paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / BT Paintball Design BT-4 Combat / BT Paintball Design BT-4 Combat / BT Paintball Design BT-4 Combat / BT Paintball Design BT-4 Combat

BT Paintball Design BT-4 Combat Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount BT Paintball Design

Buy BT Paintball Design BT-4 Combat

Paintball Low-End Mechanical Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


BT Paintball Design BT-4 Combat
[ View Photos (34) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 93
Average Rating: 8.8 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $160

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The BT-4 Combat is the choice of demanding players who are looking for a solid and cost effective base to build up with custom parts with the ability to use military spec features. The combat comes with BT reliability and battle tested durability
Product Availability 
The BT Paintball Design BT-4 Combat is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (10):  First  |  6  |  7  |  8  |  9  |  10
        Next Page
Localmotion3668 Tuesday, July 4th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann A-5, Tippmann 98C
Marker Setup: Tippmann A-5
E-grip
BT Apex Barrel
JCS Duel Trigger
A-5 Camo Graphics Kit
Gas Thru T Stock
Ricochet R5
Palmer In-line Stabilizer
32* Remote Line
Custom Modified Shotgun Sling
Recommended
Upgrades:
Whatever floats your boat
Strengths: Very adaptable, lots of rails, looks, simplicity, reliability
Weaknesses: None come to mind
Review: I won this marker at a scenario last weekend. So, for what I payed for it ($0), this gun is perfect. I'll let my brother use it and do whatever he wants to it. It uses A-5 barrel threads, so my old barrel works perfectly on it. The marker looks good and is pretty accurate with the stock barrel. I look at this gun as a 98 Custom with a few key A-5 features, as well as some unique features of it's own.
Conclusion: This is a great gun for anybody who is starting out in the sport. It may leave something to be desired for experienced players, but it's easily adaptable.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

bandit200 Friday, June 30th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
spyder sonix (old),M98
Marker Setup: BT-4
12oz co2
(all stock)
Recommended
Upgrades:
New Barrel
Strengths: Durable
Upgradable
Weight
Price
Weaknesses: Hard to field strip, Stock barrel, Gas Hog
Review: Strengths: Its got a good weight to it u know its there and its a little harder to leave behind.

Its very durable, I have dropped it, banged it around and it will keep fireing.

Very upgradeable, The weaver sight is a nice thing. u can put any standard sights on it (real gun sights) that can be more durable than the paintball ones out there so u know they can take a beating. Barrel adaptors are out there for it so if u want to swap over to spyder threads u can do so.

good product support, there are stocks, bi-pods, barrels, sights u can get for this gun.
Conclusion: I would recommend this to someone who wants a gun that can grow with them.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, July 1st, 2006 at 3:51 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

SmudgeTippmann Saturday, June 24th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months9 of 10 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann Custum 98
Marker Setup: BT4 Combat Marker.
Stock Barrel.
Rage Against Gravity hopper
Recommended
Upgrades:
-16 inch Barrel.
-Not really needed but double trgger.
Strengths: Light.
Accuracy.
Speed.
Weaknesses: When the c02 tank is low the accuracy is horrible(Only when c02 gets low.)
Review: This gun is an excellent marker.
It is very cheap.
fast and accurate.
Light what more do you need in a gun?

Weakness :
As mentioned when C02 is low the gun is so inaccurate.

