paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Smart Parts Dynasty Ion / Smart Parts Dynasty Ion / Smart Parts Dynasty Ion / Smart Parts Dynasty Ion

Smart Parts Dynasty Ion Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Smart Parts

Buy Smart Parts Dynasty Ion

Paintball High-End Electronic Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Smart Parts Dynasty Ion
[ View Photos (15) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 16
Average Rating: 9.4 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $305

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Features:
Ultra fast rate of fire - 17 bps in semi auto and rebound modes, and 10 bps in 3 shot burst or full auto modes.
Extremely lightweight - weighs in at just 2.2 lbs.
Break-beam Vision eyes - shoot up to 17 shots per second without ever chopping paint
Interchangeable Body Kits - Instantly change the color of the Ion's body with 4 different composite shells
Adjustable trigger - shorten the trigger pull without ever taking the Ion apart. Full adjustable forward and back travel to customize the trigger exactly how you want it.
9 volt battery operation - easy to find and replace 9 volt batteries. No more expensive battery packs. One 9 volt battery is included. Does not come with charger.
Easy disassembly - One 1/8" Allen wrench (included) is all you need to disassemble the Ion
Vertical feed tube Orings - fit a wide variety of hoppers without having to buy a new feedneck
Durable ball detents - last 10 times as long as current ball detents
Gas efficient - get between 1000 to 1400 shots from a 68ci 4500psi fill
Impulse 11 inch barrel and Impulse feedneck threads.
Product Availability 
The Smart Parts Dynasty Ion is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (2):  1  |  2
        Next Page
ITO_Killa Thursday, March 26th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder Pilot
Vibe
SP-1
Marker Setup: NDZ Skeleton Bolt
Dye Hyper II Regulator
Epiphany ASA/Pin Depressor
Freak Barrel Kit
BlackHeart Board
Empire Reloader B Hopper
Recommended
Upgrades:
1. The bolt is by far the first upgrade anyone should throw on, the stock bolt is very freaking heavy, you will see a HUGE difference immediately!
2 Freak Barrel system

Strengths: Sexy, Fast, Sturdy
Weaknesses: Heavy
Maintenance (Complete dissasembly required to clean bolt)
Review: I love it. For the price, you can't really beat it. For maintenance, you have to completely remove the body from the trigger frame, the slide the board out of the trigger frame, while still connected to the body, disconnect the board from the body, to remove the bolt for cleaning/lube. Takes about 10-15 minutes to complete, not bad, but after months week after week, it gets tedious. If that sounds like it sucks to you, get an IOn XE.
There are a ton of upgrades and body kits for you to hook up your new dynasty.
Conclusion: Highly recommended
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

mezzamerize Tuesday, March 17th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Shockers
Other Ions
any other Ion based guns like the Eos
Matrix
Marker Setup: Dynasty Ion (silver)
Freak barrel system
Drop forward
Recommended
Upgrades:
The gun is pretty decent stock. You need to get the inserts for the freak barrel. A drop forward is a must for me, b/c it balances the weight of the gun out. Plus a drop makes you look like you know what you're doing ^_^
Strengths: Good gun out of the box
Weaknesses: Gas hog
Review: If you're gonna buy the Dynasty Ion, buy the pro version... it comes with the the drop forward and a dovetail ASA.

Unlike the ION XE, the body on the Dynasty is really slick. Makes it look less like a low-end gun.

Basically, this is a good gun, because the original ION was a good gun. Like the original, the bolt and the insides are pretty good, making the gun quite consistent. Add to this the Freak barrel inserts to get a good paint-barrel match and it makes the gun horribly accurate.

The Dynasty basically fixed a lot of what people were complaining about: the feedneck, the cheap looking body, stock barrel, etc

People also complain about the trigger, but I found it to be quite workable. As long as you're not looking to empty your hopper in less than 8 seconds, the trigger works fine.
Of course, if you're leet enough to be able to fire 14 bps, by all means replace the trigger.

Like stated above, however, the gun is not very gas efficient. When using this gun, expect to refill on air frequently and having a large tank. (which is also why you need a drop forward)
Conclusion: It shoots straight, it's electronic, it looks cool, and it's cheap.
What more can you ask of a paintball gun?
With the Freak inserts, the gun is a total monster.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, March 17th, 2009 at 11:53 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

SPRAYonPAINT Monday, January 5th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
i have used everything from a brass eagle to an angel HAHA
Marker Setup: i bought the stock ion and added this later:
dynasty body kit(black)
cp sling trigger(dust red)
lapco wana b clamping feedneck(black)
smartparts s rail(silver)
smartparts on/off asa(red)
freak barrel kit(red)
im using the regular red smartparts reg and grip covers
halo
DXS compressed air tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
feedneck
drop forward
babie barrel
Strengths: Right out of the box its a pretty good for a cheap gun.
Weaknesses: Feedneck is kinda
Trigger is okay buy it is plastic
Barrel is fair
Review: This gun is awesome for 180 bucks. Yeah gotta get a kinda costly hopper and a compressed air tank but thats what i did for like the first few months and it was a really cool gun. But after i got all my upgrades i love this gun! it looks awesome and i might get a virtue and that would make it so much better.
Conclusion: overall i would say this gun is pretty good cuz you can get it for 180 and there is like never a ending to the upgrades you can get.
IM GIVING THIS GUN A 7 BASED ON ALL THE GUNS I HAVE EVER SHOT.
Rating:
7 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

