paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Action Pursuit Games Magazine / Action Pursuit Games Magazine / Action Pursuit Games Magazine / Action Pursuit Games Magazine

Action Pursuit Games Magazine Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount

Buy Action Pursuit Games Magazine

Paintball Paintball Magazines

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Action Pursuit Games Magazine
[ View Photos (1) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 183
Average Rating: 6.6 / 10
Manufacturer Website: N/A
Suggested Retail Price: $33

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
APG is a monthly magazine dedicated to the sport of paintball. It's a magazine for players who want to sharpen their playing skills, as well as for those just getting started in the game. Each month, APG brings you articles on how to play the game, what gear you need, reviews of new paintguns, and more, plus news and commentary on paintball's important issues.

Price is for yearly subscription!
Product Availability 
The Action Pursuit Games Magazine is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (19):  First  |  12  |  13  |  14  |  15  |  16  |  17  |  18  |  Last
        Next Page
Unregistered User Saturday, October 27th, 2001
Strengths: Interesting articles, with information on SOME useful topics.
Weaknesses: Not very professional, boring, poorly done.
Conclusion: This magazine needs more attention put into the articles and the amount of detail that goes into the making of them. I have bought a few, and the only consistant thing they do is make it boring and littered with mistakes.
Rating:
5 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Jnorman Friday, October 26th, 2001
Strengths: Alot of places have it. If you want to buy anything related to paintball get it. Sometimes they have good articles.
Weaknesses: To much newbie stuff. When I was a newbie it was helpful but now it's not. Plus the newbie articles are about the same thing every time. Keep some of it but get rid of most of it. No where near enough gun reviews and if they do review something it's always some twenty dollar gun.
Conclusion: This magazine is okay I guess. It would be awsome if they did some work on it.
Rating:
5 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

stellarknight Wednesday, October 24th, 2001
Strengths: some nice tourney coverage. once in a while they have a good product review, and the co2 mail can SOMETIMES be interesting
Weaknesses: every issue has about 7 articles for newbies, and they are pretty much the same general topic in every article. they usually never have good marker or product review, and if they even bother with a review, it is over some marker like the blade or samuari. the co2 mail ALWAYS, and i mean always, has about 8 letters on "stop whining about the rof/speedball/woods/newbie stuff" and al the letters are the same, and it gets realllllllllllll old. and the last thing is the price. it is so dang expensive. i get transworld skateboarding, which is about a 250-300 page mag, for about 19 dollars a year. 'nuff said
Conclusion: i got a subscription in december, and unless they start doin something for everyone in paintball, not just the newbies, i probably wont resubscribe.
Rating:
4 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

fireblade Wednesday, October 3rd, 2001
Strengths: Lots of ads.. this is both good and bad (good because I like looking at the guns and crap, bad because it takes up space)
Some good articles from time to time
The binding and pages are very good, very professional.

Uh...
some hot chicks every now and then
Weaknesses: EVERY article has some stupid first time newbie crap. Ok, maybe one every year or so, but not EVERY issue.
The gun reviews (when they bother to write them) are just basically more advertising for the gun. They talk and talk about how good it is, but never quite say anything bad about it. Wouldn't want to risk losing money from the sponsors!
The tournament reviews are ***. Who the hell cares about some tournament? Write some more about the different guns, equipment, things like that.
Advertisements, although I do kind of enjoy those, its annoying when its like 10 pages of ads, 2 pages if that of article, then 10 more pages of ads.

Conclusion: I guess its alright if your first starting, or if you live in a place where they actually have tournaments often (Not here in arkansas heh). Decent bathroom material I guess. However, its ruined by the constant advertising and the fact noone really gives a **** about 99%% of the articles, since its either a) biased b) tournament coverage which is uh kind of WORTHLESS considering they already did the tournament :P or c) another newbie thing.

Thank God for this site!
Rating:
3 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

v4M-PACK Tuesday, September 18th, 2001
Strengths: This is a great magazine! This was the first magazine of paintball i got. This magazine has been one of the main reasons I have gotten involved with paintball. This magazine just jumped out at me and when I started reading it I just wanted to go play. This magazine keeps me up to date on all paintball topics, I think they do a great job of keeping the magazine well rounded for the newbie and recreational players and for the tournament players they have great tournament coverage. The gear reviews are appreciated as well.
Weaknesses: hhhmmm, not much
Conclusion: No other magazines compare to it. I just laugh at other magazines. APG has the most pages by far. Averaging about 250 pages each month. At around $5.00 bucks it is a little expensive but who cares isnt everything these days!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