UPGRADES:
16 inch barrel
Possibly scope

Overall opinion:
Great feel ,Very well priced and it is a very popular gun.
You can upgrade this gun ALOT! Like everything on the gun is upgradable.
Conclusion: I would buy this product.Because it is pretty cheap and good gun.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Alwaysonpoint Friday, June 23rd, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
6 months6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
A-5, Custom 98, Autococker, Couple of Old School Markers
Marker Setup: BT-4 Combat, CP Barrel, CP Drop Forward, CP on/off (reverse mount), Egg HPA 68/4500, Halo feeder
Recommended
Upgrades:
Electronic Feeder & Barrel are a must (as with most markers)
Drop forward, on-off & HPA optional
Strengths: Price, Realistic & Adjustable Foregrip
Same genes as A-5 & Custom 98
Weaknesses: Gravity feed is just too slow, chops paint.
Little Heavy, plastic internals subject to breakage
Review: **(UPDATE)**With several thousand balls and about 3 play dates under my belt since this review was written, my velocity tube cracked on the gun. It is a plastic piece inside, and cannot be fixed in the field. I was sidelined about an hour into an all-day scenario game. No idea why it broke, calling the durability of this gun into question. I will update based upon my experience with BT's customer service.

If you are reading this, you are interested in an affordable entry-level mechanical paintball gun for woods or recreational paintball. You're in this sport for fun only, and you're probably just making the jump to buying your own equipment. That was my scenario a little over a year ago when I started researching my options. My buddies had just dragged me off to a scenario event, and I came home with the PB disease. I borrowed and rented my equipment until I was sure that this was a sport that I was going to stick with. The problem with renting gear is that youre dumping more cash into each day that you play, and the guns that you get (while generally good stuff) are all short-barrelled and slow firing. Once I decided to put rental fee's behind me for good, I set a realistic budget for myself in the hopes that if my wife ever found out, she wouldn't go nuts on me.

If you don't know already, you need to know that unless your goals change, you will forever be happy with either this gun ($129), the Custom 98 ($160) or the A-5 ($250). They are all solid, reliable, accurate and modestly priced. They will all last for years, with little maintenance, and give you few problems along the way. You can bring any of these three up to match the others in most shooting specs, and if you find yourself staring down the barrel of someone else on the rec or woods field, you can rest assured that you've got what you need to take them out. You can also mod any of them to look like one bad-ass assault rifle. I'm not badmouthing any other gun maker out there, I know there are some other great guns too, I just can't speak to them. My friends have all shot Tippmans for years.

For price and stock performance, it really is a toss up between the Custom 98 and the BT-4. Some will tell you that there are more upgrades for the Custom, but a good painballer can install just about anything made for the A5 and somethings made for the 98 into the BT-4. **The A5 response trigger does work in the BT-4, and they are now comming out with an e-grip (and more) tailor made to fit the BT-4** The barrels are also interchangable between the three. The cyclone feeder is the A-5's main advantage over the 98 and BT-4. It is definately a nice feature, but a decent electrofeeder will bring you right up to speed if you don't mind having to change batteries every once & a while. (You can either waste batteries with an electric feeder, or waste gas with the cyclone, again it's a toss up...so long as you don't mind the extra weight and occassional expense of the AA's) One thing that you should also consider is that when the cyclone on the A-5 malfunctions, as they occassionally can, you're out of play. If your standard or electrohopper fails, you can just plug a new one in and keep playing.

The A-5 is a little over $100 more than the BT-4, but again, you WILL have to add an electrofeeder onto the BT-4, so that cuts into your savings. The 98 will work fine as a semi-auto with a stock gravity feed, but for some reason, the BT-4 just cannot drop balls fast enough to keep up with even your standard trigger semi-auto action. It's fine for your backyard, but often when you are on the field, you will want to have a couple balls in the air at a time. The BT-4's stock hopper has trouble with this, you WILL chop paint annoyingly -even stock trigger. I've seen it on mine and several other BT versions. A decent electrofeeder will completely solve this problem though. ($70 later)

So why didn't I just go with the A-5? Well first, no-one told me about the hopper thing, but I'd still be shooting the BT-4 anyway. I'm in law enforcement and have a lot of experience shooting assault style weaponry. The stock BT-4 feels very nice, and very real, in your hands. It's heavy (maybe a bad thing) but well balanced. The foregrip on the BT-4 is long AND adjustable, whereas the A-5 is short and fixed. If you know nothing else, this may not matter to you, but if you've got any experience with real stuff, this is significant. You can only fit half a hand on the A-5's foregrip, and it is very tight to the trigger housing. That bugged the heck out of me. Plus the BT-4 has piccatinny rails. I'll probably never use them, but nice to have the option. Nothing like it for the 98 or A-5.

