paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Tippmann Custom Pro ACT E / Tippmann Custom Pro ACT E / Tippmann Custom Pro ACT E / Tippmann Custom Pro ACT E

Tippmann Custom Pro ACT E Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Tippmann

Buy Tippmann Custom Pro ACT E

Paintball Low-End Electronic Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Tippmann Custom Pro ACT E
[ View Photos (12) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 28
Average Rating: 9.5 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $220

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The Tippmann 98 Custom Pro ACT E is the latest addition to the Tippmann line of performance paintball guns.

Tippmann's all new Anti-Chop Technology (ACT) is a new system consisting of a rear bolt, front bolt and linkage arm with movements that are dictated by the location of a paintball in the chamber prior to firing.
If a paintball is fed correctly, the system's front bolt and rear bolt travel together - connected by the linkage arm - to fire the ball. However, if a ball is lodged inside the chamber incorrectly, the front bolt will stop moving forward as soon as it makes the slightest contact with the lodged ball. The rear bolt continues moving forward, but is momentarily disconnected from the linkage arm until it hits the marker's air valve. Upon reaching the air valve, the rear bolt is quickly forced back as it reconnects to the linkage arm, which pulls the front bolt back into firing position. While the two bolts are traveling back together, the lodged ball falls into position and the marker then cycles itself to discharge the ball at normal velocity.

The Tippmann 98 Custom Pro ACT E picks up where the standard Tippmann 98 Custom ACT left off, with an upgraded barrel, drop forward and performance double trigger.

The Tippmann 98 Custom Pro ACT E features the Tippmann E-Trigger System which now includes the Wicked Air Sports (WAS) Equalizer board. The WAS Equalizer board features all new firing modes with up to 30 Balls Per Second rate of fire!

The Tippmann 98 Custom Pro ACT E Features:

11" Quick Thread High Performance Stone-Honed Barrel
5 Electronic firing modes: Semi Auto (NPPL), 3 Shot Ramping (PSP), 3 Shot-Full Auto (NXL), Auto Response, and Turbo
30 Balls Per Second (WAS Equalizer Board)
Double Trigger System
Drop Forward
All Aluminum Die Cast Receiver
Fully Customizable Receiver
Heavy Duty Stainless Steel Braided Gas Line
Removable Front Grip to Accept Expansion Chambers and Vertical Tanks
New Durable Black Finish
Requires 9 Volt Battery (not included)
Product Availability 
The Tippmann Custom Pro ACT E is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (3):  1  |  2  |  3
        Next Page
ANGRYPAINTBALL3 Monday, September 12th, 2011
Period of
Product Use:
4 years
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Well i have used lots of markers. Just none like it.
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98 Custom Platinum with e-grip
Rap4 18 inch riled barrel with sound amp tip
Tippmann 98 platinum expansion chamber
Tippmann cyclone feed with low profile hopper and exalt speed feed
JCS red hot power tube
Rap4 venturi star aluminum front bolt
Rocket cock rear bolt
TechT complete cyclone upgrade
Rap4 carry handle and aluminum front sight
TechT fang trrigger
Recommended
Upgrades:
Rap4 18 inch riled barrel with sound amp tip
Tippmann 98 platinum expansion chamber
Tippmann cyclone feed with low profile hopper and exalt speed feed
JCS red hot power tube
Rap4 venturi star aluminum front bolt
Rocket cock rear bolt
TechT complete cyclone upgrade
Rap4 carry handle and aluminum front sight
TechT fang trrigger
Strengths: Tough cheep to start.
Weaknesses: Low end not a speed/x-ball gun
Review: I love my 98 so much. In my opinion it is the best woodsball marker made. I have kept it up and it shoots great. I would recommend this to anyone who is just getting intopaintball or looking to get into woodsball, because with the proper upgrades you can go far with this thing. Would like for everyone to at least try this gut it is awesome!! Great marker.


PS it really is only good for woodsball.
Conclusion: Would buy it over if given the chance. 10 out of 10 for exceptional preformance.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

jabar145 Thursday, October 9th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
2 years4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Smart Parts Ion
Marker Setup: 14" Proto one piece barrel, folding stock and red dot sight.
Recommended
Upgrades:
New barrel, electric hopper, HPA and a stock if you want.
Strengths: Durable, accurate, great feel, rarley chops and of course its fast.
Weaknesses: Long, springs wear out after awhile, gas hog, pain to take apart.
Review: This gun is one of the best woods ball guns you can buy. It is very rugged and barley breaks down on you. It has great accuracy and shoots fast if you have an electric hopper. There are a few problems with the gun like the springs in the gun wearing down over time and when that heppens the gun will sometimes not fire.

