paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / XSV Paintball SL66 EGO / XSV Paintball SL66 EGO / XSV Paintball SL66 EGO / XSV Paintball SL66 EGO

XSV Paintball SL66 EGO Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount XSV Paintball

Buy XSV Paintball SL66 EGO

Paintball High-End Electronic Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


XSV Paintball SL66 EGO
[ View Photos (20) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 27
Average Rating: 9.6 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: N/A

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
This is the first true “Pro” Edition Ego. It has been designed from the ground up to be the lightest, tightest Ego ever produced. This is the Integra Type R or M3CSL equivalent of the Ego 06, where almost every component has been optimized for performance, weight, balance and size.
The attention to detail is unparalleled on any previous Ego. For example, the front regulator mount is 2mm smaller in diameter, just to shave off extra grams. The in-line regulator is devoid of sculpted finger grooves in order to make the body as thin as possible and yet retain structural integrity. The new swivel in-line reg now has a shorter bottom piece in order to have a longer and larger down-stream regulated volume without increasing weight.
On the frame, the rail has been cut down to the bare minimum; to reduce overall gun height, as well as save weight. The new On/Off purge system now mounts so that it butts right up to the bottom of the grips. The frame also shaves off the weight by reducing the thickness of the guard, reducing the profiling of the snatch grip area, removing more metal from inside the upper section of the trigger guard, removing metal from the inside of the frame where it wasn’t necessary, and also deleting the magnetic return mechanism, as the choice of the Pros is spring only trigger return. A larger, flatter trigger makes the marker more responsive by being lighter, with a profile that makes it more comfortable to shoot with more varied hand positions and placements.
Inside the frame there is the Ego 6 circuit board with 3 ramp modes, capped and un-capped semi, as well as an uncapped training mode. The new Ego 6 debounce settings make the marker quicker to shoot and easier to set up than any of the 2005 software versions.
The body is machined all over using complex 3D surface machining to get the weight down to the bare minimum, yet retain the classic flowing Eclipse lines. This is by-far the lightest body Eclipse has created - for any marker.
A new bolt system incorporating no retaining screw, an aluminium plunger, smaller spring and a stainless pin reduces mass in both the cycling system and the overall marker, is open-faced and has a slotted inlet for high flow. It helps reduce cyclic kick and blends seamlessly with the read of the gun. No protruding bolt parts make the sides of the marker easier to clean after a side-shot.
The new C-Lever clamping feed, XSV machined logo, wasted-down front cap, 2-piece shaft and an exclusive XSV navigation console and boot-up screen round out this complete package.
Crucially the SL66 is 14% lighter than a stock Ego 6, and 0.2” shorter in height.
SPECS:
NEW - Exclusive Light-Weight Parts to SL66:
SL66 Frame
SL66 Trigger
SL66 Front Cap
SL66 On/off purge
SL66 Front Regulator Mount
SL66 Swivel In-Line Regulator
SL66 Front LPR Cap
SL66 Bolt
SL66 XSV Machined Body
SL66 XSV Navigation Console
Other Parts:
Nexus Style Eye Covers
Ego 6 Board
6 Firing Modes
Shaft 2-piece Barrel
C-Lever Clamping Feed
Product Availability 
The XSV Paintball SL66 EGO is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (3):  1  |  2  |  3
        Next Page
Dover Tuesday, January 18th, 2011
Period of
Product Use:
2 years
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Orange County Bushwackers SL66
Sacramento XSV SL66
Sacramento XSV Ego 06
1 of 150 blue e-star camo Etek1
Bob Long Closer
DYE DM4
Proto Minion 07
SP Ion, Ion XE
Angel LED, Angel A1
AutoMags and AutoCockers
Invert Mini

The SL66 is the finest example of the 2006 Ego line. There is no comparison as it is a work of art.
Marker Setup: I'm a hardcore poor gun whore, seventeen (17) markers and counting:
Orange County Bushwackers SL66
Sacramento XSV SL66
Sacramento XSV Ego 06
1 of 150 blue e-star camo Etek1
Bob Long Closer
DYE DM4 (dust black)
Proto Minion 2007
SP Ion (ShockTech body kit)
SP Ion XE
WDP Angel LED 1999
APS Angel A1
2 Invert MINI (gloss black, dust olive)
5 WGP Autocockers (Bob Long, 2 E-Cockers, pump Trilogy, E2)
6 AGD AutoMags
2 JT E-Excellerators
1 VL E-marker
Recommended
Upgrades:
Laser Eyes, Tadao board, Barrel Kit, Adjustable Rammer Cap, Kila Magnetic Detents
Strengths: Comes with what a tournament player wants. Light Weight. Custom.
Weaknesses: Rare, therefore can be expensive.
Review: This is the Special or Limited Edition model of 2006 Planet Eclipse Ego.
The manufacturers sculpted the body down and used the latest technology.
Star Reg, C-Lever Feedneck, and the bolt is a Cure bolt.
However the stock trigger setup does not use magnets to return, only spring
Therefore i suggest the Tadao Musashi7 board as it has a micro switch
A few upgrades and this can rock with the SL74, SL8R, SL94, SLS...
Conclusion: If you are a big fan of XSV or the OC Bushwackers, this is a must.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Friday, July 22nd, 2011 at 8:10 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

