paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Tippmann Custom Pro ACT E / Tippmann Custom Pro ACT E / Tippmann Custom Pro ACT E / Tippmann Custom Pro ACT E

Tippmann Custom Pro ACT E Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Tippmann

Buy Tippmann Custom Pro ACT E

Paintball Low-End Electronic Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Tippmann Custom Pro ACT E
[ View Photos (12) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 28
Average Rating: 9.5 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $220

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The Tippmann 98 Custom Pro ACT E is the latest addition to the Tippmann line of performance paintball guns.

Tippmann's all new Anti-Chop Technology (ACT) is a new system consisting of a rear bolt, front bolt and linkage arm with movements that are dictated by the location of a paintball in the chamber prior to firing.
If a paintball is fed correctly, the system's front bolt and rear bolt travel together - connected by the linkage arm - to fire the ball. However, if a ball is lodged inside the chamber incorrectly, the front bolt will stop moving forward as soon as it makes the slightest contact with the lodged ball. The rear bolt continues moving forward, but is momentarily disconnected from the linkage arm until it hits the marker's air valve. Upon reaching the air valve, the rear bolt is quickly forced back as it reconnects to the linkage arm, which pulls the front bolt back into firing position. While the two bolts are traveling back together, the lodged ball falls into position and the marker then cycles itself to discharge the ball at normal velocity.

The Tippmann 98 Custom Pro ACT E picks up where the standard Tippmann 98 Custom ACT left off, with an upgraded barrel, drop forward and performance double trigger.

The Tippmann 98 Custom Pro ACT E features the Tippmann E-Trigger System which now includes the Wicked Air Sports (WAS) Equalizer board. The WAS Equalizer board features all new firing modes with up to 30 Balls Per Second rate of fire!

The Tippmann 98 Custom Pro ACT E Features:

11" Quick Thread High Performance Stone-Honed Barrel
5 Electronic firing modes: Semi Auto (NPPL), 3 Shot Ramping (PSP), 3 Shot-Full Auto (NXL), Auto Response, and Turbo
30 Balls Per Second (WAS Equalizer Board)
Double Trigger System
Drop Forward
All Aluminum Die Cast Receiver
Fully Customizable Receiver
Heavy Duty Stainless Steel Braided Gas Line
Removable Front Grip to Accept Expansion Chambers and Vertical Tanks
New Durable Black Finish
Requires 9 Volt Battery (not included)
Product Availability 
The Tippmann Custom Pro ACT E is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (3):  1  |  2  |  3
                            
drobecks Saturday, July 22nd, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
6 months1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder Pilot
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98 Custom ACT E-Grip
Halo B w/ Rip Drive
14 in TearDrop barrel
Expansion chamber
Tapco folding stock
Remote line
Recommended
Upgrades:
New barrel
Expansion chamber
Motorized hopper (Halo B, Egg, etc)
Strengths: Extremely tough
Fully auto capable
No chops
Accurate
Weaknesses: heavy
needs a expansion chamber
stock barrel bad
W.A.S. board kinda complicated
Review: Overall this gun is a great gun. I've own a Spyder Xtra and a Brass Eagle Eradicator(sucks) and this gun is much better than them. Due to the capability of this gun reaching 30 bps it is really neccisary to get a expansion chamber and a motorized hopper, the halo b may seem like overkill but since the gun can reach a speed of 30bps even in fully auto, it works great. This gun is pretty accurate at speed up to 20 bps. Another deal is that the stock barrel should be replaced, its not very good, a teardrop or a j&j ceramic seems to be the right choice. I have this gun with a expansion chamber, a halo b, and sometimes having a 20oz directly on the gun and this easily reaches 8 or ten pounds, which for me isnt bad, i like heavy guns, but that means it isnt suited for speedball at all. The W.A.S. board is kinda complicated and you need to use a allen wrench or somethin small to press a button inside the front of the rear grip to program or turn it on.
Conclusion: Overall a very solid gun. it much surpassed my expectations of a gun for this price. I got it for 200 at action village. It is pretty good on co2 and its very accurate even under speeds of 15+ bps. Its kinda heavy but i don't know if thats actually a con, for me it gives it a solid feel like its not gonna screw up on me.
I give this product a 9 because it isnt perfect and there are some flaws but overall a extremely good gun.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, July 22nd, 2006 at 7:43 pm PST
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

the_real_kaz Saturday, July 15th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann C duh.
Marker Setup: Piranha, 98 C ACT WAS.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel
Expansion Chamber
Strengths: Durable
WAS board
pretty fast
ACT is great
Weaknesses: Chrono trouble. Jumps all over
Has a little kick to it.
On the heavy side
Review: I'll start with the chrono trouble. Before I installed my expansion chamber I almost couldn't get it to chrono under 300! It would also jump +/- at least 15. The expansion chamber did a lot to help that out.

