paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Indian Creek Designs FS-8 2006 / Indian Creek Designs FS-8 2006 / Indian Creek Designs FS-8 2006 / Indian Creek Designs FS-8 2006

Indian Creek Designs FS-8 2006 Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Indian Creek Designs

Buy Indian Creek Designs FS-8 2006

Paintball High-End Electronic Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Indian Creek Designs FS-8 2006
[ View Photos (17) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 23
Average Rating: 9.3 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: N/A

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Indian Creek FS8 - The All new FreeStyle 8 - 2.2 pounds - Predator code board - New Slider bolt system (1250 - 1300 off 68/45) - Cocker Threads - Clamping Feed Neck - Recessed Illuminated Toggle on/off switch - Paintball Detection System (PDS) - Clamshell Grip Frame - Dual Regulated - 4-way adjustable trigger - Barrel, Rail and On/Off ASA included.
Product Availability 
The Indian Creek Designs FS-8 2006 is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (3):  1  |  2  |  3
        Next Page
pitvpr Thursday, December 28th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Dark Timmy, DM5, Shocker, Cyborg, Ego, Bushmaster, Impulse, ION.
Marker Setup: Current:
FS8 with Sidewinder Hpr, JDS Lpr, CP rail w/on/off, Hybrid grips, custom OD green w/black accent anno, SLY barrel kit.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Good quality barrel kit.
Strengths: Small, light, fast, efficient...best value in PB today.
Weaknesses: I don't like the on/off too much, although it works OK.
Review: Fastest and most accurate marker on the planet! Will not chop anything.

Learn how to properly "set up" the regs before you give it a decent opinion.
The stock reg. requires a good break in period, at least a couple cases and periodical lubbing. Otherwise the stock regs. on this marker are excellent although I have a personal preferance for high end regulators and prefer them on any of my markers.

The stock board is a Predator Lite, (Tag Sportz) and it is excellent and very smooth fast ramping.
The stock feedneck is low, but not too low, clamps well and is large enough for a good fit on any loader.

I've used a variety of different triggers on this gun and like the stock sythe trigger the best.
Very efficient for this type of valve system(blow forward), I'm getting 1400 balls out of a 68/4000 fill.

Too many people compare this marker to "lower end" markers like the PM6, Shocker or Etek beacuse of the price. The FS8 is in league with the Ego7 or DM6 but at 1/3 less $$$.
Conclusion: Don't be fooled by the $600.00 price. This marker should be worth $1000+, it shoots as good as or better than any marker in the "over a grand" price range.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, December 28th, 2006 at 6:29 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

dark_shooter Tuesday, September 5th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
6 months2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
AB FS, NDFS', FS Gen 1 - 2, V7
Marker Setup: Silver w/Black Accents
Pred Lite Board
Palmers LPR
CP Reg
CP Rail & ASA
Custom Plexi-Trigger
Custom Magnetic Detents
4 Piece Empire Barrel KIt 16"
Empire Clamping Feed Neck
Powered by a Halo b and 68/45 PE HPA
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel, LPR, board no so much cause the board alone is more then enough in my opinion, and the ASA
Strengths: Milling, Weight, Accuracy, PRICE, No Kick, Easy Maintanence, quiet and well balanced
Weaknesses: Nothing that any other marker runs into
Review: ever since i started playing the sport, from my first ICD marker till now, ICD as a company has been under-rated in so many levels, each marker i have owned has always been ICD, aside from my Tippmann =P, from my Thunder Cat (yes a thunder cat, i'm not old it was just handed down to me), to my BKO, then my B2K, then my long series of Freestyles to my current FS8, in the years i've been with ICD their progression in the sport has grown to this beatiful beast i own today.

