paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Action Pursuit Games Magazine / Action Pursuit Games Magazine / Action Pursuit Games Magazine / Action Pursuit Games Magazine

Action Pursuit Games Magazine Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount

Buy Action Pursuit Games Magazine

Paintball Paintball Magazines

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Action Pursuit Games Magazine
[ View Photos (1) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 183
Average Rating: 6.6 / 10
Manufacturer Website: N/A
Suggested Retail Price: $33

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
APG is a monthly magazine dedicated to the sport of paintball. It's a magazine for players who want to sharpen their playing skills, as well as for those just getting started in the game. Each month, APG brings you articles on how to play the game, what gear you need, reviews of new paintguns, and more, plus news and commentary on paintball's important issues.

Price is for yearly subscription!
Product Availability 
The Action Pursuit Games Magazine is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (19):  First  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  8  |  9  |  10  |  11  |  Last
        Next Page
jdolla Tuesday, April 20th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
2 years1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
PB2X
Crossfire
Marker Setup: Black Dragun T.E.S. Black/Green
Strengths: Thick
About paintball
Weaknesses: ADS!!!! Way too many!!!!
Late on events
Pointless articles
Dumb pics
Review: I have a subscription to PB2X, and my captain has a subscription to APG, and now he wishes he had a PB2X subscription instead of APG. For this reason, a lot of this review will be comparison to PB2X.

The very first issue of PB2X that came out after Mardi Gras had an in depth article about the event, and the same happened with the LA Open. The Michigan Monster game occured last July. The APG article covering it came out in February.

The ads are everywhere. In the middle of articles, covering the first ten pages, and the last twenty. I leafed through one on the way to a track meet today, and literally half of the pages had an ad, if not two or three. If they removed the ads, the mag would be reduced to 100 pages. I was bored in math, so I counted it out in the most recent APG. 244 pages cover to cover, and 144 had ads.

I am yet to see a worthwhile article in an APG. Every single issue has two or three articles about improving your stock game, and they all say the same thing. They commit entire articles to using a barrel plug, and other pointless crap. Very few of them are even original. I read the WARPIG review on the Ricochet Apache several times, (I've always liked Ricochets). When I saw that APG had an article about the Apache, it was one of the first things I turned to. It was the exact same article they had on WARPIG, word for word. The only articles that I found were worth reading were the articles about Les, (Speedball for Les, Recball for Les, and Tournament ball for Les, and a couple others now), which were humorous and enjoyable, but couldn't save it.

The difference between the pics in APG and PB2X is night and day, literally. PB2X gets excellent pictures, very high quality and well-timed. At least 1/3 of the pics in APG are of noobs with rental 98s, most of which seem to be taken at the same field, with the same kids. I have nothing against noobs, they are the future of paintball, but all pics of noobs does not a magazine make. Those that aren't of noobs are often two or three years old. I have seen multiple pictures used from 2002 events in 2004 issues. What's up with that? Just to top it off, a recent issue had a picture from the 99 World Cup, and it wasn't comparing the past with the present.
Conclusion: A nice magazine to leaf through, and maybe read if your friend bought it, but not recomendable in the least.

3 b/c the Les articles are sweet, and it's about paintball.
Rating:
3 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, June 29th, 2004 at 5:58 am PST
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

darktrooper5 Wednesday, April 14th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
6 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
none really, 1 facefull mag
Marker Setup: 03 wgp autococker
cp two peice barrel
32 degrees grip
supafly bolt
belsales hollowpoint 3-way
Strengths: good coverage on tourneys
tips for da noobs
reviews
price (4.99)
Weaknesses: not enough woods coverage
once every month
Review: Neat magazine, they gave me a lot of helpful hints and I always learn something new. I like the reviews but they need more woods coverage. I would like to see it out more often but it takes a lot of work. It could use a technical section and maybe some custom mods people have done.
Conclusion: I love APG that is the only one I read. Must read.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

nero3k Wednesday, April 14th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
More than 5 years
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Most other PB mags
Marker Setup: Vaporized BL Defiant, Crossfire LP 68/4500, Z-boarded Egg II
Strengths: The oldest Paintball Magazine dedicated to the sport. Lots of pretty pictures.
Weaknesses: Poorly written, amateur articles. Company who buys ads it will never get a bad review.
Review: I have the benefit of being one of the few people who read the very first AGP and it is no longer the magazine it once was. Hasn't been the same since Jessica J. Sparks stopped being the editor. Poorly written articles. There have been times when articles on the cover are not in the magazine. Very amateur.
Conclusion: With the other choices in PB mags AGP should not be your first choice.
Rating:
2 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

Korndog Friday, March 26th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
catalogs, splat mag
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98 custom, flatline barrel, GTA response trigger system, GTA double finger trigger, 32 degrees drop foward, Bob Long pressure gauge, Halo TSA LCD Backman hopper.
Strengths: Great products for sale, new products on the market, mostly great articles
Weaknesses: Some articles are dumb, other then that its great
Review: This magizine is overall my favorite, most articles in it are intresting. There filled with alot of new products intruducing them into the world of paintball. Like on last months issue i saw in it the new Dye proto switch paintball mask and im going to get it, so think about it without that mag i would not even had known about such a great mask. Now one of the best things about it is there is normally like a 2 page story about some big paintball game which is very intresting to read and you can learn tactics from it.
Conclusion: OVERALL this is a great mag, which is very intresting and it will have you reading it untill the next months issue comes out. (its not one of those "read for one or two days and then never read it again" type of magizine). OH YEAH and its prety cheap
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

