paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / XSV Paintball SL66 EGO / XSV Paintball SL66 EGO / XSV Paintball SL66 EGO / XSV Paintball SL66 EGO

XSV Paintball SL66 EGO Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount XSV Paintball

Buy XSV Paintball SL66 EGO

Paintball High-End Electronic Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


XSV Paintball SL66 EGO
[ View Photos (20) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 27
Average Rating: 9.6 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: N/A

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
This is the first true “Pro” Edition Ego. It has been designed from the ground up to be the lightest, tightest Ego ever produced. This is the Integra Type R or M3CSL equivalent of the Ego 06, where almost every component has been optimized for performance, weight, balance and size.
The attention to detail is unparalleled on any previous Ego. For example, the front regulator mount is 2mm smaller in diameter, just to shave off extra grams. The in-line regulator is devoid of sculpted finger grooves in order to make the body as thin as possible and yet retain structural integrity. The new swivel in-line reg now has a shorter bottom piece in order to have a longer and larger down-stream regulated volume without increasing weight.
On the frame, the rail has been cut down to the bare minimum; to reduce overall gun height, as well as save weight. The new On/Off purge system now mounts so that it butts right up to the bottom of the grips. The frame also shaves off the weight by reducing the thickness of the guard, reducing the profiling of the snatch grip area, removing more metal from inside the upper section of the trigger guard, removing metal from the inside of the frame where it wasn’t necessary, and also deleting the magnetic return mechanism, as the choice of the Pros is spring only trigger return. A larger, flatter trigger makes the marker more responsive by being lighter, with a profile that makes it more comfortable to shoot with more varied hand positions and placements.
Inside the frame there is the Ego 6 circuit board with 3 ramp modes, capped and un-capped semi, as well as an uncapped training mode. The new Ego 6 debounce settings make the marker quicker to shoot and easier to set up than any of the 2005 software versions.
The body is machined all over using complex 3D surface machining to get the weight down to the bare minimum, yet retain the classic flowing Eclipse lines. This is by-far the lightest body Eclipse has created - for any marker.
A new bolt system incorporating no retaining screw, an aluminium plunger, smaller spring and a stainless pin reduces mass in both the cycling system and the overall marker, is open-faced and has a slotted inlet for high flow. It helps reduce cyclic kick and blends seamlessly with the read of the gun. No protruding bolt parts make the sides of the marker easier to clean after a side-shot.
The new C-Lever clamping feed, XSV machined logo, wasted-down front cap, 2-piece shaft and an exclusive XSV navigation console and boot-up screen round out this complete package.
Crucially the SL66 is 14% lighter than a stock Ego 6, and 0.2” shorter in height.
SPECS:
NEW - Exclusive Light-Weight Parts to SL66:
SL66 Frame
SL66 Trigger
SL66 Front Cap
SL66 On/off purge
SL66 Front Regulator Mount
SL66 Swivel In-Line Regulator
SL66 Front LPR Cap
SL66 Bolt
SL66 XSV Machined Body
SL66 XSV Navigation Console
Other Parts:
Nexus Style Eye Covers
Ego 6 Board
6 Firing Modes
Shaft 2-piece Barrel
C-Lever Clamping Feed
Product Availability 
The XSV Paintball SL66 EGO is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (3):  1  |  2  |  3
                            
dillwack Thursday, September 7th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months2 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Ego6, Ego, Infamy Timmy, Nd Timmy, Empire Timmy, E-tek, Xsv Ego
Marker Setup: - Olive/Gold Xsv Sl-66 Ego
- Empire Fuel 71-4500
- Viewloader Vlocity
Recommended
Upgrades:
None.
Strengths: Light.
Fast.
Low Profile.
Accurate.
Weaknesses: Price.
Review: To Start,

The Sl-66 is the most amazing marker i have ever owned. i have shot the dm6, ego6, angel1. They do not compare in any aspect at all.

____________________________________________________________
________

Sl-66 to Dm6 Comparision

The Sl-66>Dm6 because the sl-66 is lighter. its just as accurate. its just as fast. easiest maintenance (when you air your gun up you know there will be no leaking!) to lube up your lpr and hpr, there is 1 oring in each. (Vaseline to be used) To clean the breach area and bolt simply remove your bolt and put a pull through thru the back to the barrel. Efficiency is an outstanding 1500+ depending on the ball to bore size off a 68-4500.

