paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Tippmann Triumph SSL-200 / Tippmann Triumph SSL-200 / Tippmann Triumph SSL-200

Tippmann Triumph SSL-200 Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Tippmann

Buy Tippmann Triumph SSL-200

Paintball Hoppers / Loaders

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Tippmann Triumph SSL-200
[ View Photos (6) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 26
Average Rating: 9.0 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $60

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The new lightweight SSL-200 loader with 200 round capacity features Bend Sensor Technology that delivers up to 15 BPS. The Bend Sensor only operates when the marker is fired to improve efficiency and prolong battery life. The SSL-200 low profile design also features, LED on/off low battery indicator, quiet operation, adjustable O-ring neck to fit most markers and a snap fit wide mouth lid.
Product Availability 
The Tippmann Triumph SSL-200 is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (3):  1  |  2  |  3
        Next Page
chiknpaintball Saturday, October 23rd, 2010
Period of
Product Use:
3 months0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
just gravity feed
Marker Setup: Invert Mini
Tippman Hopper :(
Stock barrel
Steel tank :(
Strengths: Light
Fairly fast
Price
Weaknesses: Size
Ugly
Maintenance
Review: I think this is on OK hopper. All of you people giving this thing a 10 have you ever seen a Rotor or Prophecy or something??? This hopper feeds fast enough but if you shoot fast then i wouldn't recommend this hopper. It is SO light I don't notice it. I personally think it looks ugly but you may be different.
Conclusion: I recommend it for anyone playing woods-ball or upping from a gravity feed. I was comparing it to a Dye Rotor which kills it any day. But for the price you cannot go wrong with this hopper.
Rating:
7 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Drewbie Saturday, July 10th, 2010
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Standard "shake & shoot" $5 hoppers.
The air-powered thing on an A5... can't remember the name.
Marker Setup: Azodin Kaos
Pure Energy 70ci 4500psi carbon tank
Psiworx Pro3 Remote
Tippman SSL0-200 Loader
Strengths: Price
Easy to use
O-Rings for feedneck grip
Weight
Weaknesses: Doesn't shoot for me and make me amazing?
Review: I've shot a few thousand balls with this hopper on my Azodin Kaos and I have ZERO complaints. It's not noisy at all and only activates when a ball leaves the port. That means you shot one and that's a thousand times louder than the little .3s whirr.

The best things about this are the low price ($45 CAD), the ease of use, slim profile, and low weight.

I really like the fact that this has o-rings on the barrel attachment area as I can tighten it down on my Azodin Kaos and never fear the hopper coming off as some have reported. I'm pretty confident that the o-rings make the difference.

It might be a little difficult to clean if you break a ball in it, but that's never happened so I can't speak to that. I have seen my buddy break balls in his A5 air-powered loader (hehe).
Never had any jams or mis-feeds and I do tend to hold my gun & hopper on 20-30 degree angles while shooting through brush.

Disclaimer: Only used Marballizer and XO Industries (purple and green) paint with this.
Conclusion: If you've got a mechanical marker you probably can't pull the trigger fast enough to make any of the more expensive (and heavier) loaders worth it. This thing works perfectly, is simple to use, is quiet, and has a fairly low profile that holds 200+ balls.
Just buy it and you'll wonder how how you ever played with the "shake and shoot" gravity fed loaders. :)
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

jebus2 Monday, August 18th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
6 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98 custom
Triumph SSL 200
Vertical adaptor expansion chamber kit
J&J 14" Ceramic barrel
Strengths: Fast (enough)
Lightweight
Looks good
Best battery life
Weaknesses: Size
Review: I was so sick and tired of constantly have to shake my gravity fed hopper, so i jumped on PBreview and had a good look for a reliable, cheap hopper. The SSL 200 fits the description. I order it on trademe for only $40 NZ. I did a couple of drop tests between the VL 200 and the SSL 200, here are the results...

50 balls
- Gravity fed hopper 16seconds
- SSL 200 5.5 seconds

It did in about a quarter of the time!

The weight surprised me a little for its size (its kinda big)

And the thing looks real nice as well!

EDIT: I have only needed to change the battery once ever since i have bought it, which was six months ago. I played a two day game and it didnt even get low on battery!!!! My mate runs a VLo and he need to change his battery every 2-3 games! His hopper is obviously faster but still...