jtusa181 Saturday, September 11th, 2010
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
other egos, autocockers, pumps..tried most of it
Marker Setup: Rare KryptonIce XSV SL66, Freak barrel, Dye Rotor, 45/45 PE tank.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Virtue board(see below why)
Strengths: Speed, accuracy, looks.
Weaknesses: Not as light and small as modern markers,.
Review: I have been using this as my main for a while now, and I am impressed to say the least. For being 4 years old, this thing RIPS. It can keep up with any modern marker and its very reliable. The only thing I dont like is that mine is a XSV version so it has a Maniac board in it, which is a optical switch, not a micro switch and I just prefer micro switches because of less problems, but I have not had a single problem with this yet.
Conclusion: If your a fan of the "oldies but goodies" deff pick one of these up, it can keep up with any other marker out there and your owning a piece of what will be paintball history.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

slBushwacker66 Wednesday, November 26th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
NXT shocker
DM6(the DM6 is more quiet)
07 ego
Marker Setup: SL66 Bushwacker ego(rare color combo yellow and gold)
SL 2 peice barrel(stock)
Pure Energy 68/45
Halo V35 hopper
Recommended
Upgrades:
None, the gun is great as it is...
Strengths: VERY light weight
Accurate
trigger(the best)
on/off ASA
pretty much everything...
Weaknesses: Somewhat loud, but that could be fixed with a different bolt
Review: I resently got the SL66 ego, however it is not the XSV, it is the Bushwacker Edition(pretty much the same thing). Just to be breif, it shoots ropes... it completely rips. It is way lighter than the standard 06 ego, the trigger is butter smooth, flatter and wider, which makes walking the trigger VERY easy. The SL 2 peice barrel is wonderful, nice and accurate(14inch). Comes w/ an on/off ASA to save some air when ur not using it. the modes, dwell,LPR, trigger and bps are easily ajusted. the modes are three levels of ramp, 2 levels of semi, and training mode(all these can be changed with the push of a button). Plus it also has a game timer(LCD screen). This gun can easily outshoot my NXT shocker and is way lighter. this is probably one of the best guns ive ever shot.
Conclusion: Excelent marker, a little loud but it doesnt really matter in speedball, and with all the comments and head turns this gun gets, it definatly gets a 10-10
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Rambob Thursday, February 21st, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Ego 06
Shocker NXT
Marq 6
Max'd ION
Maniac Ego
Marker Setup: Nitro Duck Low pressure, Smart Parts Freak kit or Sly Barrel Kit, View Loader Velocity
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel Kit, These baby's are pretty loud.
Trigger if it doesn't suit you.
What else can you really or need to change??
Strengths: Super Fast, Light and Good Looking!!!!!
Weaknesses: Allot of Cash when new and used
Review: First impression, Slide the cover off of it and Man Does that Look Awesome!!!!!! I wasn't sure about the Troll, I was wrong it is gorgeous. Time to air it up and break it in. Well as with all Ego's they are kinda loud. Fast? Yup. Smooth? mmmm kinda. Will they kill your opponent ? YES.

The Good!

1. Wow have you seen this thing?? Drop dead sexy.
2. Works out of the box, but needs to be setup for how you are going to play. Is actually much better with some setup time. Hard to believe I know.
3. Most anything thing that you would want to do to a marker is already there and then some.
4. Out of the Box you could play a tourney and have a great time of it.
5. They Do have backs for these markers that will allow you to have that stock look.
6. SuperFast!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
7. Light Weight
8. Fast
9. Durable
10. Fast
The Bad

1. Some kick and the accuracy is not as good as some other markers.
2. Really good barrels that actually help make it so that the teams on the next field over can't find your position ( though they probably can't hear you because they are using one too) don't look as sexy as the stock barrel.
3. The Maniac Board is awesome but I would say has almost to many options and can be hard to understand at first blush. Though once you get it setup who really cares.
4. Takes most of the fun out of buying upgrades:(
5. Umm Honey, no I will not sell my motorcycle to pay off the Marker.

As far as playing? This is one of the best markers for speedball that has ever walked the Earth. Very fast, Good but not great accuracy, durable and constant play. That is why the fields are full of Ego's and why people lust after them.
Conclusion: You can't really buy a better marker can you?? Well I have not had a chance to play with a MacDev and well that is about the only marker I can say that about. love the marker though it now is in the loving hands of a teammate of mine. Usually I don't even sell my markers when I move to the next great marker but at this price I had too. Though an 08 is looking really nice.
If you have the cash get one. If not but are close pick up an 07 and it is almost as good in my mind. If both are out of your range well then maybe a Marq or 06 Maniac will do.