The Sl-66<Dm6 because the dm6 is really quiet. other than that the sl-66 beats the dm6 in every category

____________________________________________________________
________

Sl-66 to Angel1 Comparision

The Sl-66>Angel1 becasue again the sl-66 is lighter, just as fast, and alot easier maintenance. to adjust your lpr its in front of the gun, not internal. the eye covers is alot better design than what angel has done. the gun has no kick. the angel feels like an earthquake when you shoot it. The angel is horrible accuracy, as well it eats your air.

____________________________________________________________
________

Sl-66 to Ego6 Comparision

The Sl-66 and ego are in general the same gun. i have both guns and i really love both of them. they both have the same maintenance, the same accuracy depending on barrel. same air effieciecy. the only and main different is the milling in which is looks dead sexy BUT the milling sheds off alot of weight for how much they take off.



Conclusion: All in All if you can afford an sl-66 and want to be shooting the best gun on the market. imo then go ahead and get this because you will be satisfied with your purchase!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

Kevinversteeg Monday, August 28th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Other high end electronic guns.
Marker Setup: Black/grey XSV SL66 - Halo - 45/45
Recommended
Upgrades:
I like it the way it is.
Strengths: Fast
Light
Nice trigger feel
So quiet
Reg feels nice
Looks
Weaknesses: Had a few problems breaking it in , but nothing to serious.
Review: I was given this gun to break in for the owner. my first impression was the looks and how quiet it was. when i went to chrono it had fairly good consistancy out of the box, i think it was +/- 8 out of the box. and at the end of they day it was +/- 2. When playing with it, it felt extremely good to hold. felt like it belonged in my hands. the trigger was o so light and very fast. the only problem i had was with my reloader. it didnt feed, might have been because of the gun but im not sure. so we just switched it with a halo and it was fine. didnt have breakdowns or chops. all and all this is one amazing gun.
Conclusion: If you have the $$ and need a gun to proform to your skill level. You wont be disapointed.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

murcilago Tuesday, July 18th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Almost every other popular high end
Marker Setup: ProtoM6
Reloader B
PMI 68/4500
Recommended
Upgrades:
Its great out of the box. Maybe a Lucky Air Assist Valve
Strengths: Very, very light
Fast
Simple
Comfortable feel
Great trigger
Features
Weaknesses: Its not as smooth as PM's or DM's.
its overpriced
Review: This gun is a great gun. My friend let me use it for a day, and I have to say, this is one great gat. Its very light. The feel is very, very comfortable. The milling and anno is very clean. Also, the trigger is very nice, and I can easily walk it.

There's not much I can say about reliability, since i've only used it for an entire day, but if you know egos, you know how simple and reliable they are.

These guns are great ouf of the box, but IMO they are definitely not worth the money. They shoot just as nice as my friends upped 05 ego, and my other friend's 06. Unless you have a buttload of money to blow, just pick up an 06 ego.
Conclusion: I say do not buy it. Its a very, very nice gat, but its way overpriced. Just pick up a regular 06, or an upped 05. Since nothing is absolutely perfect, i have to give it a 9
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment

BushWhacked Saturday, June 3rd, 2006
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested25 of 53 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Timmys, other egos, matrixes, shockers, anything high end
Marker Setup: 06 Black Ego
Vlocity
70/45 crossfire
Recommended
Upgrades:
none, it's loaded, just a fast hopper and a lot of paint
Strengths: Fast
Light
Small
Comes loaded
Weaknesses: Price!
Review: Alright, I went to my local field this past weekend and somebody had an SL66, he let me shoot it and let me tell you, it is fast, light, and everything that you could ever want in a marker. However the only difference between the SL66 and my 06 ego is miniscule, the only changed things are the weight and the feel of the entire gun. The gun shoot the exact same as the 06 ego, no kick, no difference in sound. So is the gun really worth $800 more than the 06 ego, $800 for about a 2 oz difference. I think that it is just a waste of money, you could buy a nice backup gun for that price. Buy a pl shocker or something with the extra money. The only thing that the sl66 has on the 06 ego is the trade value because of the price.
Conclusion: The price is so ridiculous that the gun is worth buying. The 06 ego is just as good even though it may weigh a tiny bit more.
Rating:
6 out of 10
I found this review  
59 Comments - Add Comment

