paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Smart Parts Ion Firebolt / Smart Parts Ion Firebolt / Smart Parts Ion Firebolt / Smart Parts Ion Firebolt / Smart Parts Ion Firebolt

Smart Parts Ion Firebolt Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Smart Parts

Buy Smart Parts Ion Firebolt

Paintball Ion Bolts

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Smart Parts Ion Firebolt
[ View Photos (6) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 44
Average Rating: 8.5 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $40

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
This is a new bolt made by Smart Parts for the Smart Parts Ion marker. It is lighter, quiter, has better efficiency, has less kick, and is very inexpensive. The Firebolt weighs 16 grams, and has an milled center, much like the TechT L6 bolt.
Features
- Weighs 16 grams
- Allows Ion to cycle faster
- Quiter
- Better efficiency
- Less kick
- Very inexpensive
Product Availability 
The Smart Parts Ion Firebolt is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (5):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5
        Next Page
Kawasaki413 Sunday, November 18th, 2007
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
6 months2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Stock bolt didn't break in half
Marker Setup: Smart Parts Ion
Evo 3
Evil Detonator Reg
360 Qev
Strengths: None,slightly lighter but weak.

Weaknesses: Broke into 2 pieces during fire
Review: I was playing at new kent paintball w/ my Ion on full auto gun.After the first 2 balls i heard what i thought was an air leak. I took my gun apart an while removing my bolt it came out in 2 pieces. It was lubed properly before play and I cant think of any other reason of failure besides cheap manufacturing. Avoid at all costs!
Conclusion: Too weak not worth the money get an L6 or L7
Rating:
1 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

agentM192 Monday, November 5th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Stock Bolt
Marker Setup: SP8
SP8 Stock
SP8 Stealth Barrel and Shroud

Strengths: Better Air Effieciency
Quieter
Weaknesses: IT SNAPPED!
Pricey
Review: This bolt was great...until it snapped. It gave me much better air efficiency and it was nice and quiet. It also allowed me to lower my dwell. I shot about 300 rounds throguh it before it snapped. I was using fresh, good quality Draxxus Bronze with compressed air. It's all stock except for the bolt, barrel, stock, and scope. I was degassing but there was a leak. When I opened it up I saw that the bolt had snapped right where the long skinny part meets the front, bigger part.
Conclusion: This is probably one in a million but mine snapped.
Rating:
3 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

Wenier1 Thursday, August 23rd, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 months4 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
Stock Bolt and Shocktech Superfly. The shocktech has worked fine and have not had any issues with this bolt as of yet.
Marker Setup: Kingman Fasta Loader
Shocktech Bolt out back Bodykit
Core on/off ASA
Shocktech drop forward
J&J Barrel Kit
Virtue Eyes, Board, QEV, Membrane Switch
Strengths: This bolt was very light weight and worked very well.
Weaknesses: The design and making it so light.
Review: I was very pleased with the product at first, found it to be extremely light and work very well. But when i had just got mine someone else at the same field as me had theirs break in exactly the same way this one had. I hoped it was just their one that had some problem but that turned out to be incorrect.

So overall the design to make it so light is actually a bad thing and has brought out a major weakness in the bolt.

Check out the photos at the start of all the reviews to see my one. Should be pic 6.
Conclusion: So in conclusion i will not be recommending this bolt to anyone after 2 have broken identically.
Rating:
1 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

renovatio Monday, May 28th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
none
Marker Setup: SP Ion
SP 360 Qev
PE On/off
SP Firebolt
SP q-lock feedneck
187 Coctract killer grips
Freak Jr.
Strengths: Light
Reduces the kick
Don't void the warranty!!
Cheap
Better efficiency
Quiter

Weaknesses: None
Review: Very light bolt that give you the opportunity to reduce your dwell and input pressure.
It eliminates the markers kick.
I am using mine for about 6 months and nothing had happened to it!
It is cheap!Using it you will see a better air efficience and u will notice that your marker is a little quiter thank with the stock!
I recomment it to everyone!
Conclusion: it Worths its money!Buy it!I give it a 9 cause i don't have experience on how other bolts working!
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

paintball48 Sunday, April 15th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Stock bolt for ion
Marker Setup: Ion
Fire bolt
Virtue quv
All american barrel
Empire b2
Pure energy 48ci 3000 psi
Strengths: Saves air
Acuacy
Weaknesses: Nothing
Review: The smartparts fire bolt is one of the best upgrades you can get for your ion.It improves accuracy and saves a lot of air and its not to much to aford its only 40$ if you have the money and want some upgrades get it you will like it a lot.
Conclusion: This is the best upgrade you can get so get it.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Surgetek77 Saturday, April 14th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Stock Ion bolt
Marker Setup: Ion
QEV
CP Rake Trigger
SP on/off
SP grips
Freak Jr barrel
Halo Loader
Q-lock clamp
Strengths: Little to no kick
Weaknesses: None thus far
Review: I went out looking for a bolt for my Ion. I had my mind set on an L6 or L7. I went to my local shop (Boston Paintball) and talked to them. they don't stock TTech so I had a choice between the SP Firebolt and the Shocktech.

I asked the guy for his opinion. He said that both were good, but if he had an Ion and was choosing he would go with the bolt from the company that made the gun. Seems logical, so I got it.