As with any marker, you will also need a better barrel. $50 bucks later and you'll be right up there with anyone but those shooting the flatline or apex (hey if they wanna spend the money...) I added a drop forward ($30), and reverse mounted an on/off ($30), so my tank now sits under the gun, pointing towards the front. I did this so I can quick peek just my gun and half of my mask around the bunker, rather than exposing my whole shoulder or upper body as is required with the standard rear-mount set-up. Thanks to the balance of the gun, and hefty foregrip, the set-up feels great, and gets a lot of second looks on the field. After getting tired of spraying ice out the tube in warm weather, I finally went with HPA. I did notice a bit more consistency in my groups. My next, and probably last add-on will be the e-grip that is due to be released by Tippman. The gun will then be nothing like the thing I once bought for just $129 at my local shop, but it's one heck of a recreational marker, and it all started as a stock BT-4.



Conclusion: If you've got the money to blow, and don't mind the way the A-5 feels in your hands, I'ld have to recommend the A-5. I think most guys would back me on this. If you go with the 98, you'll probably make it an A-5, via Tippman upgrades within the first year anyway-and will have spent enough to have bought the A-5 originally. If you've got military or law enforcement background though, I highly recommend the BT-4. You'll recognize why as soon as you pick the thing up. Put your new feeder and barrel on the thing and you're way ahead of any stock A-5, for a few bucks cheaper. Also, if you're just not sure where you're headed with PB and wanna get something nice & cheap for now-- that you can upgrade as needed over the next several years...go with either the BT-4 or Custom 98. If you choose the BT-4, save yourself the frustration and get the electrohopper up front. You won't need one right away with the 98, but then again, you'll end up getting one eventually for either.
Rating:
7 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, July 23rd, 2006 at 2:50 pm PST
I found this review  
5 Comments - Add Comment

USArmyMike08 Thursday, June 22nd, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann 98 Custom
Marker Setup: BT-4 Combat
11" J&J Ceramic Barrel
Drop Forward
Double Trigger
Recommended
Upgrades:
Longer Barrel
Strengths: Sturdy
Accuracy
upgradeable
Weaknesses: weight
Short Stock Barrel!!!
Review: Overall i think thiss is a really good gun especially for its price i got is for $140 i really like how this gun handles really well. i like it better than the custom and after the upgrades i bought its like a custom pro now. one of the things i like most bout this gun is that you can make it look like a military assult rifle. it may be heavier than most others but its aldo durable. i have no ball breaks and with my ceramic barrel its highly accurate...we pointer that thing at the top of a tree and wacked a brancg right in the mid that was at least 100' away or more greats woodball gun i love it!
Conclusion: Good reliable gun at a great price highly durable and accurate
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Hitmanic Wednesday, June 7th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippman A-5
Tippmann 98 Custom
Marker Setup: Raised Sight Rail
Semi Auto
Normal Trigger
8.5" Barrel
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel
Red Dot Scope
Strengths: Very Accurate
Cheap
Not Choppy
Weaknesses: not much...
8.5" barrel stock
Weighs a bit
Review: I Love this gun, its so good! This gun could smoke lots of other guns out there
besides the fact that it rules, the look is also very stunning. This gun is basically the Tippmann A-5 And 98 Custom put together but without the cyclone feed. I purchased this gun for $160 + tax so it came up to $184.. which I think is pretty good for a good gun like this!!!! It can also shoot from 150 ft+ away and is pretty good on Co2.
Conclusion: This gun is so far my favourite gun and is a good gun STOCK!! THe BT-4 Combat is a must get for all people who like guns like A-5's
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, June 7th, 2006 at 7:03 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