Also it is long and a 20 oz. Co2 only lasts me around 500-700 shots which is not great at all. The only other things bad to say about the 98 is that it can be a pain to take apart the first time and i do not reccomend doing it without the help of someone who has done it before.
Conclusion: This is a great gun and it is very solid but it has some minor flaws that keeps it from truley being perfect.
Rating:
8 out of 10Last edited on Friday, October 10th, 2008 at 12:19 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

icyGrip Tuesday, October 7th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Any basic marker
Marker Setup: 14" smart parts barrel, 20oz co2
Recommended
Upgrades:
Probably a stock, and gas through mag
Strengths: Coast, e trigger
Weaknesses: Trigger is stiff
Review: The 98 custom is a good entry bass gun. it has a e trigger that is easy to use and isn't to bad on the battery. It is supposedly able to get up to 17 bps witch isn't to bad. The only thing i had a problem with is how firm the double trigger is, it is a lot tighter than most speed ball guns and took some time getting used to.
Conclusion: I would recommend this gun to any new comer to the game because how cheap it is, and is just a reliable gun that you can count on to get the job done.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

TheMagicSalami Wednesday, March 19th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
A cheap spider victor clone...
Marker Setup: 98 custom pro ACT with WAS egrip, Flatline Barrel, 6 position car stock, remote line
Recommended
Upgrades:
it depends on your play style, i think a barrel would be a good upgrade, the stock one is ok though, and a cyclone feeder just because you need something to keep up with the egrip
Strengths: Durability
5 Firing modes
its a tippmann...
Weaknesses: it uses more air than say a Spyder...
Review: Well i had been saving for a new paintball gun and had already decided on a tippmann of some sort. When i was looking on eBay (the pro shop in my town isn't that amazing) i came across this gun, after reading every review on here i decided that i wanted this gun. I found an amazing deal on it where i got it, a fog proof mask, and a 20oz tank for 225 dollars, i was ecstatic! so then i got the chance to test it, but my gas line leaked and my egrip was fried, i called tippmann customer service and they sent me a new line and egrip in about 5 days. I absolutely love their customer service. after reinstalling eerything i went and tested it out. It shot great with my flatline barrel and I must say that turbo mode is SWEET!!! it has not caused me any trouble other than that previously stated, i am the only one i know of to ever have any serious problems with a tippmann so i must have just gotten a lemon. But i cannot recommend this gun any higher. with a cyclone feeder and a flatline/apex you will be a formidable opponent!
Conclusion: I recommend anyone looking to buy a tippmann to buy this one, cheaper than the a-5, shoots faster than the a-5 and it has a great pedigree!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

ericisthebest Friday, August 10th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
A-5 with e-grip
Ion
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98 custom pro e-grip
Dye Ultralite barrel
Halo B hopper
Recommended
Upgrades:
Definatly a new barrel, Stock one is O.K. but could be alot better
Fast hopper, this gun can go up to 30 bps on full auto. I have a halo B and it works perfect
Strengths: -Lots of firing modes
-durable
-A.C.T.
Weaknesses: -W.A.S. board is hard to program
Review: This is a great gun that is highly upgradable. I havent had a problem with it yet! W.A.S. board works great! I would recomend getting a dye ultralite barrel (i got mine for cheep at actionvillage.com) but if this is to expensive for you i would recomemd the tippmann works barrel.It is an affordable barrel that increases distance and accuracy alot!
Conclusion: Buy it!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