Installation is a no brainer.

First thing I noticed when I fired it was that there was little to no kick, not there was a huge kick with the stock bolt but it is a little noticeable.

It doesn't affect the weight of your gun. If you have the firebolt in one hand and the stock in another, there is a difference in weight.

I can't say much about the air efficiency, because I didn't sit there and count balls i was firing. Put it this way, before I would play a game with my hopper and 2 pods, and I would have a little air left, not enough for a whole game but maybe a hopper worth. when I used the Firebolt I used 3 pods and a hopper and had enough air for 1/2-3/4 of another game.

I would say, in estimation that I went from 550 balls to a tank to about 650 to a tank. I am sure there are people that get much more and some that get less but this is just an estimate.

Conclusion: I highly reccomend the Firebolt. for $40 you can't go wrong.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Hako_Asian_Tako Monday, March 19th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Marker Setup: Spyder XTRA is all stock. Ion has a blackheart blackheart, firebolt, QEV, CBQ roller, CBQ feedneck, dye grip. a bunch of other stuff.
Strengths: No recoil
Quieter than stock
lighter than stock
Weaknesses: Not much so far. I have only tested it.
Review: So i just received the firebolt in the mail and i was really excited because i was waiting a week for it. I was anxious to shoot it so i lubed it up and installed it. I first shot it and first thing i realized was that it was pretty quiet. Then i also saw there was no kick at all i was shooting without my ion moving.
Conclusion: Don't want to sound weird but buy it. You probably won;t reret it.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Ebonclaw Sunday, March 4th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
None unless you count the stock bolt
Marker Setup: Smart Parts Ion, 45/4500 Air America High Output HPA, HALO-B, SP 360 QEV, NDZ Roller trigger, Trinity Slim Body blue/black fade, CP Razor drop and CP on/off ASA, Blackheart Board, Firebolt, Dye Sticky 3s
Strengths: Kick reduction, greater efficiency, good choice of materials.
Weaknesses: There are lighter bolts out there but.....
Review: Picked this up for $40 because I didn't have anything else to spend $40 on. Wanted to see what a difference it made.
I specifically sought out the Firebolt even though I was aware there were lighter bolts out there, but I have heard several instances of these bolts snapping or breaking . I figured Smart Parts is not going to sacrifice reliability to shave a few grams off, and a few grams won't make a huge difference anyway. I'd rather have the reliability as I've never heard of a firebolt breaking. It was a good choice. I noticed an immediate kick reduction, which is exactly what I was expecting out of any new bolt. It's sooo much lighter than the stock. The gun shoots smooth as butter now with no muzzle rise or jumping around. I was also able to drop my dwell as a result of to bolt being a much lighter weight. The anno does rub off slightly, but to not expect anno to rub off during cycling is silly. Doesn't affect performance any of course.
Conclusion: Would strongly reccomend. If you want a new bolt, but are concerned with the bolt's reliability and can't make up your mind, this is the bolt for you. 9/10 since there are lighter bolts out there, but again, this is a tradeoff to reliability, and how much of a practical difference a few grams makes.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

jitters93 Thursday, February 22nd, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 months3 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
stock bolt n bolts
Marker Setup: -Trilogy competition
14" kaner
overdrive loader
---------------------------
-Smart Parts ion
yellow body kit
fire bolt
12" progressive
halo backman
---------------------------
-05 Prostock
14" dye ultralite
halo frontman
---------------------------
-'96 Black Magic
16" dye ultralite
halo backman
---------------------------
-Vision Impulse
strange bolt
sp tapeworm
ndz blade trigger
14" all american
halo frontman
Strengths: Less kick
Efficiency
16 grams
Weaknesses: Occasionaly chops even with eyes on
One bak o-ring
Review: Before i got this bolt and when i had a small tank with my ion i would get around 580+ shots. Now after getting this bolt i had more shots perfill i went from 580 to around 680 shots and with my 48ci 3k psi tank i got around 500+ shots. The bolt is light and wieghs 16 grams, it looks kool too. I have had some problems with it chopping paint but only occasionaly, and dosent effect accuracy or anything else.
Conclusion: Kool, efficient, and somewhat cheap bolt
Rating:
8 out of 10Last edited on Monday, February 26th, 2007 at 6:17 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

hottybobotty919 Sunday, January 7th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
6 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
stock bolt
Marker Setup: Smart Parts Ion
Blackheart board
Smart Parts Firebolt
ANS roller trigger
Dye grips
Shocktech rail
New Designz ASA on/off with bleed valve
Pure energy 45 ci. 4500 psi tank
Halo B with rip drive
Strengths: -Greater efficiency
-Less kick
Weaknesses: None that i know of...
Review: When i had my stock bolt, i didn't think that an aftermarket bolt would improve the performance of my Ion any better. Fortunetaly, I got a deal on ebay where I bought the Firebolt, Blackheart Board, ANS roller trigger, Dye grips, A necklace squeegie, a NXe lanyard, and some other junk for 140 bucks all brand new. When i put the bolt in and shot it I immediataly noticed the difference in kick. I also get about another hopper of shots per tank full.
Conclusion: If you still have your stock bolt get the Firebolt. Its a nice upgrade, and it looks pretty sweet too. : ]
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (5):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media