paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Smart Parts Ion Firebolt / Smart Parts Ion Firebolt / Smart Parts Ion Firebolt / Smart Parts Ion Firebolt / Smart Parts Ion Firebolt

Smart Parts Ion Firebolt Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Smart Parts

Buy Smart Parts Ion Firebolt

Paintball Ion Bolts

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Smart Parts Ion Firebolt
[ View Photos (6) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 44
Average Rating: 8.5 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $40

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
This is a new bolt made by Smart Parts for the Smart Parts Ion marker. It is lighter, quiter, has better efficiency, has less kick, and is very inexpensive. The Firebolt weighs 16 grams, and has an milled center, much like the TechT L6 bolt.
Features
- Weighs 16 grams
- Allows Ion to cycle faster
- Quiter
- Better efficiency
- Less kick
- Very inexpensive
Product Availability 
The Smart Parts Ion Firebolt is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (5):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
Dover Tuesday, February 22nd, 2011
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Stock Ion Bolt - weight 27.01 grams
SP Firebolt - weight 15.35
Tech T L7 bolt - weight 7.1 grams

Do the math... Go with Tech T or a Smart Parts Firebolt.

Marker Setup: I'm a hardcore poor gun whore, lotsa markers and counting:
Orange County Bushwackers SL66
Sacramento XSV Ego 06
1 of 150 blue e-star camo Etek1
Bob Long Closer
DYE DM4 (dust black)
Proto Minion 2007
SP Ion (ShockTech body kit)
SP Ion XE
WDP Angel LED 1999
APS Angel A1
2 Invert MINI (gloss black, dust olive)
5 WGP Autocockers (Bob Long, 2 E-Cockers, pump Trilogy, E2)
6 AGD AutoMags
2 JT E-Excellerators
1 VL E-marker
1 Piranha/PCS USP pistol
1 Piranha EVO
Strengths: Lower weight / mass.
Weaknesses: Public perception of Smart Parts products.
Review: BUY THIS BOLT. The weight difference is enough to change your input pressure and dwell.

Stock Ion Bolt - weight 27.01 grams

SP Firebolt - weight 15.35 grams

Tech T L7 bolt - weight 7.1 grams

At about half the weight of the stock bolt, the Firebolt helps make your Ion or SP-8 faster, lighter and quieter while dropping the operating pressure about 15 psi.

You can find the Smart Parts Firebolt for $ 20 US in used condition, while the Tech T is considerably pricier at $ 60, almost three times the price.

Do the math... Go with Tech T or a Smart Parts Firebolt.

Conclusion: Buy this bolt.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

ballsdeep Wednesday, October 29th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Stock bolt
Marker Setup: Ion:T-board,firebolt,qev,ANS trigger,Q-lock,Dovetail ASA,68/45 tank,empire reloader b2
Strengths: -Lightweight
Weaknesses: -None
Review: Well when you first get this baby out of the box you will not beleive how much ligher it is than your stock bolt. This thing really moves and pumps the paint out too. The only advice would be to lube it really good. That's basically it but i would say it really moves and is probly one of the best out there.
Conclusion: Get it
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

goatmouth Sunday, October 12th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
3 years
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Stock Ion
Marker Setup: -Smart Parts Ion (1st Gen)
-Smart Parts 360 QEV
-Smart Parts Fire Bolt
-Smart Parts Lo-Rise Feed Neck
-Smart Parts Freak Barrel Kit w/ All American Front
-Deadlywind Foehn B.O.B.
-Deadlywind Finger Lock Trigger
-Element V.2 Frame
-Virtue Board
-Virtue Membrane Pad
-Virtue Laser Break beam Eyes
-Virtue EZ On 2.0
-Virtue Argyle Bullets 45 Grips
-CP Shorty Regulator
Strengths: Price
Light Weight
Efficiency
Weaknesses: Have found none.
Review: What can I say, it's a Smart Parts product. I order the bolt a few weeks after buying my Ion. After the installation I noticed the gun performed with less recoil and the gun shot smoother. The bolt makes your gun more effiecient because you can lower your dwell, due to the weight.
Conclusion: I would recommend the Fire bolt for one simple reason, PRICE! I use the Virtue board in my Ion and the bolt performs well. I am sure that there are other bolts that perform the same, but not for the price. I get great air effenciency with mine and sure you will too, althought every gun is different.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

FeedMeLead Tuesday, June 17th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Stock Bolt
Techt L7
Marker Setup: SP Ion
All American
360 QEV
Firebolt
Evolution 3
Lapco Feedneck
Strengths: Light
More Efficient
Less Kick
Weaknesses: Occasional Leak (Not Often)
Review: Just got this new bolt, i striped down my ion lube up the bolt and took it down stairs to the basement to try it out. First thing i noticed was that it was alot quieter. After shooting for a bit i got the dwell set (its at 13) and i had no problem with drop ,which is great. Also the bolt cycled alot smoother.
Conclusion: If you want a good upgrade for your ion and don't want to spend alot, the firebolt is a good buy. But you might have to deal with the occasional leak.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

diamondbakk Saturday, May 3rd, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
3 months0 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
stock bolt - heavier, louder
Marker Setup: smart parts ION XE
SP firebolt
SP 360 QEV
Virtue eyes
A.P.E. Rampage board
CP rake trigger
CP clamping feedneck
CP flame drop forward
CP on/off ASA
CP shorty reg
AVI blue macroline
Empire grips
Empire Magna
Empire tank cover
Crossfire 70/4500
Strengths: Light (16g), Quiet, lower dwell
Weaknesses: IT BROKE!!!!!!!!!!!!!! after (about) 8000 balls, the piece of crap snapped in half
Review: although it seemed to work well at first, nobody in their right mind would recommend something that broke after so little time. I was playing at a friends house and my ion xe started pissing air, I thought it was an o-ring but when I removed the firing can the bolt came out in 2 pieces.
Conclusion: This bolt sucks! it broke after 8000 paintballs!
Rating:
1 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

