked well for me and gave me ad advantage in accuracy, fire rate and range over the people using hired markers.
Good first marker if you want reliabilty with little maintenace, try the BT 4.

Played major scenario game using over 3000 paint and no problems what so ever.

Hugely reliable marker.

Used BT at local walkon and performed very well, chopped ball at 13BPS due to Revvy not keeping up with E Grip, changed to Apache loader no more chopping.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, August 22nd, 2007 at 8:34 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

bear68 Tuesday, August 22nd, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann Model 98c
Tippmann A-5
Marker Setup: BT-4 Combat
Smart parts Linear 14" barrel
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel
Strengths: Durability
No Chops
Upgradable
Weaknesses: Fire rate. But if your accurate it doesn't matter much.
Review: For woods ball, IT'S A Ben "TIPPMANN" it takes the beating and keeps on kicking. It has never chopped on me. With the aftermarket barrel you can issue nothing but punishment. I only had one issue, a valve failure but BT was prompt in its repair and I have not had another problem sense. I recommend this marker to anyone especielly beginners for it price. I purchased it in a player pack for $150 with a mask, tank and hopper. It really in conclusion, except for the cyclonic feed feels like the best of a 98 and an A-5.
Conclusion: It is a quality gun at a good price.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

patno Monday, August 21st, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
6 months33 of 37 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann 98 Custom
BT-16 Series Guns
Spyder E-99 (P.O.S)
Marker Setup: BT4-Combat
14" J&J Ceramic Barrel
20OZ CO2
Recommended
Upgrades:
-Definately A new barrel, The stock one is as accurate as a McDonalds Straw with wadded up paper in it.
-Buy more allen keys... You will lose the ones that come with it.
-Stock ( Thats just me, Im used to actual rifles, I need a stock or I feel naked :-)
Strengths: -Very Accurate.
-Well Balanced.
-Nicely weighted.
-CO2 Efficcient.
-Easy to Modify.
-Durable
Weaknesses: -The stock barrel
-Inaccurate when low on CO2 (What Gun Isn't?)
Review: I have been paintballing for 3 years and have used and abused my fair share of guns, Dove into bunkers, Run into trees, fell off of and over obstacles, and fallen onto the gun, and no damage yet. With a longer barrel, better air and good paint in the hopper, this gun is the best marker you can get for the price.
Conclusion: I said what I wanted to say above, but there is another box here.
I'ts a damn good gun for the price, Extremely accurate, Durable ( It really is, I'm so rough with that gun that the designers of the gun would cry if they saw me play :) *Coughs* Woodball *Coughs*
The main points:
-Accuracy
-Durability
-Efficcient
-Easily Modified
-Balanced
-Nicely weighted

( Exactly the principles all guns should be designed under )
I like this gun, and I think that all paintball players who use this gun will be very pleased.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Sharpshooter-88 Sunday, August 20th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippman 98 Custom (my friend's)
BT-4 Rentals (hence the 3 months of use)
Marker Setup: BT-4 Combat (drool)
JT Spectra Thermal Mask (sweet)
Pure Energy 20 oz Co2 (cool cool)
Recommended
Upgrades:
possibly Stocks and Mag kits for that mil-sim feel
new barrel (but stock isn't that bad)
Strengths: Strong!!
Accurate
Consistent
Highly Customizable
Comfortable
Fuel Efficient as hell!!
Weaknesses: Ironsight... if you really look at it closely, so none actually
Review: Upon the morning of Operation Halo 2 in Ontario, Canada, I finally purchased the marker I had been looking for....the BT-4 Combat.

The BT-4 Combat is one of the most reliable, durable and just plain SWWEEET markers I've ever used. It has a long pictany rail for sights, lasers, tac lights and also has a removable/adjustable fore grip. Also, it has an enormous amount of possible upgrades such as stocks,mag kits, barrels, shrouds and other mil-sim upgrades. IMHO, this marker is better for upgrades then the 98 Custom.

When I fired my first 100 rounds, I was suprised at the accuracy of the marker (for a stock barrel). My shots never tapered off and always went where I wanted them to go. About 40% of the time, my shots landed on top of each other or landed 3-6 inches away. (This was at 180 feet) Even after I had shot 800 rounds, the accuracy was still going strong! To top it off, I never chopped a ball!