JaM3z... Friday, March 12th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
um facefull and paintball2extremes.
Marker Setup: SpyderTL+ with progressive barrle,M3 frame,CP drop,shocktech supa fly bolt,egg2,pure energy 68 cubic 3000 psi.
Strengths: um have some nice pics and some helpful info.
Weaknesses: some articles are pretty dumb.
Review: when i started to play paintball i wanted to kno the new gear, markers, and events comin up. so i started walkin up to a gas station every month and buyin an APG. i like the magazine it has some nice pics and some useful info. it keeps u up to date with new products comin out and whats happening in the paintball world. some articles are pretty dumb and are mostly for newbies but its still a pretty kool magazine.
Conclusion: um its an pretty good magazine, i like it anyways. go to gas station or a book store to find one. go buy one if u got some extra money laying around.
Rating:
7 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

GreatKill Friday, March 12th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
PGI - Aimed toward more experienced players.
Facefull - Same ^ ^
Marker Setup: None at the moment...
Strengths: Read Review.
Weaknesses: Read Review.
Review: -Strengths-
This magazine is pretty cheap, being $5.00 an issue around here, and even cheaper from subscription. The magazine offers many helpful tips for people unexperienced or just starting. There are many adds for people to find the gun of their choices. Many reviews to help people choose the right gun.

-Weaknesses-
Although being very cheap, the materials used are very fragile and rip very easily. There are many tips for n00bs, but for the tourny player, there is alot to be desired. The majority of space in the magazine are adds, I have yet to turn 1-2 pages without seeing an add of somesort. The reviews seem very biased, not mentioning any weaknesses.
Conclusion: Some of us got started by staring into the newstand and seeing a strange magazine that featured paint guns. This mag. helps many people, but after you are done learning the basics, go for another magazine that holds more content, PGI for an example.
Rating:
7 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

puckscantpassme Thursday, March 4th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
pb2x (paintball 2 xtremes)
Marker Setup: spyder xtra / j&j ceramic barrel 68-3000 pure energy nitro tank / shokteck superfly bolt / esp 3.0 trigger frame / empire reloader hopper
Strengths: see review
Weaknesses: see review
Review: I am writting this review b/c when i saw this got a 6.6 rating i new it was wrong or other people just dont know a good magizine when they see one. First let me say that magizines are great for newbs. If you want to just buy one for the tourny coverage and it doesnt have it then dont freak out just go check online. This magizine is loaded with pages. I know it has more than pb2x. Some times i dont even finish just skiming threw pages in this magazine. It has 241 pages! Now pb2x does have better pictures and tourny coverage. One thing i dont like about this magazine is that the one section "gearbag" just features new products but not good ones. Pb2x has something like gear bag but all their products are good. So just how bad is the gear bag in Action persuit games? Bad enough so that they had brasseagle paintballs in it. AHHHHHHH!
Now dont get me wrong this isnt a bad magizine. Infact my friend and i always trade my pb2x for his Action pusuit games (APC) every month. For the money APCis your best buy b/c u get the same paintball store advetizments and more pages. But if you want a lot of tourny coverage get the pb2x issue. But newbs dont realy care much about PSP NXBL or NPPL events. So all newbs get the APC unless u want to folow tourny news.
Conclusion: Overall great magazine! Same price as pb2x with more pages. GREAT FOR NEWBS! I give it a 9 b/c of the tourny coverage and gearbag issue.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Monday, May 3rd, 2004 at 11:28 am PST
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

AR55 MtM Tuesday, February 17th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Paintball Magazine & PB2x
Marker Setup: Victor II with Superfly Shortie Bolt -12" CP - 12vlt Clear Revolution w/ X board-20oz C02 Tank
Strengths: If you like advertisments & you are an idiot this is the magazine for you.
Weaknesses: Reviews
Ads
Readability
Coverage
Everything
Review: Well this is my First Paintball Magazine here are the details

Advertisments-Lets put it like this there are about 250 pages in here and 200 of them are ads

Reviews-The reviews are biased and always false.

Coverage-There isn't any all its about is Speedball sucks or Newbie Tips, they are so obvious that its degrading.

Longevity- There isn't any after the third article about how speedball sucks and paintball in the old days it gets very tedious and boring.

Conclusion: Buy a subscription to PB2X it well worth the money.
I give it a below average score 3 out 10
Rating:
3 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, July 31st, 2004 at 11:47 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

hotfilles9 Wednesday, February 11th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
2 years
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
FaceFull
Marker Setup: 98 Custom with Upgrades
ACI Bulldogg 3 Nitro Tank
Egg 2
New Marker: T.E.S Sniper
Strengths: Great pics, reviews
Weaknesses: Ads.....ADS
Review: ADS>>ADS>>>ADS....i like them when im looking for a new gun or something..other than that

i like to look at a lot of pics and good articles...they have good scenrio articles and there tourney ones are by far..NOT the best...great for the price and at least theres a lot to look at??
Conclusion: Looking for a new gun...or want to look at Ad's then this is your guy......Every issue is different and some have there strenghs and some dont?
Rating:
7 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Mini_Cocker777 Monday, January 19th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
P8NT Magazine
Marker Setup: M98 Custom, PMI coiled remote, PMI 4 140 rnd pod belt, VL 12 volt hopper, double trigger
Strengths: *Good Articles
*Good information
Weaknesses: none, really
Review: very good mags for begginers and intermediate players like me a whole ton of good information that can send even the worst player to the nppl or psp....well maybe not the nppl or the psp but it will make them better in practice. the first time i bought one of these i was stupid. i didnt really know what to do with it so i decided to read it(i told you, i was stupid)it really improved my game
Conclusion: so,overall, it is a very good magazine for all players.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (19):  First  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  8  |  9  |  10  |  11  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media