now to the FS8, an amazing marker for the price, spend $1000+ on an ego or DM? forget that i get everything i want in my Freestyle, few starting issues which people run into in almost any new marker is breaking it in, yes not everything you buy in this sport comes broken in for you, and YES it takes time to hone your beast. the Pred Board first of is more then enough to satisfy my hunger, i dont need to get too complicated in making my marker mow faces. very quiet, and little to no kick

some beginning issues i ran into was fsdo (First Shot Drop Off), but once i started ripping it it would be no problem, however after a bit the shoots would lose consistancy. but i threw on a palmers LPR and BAM! consistancy was +/- 2 ever since. With any of my markers i never kept my stock Regulator, i got my CP reg on it but dont get me wrong the stock HPR is still a rock

the stock ASA i would suggest switching out

my setup now i spent maybe $250 atop of the $700 i spent on the marker giving me a grand total of $950 tax and everything, it preforms just as or even better then most "high end" markers out there today, dont let Price or Label drive you away this marker is a beast once you get to know how to use it.
Conclusion: amazing marker for the price, in my opinion the only things you will have to up is LPR, ASA and barrel and thats it

this marker is very under rated and for its price i know why people look down on it, its more then you think it is, buy it! you won't be disappointed
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

NeverSummer5000 Sunday, September 3rd, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Nothing really, I've tested a friends Spyder Imagine and have an A-5 sitting around if that counts for anything.
Marker Setup: all stock for now, Halo B, Crossfire 68/3000
Recommended
Upgrades:
Reg, Barrel, ASA (in that order)
Strengths: -FAST (sweet trigger)
-Accurate
-No kick
-Light
-Very few people know what it is
Weaknesses: -Very few people know what it is
-LPR hard to balance (at first)

Review: -Light, Fast, No Kick, Accurate
These four words basically sum up the FS-8. I personally love the trigger on this thing - 4-way fully adjustable accomodates to virtually every player and their preference, making the gun fast like nobody's business. On top of that, it is also light - the gun itself is less than 2 pounds, so you can imagine what it'll be like with the hopper and tank attached. Finally, lack of kick combined with its accuracy allows players to shoot ropes very, very easily.
(PS I've shot about a box of paint through this gun, and still have had no ball breaks)

-Very few people know what it is / have heard of it
This is both a weakness and a strength. It's a strength cus it attracts a lot of attention on the field. The first time I took it out, a lot of people were asking what kinda of gun it was and were testing firing it to see how fast it was (all were impressed). There was even a guy that had an ego that was impressed with this gun's weight and speed. But this is also its weak point because not a lot of pro-shop carry parts/accessories for the gun, and therefore must be specially ordered - VERY time consuming.

-Reg problems???
This might just be me, since no one else seem to have a problem with the sotck reg, but when I first took it to the chrono, the velocity was ridiculously inconsistent, it was jumping from 190 to 250. But it got better the second time around, so it might just be my FS-8.

Just on a final note, I had a hard time adjusting the lower pressure regulator at first cus the instructional CD that came with it was kind of confusing, but once you understand how the FS-8's pressure system works, it's actually very simple.
Conclusion: This gun is well worth the money, especially for advanced players looking for a reliable, top-end marker. Comparable to other, more expensive, high-end markers.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

speedyg Wednesday, August 9th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Previously owend piranha ext, diablo wrath, ION, ICD promaster, and ICD FS-7. Have tested DM6, XSV SL66, 2006 Ego, and 2005 Proto Matrix.
Marker Setup: Gloss Red FS-8. Nox Board, Red CP shorty reg, JDS LPR, Red CP trigger, Red Halo B V35, AGD Flatline HPA, Empire Revolver Kit.
Recommended
Upgrades:
I recommend a new on/off, LPR, HPR, only if you have the money. Otherwise, you are okay with it in stock form.
Strengths: Performance, weight, kick, size, weight balance, efficiency 1400 off a 68/4500. Simple maintenance.
Weaknesses: Cheap On/off
Review: Performance: This marker compares to any 700$ - 1800$ marker out there. Like any other marker, it is extremely accurate as long as you have a paint/barrel match. I love snap shooting with this gun becaus it is light, small, and barely has kick. And, if you need to rip and lane it can easily shoot ropes because it has a very fast stock board. Efficiency - 1400 of a 68/4500.

Weight: This marker feels very light and is well balanced. With the tank and halo hopper the gun does not tilt backward like other markers.

Value: There is no other marker on the market that comes close to the value/performance ratio of this gun. If you know where to look you can find this gun for cheap. Remember, ICD does not pay huge amounts of money to advertise and sponsor big teams. That is how they transfer the savings to you. If you want to pay extra to sponsor another team, buy a DM6 or ego. You don't have the same trade/resale value as other guns because its not priced super expensive like the others.