It has a bit of a kick to it. On full auto or ramping it's a bumpy ride, but not to bad. I can still fire pretty accurately.

It's a Tippmann so it's heavy. But that also makes it one of the most durable marker out there, and even if you do break it, your no more then a drive to ANY paintball place and they can fix it!

The WAS board is sweet to say the least. Better then any e-trigg gun under $250. It is nice. And with that the marker is set at 15bps but you can go fast. Up to 20 i belive before It can no longer keep up.

Of course durablitly is no problem with this marker.
Conclusion: Very good, Will work for people entering speed ball, but made more for the woods. Will not of course keep up to higher end guns but can hold it's own against Ion's, Wraths, and others in that area.
9/10 for the price
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

blakes2406 Wednesday, May 24th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month8 of 11 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Smart Parts Ion
WGP Prostock
Tippmann A-5 with WAS Board
Spyders
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98 Custom Pro E ACT with WAS Board
Empire 7 Piece Barrel Kit
PMI 72/3000 HP Tank
Apache LCD
Recommended
Upgrades:
-New barrel or barrel kit
-HPA
-Fast loader
Strengths: -Its a Tippmann, so its durable
-Fast!
-ACT
Weaknesses: -Long
-Heavy
Review: I've owned many markers over the years, and for some reason i always keep coming back to my first love: the Tippmann 98 Custom. I learned how to play paintball with this marker, and i just dont feel comfortable when I'm not using one. Problem is, I play speedball, and as everyone knows, Tippmanns dont have a great track record in that catagory. Then comes along the Pro ACT E. It doesnt chop, which basically gives it eyes, a feature many speedball markers have. It also comes with the WAS Equalizer board, which makes it very fast. It has three legal tourny modes (NPPL semi-auto, PSP Ramping, NXL Full Auto) so no matter what tourny you play in, you'll have a mode you can use. This is basically the same setup the Pro team Tippmann Effect uses, minus a center feed kit and a custom trigger job. Its durable, so you can keep playing while everyone else is cleaning there $1,000 babies. Nothing bad to say about this marker, except that it is a bit heavy and long compared to most other speedball markers, not really a problem.
Conclusion: Buy a barrel kit, fast loader, and HPA and your ready to roll. This marker can compete with the best.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
8 Comments - Add Comment

UpInSmoke420 Wednesday, May 17th, 2006
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month7 of 9 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann 98 custom (basic)
Marker Setup: -Tippmann 98 Custom Pro ACT E
-Cyclone Feed System
-J&J 14" barrel
-20 oz. Co2
Recommended
Upgrades:
-an upgraded hopper
-Maybe a new barrel but not a necessity (the stock barrel is quite accurate)
-maybe a Rocket Cock II ...to keep everything nice n clean
-thats just about it everything else is good
Strengths: -Made In AMERICA (so u know its gunna last)
-the egrip
-stock barrel
-ACT rocks
Weaknesses: The stock hopper cant keep up with the egrip
Review: This gun is awsome!
-a new hopper is needed if you want to shoot over 15 bps , i recomend a Cyclone or a Halo b ..egg2....really any E hopper...but if u want 2 keep it mechanical id go with a cyclone (just get the Q.E.V. if u want to shoop over 17 bps)
-the stock barrel is already 11'' and is already ver accurate ...
-the egrip is a little confusing at first but just read carefully and ull get it it just takes a while
this gun comes good 2 go stock ...i would still recomend tha things...i recomended ...but its overall a Really good gun for the $$
Conclusion: go get a credit card and order this RIGHT NOW ...u wont regret it !
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, May 17th, 2006 at 6:50 pm PST
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment

moose70 Sunday, May 14th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
98 Custom-Not nearly as good
Marker Setup: Stock Custom Pro E with ACT
Ricochet 2K
Rufus Dawg Stick Trigger
W.A.S. Board
Recommended
Upgrades:
New Trigger
Strengths: Fast, Durable, Reliable, five firing modes,
Weaknesses: Kind of Heavy
Review: I just got this gun a little while ago, and it's great. It is a huge improvement over my crappy little stock Spyder TL-R. I believe it shoots about 13bps. The W.A.S. board is great, I had a little trouble programming it though. It's good for speedball and scenario for me.
Conclusion: I would recommend this gun to anyone unless you need something lighter.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

