paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / TechT A-5 Vortex Mod / TechT A-5 Vortex Mod / TechT A-5 Vortex Mod / TechT A-5 Vortex Mod

TechT A-5 Vortex Mod Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount TechT

Buy TechT A-5 Vortex Mod

Paintball A-5 Accessories

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


TechT A-5 Vortex Mod
[ View Photos (5) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 24
Average Rating: 9.5 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $35

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The Vortex Mod is for those looking to have the fastest and most reliable cyclone feed available. Initially we were looking to make parts that were just more durable than the stock plastic internals. However, through our testing we started to realize that we could, and should, actually make the design of the parts better. The result was awesome!!!

We found that we were able to make the loader work at much lower pressures. During testing we ran the A5 until we ran out of air. The result was that the loader continued to load balls all the way down to 100-150 psi. At that point the gun stopped re-cocking.

Typically the stock parts stop loading balls at about 350-400 lbs. That's enough pressure to still shoot about 200fps, but you are forced to manually feed each ball by hand. With the Vortex Mod, that will never happen again.

It makes sense that if the parts make it so the loader takes less air to work, that they also could make the loader work faster. We are not making any promises just yet, but this week we are working on seeing how much faster we can make the loader go. This week we will be testing the parts and maxing out stock parts vs. our parts. We'll have a video to show you.

So, if you are sick of buying replacement internals for your Cyclone Feed, and you want the most durable, efficient, and fastest parts available, these little beauties are for you.

Kit includes all pins and screws you will need, however you will need the stock springs for the ratchet.
Product Availability 
The TechT A-5 Vortex Mod is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (3):  1  |  2  |  3
        Next Page
bcelos Wednesday, December 13th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Normal Cyclone
Marker Setup: Tippmann A-5
14 inch Smart Parts Progressive
Double Trigger
Response Trigger
Tech T Vortex Mod
RT Qev
Tech T Lighening Rod
Remote Coil
Strengths: No Ball Breaks
Smooth Operation
No need to change raquets anymore
Weaknesses: Installation
Insane amount of Lube Needed
Review: Ok, I ordered this thing cause I needed some speed upgrades for my A-5 and because of the response trigger I was outshooting my cyclone and I knew I could go faster. I got this thing installed by the local proshop (tried it myself and messed up) once this thing is installed you will notice the change, you cant really see anything differnt unless you take the cyclone apart. but you will feel the difference. The push rod goes smoother. It seemed Great

The Real Test:
ok I tested the vortex during a team practice I unloaded 1200 rounds of paint. All paint went through with no breaks in cyclone,chamber,or barrel. And I was using Brass Eagle Monster a paint that has a reputation of chopping in my gun. I was also able to shoot the 1200 rounds of paint with a single 20 oz C02 tank comparred to the normal 800 rounds I used to get. The Vortex keeped on spinning until there was no more c02. I know this because I noticed that every 2 to 4 trigger pulls I was shooting 1 ball (R/T was not being used) I knew I was about outa C02 and it got to the point where every 10 trigger pulls I had to manually load the cyclone again. I did this about 15 times untill the balls started getting stuck in the barrel. When this happened I knew I was using the bare minimal amount of c02 left, but the cyclone still turned, not every shot, but it still turned. I was still trying to shoot after I uncloged the barrel, then my coil started freezing ( A sign im outa c02) and I had to recock the gun, and push the push rod, It shot once more barly outa the barrel and then the co2 ran outa my barrel and the tank was completly empty.

This mod will make your gun a beast. I can shoot as fast as I can without choping or skipping, and I conserve alot of C02. And you can tell people at the field that you have a vortex mod, and when they ask what that is say its the best thing you can get for an A-5 cause it is
Conclusion: Buy it only 35 bucks, Best thing you can do to your A-5, and necessary for e-grip or response
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

grey88smokin Monday, November 27th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
Standard Tippmann cyclone
Marker Setup: tippy A-5, Palmers QEV, Flatline barrell, E-grip with A.P.E. Rampage board.
Strengths: Quality, they just flat out work great. Operation is much more precice
Weaknesses: Well if no longer breaking balls is one, then it has a weakness.
Review: Install of the Vortex mod was not too dificult, just a little time consuming and making sure it was all set up just right. I probably spent 45 minutes installing the vortex mod. After the install I noticed that using the manual advance lever the movement of the cyclone was very precice, the vortex advanced one ball and no other movement. The cyclone did not jiggle or bounce at all.