Reliability: I did have a bolt issue that was quickly fixed by ICD. This was the only issue I had with it. Since then it has been perfect. Its easy to lube, takes at most 2min. The bolt slides out the back and all the orings you need to worry about are in the bolt. This is my third ICD marker and I have loved each one, thats why I will continue to buy from ICD. It was a little bouncy so I had to put up the debounce.

Tournament/Field Play: Took third in my 1st time using this gun. People were asking my what it was and holding it. So, it does have an unknown status at fields and tournies.

Conclusion: If you want to sponsor a team and pay for advertising, buy a timmy/dm/ego/angel. If you want to buy a marker that doesn't cost a lot but performs like it does, buy an ICD FS-8.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

DannyB Wednesday, July 26th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
DM5, First time ICD buyer
Marker Setup: Silver FS8
68/4500 HPA
New Designs ultralight ASA (on/off)
Egg w/ Z-board
updated FS8 piston & cylinder
10 piece barrel kit
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel kit
Air
Fast loader
Updated FS8 bolt kit

Strengths: Fast
no kick
easy maintenance
simple effective design
light as a feather
clamping feed neck
Weaknesses: Stock bolt locks up (2nd run of production only)
trigger could be less sloppy
Review: First let me say, great job ICD, you did some great work on this one...it's about time. So, here we go.

The Good:
This marker is light, easy to maintain, and a blast to shoot, fast fast fast. There is no kick at all. You get a lot of shots out of 1 9V battery. The efficiency is great to considering it's a blow forward pseudo spool.

The Bad:
The trigger is a wee bit electro-bouncy, can be debounced though, no mech bounce at all. The on/off ASA (which is hard to screw in to turn the gas on)has a tendency to screw out too much in order to bleed the lines, causing you to lose it at your field as you're putting your gear away.

The Ugly:
ICD ended up really impressing me on this one. On the first day of play, my bolt locked. I fixed it but the problem persisted off and on erratically. lots of fun in the middle of fast paced play let me tell you. I was worried about ICD's poor service reputation, but i had to email them. Got a message back the next day (better than I'd heard already) telling me to call and talk to a tech. The tech told me that the 1st run was rock solid, but the FS8 took off and the second run was heavily mass produced and somthing in the machine shop was slightly off because of prolonged production. What happens is the piston that moves during the forward throw slips and locks on the lip of it's housing so it jams and can't complete the return cycle. Anyway, He took my info and sent me their updated bolt kit (drop in) saying that they machined a guide into the cylinder the piston drives and a nub to fit into this guide on the piston in response to this issue. Shoots like a dream now, have had no problems. The best part is ICD mailed me the new parts free of charge with free UPS express delivery (to Edmonton, Canada!!). It only took 5 days from the date it shipped. Great job ICD
Conclusion: I would reccomend this product hands down. It shoots comparable to any non-poppet electro on the market in my opinion (and others too). Just make sure to call up ICD and get the updated bolt kit if you don't have it already. Nothing's perfect, but I can't use decimals...I'd rate it about 9.5, so I'm rounding up
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

RuffnexBonzai Friday, July 21st, 2006
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 11 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
05/06 Egos,DM5,PM6,Alias Intimidator,Dark Intimidator,Sypder Fenix,DM6.
Marker Setup: 06 Ego, 45/45 Crossfire reg w/ SCI bottle, VLocity.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Not sure. I never got to the point of upgrading it.
Strengths: Short, fast & trigger is nice.
Weaknesses: Always having to balance the regs and air efficiency
Review: At the time of release there wasn't much competition for this gun in it's price range, but now there are Alien Interceptors, PM6s and ETek Egos which I feel are all much better built markers. I had 3 FS8s because I was buying and selling them... never was really impressed.
Conclusion: They easily shoot ropes, but if you want a gun that shoots ropes AND has quality. I'd get a PM6,Alien Interceptor or ETek Ego over this.
Rating:
7 out of 10
I found this review  
5 Comments - Add Comment