clrandolph Saturday, November 29th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Smart parts epeiphany, and eos
Marker Setup: Smart parts ion, velocity veiw loader, pure energy 4500 psi 68 ci tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
Feed neck neck, fire bolt, drop forward, barrel
Strengths: Accurate, no kick, fast
Weaknesses: Feed neck, asa
Review: I got this gun about 3 weeks ago and the day i got it I put in the fire bolt. so i dont really know what its like shooting it with the stalk bolt. But the fire bolt is amazing and if that was the only upgrade you got your marker would be great. Its extreamly accurate I was hitting a berrel from 200 feet away every single time.
Conclusion: This is a amazing gun, It is fast, accurate,durable, and reliable
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

cfa247 Wednesday, July 16th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
1 year13 of 13 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
My other Smart Parts Ion...look at my 1st Marker Setup
Marker Setup: Smart Parts Ion
Powerlyte Body Kit
Q-Lock
Max- Flo Reg
Shocktech Reg
Max Flo Compatible 47/3000 Tank
All-American Barrel
Halo B Loader
Wave Roller Trigger
But that got stolen =[ so now I use...

Smart Parts Ion
Pewter Dynasty Body Kit
All American Barrel
Max Flo Micro 3000 psi Reg
Max Flo Micro Compatible Tank 47/3000
EvLution 2 Loader
Q-Lock
Recommended
Upgrades:
Aftermarket bolt is nice but not required.....im getting a Trinity Sick Bolt
I've heard a new trigger is nice...im getting an NDZ Roller....
QEV
Any kind of On/Off ASA

Strengths: ACCURATE!!!!
With an All- American barrel it is QUIEETT!!!
CHEAP for the performance you get!
Weaknesses: MINOR weak point is the trigger( you might want to get an aluminum one)

Review: Marker is great! After doing a lot of research i finally decided to buy this gun.
First of all, with my all american barrel this thing is ACCURATE!! I was probably able to hit a thick tree easy at 50 yards with perfect accuracy. The range was also amazing! My friend was suprised at the range I got with my ion( he's not a total newbie either =] )

The gun is also VERY QUIET too. I could actually hear the bolt moving and mechanics inside the marker more than the pop of the shot!

Air flow was nice. I've never had any problems with my regs or the solenoid valve.

Never chopped a ball. Only time when I've actually gotten some paint in the barrel was when someone shot my barrel at the porting.

Extremely easy to disassemble and understand. Programming and circuit board (stock) is easy to understand as well

The BPS Rate is also very fast. In my opinion, when you look at all those other guns out there that shoot at insane speeds and everything it's really not neccessary(debateble) unless you're playing for some crazy tourney, but not everyone plays in the NPPL

Trigger wasn't the best because it's not aluminum, but what do you expect from a $275 gun???

Looks great! Dynasty Body Kit gives it a great custom look
Conclusion: Overall, a great gun for the price of $275 in my opinion!
I definetly recommend this gun to anyone who is on a short budget, but also doesn't want to have an entry level gun.
I got mine off actionvillage.com and it even came with a max flo micro and tank, plus the rest of it for only $275!!!
Please rate hepful if you found this review to be
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, July 16th, 2008 at 7:27 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

FranDog Saturday, January 12th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
2 years
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
shockers
proto matrices
dye matrices
G7
Marker Setup: Dynasty Ion
DXS 48/4500
Halo B w/ rip
Virtue Board
CP Sling
QEV

Lotus Pump
CCM kit
12'' UL barrel
pocket hopper
Recommended
Upgrades:
Trigger
Bolt
Board
QEV
Strengths: Price
Not too hard on paint
Performs well for the price
Weaknesses: Battery fiend
Needs upgrades early
Review: I got mine for $250, really a deal considering the stock Ion was $200 and a Dynasty body on its own was $100, so for only $50 more i had a $70 AA barrel, a $40 Q-Lock, and a $100 body ($210 in value)

For the price the Ion performs very well however I do recommend a new trigger ASAP; right now i have every upgrade an Ion can take in my Dynasty Ion and the thing shoots very well, I also recommend an ASA/rail combo because the bottom line adapter that Ions come with makes for a VERY long marker setup and you will notice that the first time you try to gunfight someone.
Also a new board is a cool feature to have although without a QEV it will be pointless
Conclusion: I do recommend players in the market for an Ion look into a Dynasty Ion if the price is around $50-$75 more than a stock Ion, the savings are just too good to pass up
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

metallica_rokz Tuesday, December 11th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
None similar, only mechanical guns
Marker Setup: Dynasty ion body kit (black),
Micro max-flo system with 47ci 3000 HPA tank,
NDZ roller blade trigger (black),
All-american barrel,(black)
Destroyka grips,(black)
NDZ QEV,
SP Q-lock low rise feed neck,(black)
Evlution 3.(smoke)