Unregistered User Saturday, September 15th, 2001
Strengths: well its good because its the most widely carried paintball magazine around. any place that even has a paintball mag has this one. its got great tournament coverage and some nice articles
Weaknesses: not enough coverage of gear. all they do is mention it in a section called gear bag, they wont review it or anything they just say, "hey here it is, but we wont tell you what it does or how well it does it". if your lucky theyll review ONE gun that month and maybe just maybe if youve been real good theyll review a barrel too. TONS of ads, more than fifty percent of it, and youd think that if there were that many ads the price would be cheaper than 5 dollars. also for other magazines that only cost 5 dolla the subscrition rate is 20 somolians, with this one its 33 clams! also the captions for a lot of the pictures are really dumb, they should fire that guy and hire a new one. although i must say that theyve gotten better about that. if you want to read anything about paintball then you are forced to buy this magazine, there are none other to compete with it and therefore it means that it can be as crappy as it wants. a lot of articles aimed at newbies going to their first game of paintball. this doesnt seem right because if you think about it didnt you play your first game before you read this thing?
Conclusion: In conclusion there are a lot better paintball mags out there, although they usually dont last long and you have to go to either sports authoritah or your local paintball store to get it. if you ever go to barnes in nobles or borders to look for it forget looking under sport, its always next to guns and ammo, even though ive complained about it so often. id give this magazine A LOT more points if theyd include a lot more reviews, and with all those ads you dont know how impartial they are being either. after all you have to use and buy the stuff with your money, they should at least give you an idea on how it works and how good it is before you waste your money. if also give it an extra point or two if the subscription cost was 20 green backs and there were 34.6583492%% fewer ads. but i can only give it a one, for such a huge magazine thats been around for so long thats supposed to be the best youd think it would be a lot better, but a las it falls short of every expectation you may have no matter how low it could be. support the other magazines that are trying to break out onto the scene and stop this horrid giant thats gotten to big for its britches, just like microsoft.
Rating:
1 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

WhiteGangstr15 Monday, September 10th, 2001
Strengths: Good quality, pretty good size. (Although most of the pages contain the same stuff) Interesting artticles
Weaknesses: Like I said, its pretty repetitive. They don't have many useful articles. A lot of adds. They need to compete with Paintball 2 Xtremes and see who can out the most hot girls in the magazine. Although APG doesn't have many at all. No centerfolds. To be successful to men, you need hot chicks and centerfolds
Conclusion: It isn't worth the 30 something dollars, but if you can get it at a bargain like one of those elementary fund raisers, then you might want t consider it.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

fw190lanc Wednesday, September 5th, 2001
Strengths: Lots of information. Tons of ads for equipment and stores. Coverage of major tournaments. Coverage of major Scenario games. Occasional articles on how to improve your game.
Weaknesses: Biased reviews of paintball equipment (after all, who wants to piss off there paying advertising sponsors!). If you buy it from the newsstand, much of the info is dated (upcoming tournaments, scenario games, etc.) Repeat articles (almost every issue has an article on why or how we must defend the sport to the public. ENOUGH ALREADY.). Would be nice if they had a yearly review of product choices. Maybe a special issue ... like a "year-end buyer's guide". Or, maybe a yearly guide to paintball stores and fields nationwide. Even a advertisers index would be a nice addition.
Conclusion: APG gives you a cross section on what is going on in the sport as well as what will be appearing in the near future. It has sections that can appeal to rec, scenario, or tournament players. However, there is room for improvement.
Rating:
7 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Monday, August 13th, 2001
Strengths: Alot of great stuff promoting paintball.

Available pretty much anywhere.

It has a glossy cover..
Weaknesses: They write stuff that has verry little to do with playing , i realy don't get much after reading the mag, cept mabey the fact that i wasted some time.
Conclusion: You want a good mag , get PGI it's an awsome mag , it covers the world and not just USA.
Rating:
5 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Monday, August 13th, 2001
 
0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.
Strengths: lots of adds without taking up article space.
good pictures
Weaknesses: Terrible customer service!!!!
I ordered it last september and waited 6 months, nothing came!! When I phoned them they apologized and said it will come in the next month. It never came and I phoned them again and they told me it will come in 3 more months, by that time it would be june. I cancelled my subscription and have never bought the magazine again.
Alot of stupid articles like "speedball vs woods"
I have never seen them give a bad equipment review.
Conclusion: It is not a terrible magazine, just do not get a subscription or buy it to often.
It has alot of repeat articles.
Rating:
5 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (19):  First  |  12  |  13  |  14  |  15  |  16  |  17  |  18  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media