I know that there is no 10's out there really. So a 9/10 is what she gets. One day I will find my perfect 10.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, February 21st, 2008 at 11:55 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

lovetobunker Sunday, November 25th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
stock spyder with remote
Marker Setup: Planet Eclipse Ego Sl66 Bushwacker Edition W/Maniac Board
Halo V35 board
68/4500 pure energy lp
stainless steel freak kit with 14/12 tips
stiffi rage stick 16
Recommended
Upgrades:
full freak kit
Strengths: Even with my inexperience with electronic markers i can shoot ropes with this on semi!
Weaknesses: None
Review: Well I obtained this marker off of ebay used. When I received the marker it looked as if it was brand new...perfect!!! Used it the first time when I went to my friends speedball field and was highly impressed. Of course i am coming from using a 6yr old spyder so any marker would be a big difference. But i love this one for many reasons. First its super light even with the bottle on the marker. Secondly the quality of the marker is superb. A huge plus also is the fact when you get a ball break in the barrel(thats the only place you ever get them, havent chopped a ball yet only barrel breaks) you can just pull up the pin on the bolt, slide it out and pull the squeegee right through without unscrewing the barrel. It can be done in seconds and is perfectly safe to do with the marker aired up and all. Finally this marker is great on air. I can get 3/4 a case of paint on 1 fill if i push it. Cant ask for more than that!
Conclusion: As much as i like this marker there is no way i would ever pay the original msrp of $1900 for it. But what i got it off of ebay for was a steal and im def not complaining.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, November 29th, 2007 at 8:43 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Tippmann Masta Wednesday, October 10th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Marker Setup: ~Shocker NXT~
Virtue Board
Empire Grips
Hybrid bolt guide
Hybrid Feedneck
Recommended
Upgrades:
None
Strengths: Speed
Weight
Sexyness!
Weaknesses: None
Review: I just used this last weekend and let me tell you...this thing is amazing. One of my friends has this gun and he said I can use it. By the end of the day, I was doing some drills with my team and I decided that I would use it. It was SO much lighter than my NXT, and it was much faster in my opinion. The only downside is that it had a little more kick than my NXT, but that can easily be solved with a new rammer. I highly recommend this gun to any player looking for a light and fast gun!
Conclusion: Get this gun now....I'm not kidding.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

vbpaintball2 Tuesday, May 29th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
05 ego
mantis ego
06 ego
nexus ugo
Marker Setup: Olive with gold sl66
Tadao board
VLocity Jr.
DXS 48/4500
Recommended
Upgrades:
a board if your to lazy to open the grips to change settings
Strengths: Weight, speed, size, accuracy
Weaknesses: None
Review: Ok i got this thing in febuary and right out of the box it ripped. I had a little trouble with the LPR at first but after some trial and error adjustments i got this thing to shoot rails. You dont really need any upgrades although i installed a tadao board just to ease the switching of modes to ramping from tourny's and semi at practice.

Conclusion: overall this thing is a beast, if you shoot one you'll love, great feel, great speed. It mowes faces all day.

9 out of 10 - nothings perfect guys
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

fat man Thursday, May 10th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
07 ego , sl66 bushwacker
Marker Setup: sl66 no accessories its a sweet gun out of the box
Recommended
Upgrades:
fast hopper
Strengths: Speed, light weight, size
Weaknesses: Price
Review: The gun is the best ive used and ive used dm6 dm7 06 ego and 07 it beat all of them.It light weight and it out guns almost all the other guns ive used the only thing you need for this gun is a lot of paint and a fast hopper
Conclusion: Because the guns a beast get it if you can
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

lucky 1 Sunday, April 22nd, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
06 maniac Ego
Etek Ego
timmys
Marker Setup: new black/ gray Sl66 Ego, 15in luckys barrel, nexus bolt, RF chip for puls hopper, CP trigger.
Recommended
Upgrades:
nothing, maby RF chip for puls hopper for more BPS
Strengths: Light
Fast
Small
Weaknesses: Price
Review: i just got this gun 2 days ago, right when i took it out of the box i saw that it was way lighter than my other 06 ego that was i big plus. it also has a maniac board stock with the SL66. the only bad thing is that it cost so much money.
Conclusion: GET THIS GUN!! it is the best
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

rdneck3430 Friday, April 13th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
alias intimidator, pm5, pm6, dmc, angel 4 fly, pm7, dm7
Marker Setup: Krypton Ice SL66 Ego (Soooo Sick)
Dust clear ultralite back to match the gun, and one of the only PINK dust ultralite tip (very sexy)
Red Empire B hopper
70/4500 peanut dye throttle bottle(best tank ever)
rhino tank cover
Recommended
Upgrades:
nothing really i just got the ultralite because i have a pink tip for it
Strengths: Very fast, dependable, doesn't break, looks awesome
Weaknesses: Price, but i got mine for $975
Review: Alright ill start by saying this is the most awesome gun ive ever had. Its so fast, i haven't had a break through it at all, and i get compliments on its looks all the time, mostly the coloring of the krypton ice one. I got mine for a great price.Get one if you can or looking to upgrade to a new gun.
Conclusion: Get one!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (3):  1  |  2  |  3
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media