vforce08 Sunday, July 22nd, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 months6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Smart parts Ion
Tippmann A-5 with E-Grip
Tippmann 98 Custom
Marker Setup: Tippmann Custom Pro A.C.T. with WAS Board E-trigger, Cyclone Feeding System with Vortex Mod, Lighting Rod, and QEHP, X-7 Low Profile Hopper, Vertical Expansion Chamber, 14" J&J S2 Ceramic Barrel, and Maddman Stainless Steel Spring Kit.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Definitely the Cyclone Feeding System is a must for the Tippmann Custom Pro w/ E-trigger, and if you have an extra 60 bucks get the Vortex Mod and Lighting Rod for it, you can get about 20 to 25bps instead of just 15bps and the best part about this upgrade is that you don't have to worry about replacing the internals in the Cyclone anymore, and if you want even more balls out of your Cyclone add a QEHP you can get up to 30bps with this upgrade. Also another good upgrade (Only if you use CO2) is the Vertical Expansion Chamber, it makes the gun more accurate and it saves you more CO2 and it also has a better and stronger front grip. Last important upgrade to make your Custom Pro E as accurate as possible is a Barrel, 14" barrels are the best and I recommend J&J barrels they are just as good as the $80+ barrels and just for half the price, they are just as good and accurate.
Strengths: Speed
Accuracy
Reliability
Durability
Price
Made in the U.S.A.
Weaknesses: None other then its a little too long with a 14" barrel
Review: This marker is the most reliable one I've seen so far, it is very strong and durable and if any internals get damaged (which it would be very unlikely unless you use it every day) they are very cheap to replace. Tippmann has the best warranty out there so if anything goes wrong with the marker they will replace it in no time. If you have the new WAS board in this marker you can be capable of doing up to 30bps if you add either a Cyclone Feeding System with the Vortex Mod, Lighting Rod and QEHP, or a good Halo hopper. This is a very good marker to play speedball or woodsball with and even if you are shooting it at up 30bps it is very unlikely it will chop a ball.
Conclusion: I recommend this marker to anyone that likes speed, consistency, reliability and durability on their marker. There is no need on buying an expensive marker and spending $600+ when you can get this one and its upgrades for less then $300
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

bonzipon Wednesday, June 27th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
none but i have used a tac-5recon
a jt excellerator 3.5
a rental tippmann 98 c
egg II with z board
Marker Setup: tippmann custon pro
e-trigger
had to buy my w.a.s board booooo
20 oz. co2
my orange paintball bolt hasnt comein yet and neither has my tippmann rocket cock
my compressed air tank is coming too
Recommended
Upgrades:
compressed air, or for co2 an expansion chamber
maybe a new barrel but the stock barrel is ok
a new bolt but only if you dont want kick.
Strengths: It is a Tippmann
Electronic
Easy hopper detachment
Stock barrel is pretty good
Drop foreward
Weaknesses: Foregrip is a sucky plastic
Nothing else
Review: ive actually only been playing with this gun for 2 months and 1 month with my tac 5
compared to the tac 5 i love this beast, once im done with all my uppys im going to name my gun the behemoth ahah. its great on the field of woodsball it has some nice settings. such as three shot ramping (my favorite) and turbo and three more.
it has that nice tippmann durable woodsball feel to it but because its electric it could be used as a speedball gun. It can shoot 30bps with e trigger and w.a.s board. its good all around but its a little long for diving into bunkers and stuff but w/e its up to you how you want to use your gun so yeah hahaahaha.
Conclusion: I would recommend this gun to every one out there with the right uppys you can release the beast within even though stock its a beast already haha. ok when you put upgrades on it you can aggravate the beast to a behemoth! id give it a 9.9 cuz not everythings perfect but there isnt one sooooo ya.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Theder25 Monday, May 21st, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Spyders, A5, Autocockers
Marker Setup: Tippmann Custom Pro ACT E, Pure Energy 72/3000, Viewloader Revolution with x-board.
Recommended
Upgrades:
New Barrel, HPA, Fast loader.
Strengths: Speed
Accuracy
Weight
Price
Durability
Weaknesses: Barrel
Review: I bought this gun about 3 months ago and I have to say, it is amazing! This gun is ready to go straight out of the box! I put at least 6 cases of paint through it already and i havent chopped a single ball! I use this gun for speedball and woodsball and I have no problems. The cons of this gun are fixable but need some attention. First, the barrel occasionally unscrews itself during gameplay and can become a pain in the butt. Also, I took my gun apart to lube the internals and when I took it apart, things started falling out. After putting it back together, I noticed the bolt wouldnt re-cock and the trigger was messed. This cost me about $100 to fix. IF YOU ARE NEW TO PAINTBALL, DO NOT TAKE THIS GUN APART, IT IS A COSTLY MISTAKE!!! Other than that the gun is fine.
Conclusion: I reccomend this gun to anybody who wants a good fast gun for a reasonable price. For SPEEDBALL AND WOODSBALL!!!
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

MikeA12 Friday, April 27th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann 68 carbine - this gun is just old but still works, also part of the reason why I just got my custom pro because of tippmann's reliability.