Evil_Pb Wednesday, May 24th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Evil Omen 2.0 - Best gun i ever had, it went 25bps really good one, helped me be one of the best on my team.
Smart Parts Ion - just a couple of words, it sucks.... unless you get upgrades.... and the dynasty body kit is friggin sweat
Diablo Mongoose 2- good starter gun, plus its tournament legal
Marker Setup: Evil Omen 2.0- This gun and these things helped me be one of the best on my team!!!
-Black Empire B Hopper-
-68ci 4500 PSI tank-
-Q-lock feedneck -
-DDesigns custom asa -
-cp razor drop-
-2.0 board and arms-
-detonator regulator -
-macro-line upgrade-
Recommended
Upgrades:
I don't have anything yet
Strengths: Light Weight
Fast
Best Design Ever
My Favorite Teams Gun
Weaknesses: PRICE!!!!!, but its 100% worth it
Review: Wow i never thought i would ever get this gun, i thought it cost way to much. I had to work my ass off for it! When i bought it, i couldnt sleep for days! I went to a paintball field and played with some friends. I beat them up with my XSV Ego, my friend has a DMC and my other team mate just bought a Evil Minion *which is an amazing gun for the price* and my other Team mate's Diablo Slayer. That was a good day, but i hate it when everyone wants to walk it and shoot it to see how it feels, i lost 2 tanks of air, and over 2500 paintballs cuz of all of them!! They payed me back all of the paint but i had to pay for refils for my air.
Conclusion: I would only recommend this if you are one seriouse player. Even though it cost about $1,899.99 its still a PERFECT GUN!!!!!!!! I give this gun a 10 out of 10, if i were you i would buy something cheaper first if you dont have the money, like an Evil Omen 2.0, My evil omen 2.0 kept me strong forever and i still use it today!!!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

boblong123 Thursday, May 18th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Timmy's,
Dm's
Karnivor,
06 ego
Marker Setup: alias timmy, taedao board hybrid drop and halo b w/ rip drive and a 14'' freak barrel
Recommended
Upgrades:
none at all.....only a nice trophy stand for it
Strengths: FAST as a motha!
extremely light
looks damn nice!!!
every single thing bout it
Weaknesses: Other people wanting to hold and test it every time u go to a field
Review: Ok well my friend just got this gun and i didnt know bout it till i met him at the field and he whipped it out of his bag and my jaw dropped for like 20 minnutes this gun is the nicest looking gun in the world....it is also the FASTEST AND MOST LIGHTWIEGHT gun available. i tested it out on an nppl field and this thing is relaible sleek and so light i felt like i was just taking my hang and pushing my fingers on nothing to get newbs out.
Conclusion: If you got the money and wanna step up to be one of the hardest core guyz holding thee hardest core gun buy this one..... you will not regret it. although its expensive you really do get what you pay for.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

jpillas Tuesday, April 11th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month23 of 26 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Ego 05 , Ego 06 , Nexus Ego , Xsv Ego05 &06 , Nexus DC2, WGP Karnivor
Marker Setup: XSV SL66 , 16" 2 peice shaft barrel (0.689), VlCity , Stako 1.1 ltr ,Center Flag 420 LP reg.
Recommended
Upgrades:
None
Strengths: Lightweight ,accurate , fast ,air efficient and drop dead gorgeous
Weaknesses: Expensive
Not a lot of colour options
Review: As soon as i got the marker my first impression was 'Wow very light' so i immediately grabbed an EGO 06 in the other hand and the difference was obvious.So much lighter than the 06.
I gassed it up and took a few shots..unbelievable NO KICK.On all my previous ego's i had to play around with the settings and LPR to get rid of the kick..On this gat..nada.
I start ripping it on semi uncapped and reached 19 bps without a lot of effort and without even tuning trigger or debounce settings.
I switched to Millenium Ramp and went thru 1000 paintballs (Tomahawk Winter).Dead accurate , very fast and no chops (it was very hot the day i performed the test and winter pballs don't get along with heat)
All in all i went thru a box of paint with a 4500 tank so this marker is off the hook when it comes to air efficiency as well.
I started going thru the menu and guys it is so easy to setup that even me could understand what to do..Very user friendly menu and i will start tampering it ASAP :).

Conclusion: Well if you got the $$ and want an outstanding marker that will also be a very limited edition..BUY IT NOW!!!
I will give it a 9 out of 10 because it is brand new and i have to endurance test this gat!!!
*EDIT*
I have been playing with this marker non-stop...No problems at all!!!
No chops , dead accurate and no kick...
I will change the rating as this definitely deserves a 10

Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, April 15th, 2006 at 2:11 pm PST
I found this review  
11 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (3):  1  |  2  |  3
                            
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media