Another thing is that this hopper kept up fine when i was using it on my mates Redz Ion and Infinity Legened.
Conclusion: Good, cheap hopper. Would recommend to anyone. Best battery life out there!!
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, April 9th, 2009 at 2:14 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

MFCT Wednesday, July 23rd, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Been a cyclone man for 3+ years. No other electric hopper ever used.
Marker Setup: Smart Parts SP-1, BSA red dot, ION barrel, Trinity Wire stock, Tippmann Triumph SSL-200.
Strengths: Durable, great design, and low noise.
Weaknesses: Paddles seem flimsy
Review: My first electric hopper. The only reason I really picked this one over the more expensive ones, is it happened to be the same hopper being used in the Smart Part videos for the SP1. Endorsement enough for me. It has ran great every game and changing the battery is easy enough (I use rechargables and pull the battery after gameday teardown/cleanup, so I'm not sure how battery drain is) as well.

The smooth design lends well to clean up, the lid snaps tight and overall...its a good build.

The paddles inside seem a little flimsy. Not that I have ever had a problem with them, but it just seems flimsy. Minor knitpick, I suppose. Again, coming from the cyclone feed, those things were reinforced...so, I'm kinda biased.
Conclusion: For $60 retail, its a great electric hopper. I can't imagine you feeling bad for dropping such a low amount on a good hopper like this, so I fully recommend it.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

musicmixer10 Sunday, July 20th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
6 months2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
smart parts vibe, icon x, PMR, Tippmann 98C, Spyder VS2
Marker Setup: Smart Parts Vibe with 14" barrel, Tippmann Triumph SL200 Hopper, 72/3000 HPA tank
Strengths: Lightweight, fast feeding
Weaknesses: Very big, hard to cover, not reliable
Review: The Tippmann Triumph SL-200 is a very good hopper for beginners, a good deal. But, I do recommend upgrading to an eggy or a hopper that has faster feeding if you have a fast gun. Another thing, if you can learn to keep this hopper in a bunker, then you don't even have to upgrade, but its your choice. Personally i think that tippmann should stop using electronic/mechanical hoppers, this think broke down on a fully charged 9 volt. I could have gotten and empire reloader b for 5 more dollars but i didnt
Conclusion: The Tippmann Triumph SL-200 is cheap, durable, and is a good hopper. I recommend it to everybody
Rating:
8 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, October 18th, 2008 at 3:26 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

fuzzpaint Wednesday, April 23rd, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
2 years
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Gravity Feed
Halo B
Marker Setup: Spyder Rodeo
Kingman Rocking Trigger Frame
Odyssey Halo B w/ RIP Drive (Tippmann Triumph SSL-200 as my backup hopper)
16" J&J Ceramic Barrel
Strengths: Won't Break
O.K. feed rate
Good Battery Life
Weaknesses: No big weaknesses
Review: I've been using this loader for over 2 years and i've gotta say its worth the money. If your gun or you can't shoot more than 15 bps this is a great loader. When I upgraded to a rocking trigger I started shooting faster than 15 bps so I had to upgrade to a Halo B but if for some reason I can't use my Halo my SSL-200 is a must. It's not heavy and pretty compact.
Conclusion: If you are shooting under 15 bps, don't have a big buget or just need a backup hopper I definatly recomend the SSL-200. You will be satisfied with your purchase. For a cheap 15 bps hopper I give this hopper a 9.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Tippmannpb81 Wednesday, September 5th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Halo
Empire B
Egg 1 and 2
Marker Setup: A-5 - Palmer Reg. - Crossfire HP 70/4500 - Flatline - E-grip(W.A.S.) - Jcs Stock - Howitzer Bolt - Trinity Spring Kit -(Woodsball Gun)

98 Custom - X-chamber-E-bolt-Halo b(Woodsball Gun)

Dyansty Shocker - Halo B
(Speedball Gun)
Strengths: Light
Nice Profile
Good 98 repsonse hopper
Weaknesses: Obviously Speed
Review: I got one of these for my buddy to use, and Its a good hopper for $50. Nice and light and it keeps right up with his response on his 98 custom. Obviously not as good as a Halo etc etc. but good for semi-fast woodsball guns. I dont know how it would do in the rain prolly not to well. The batery effiency was really good. Overall Tippmann made a nice quality hopper.
Conclusion: Good for the price
Semi-Fast
Light
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

rottendrew Tuesday, August 7th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month9 of 10 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
gravity feed / friends electronics/Kingman Spyder Fasta 18
Marker Setup: BT4 Assault e grip and exp chamber mag, tippman triumph ssl 200 hopper, remote line and 20 oz co2 and a 4 in one back pack
Strengths: Price, shape, size, Capacity, reliable
Weaknesses: Hard to clean, Cant find a canvas cover for it.
Review: I have fired over 2000 balls out of this hopper on the same battery ,and only had a problem with some cheap thin shelled field paint. It was so thin it was breaking in my half filled ball tubes when i ran.