98 custom - tested this, had a flatline barrel, seemed longer than custom pro

prolite - again an old but reliable gun, seems to have a similar bolt action to the custom pro in terms of kick

spyders - friends have these guns, and have had so many problems keeping them working

autococker - friends set-up is awesome, I was really thinking about getting his gun since it's $100 but decided I wanted an electric
Marker Setup: I've been using my 68 carbine for the past 6 or so years.
J&J ceramic 16" barrel
Buddy did some trigger work (lighter, shorter throw)
remote line

Will now be using the custom pro mainly
Recommended
Upgrades:
I don't know yet, I just got it.
Def. a hopper if you want to keep up with this gun and maybe a barrel.
Strengths: Electric Tippmann
Weaknesses: I guess people have said heavy? whatever
Review: So like I've pointed out I've had a 68 carbine for a while and decided to get this gun.

I'll start from when I pulled it out of the box.

Looks really sweet. Easy to hold and such. I turn it on and start dry firing, sweet. Air up fire some and still sweet. I don't know at what point things started to go wrong but it stopped firing. Almost like something was stuck or not oiled. So pulling the grips off I saw that the solenoid was stuck. I messed with this problem for about an hour. Talking with customer service they said adjust the dwell and put in a new battery. Did both of these and did the same thing. So I just kept messing with it. Within the hour I noticed when the solenoid was in the right position and I cocked the gun and fired it would work fine. Same when I aired up. So maybe it was just the dry firing that wasn't really working. After playing with it some more, adjusting the dwell and debounce and just firing it a lot more it started working consistently. The guy at customer service said I should send it back, but I decided to hold off on that to just see if things would work themselves out which it looks like they have. I didn't want to send it away right after I just got it anyways.

One thing about the programming. It's not hard at all like other people say. I did notice that the instructions say to enter into programming hold the trigger and then hold the button until the light goes red. Well, mine is orange and doesn't change until let go of the button (still holding the trigger), light goes green then red and stays solid, at which point your in the programming mode. So just that manual screw up was all.

I programmed it for 23 bps and 30. I have video's of both on youtube.com At 30bps it seems like the gun is reverberating on itself, which makes me think it will not shoot that fast. I have to get a hopper that can keep up to see what's actually going on. It makes since though, after a while a mechanical mecanism is only going to shoot so fast until it hits that reverberation.

I have yet to play with it and will update you when I do.
Conclusion: It seems like this gun will own. I play lots and lots of woodsball almost every weekend. The 68 carbine has been good and def. doing better than the newer spyders that friends have gotten. We'll see.

I'm giving a 9, I really wish there was an 8.5 or something 'cause I still haven't played with it. But I like tippmanns so I'll round up. And I'll keep everyone updated. I doubt I'll ever give it a 10 but we'll see.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

Dan09 Tuesday, April 24th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Smart Parts Ion - Honestly, I like the CP better because the Ion does not fit well in my hands. I Guess it all depends on who you are. I'll Swear by my Custom Pro. My buddy Swears by his Ion.

Icon-E - I honestly didn't like this one very much. Technically, i guess they're pretty similar, though i'd take my Tippy over that flimsy feelin thing any day.
Marker Setup: Custom Pro.

Pure-Energy 72-3000 Compressed air
Empire 10pc barrel kit (The stock barrel is fine for beginners, though. It's just a matter of me always wanting the best. :) )
Cyclone Leader - Love it. Absolutely 0 complaints about it. (if you're gonna get a Custom Pro then shell out a little more for the cyclone upgrade if you get the e-trigger.)
Recommended
Upgrades:
Honestly, I'd get a better barrel, possibly a kit. The stock barrel is OK but to really throw paint accurately, i'd get a new one

E-Trigger

Cyclone Loader (See Above)
Strengths: VERY reliable.
Weaknesses: Trigger. I don't like the standard trigger.
Review: Awesome. I absolutely Love it. Only complaints are the trigger, which, if you really wanted to, you could sand down, or for a couple extra bucks, replace. Love the reliability, ease of cleaning, and the solid amount of upgrades available for it today. Again, i'd go with the Cyclone instead of one of those more expensive 'lectric hoppers because it's cheaper, and very reliable, and Not many people who, if you really have this marker can outshoot their Electric hopper to begin with. Not to mention that with this marker, you can't really outshoot your cyclone to begin with.
Conclusion: If you are looking for woodsball, speedball, possibly even scenario, this is a very versatile marker. Recommended buy for anyone looking for a mid-range E-marker.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (3):  1  |  2  |  3
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media