hotdog-mahony Tuesday, June 6th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Piranha EXT Pro
Tippmann Custom pro
Marker Setup: 14 inch Tiller barrel
Recommended
Upgrades:
New barrel
Strengths: Price
Takes any attachment for the Tippmann A-5
Weaknesses: Stock barrel
Review: If your looking to buy a Tippmann Custom 98 just get this gun, its just as good or better for less money. Stock barrel dose blow. This gun dose take any attachment and barrel for the Tippmann A-5. Since BT dose makes parts for Custom 98 and A-5.This gun is just like those two.
Conclusion: If your looking to buy a Tippmann Custom 98 just get this gun, its just as good or better for less money.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

drifter m Saturday, May 13th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann A-5
Tippmann 98 custom
Marker Setup: Basic BT-4 Combat
A-5 14 in Barrel
Recommended
Upgrades:
barrel extension of some kind
apex barrel (but you need good paint)
Strengths: Gas usage is minimal
Durable
Price!!!
Easy to clean
Adjustable front grip
Weaknesses: Stock barrel
Lack of current upgrades outside of 98c parts
Review: This is the second gun i have owned and i couldn't be happier with its performance.
The first game out was a little sketchy with the basic barrel since the accuracy is cut short but i borrowed a 14in A-5 barrel from a friend and all the accuracy problems went away. the marker works great in woods ball and can handle the abuse of being out and in some harsh conditions (like dropped in a river). this marker is one of the few that could be considered almost indestructible.
Conclusion: This is the perfect first gun for any new player or back up for any experienced player.
The only thing that is a must is a barrel extension.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

slangove Tuesday, April 25th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
View Loader Orion (not as good)

Marker Setup: Ben Tippmann BT-4 Combat with 14" smart parts linear, BT expansion chamber (havn't tried expansion chamber yet), 20oz Co2,regular grav loader.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel for sure, the Linear has worked great for me and it was only $40 Canadian (even looks cool)

Expansion Chamber, without it marker uses a lot of gas and experiences velocity spikes and drops.
Strengths: Accurate, Nice feel, good stock sights, Accepts many tippmann upgrades, durable, looks great
Weaknesses: Gas hog, doesn't accept tippmann response trigger, balls sometimes roll out of the barrel.
Review: First I'll say that this marker is the first that I have owned. So far I am very happy with the performance of the BT-4 with only two major complaints. First, this gun likes the Co2, big clouds shoot out of the barrel often, I hope this will be easily fixed with the expansion chamber . My second complaint is that sometimes when moving around I notice balls dropping out of the barrel. I assume this is a problem with the ball detent but I havn't really figured it out yet. With the longer smart parts linear barrel this marker is really quite accurate, and gets good distance, generally if I can see my enemies I can hit them. The rate of fire isn't too quick but I hope that BT will come out with their own version or the RT trigger or an electronic trigger frame. Once I have added the expansion chamber, a powered loader and a new trigger I expect that this will be an excellent bushball/rec-ball gun. The BT-4's internal functions are essentially identical to the custom 98 but I prefer the feel and look of the BT-4. If you are looking for an upgradable, reliable, accurate, durable and great looking marker for bush or rec play I recommend this product. Also for those who want a platform to build a scenario/military style marker on this would be an excellent choice.
Conclusion: This is a good, durable and accurate marker ideal for bush/rec ball. The BT-4 is reasonably priced and will be easily upgraded. This is definitely a good option that will compete well with the competition from spyder and tippmann.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

<Cobra> Thursday, April 20th, 2006
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
6 months125 of 129 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Used: 98c, BT-16 Assault The BT-16 is the only one that compares to the BT-4