This suggests to me that these balls would have broke in a regular gravity feed hopper. So to be fair i wont count it in my assessment of this hopper.

While using mid range priced paint i found this hopper to be perfect for feeding you a constant reliable 10 to 15 balls per second .It only operates while the gun is fired and its quiet. 200 ball capacity is nice too. The battery door is located at the back on the bottom and is easy to change. However I never kept its abilities maxed out . I set my rate of fire to 10 bps as I feel 15 to be excessive. It feeds fine and only missed a beat when the hopper had about 7 or 8 balls left bouncing around when I was at a full run and firing. Even then it failed to feed only one ball . Besides if you cant hit someone or pin them down with 10 balls per second I don't think 15 will do the trick for you ether.

UPDATE The hopper has worked so well that i have bought one for my son who has a BT4 Banshee and it too works flawlessly. We recently were involved in a 10 hour senario game. We used over over 3500 balls each without one ball jam or break in the hopper
Conclusion: As long as you use a good fully charged 9 volt battery i cant see you having any problems. If you want 15 balls a second buy a hopper that delivers 17. I think this is a excellent hopper for the price. It works just as well as a higher priced model .
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, August 29th, 2007 at 9:51 am PST
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

FISTFULLOFRODEO Monday, July 16th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
6 months2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Diablo TSA backman- Tippy wins
Marker Setup: 2003 ICD bko project-not done
2007 BT-4 combat
Strengths: Light
Always works
Fast enough for me
Weaknesses: Would be nice if it had a faster rate/sometimes.
Review: So apon getting my smartparts ion in 2005, i picked up a Diablo tsa backman hopper to feed the beast. its modes were impressive and it was fun to play with but while laying a string of paint with my ion...it stopped...and didnt work. so there went $50 down the drain...this gave me a sour aspect twards auto hoppers, and i went back to gravity feed hopper, and eventually sold my ion. so a few months back i decided to blow another $50 and pick up the ssl-200. i origionally bought it for my spyder pilot, but it has outlasted the spyder and became my most prized hopper ever. its not super fast, and it dosnt have logic that some hoppers have...but its dependable and that is an important factor for me now. using 13bps auto modes on my pilot, the hopper never missed a beat, and with its ability to surge to 15bps, its got a little breathing room for e-spyders, and other low end e-markers. with the BT-4 its really nice (mostly because i cant get the trigger rocking to fast) so i have the confidance of knowing a ball is always in the chamber, and it hasnt produced one chop to date. this thing is like the 98 coustom version of the hopper world...its not fast, its not sleek, but darnit its dependable and it can take a beating!!!
Conclusion: Buy it if you have been thinking about upping from gravity feed...you wont be dissapointed!!!!!
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

painting turtle Sunday, June 10th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
6 months4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Revy
Marker Setup: Tippmann - custom pro
Evil - driver barrel
Tippmann - SSL-200
Tippmann - expansion chamber
Lapco - direct feed
DOP - rocket cock 2
DOP - custom 98 pro seal
Shocktech - superfly bolt
Tasco - red dot
Remote coil
Strengths: 15bps
Looks awesome
200 round capacity
Bend sensor technology
Weaknesses: Really hard to clean
Review: Performance: I have a mechanical marker (for now) and it's impossible for me to out shoot 15bps. So that means I always have a ball in the chamber. I've read reviews that complained about electronic hoppers being loud. This hopper is fairly quiet, and besides the gun noise is what they hear. (Unless your hopper continually agitates) It is also easy to use. On/off switch. That's it. I’ve seen hoppers with like a million buttons on them. I'm sure they do something special, but I like simple.

Looks: Now I know the picture looks terrible and I agree. I saw that picture and didn't want to even look at it. Trust me; it looks WAY better in person... or at least not that picture.

I ran some tests to see how fast it really feeds

NOTE: all these tests are freefall

The first tests were with 140 rounds

Test 1 - 140 rounds in 9 seconds about 15.5bps
Test 2 - 140 rounds in 9 seconds about 15.5bps
Test 3 - 140 rounds in 8 seconds about 17.4bps
Test 4 - 140 rounds in 9 seconds about 15.5bps
Average speed with 140 rounds 15.9bps

The second tests were with a full hopper (About 200 rounds)

Test 1 - 200 rounds in 14 seconds about 14.3bps
Test 2 - 200 rounds in 15 seconds about 13.3bps
Test 3 - 200 rounds in 15 seconds about 13.3bps
Test 4 - 200 rounds in 16 seconds about 12.5bps

Average speed with a full hopper 13.4bps

Conclusion: It is a great hopper if you shoot under 15bps.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, August 23rd, 2007 at 2:57 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (3):  1  |  2  |  3
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media