PB007 Tuesday, July 18th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Revenge V2 LE
Marker Setup: Black w/Blue accents, Dye Ultralight, Dye Airport ASA, Shocktech Long Drop, Crossfire 68/45, eVolution II with Z-board
Recommended
Upgrades:
New: barrel, feedneck, grips, asa, and a drop.
Strengths: Fastest marker out there, extraordinarily: consistent, light, quiet, easy cleaning, and easy to program/adjust.
Weaknesses: Slight side-to-side motion in trigger, grips suck, feedneck to big for an Egg
Review: All in all this is a great marker. It is the best value for a tournament electronic marker. To field strip this thing requires pulling out one screw, sliding out the bolt/valve assembly, put the assembly back in, tighten the screw and that's it. This kind of consistency and efficiency cannot be touched unless you pay much more. Brand new I was +/- 3 fps all day and putting one paintball on top of the other even in ramping.
Conclusion: You can't beat the price, I got mine for $610 brand new. You will not find this kind of performance for less than $900-$1000. If you are looking for a new high-performance marker, don't look anywhere else because you won't find a better value.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

guncleaninnfool Monday, July 3rd, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
ion , ego , promaster , fsp
Marker Setup: Current tourny gun is a vert cocker, AIM body, WGP tickler lpr, ergo reg, ANS quickfire bolt, an assortment of air bottles, WGP flame drop with on/off asa, and a wide range of barrells depending on the paint de jour.
Recommended
Upgrades:
barrel, regulator
Strengths: Fast Efficient Accurate Light Small
Weaknesses: Not many techs around. Not many stores stock parts for it.
Review: This is ICD's best gun yet. A friend of mine bought one and let me test it. It shot great and was really fast. I played a couple games with it and I noticed that it was lightweight, accurate, fast and efficient. The only real weakness to it was that if a part does break on it, there is noone in my area that knows how to tech them and you can't just walk into a store and pick up the part. You have to order it and I don't like that.
Conclusion: I thought that this was a great gun but I don't really like it because there are not many stores that would randomly stock a whole freestyle part section. You know that somethings gooing to break someday and what if your in a tourney the next day?
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
8 Comments - Add Comment

crazy_ape Sunday, May 14th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
NDFS Pro, NDFS-V7, FS Gen2, B2K4 w/PDS, Promasterr
Marker Setup: Silver Dust FS-8, 32 Degree Carbon Barrel 14", JDS LPR, CP Reg, Empire Feed Neck, Stock ASA (for now), Blade Trigger, 68/30 PE, Empire Reloader B
Recommended
Upgrades:
out of the box is fine, but save up for a Barrel and Reg, and i would also suggest a JDS LPR
Strengths: Weight, Accuracy, Look, Pred Board, Low Profile, PDS, PRICE (i bought it off e-bay)
Weaknesses: nothing really, maybe FSDO, but my JDS LPR fixes that problem
Review: Tried the gun out when it first was introduce at my local paintball shop, test fired and fell in love with it instantly, so light, so fast, so sleek. and amazing marker, the new bolt is a promising start, i was able to get about 1200 - 1250 shots out of my 68/45, ran into fsdo now and then but after that i was off and running

when i first bought my marker, it was amazing out of the box, the milling was amazing, the compliments just kept rolling in, it mowed faces all afternoon

for a +/- $750 gun i personally think it ranks up there with todays +$1000 gats, and i'm talking about the gat right out of the box

people will have their opinions about this marker but it is one amazing marker
Conclusion: BUY IT NOW! wait no, DON'T i want to be the only who has it! lol no buy it, its a great marker. ifyour looking for a great and affordable tourny marker the is the gat for you
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, May 14th, 2006 at 8:11 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

NoobCake69 Friday, May 12th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month3 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
05 speed's
timmys
any fast gun
Marker Setup: I run a black with red accented fs8
70/45 dye peanut
halo /w rip
Freak barrel
Stochtech asa
Recommended
Upgrades:
ASA and barrel!!
Strengths: SOOOO FAST!!!!
SOOOO BEAUTIFUL!
SOOOO LIGHT!!
SOOOO EFFIEncient!!
SOOOO DAMN SEXY!!!
Weaknesses: The cheap ASA that came with the gun...
It starves the gun...
Review: Got this sexy thang straight from icd.
noticed that the ASA starves the gun
Poped a new one on.. now shoots like a dream
this thing iss soo fast you have no clue
the modes are great
1-semi
2-full auto
3-fast ramp
4-psp ramp
5-nxl
Conclusion: Great buy
order them at murderincpaintball for good prices
call them.
Very fast andjust al all around great gun
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (3):  1  |  2  |  3
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media