Recommended
Upgrades:
New barrel, AA is great (depends where you buy but it usually comes with the dynasty ion kit, i got mine from www.actionvillage.com)
New trigger for sure! NDZ or CP
Fast loader,
QEV-best upgrade for the price! (18$)
Strengths: Fast, fast, fast
Gas efficient
Sexy looks!
Weaknesses: None so far
Review: I recieved this gun about a week ago and installed all my parts i had bought, gassed it up and i was really suprised! I was used to mechanical gun (VL and trilogy series autocockers). The NDZ roller trigger is sooo light and smooth when you shoot semi, you almost don't even feel all your trigger pulls and some people say you can't really reach 17 bps with the stock board...thats a real B***S***. with the QEV i was able to shoot with a dwell of 9 ms (minimum is 8) but i put it up to 13 so i dont get any FSDO. With the dwell soo low and the rate of fire delay lowered to maximum, yes in fact it does shoot 17 bps. This gun is amazing! To anyone wanting to have lots of fun and wants to upgrade to an electronic gun this is the one! This gun is also very reliable unlike syders or VL's...simply look at the company profile...Shockers, Impulses..you can't really go wrong with smart parts.
Conclusion: I recommend this gun to anyone who wants to have fun with a fast and reliable gun!!
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, December 20th, 2007 at 7:16 am PST
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

jkstiller Sunday, April 15th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Viewloader Genesis
Tippmann 98 model and Custom
Cockers
Marker Setup: Dynasty Ion
AA barrel
SP qev, T-Board, Cp sling trigger, Hybrid Lady grips
Hyper 2 reg, Fire bolt, SP asa and rail, Sp q-lock
Halo B Hopper, 45/68 Crossfire
Recommended
Upgrades:
Board
Trigger
Feedneck
Reg
Not in any order
Strengths: CHEAP
Accuracy
Speed
Reliability
Looks
Weaknesses: Board
Feedneck
Lack of respect
Review: **Strengths**
The smart parts ion is a great gun...High end performance without the High end price. The gun had great accuracy shooting ropes one ball after the other all hitting the target. The speed is ok out of the box...deff good enought for an eggy but still far from the halo. I have had my ion for a year now, and only thing that has happend is the need of new detents. The Dynasty ion is soo sexy far better than the stock ion bodies.

**Weaknesses**
The board is not the greatest with only two led's its amazing some of the younger players can figure it out. The T-Board is a great board cheap and so much easier to use
The feedneck is weak because it doesn't clamp if they had put the SP q-lock then it would be great.

Last Just because you have an ion that doesn't mean you are a newb....remember its 15% marker....85% marksman. So show respect were all just here to have fun
Conclusion: This is a great gun for a Torny player or a Rec player wanting to mow some of his friends faces!

Give it a 9 because nothings perfect
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

jer_page Wednesday, October 25th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
1 year1 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
shocker, cockers, imps, dm's
Marker Setup: SP Ion, Dynasty Body Silver, 14 inch Pipe kit, SP Clamp feedneck, Shockteck drop 5, ND Bolt, ND Trigger, SP Blackheart, CP Shorty, Dye Sticky, SP 360 QEV, Halo b with victory, 68ci 4500psi
Recommended
Upgrades:
trigger, feedneck, drop, barrel, QEV
Strengths: -Looks
-Price
-Accuracy
-Speed
-Maintenance
Weaknesses: -Air efficiency
Review: - price
its a very low price for what you get.

-accuracy
pretty good with my pipe, but the stock barrel is sh_t

-speed
my opinion is you only need 15bps ramping and this marker can do it no problem

-maintenance
at first it was a problem but now its really easy once you get used to it.

-air efficiency
well my field only fills up to 3000psi and i can get like 3 locklids and a hopper maybe more.

-looks
the dynasty body looks great but mine already had a couple of scratches on it, i dont know how it happend. And there pretty over priced for a body kit. But it does look great.
Some people at the field thinks im shooting a dynasty shocker but its just my ion.
Conclusion: Its a great marker, It works great and looks great and works loke a shocker. But i have to give it an 8 for the efficiancy and the scraches.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

mmkxbox Monday, October 9th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
all the tippmans(nah)
dm5(way Sick)
dynasty ion(sick)
Marker Setup: spyder pilot acs
viewloader evolution2
two 12oz tanks
Recommended
Upgrades:
ASA(NDZ)
New bolt(only if you have the$)
Strengths: Same as the ion except a new feedneck,barrel,and sick dynasty body kit
Weaknesses: NoNe
Review: This is the sickest ion to be sold when it comes out of the box.Its got 200$ ups for only 100$ more than a regular ion.My advice to you if you love team dynasty,which i do and you can get a new barrel and a q-lock feedneck than buy it. It is a great gun for begginers in tournaments and a magnificent gun for back-up for a great tournament player + you'll get looks at the ocal paintball field.
Conclusion: This gun is sick and it can shoot ropes trust me.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (2):  1  |  2
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media