When holding the BT-4 Combat, it sits perfectly in your hands. The handle and foregrip are both made of a hard composite that is smooth and comfortable. If you find that the foregrip is too far away, simply unscrew the bottom and slide back the grip where ever you want. Also, this gun is light and nicely balanced with a full hopper and a full 20 oz co2 tank. Oh, and the whole marker is a METAL chasis and has METAL parts....no internal plastic parts!! (YAY! No Internal breakages!) Also, the feedneck slides off the pictany rail when you press the bottom button hard... a much better system then the 98 Custom flip-away feedneck (even though thats a good thing too)

Only one drawback... this isn't a good gun for speedball, it's designed specifically for woodsball, but I think anybody could have figured that out just by looking at it.

EDIT: Sorry for the dumbness of my accuracy test, but this was at 60 feet...lol, I have no depth perception.
Conclusion: Bravo, Ben Tippmann, Bravo! What will BT Products create next??!!?!
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, September 24th, 2006 at 7:28 am PST
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

mrcanada77 Thursday, July 20th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Friends guns, this is my first.

~Tippmann 98 Custom
~Spyder Pilot ACS
~Obrian (No idea what brand, it is wicked screwed up)
~And this wierd pistol gun
Marker Setup: Marker ~ BT-4 Combat
Barrel ~ 8 in.
Gas ~ 20 oz co2

standard BT-4 combat gun
Recommended
Upgrades:
~Double Trigger
~New Handle Grip
~Barrel (or different
~Sight Rail
~Compressed Air instead of co2 (Recommended for any gun that allows compressed air)
Strengths: ~Good accuracy
~Good Begginers Gun
~Very Upgradable
~Great Price
Weaknesses: ~When gas is low, not as acurate
~Little bit heavy
Review: Got this gun as a birthday present a week ago, shot off 500 paintballs first time using it and it shot great. I had a 1 on 1 war with my friend 2 days later, and had a great shot on him from across the field, and his gun (Spyder Pilot ACS) couldnt even reach me.

This is a great beginners gun and is very durable. I think it is much better than Tippmann 98 Custom and A-5, but i am just not very fond of Tippmanns.

This gun is much much better with a double trigger upgrade and sight rail. The double trigger helps you shoot faster and to me is much more comfortable. The sight rail has a better sight than the regular sight that came mounted on the gun, but you can take off the mounted sight very easily with an alan wrench.

This gun also is very easy to take apart. Only a few screws take the gun apart which lets you easily clean out and fix your gun.
Conclusion: In conclusion, i think anyone new to paintballing should but this gun. Yes it has its weaknesses, but it is just a beginners gun. Obviously, some one who wants to upgrade to a new gun altogether shouldnt buy this gun. I would recomend a BT Ironhorse, Banshee, or Assault if you want to stick with the BT brand.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

Mr..Clean Saturday, July 15th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
6 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann 98 custom
Marker Setup: BT-4 Combat
14" J&J Ceramic S2
VL200 Gravity Feed Hopper
12 oz CO2
Recommended
Upgrades:
New barrel
Strengths: Pretty good stock
Durable
A5 Threads
Mounting Rail
Weaknesses: Little heavy
Loud bolt
Review: I got the Bt-4 combat in February and have been quite pleased with it. It's good stock so you don't have to upgrade it right away if you don't want to. Its durable so its not going to break on you in the heat of "combat." It has A5 threads so you could put an A5 flatline on it if you felt like it (I wouldn't) It has adjustable fore grip so you can have the most comfortable balance that you choose. The mounting rail can put military sights and stuff on it which is pretty cool. The only real problems i have with it are that when me and my friends go to some random island in his boat. My marker makes alot of noise because of the bolt. And of course its a little heavy.
Conclusion: I would reccomend to anyone who wants a nice durable marker
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Lmneozoo Wednesday, July 12th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Strengths: -Price
-Rarely Breaks Balls
-slide away feed port
-Durable
Weaknesses: -The sights on the gun are cheap
Review: I have had this gun for 6 months and shot about 2 cases of paint through it. I only broke 2 balls out of approximatly 4000. I broke them the first day i use this gun. This is a good gun for begginers... I suck at writting reveiws, But what i said is true. While playing paintball this winter i was walking back o my friends house i sliped on the ice and fell on my gun and it still shoots accurate as the day i bought it.
Conclusion: If you are a begginer and are looking for a durable low end mechanical gun get it
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (10):  First  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  8  |  9  |  10
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media