Bushman Monday, May 1st, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann Pro Response, It is less reliable but at the same time more.
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98 custom Pro E, W.A.S. Board, Thunder Pig Barrel, Folding Stock, Evlution II Hopper, Z-Board, Double Trigger, Drop Forward
Recommended
Upgrades:
A more accurate barrel, on full auto you will need the extra accuracy
Strengths: Never chops a ball, can go 30 bps with the right paint and hopper
Weaknesses: the W.A.S. Board instructions are hard to figure out to an extent
Review: No problems with the mechanical aspect of the marker, but the board is a little hard to adjust, The process to adjsut anyting except the modes are strenous and irritating. Involving a wide veriety of pulling the trigger and pushing/holding the button. Comes shipped form tippmann for nearly the best performance, except it is set for 15 bps and many of use like it alot faster. It is approved by all paintball leagues so it is legal in all aspects. Love to use it on the field because it looks like a regular tippmann except for the electronic loader. It can run on a standard plastic loader as long as its not set any higher than 15 bps

it was 53 degrees out, I was using a co2 tank and some draxxus blaze, and never chopped once.
Conclusion: great marker as long as you arent electronicaly inclined, the W.A.S. Board and Anti Chop Technology is the best match ever set up by tippmann
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
4 Comments - Add Comment

andres14as Friday, April 28th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
6 months41 of 41 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Spyders, Ion, Autococker's,
Marker Setup: Tippmann custom pro ACT E, Apex Barrel, Pure Energy Aluminum 68ci 4500psi, Halo B v35 victory board and rip, pure energy 20oz co2, Extreme Rage Harness, Pure energy remote line, sniper werks barrel, in about 2 weeks low pressure kit i will load up a pic of my gun shortly
Recommended
Upgrades:
if you have the money Defenitly Apex Barrel the best range and sweet looking but if you dont then just get a 50 dollar tippmann werks barrel its has good range and looks good also, if you have a nitro tank get a low pressure kit, and if you have co2 get an expansion chamber, and of course electric Hopper Halo B is the best
Strengths: Speed
AccuracyPrice
Firing modes- 5 firing modes will discuss in review
Weaknesses: None really just the stock barrel could be better
Review: ok when i got my gun it came with a barrel sleeve, Tippmann 200rd. Hopper, manual, allen wrenches, spare o ring, barrel Squeegee, and e grip Adjustment Tool. I ordered my gun from Tippmann pros.com its the best website for any Tippmann owner or buyer i got my Tippmann 98 custom pro act e for 219.00 the cheapest ive seen and u already qualify for free shipping so if u don't live in Colorado 219.00 dollars is all u going to pay and you get alot more items than other websites



the first thing anybody would want to do when they first get there gun is shoot it so first i was messing around with the trigger to see if this 30bps rate was true i was reading the manual and it said the firing modes were Semi-auto- you all know what semi auto is, Auto response- really cool Fires on the pull and release, Full-auto- is 8 and 30 shots
per second, Turbo- Starts as semi-auto and goes to response mode as trigger speed
increases past 5 shots per second, Burst mode 1- 3 shot burst, burst mode 2- 6 shot burst. and each mode of fire is fully adjustable. so yeah i got up to 28 bps on a cold night on turbo mode. and thers also deounce and dwell settings but if u have this marker dont mess with either inless u know what ur doing.