After 2000 balls yesterday, out of atleast 3 other A-5's on the field, I was the only one with the this mod and the only one that did not break any balls, I am trying to be critical but I am just in love with this. I had the rampage board set to 15 balls per second, I have yet to try more than that so I can not just yet say how it performs with more BPS but at 15 it worked flawlessly.
Conclusion: If you like choped paint stay way from this, but in my opinion this is just a no brainer, you need it!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Kirk_Nelson Friday, November 24th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month0 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
stock ratchet
Marker Setup: -A-5 / Psycho Ballistics A-5 Bolt / E-Grip / Due 16" Boomstick / Smart Parts Freak Jr. Barrel / T6 Adjustable Stock/ Expansion Chamber.
-98C / Tippmann X-Chamber / Smart Parts Freak Jr. Barrel / Smart Parts Progressive 14" / Response Trigger / Empire Reloader B / Drop-Forward.
-DMC / Empire Reloader B / 68.4500 hpa tank.
Strengths: Metal
Weaknesses: Installation-see review
Review: I broke down and got this product from a vendor right before I went into the 24 scenario event and when he took apart my cyclone he siad that my other ratchet was extremely close to breaking and he showed me the 2 scratches on it. The only thing about this product is that he asked me to help him on one part because two people were needed to put the two pins in to hold the pices together. That is why I said this would be a weakness-does not affect the rating. He greased it up because they are both metal-dur. I played the 24 hour game with and didnt really notice a difference in anything at all. Worked well with my w.a.s. board until it broke, all the wires came off the board when I went to change the battery. Nobody in that game is afraid of semi auto, I have about a hundred welts to prove it. I have not used my gun since but I will come back when I get my board fixed and set my gun to 22 or 23 with the QEV. Great product I guess since I am no longer waiting for my ratchet to break. I really have nothing to prove my point if you can see.

-EDIT-
I cant prove my point because I only got to use this with my sotck semi auto trigger. Will update later when I get the board fixed.

-EDIT-
I borrowed my friends dads 48/3000 tank becuase it was like 40 degrees and I did not want to use my Co2 and my A-5 shot till the tank was almost empty, that I did notice and like.
Conclusion: Good product-metal.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Friday, November 24th, 2006 at 10:47 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

S1lv3r Monday, November 20th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
NONE
Marker Setup: 98 Custom Pro CAMO
14" All American Barrel/Apex Barrel
Cyclone Feed System w/Vortex mod and QEV upgrade
E-Grip w/WAS Board
72ci/3000psi PMI
Strengths: Metal parts instead of plastic, durable
Weaknesses: Hard to install, expensive
Review: This product does exactly what it describes. It is essential if you have a cyclone to install this upgrade. It will allow your cyclone to cycle faster and more efficiently by providing more durable metal parts. Instead of the stock plastic parts, the Vortex uses aluminum to provide more functionality. Although it is hard to install, just take your time and it should come out ok. *Use grease, NOT oil.* The more grease you use, the better!!!
Conclusion: This is a great product despite is price. Improves the cyclones performance 110%!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

Predator1117 Wednesday, November 1st, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
stock ( plastic and the clear urethane ones)
Marker Setup: Tippy A5, Shocktech bolt, Dead on powertube, Pure energy 88/4500hp,CP ASA, Ion QEV

Angel speed 05 v7, Halo B rip drive, Crossfire 68/4500lp, WDP volumizer, CP ASA

Empire barrel kits for bolth
Strengths: Metal construction, durability?
Weaknesses: Installation, Doesn't increase cyclone speed
Review: First off the installation is not easy. No instructions come with it had to retrieve them from the web. Pins used are a very tight fit and I doubt I can remove them now that they are installed. I used a vise rather than a hammer. It's more controlled and less likely to damage the parts. I'm not sure if it is heavier than the stock components

I didn't experience a faster cycle rate. I don't see how it could.
I does seem more durable.

I usually have to rebuild my cyclone every year due to the excessive use of my Tippy. Used Angel Grease for the lube, sanded the piston arm to better fit, still seems tight though. Fired 400 rounds through it at full auto had 4 breaks none in the cyclone probably just the paint. Seems to have a little more force on the cyclone but not more speed.
Conclusion: Might be a good investment if you are looking for more durability. I'll update next season to see if it's life is longer than the stock parts. Does not increase cyclone speed. I reccomend a QEV for a more efficent cyclone.
Don't buy it unless you replace cyclone parts frequently.
Rating:
7 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, November 1st, 2006 at 7:51 pm PST
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

punisher9233 Sunday, October 8th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Marker Setup: A5, flatline, 3A 5000, palmer reg, lp kit, egrip w rampage board, various custom mods, palmer qev, ape ramapge board and rampage trigger
ion, sp qev, sp progressive 16", quantam VL, 3A tank and accessories
Strengths: Does what it says
Its metal not plastic
Weaknesses: None found unless you dont put lithium grease like it warns
Review: With the Rampage board and rail mode cranking 20 plus bps a second I couldnt help but replacing the cyclone plastic internals every other month-granted tippmann never charged me but its still a pain in the rear.just filling space now blah blah blah i i i i i i i i i i i i i i i

UPDATE
the spring is critical. With my speed I chooped alot of paint till I found a spring that was neither too loos or too tight. Took alot of time and paint but if I ve got it right itll never need replacing till the springs wear out-I hope this thing isnt hard on springs. It would cycle and then kick back-its not the popcorn effect that people are having but spring issues.
Conclusion: Metal beats plastic any day
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, November 2nd, 2006 at 6:31 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

BeerIsGoodForU Friday, October 6th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
6 months2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
Just stock cyclone
Marker Setup: A-5
E-grip
Drop forward
12' Tippmann werks barrel
vortex mod
Palmers QEV
Ricochet hopper
jcs dual trigger
Strengths: Works well, fairly easy to install (pay attention to details)
Weaknesses: Instructions were not the best - looked online for better ones
Review: The Vortex Mod works like it claims. The instructions were not the best but i found some better ones online. If you are careful and take your time, it is not a hard install. Just make sure that you have some good GREASE. Marker oil is not strong enough.