Tried: A-5 The BT-4 is kinda like an A-5 without the cyclone feed system
Marker Setup: BT-4 Combat
14" CP barrel
~in the near future~
Apex or Flatline
Shroud from Opsgear
Tapco folding stock
Raised sight rail
Recommended
Upgrades:
I would recomend a barrel upgrade, not that the stock barrel is bad (8 inch)
Stock of some sort, I like the way the Tapcos look and mount
Raised sight rail (to fix the rear sight problem)
Strengths: Runs on Co2 or compressed air
Well balanced
Very accurate
Durable
Mil standard mounting rails
Weaknesses: Five different sized allen keys
Rear sight rail
Time consuming field strip
Review: I purchased my BT-4 from my local paintball shop, MI Paintball, for $150.00. I had seen this marker cheaper online, so I tried to talk the price down to something a bit more reasonable. However, the owner didnít careÖoh well, he threw in some coupons and a lifetime warranty.

I was deciding between the Tippmann A-5 and the BT-4, and I went with the BT-4 due to price and the fact that I really didnít need a full auto marker. After playing six months of woodsball with this marker I donít have any regrets about buying it, and I am very happy with my choice of marker.

Two things that really stood out about this marker during play was that it had a well-balanced and durable feel while I was running, firing, and changing positions in a confined area. The BT-4 does have some heft to it, which could be a drawback to players used to a lightweight tourney-style marker, but I feel this is a definite asset to my style of playing (I like to be assured that my marker is still in my hands, not back in the bunker I just left). Not only does the weight balance nicely with the heavier tanks, but it results in a snappy feeling marker that I can quickly change directions with during a firefight.

As for reliability and durability, all the moving parts are sealed and protected from intrusive materials, which results in a clean, solid firing marker even after six months of abusive woodsball (doesnít everyone run into trees?). Even after six months I still havenít noticed any damage to the finish of the marker, whether through fading or scratches. I have not had any mechanical problems whatsoever with my BT-4; it has a responsive trigger and bolt system, and it is efficient with Co2 (I use 20 oz cylinders, I have not run HPA through marker yet). As for accuracy tests, I canít give statistics, but my grouping is consistent enough for me to feel comfortable hitting someone 150+ ft away (I use big ball paint most of the time, but the marker doesnít seem to have a problem with low grade paint). I am looking at upgrading to either the Flatline system or the Apex barrel though; I just havenít decided which yet.

One of my main reasons for buying the BT-4 was for the scenario mod option. The BT-4 has military standard mounting rails for sights/optics/grenade launchers/or whatever else you want on there, with mods not limited to the paintball world (the standardized rails accept any military or law enforcement mounts). The marker also features an adjustable fore-grip (different positions drastically change the markerís balance) and an adjustable rear sight, which I feel is useless. Since the barrel is about 1-Ĺ inches below the front sight, the rear sight never aligns in a position that is useful for aiming. I adapted by sighting through a gap created by the hopper feed neck, which I have found to be better anyway (Note: I do not use any sort of aftermarket sights as of right now).

The only weaknesses that I could think of are the rear sight, the allen keys, and the field strip. The BT-4 comes with five different allen keys, but only two are used to break down the marker. One size disassembles the marker, one tightens/loosens the feed neck, and the rest are used to remove the grips and stuff. As for the breakdown, you have to remove the trigger/grip assembly, and then remove one side of the marker, not something you will be doing in the middle of a gameÖ However, during the one time I broke a ball in the marker I was able to continue playing with any complications after a simple field swipe of the barrel.

If you have any questions about BT-4 feel free to post them! <Cobra>
Conclusion: The BT-4 is a well made and designed marker that is well worth looking into. Since it is made from aluminum, my guess is that it will be around for a long time as long as proper care is practiced. I am completely happy with my BT-4, and I have not had any issues the marker, the one question that I had was met with an email from Ben Tippman so Iím sure the service is good. I will make sure to post updates in the event of a modification or newly discovered feature. Hope that this helps those considering buying a BT-4 Combat.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, April 23rd, 2006 at 5:15 am PST
I found this review  
20 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (10):  First  |  6  |  7  |  8  |  9  |  10
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media