I have 3 different setups here they are


Setup 1- Tippmann 98 custom pro ACT E-Apex Barrel-Pure Energy Aluminum 68ci 4500psi-Halo B-Remote Line- Harness


Setup 2- Tippmann 98 custom pro ACT E-werks Barrel-pure energy 20oz-Halo b


Setup 3- Tippmann 98 custom pro ACT E-Stock Barrel why?? because sometimes you just want to use the stock barrel and it works really good i don't know that's how it is for me-NITRO Why?? just fun with stock and of course my halo b

The only weakness some newbs will have is setting ur w.a.s. board if u have trouble setting up the w.a.s. board contact me at
andres14as@hotmail.com i will help u out it can get tricky setting it up if ur new at paintball or contact Tippmann they are the ones who helped me when i just got my gun

-Accuracy- if u can just afford the gun then its still a good investment it is very accurate with the new 11 inch barrel but like i said Tippmann could of made it better the best barrel to get with with this marker is probably the Apex or Flatline i recommend Apex just because u can dial in what u want like 8 clicks is flatline 1 is regular i play with about 4-6 and it makes a big difference over ur stock barrel

-Durability- like i said before this marker is very Durable the only thing Tippmann could of done better is baked the paint not just let it dry but bake it on so u wouldn't be able to scratch it off so easy but overall in durability even though its a electric Tippmann i give it a 9.5 in durability like i said the paint could of been better but the performance of this marker is a 10 out of 10

-weight- with my 68 4500 carbon wrapped nitro tank and halo b hopper with rip drive and victory board it weight's nothing to me and i way about 135 pounds and i have no problem carrying it around i will give this marker a 10 out of 10 in weight's it ways nothing i cant complain

-looks it looks like any old Tippmann 98 custom the only diffrences are there is a red E on the grip a new drop forward a 11 inch barrel not a stubby looking 8 inch a new double trigger and in the inside there is the ACT bolt a WAS board and thats about all for looks


UPDATE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! alot of people have been asking me how to program ur board and here are the instrucions i gave them all hope they help u

ok well is ur gun programmed? to the 98c pro act e if no then contact me. if yes then all u have to do is turn off ur marker by holding the trigger in tell u see a solid red light then let go then ur marker should be off then hold down the trigger and press the button for about 2 seconds let go at the same time and there should be a solid red screen this be a solid green wis ur dwell settings dont mess with the dwell settings press the trigger to go to the next setting the next should be debounce if u know what this is then change it i have mine set up to ten press the trigger down again and it should be a flickering green this is ur ROF rate of fire ps. to change any of these settings hold down the trigger for about two seconds let go then ur in programming mode. and pull the trigger for what u bewant ur setting to at. the tippmann 98c pro act e can be programmed up to 30 bps so that means if u want ur setting to be at say 15bps pull ur trigger 15 times each time u pull the trigger there should be a red led flashing one per pull. the next setting is your firing mode again do the same step to get into the programming mode 1 trigger pull is semi auto 2. 3 round burst 3. 3 shot full auto 4. auto response 5. Turbo and thats to get out of these settings and go test out your gun just turn it off then hold down the button intell u see a orange light let go and it should blik then ur ready to fire thanks for reading this hoped it helped u out if something didnt make sense comment my review or email me and feel free to ask questions.
Conclusion: I personally like this gun for speed ball alot more it is of course a good woodsball gun and great for all beginners and pros and of course its a Tippmann u know its going to be a good gun but this gun is fast and with the new ACT(anti chop technology) which helps alot so go get this gun its a great Gun The W.A.S. board and the ACT is the best combo Tippmann has ever made it shoots like a high end gun no lie
and strain relief ur w.a.s. board and your good to go (if u dont know what strain relief is comment my review i will get back to u) if u think my review was helpful u might think my w.a.s. board, Apex barrel system and spyder pilot reviews are also helpful so go check them out and why i said this better for speedball is because it shoots like a speedball gun and has the distance of a woodsball gun so this is a great marker for and all around player like me
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Friday, July 14th, 2006 at 10:53 pm PST
I found this review  
8 Comments - Add Comment

Blackcobra Tuesday, April 18th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
6 months3 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Custom R/T
Marker Setup: 98 Custom Pro E, 32 degrees 14 in quiet riot, 32 degrees x chamber, rocket cock 2, Empire reloader II.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel, hopper to keep up with grip
Strengths: Firing Modes
Barrel
Double Trigger
Drop Forward
Weaknesses: None
Review: Made in AMERICA. i love this gun its great i used it saturday with no breaks and just ripping on the red team. i held 4 people down while my team moved up the field. the stock barrel is almost as good as my Quiet Riot. i could fire as fast as my buddy walkin his 03 Cocker. this guns ACT works great, the fireing modes are sweet on turbo, and the weight isnt bad if your hefty like me.
Conclusion: BUY this gun its great for everyone. shoots fast easy to walk on turbo. this is another tippmann creation that was well worth the money.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (3):  1  |  2  |  3
                            
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media