APEion Thursday, March 13th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
stock bolt
Marker Setup: Smart Parts IOn
SP Firebolt
CP Rake
Q-Lock
CP Rail/ ON Off
DMX
SP360
Kila Detents
Strengths: Light
color, if you like red
Weaknesses: None...so far
Review: I got this bolt and i love it so far. Its an easy replacement from the stock bolt. I was going to get the L6 bolt but i decided to get this one instead. Great bolt and cant wait to use it more. I still might end up getting the L6 if this one breaks, but this one is great for now.
Conclusion: Great bolt
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Y2KpbCaptain Saturday, February 23rd, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
- stock bolt
- ACS Delrin Bolt on a Spyder
Marker Setup: SP Ion
All American/Freak Barrel
Firebolt
SP 360 QEV
Clamping Feedneck
Strengths: Quieter
More efficient because
Inexpensive
Weaknesses: None
Review: I bought mine for $40 which is a really great price. i believe it used to be $50 though i could be mistaken, but what i'm getting at is that if the price has dropped than it's an even better buy than before. i've only shot about a case with it but i definitely noticed more shots per tank, it was quieter which is important for me bcuz i play in the woods in addition to speedball. and it's made by Smart Parts, that is just a positive in itself.
Conclusion: buy it, it's made by Smart Parts so you can't go wrong and you can;t continue using the stock bolt.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

noooblover Sunday, January 27th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Stock ion bolt
Marker Setup: sp Ion, Virtue board, cp trigger, cp on/off, cp rail, sp clamping feed neck, hybrid grips, all American barrel, reloader b, crossfire 45/68 tank and the sp fire bolt.
Strengths: Only 40$, less than half the weight of the stock bolt.
Weaknesses: It broke in half! Not durable at all, thumbs down!
Review: I am very sad, I bought this bolt about three weeks ago, I loved it. It made a big difference in the way my gun shot. It was quiter, faster, like no kick at all, and shot straighter.

All this good stuff I said about this product just went out the window, because about ten minutes ago i was dry firing my marker and I heard a loud leak from the firing chamber. I thought I blew a line or a o ring. I opended her up and all the tubing looked ok. I opended the firing can and the peice of crap bolt was broken in half!
Conclusion: in conclusion I dont think it was anything I did, I only had it for about three weeks. and i only put two cases of paint through it. It should be able to handle more use than that! I still gave the fire bolt a three becase im asumming that not all their bolts break, but mine did. My advice to everyone is to save the extra 20$ dollars and spend a little more and get a better bolt. thats what im gonna do.
Rating:
3 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

INERTIA Tuesday, January 22nd, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
3 months2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
Stock,firebolt,new dezings skele *dual ring*, supafly bolt.

all better besides stock but also heavier well skele isnt.
Marker Setup: ION 07, blue body kit from sp, blue dye grip, silk cp sling trigger, virtue board, multiple bolts, freak back, 16 inch AA front, sp clamping feedneck, halo b with victory, rip drive, contract killer back, virtue E-Z on,360 QEV.
Strengths: -Cheap
-Light
-Infrequent leaks
Weaknesses: -infrequent but still it leaks
-CHOPS LIKE A M0-F0


Review: Its a good starter bolt but if your upgrading your boards and bolts more than once you might as well buy a new gun.

i wouldn't really reccomend this bolt but i mean its served me well enough so im giving it a 7 because i thought a 6 was a little harsh so id probabally say 6.5 but i cant so im giving it some slack.
Conclusion: Dont buy this bolt spend 10$ more and get a double ring skeleton bolt by new dezigns
Rating:
7 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

cceboys Monday, January 14th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
None, only stock ion bolt
Marker Setup: Smart Parts Ion
S.P. Q-lock
360 QEV
S.P. S-rail
S.P. On/Off Dovetail
72/4500 Pure Energy Peanut tank
Halo B
Blue cp sling blade
Smart Parts Freak Jr. kit
S.P. Ion Firebolt
Strengths: Omg, light! shiny, less kick, lower dwell, lower input pressure
Weaknesses: None so far, will put any on if i find
Review: I got the fire bolt for Christmas this year. I decided to go ahead and put in in because i didn't really have anything else to do. I disassembled my gun and took out the stock bolt and i never really realized how heavy the stock bolt is until then. I guess it isn't really that heavy, rather than it's pretty heavy and the fire bolt is really light. In my hands just by guessing, the fire bolt feels like it's about 1/3 or 1/4 the weight of the stock bolt it is amazing. So anyway, I lowered my dwell to 15 (not extremely low but I didn't have enough air to see how low I could get my dwell) and I lowered my input pressure to around 160 ish. I put a hopper full in my halo and went into my bedroom. It was raining so i just opened my window and shot from inside of my house. Anyway, I fired a few shots and I have to say I was very impressed. It has no kick. I can't say I have tested any other after market bolt but it have almost no kick what so ever. So i had it on semi and it was almost time to leave to go to my family reunion so I let her rip. And even at the highest rates of fire I was hitting-probably guessing around 15 bps-it was rock steady and never moved. I love it so far. The only thing that I can't say that I can tell you is how efficient it is. I had around 500-550 PSI left in my tank and I shot the hopper then just dry fired the air I had left. But from what I've seen so far in it I am very pleased.
Conclusion: This is a very good product that is well made and from a good company in my opinion, Smart Parts, and I would recommend it. It is the best deal out there for the money. It may not be quite as good as the L6 of L7 according to some, but i believe that due to the price, you can't really find a better deal.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Monday, January 14th, 2008 at 4:41 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (5):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media