I installed mine with the Palmer QEV and together they do awesome. My cyclone works till all my air is out and doesn't skip at all. Plus, the rachet is not plastic and holds up a lot better than the stock rachet.
Conclusion: Better made than stock cyclone internals and [i]if[/i] you take your time to install it, is not hard.
The instructions are not the best, but you can find better online instructions:

http://www.a5og.net/cyclone-feed-system/18-replacing-ratchet
-cyclone-feeder.html?
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Friday, October 6th, 2006 at 10:47 am PST
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

asnmonkey6969 Monday, July 24th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
N/A
Marker Setup: Tippmann A-5
Polished Internals
GTA Flatline barrel
GTA Low pressure kit
GTA E-grip w/ WAS board
JCS blade trigger
JCS folding combat stock
DOP adapter
Palmer Fatty regulator
Shocktech ..4 drop forward
BSA rd30/sb with butler creek blizzard caps
Hopper offset
Smart parts 14 boss progressive barrel
J&J Performance 16 full tilt ceramic barrel
Ben Tippmann Apex barrel
Response trigger available
JCS red hot powertube with front delrin bolt
Palmer Pursuit high flow QEV kit
32 degrees remote
palmer inline reg
pure energy 88cu 4500 psi CF tank
tech t vortex
Strengths: Strong metal internal replacement. Stated at 25 bps max fire rate.
Weaknesses: Did not provide a replacement spring for the axle guide.
Review: I installed it quite easily. took about 30 minutes. cyclone is easy to take apart andput back together. the axle guide spring took a long time to trim. it requires to cut about 1-2 full "circles" of the spring to lessen the force on the axle. i use wire cutter/stripper, nail clippers, and scissors with no luck and acutally damaged those items. i finally got it with the wire cutter at the back of some pliers. after that it was just lube up and its ready. i didnt really feel a difference when i tested it manually, felt slightly smooth and a tad bit softer but nothing big. i had my WAS set to 20 bps max on semi auto. walked the trigger to about 13-15 bpswith only a couple of breaks about 2-3 out of 500 in my barrel. no misfeeds what so ever and never skipped a beat. im sure it can fire faster than 20 bps but id rather not risk that chance, ive heard of people having it set to 22bps and successfully load and no breaks in the hopper. though it would have been nice to have the axle spring guide included instead of cutting some of the stock spring especially for the 40$ i spent on getting it.
Conclusion: very very good product as a replacement for the cyclone with metl instead of the plastic and some performance gains out of it. lower operating pressure as low at 15 psi as stated by then official webite. my plastic ratchet was torn up by my WAS and the vortex mod will remain strong without worry of breaking in the middle of a game.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

kaake42 Tuesday, July 11th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
the stock ratchet
Marker Setup: A-5 w/egrip(ape rampage), Smart Parts All American 12" & Lapco 8" big shot, Palmers male stabilizer, Shock-tech drop foward, Dead on Pro power tube, Tech-T cyclone mod, Palmer Qev kit, GTA double trigger, polished internals, pen spring mod
Strengths: Its metel, smoother action, increase rate of fire
Weaknesses: price! Installation (its not that bad, just annoying).
Review: I love this product. Mainly b/c of the piece of mind knowing that my gun isn't going to break at a crucial moment. Secondly b/c of the increased bps. I was running at 20 bps with just the qev. Now I can max out my rampage (25 bps) with no skips or breaks.
Conclusion: Solid product. Would recommend to any one!
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, July 11th, 2006 at 9:40 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

pbking1000 Saturday, June 10th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Marker Setup: A-5, ultralite barrel, drop forward, R5, Rampage board, jcs trigger, polished internals, vortex mod
Strengths: Durability
Fit (very smooth)
Speed
Absolutely no breaks
Weaknesses: Paint money
May need a new board (rampage, WAS)
Review: This product is freakin' awesome! It's is really durable and now it's got a slick hard coating on the outside (see second photo.) i had some trouble installing it but that was all my fault. When i was putting the pin into the piston rod i messed up the plastic so the fit was to tight. I ended up using a drill to make the hole bigger on the end of the piston rod. Chances are you will not encounter this problem. Once i got it right, holy crap, it shot ropes! I don't see how you could give it anything less than a ten.
Conclusion: Turn you animal into a beast for 35 bucks. You WILL NOT regret it. The only people who would not like this product are people who shoot like a grandma and love replacing parts in there cyclone. This should come stock with the a-5.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, June 10th, 2006 at 6:03 pm PST
I found this review  
4 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (3):  1  |  2  |  3
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media