paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Tippmann Custom Pro ACT / Tippmann Custom Pro ACT / Tippmann Custom Pro ACT / Tippmann Custom Pro ACT

Tippmann Custom Pro ACT Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Tippmann

Buy Tippmann Custom Pro ACT

Paintball Low-End Mechanical Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Tippmann Custom Pro ACT
[ View Photos (15) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 56
Average Rating: 9.2 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $190

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
ACT (Anti-Chop Technology) is a patent-pending design that helps eliminate ball chopping and ensure consistent performance. Using a new technology that has the front and rear bolts working independently of each other, ACT virtually eliminates chopping and improves accuracy with less barrel cleaning. And unlike other anti chop systems, this system maintains ball velocity shot after shot and does not have to be re-cocked if the anti chop technology had to be engaged.
Product Availability 
The Tippmann Custom Pro ACT is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (6):  First  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6
                            
tipp-see-mann Tuesday, June 6th, 2006
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
3 months20 of 26 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
Many Tippmanns, an Ion, Spyder Rodeo.
Marker Setup: stock custom pro ( A.C.T. version), Quick Thread Flatline or 16" Tippmann Sniper Barrel
Recommended
Upgrades:
New barrel
X-chamber
hopper
Strengths: Upgradeability
Anti-chop technology
Very sturdy design
Weaknesses: It is mostly a right-handed gun, because the hopper sits on the right side
Review: I've had this gun for about 3 years now and it still works like the day I got it. I haven't really done much to the actual workings of the gun but to be honest, as a woodsballer I really don't see many things that need changing.

For my style of play, not a whole lot matters more than accuracy and range, which both my barrels are excellent for. Once you have a good barrel and are using HPA instead of C02 you might run out of things to buy for your gun, which isn't a bad thing.

The only problem I had with this gun was the firing speed. At first the trigger is quite unresponsive and you can maybe only get to 8bps if you work at it. After getting the crap beaten out of me in close range battles (16" barrel not helping there :P ) I decided to do the infamous Pen Spring Mod, which i HIGHLY recommend. With this mod, I'm able to get up to 12bps consistently with all stock internals, which tends to amaze the fellow players :)

So what more could you want? I have only chopped a ball or two out of probably 8 cases of cheap rec paint, I've gotten many many many headshots with my barrels, and while it does tend to use a LOT of air, I get free refills so it doesn't matter.

For the stock gun, The barrel is quite adequate, improving drastically with higher quality paint and the powder coat finish is a better finish than any other I've seen for a tippmann.

When I first wrote my review, It was at a time when the Pro had just been released, and there were no stocks made for it yet. Anymore you can get any kind of upgrade you can imagine for the 98 Pro ACT. so PLEASE DISREGARD THE DISPUTE!!!
Conclusion: If you're just getting into paintball and want something that's gonna last for years, or if you've already been playing for a while and want a project gun I'd advise you to buy this.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Friday, June 19th, 2009 at 5:14 pm PST
I found this review  
14 Comments - Add Comment

shatteredhalo Tuesday, May 30th, 2006
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
Less than a month
Similar
Products Used:
pro lite, black maxx, zero point
Marker Setup: Custom Pro ACT w/e-trigger
Empire Reloader II
14" CP
Remote or drop forward
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel, Trigger (anything that will lighten the trigger pull)
Strengths: Reliability
Doesn't chop*
Easy maintenance
Weaknesses: Stock barrel is a joke (for my purposes anyways)
Few upgrades, those available are expensive
Review: I haven't had this gun very long, only put about 1000 paintballs through it, but I will update the review after I've had it for a bit.

PROS

Reliability:
I've fallen on this gun and dropped it multiple times, crawled through the dirt, bumped into trees with it... and it's still going strong. You'd just about have to pour sand in the bolt to make it stop working... and yet.. I'm almost tempted to test that out. : )

Doesn't Chop:
Out of the 1000 or so paintballs I've put through it, I haven't chopped once, and my e-trigger can EASILY outshoot my hopper, so I'll assume the ACT is doing it's job. I starred it because I haven't used it a whole lot, but I'll update later.

Easy Maintenance:
I've never OWNED my own paintball gun before so this is the first gun I've really gotten the chance to learn about markers on. I took it out of the box and immediately dissassembled it and then put it back together without even looking at the directions. I haven't really seen the internals of many other markers but to me it seemed really natural and easy to open, clean, and put back together. I would also guess that it's fairly simple design has a lot to do with it's reliability.

CONS

Stock barrel:
This barrel may be more than enough for you if you're an aggresive, up-front type of player who doesn't need a lot of accuracy, but as I like to have a mix of aggression and caution, I'm usually not in your face when I tag you. I shot a full hopper and watched in disgust as after about 30 feet the balls would veer off in random directions at 45 degree angles. I'd say 1 out of 6 balls might have hit in the general vicinity of the target I was aiming at some 50 feet away. It's also quite loud, if thats an issue for you. I upgraded it to a Custom Products 14" one piece barrel bored for .689 and immediately noticed an increase in not only range but accuracy. The balls no longer curved off after 40 feet but 5 of 6 balls hit what I was aiming at.

Few upgrades:
There don't seem too many upgrades when compared to other markers, and the ones available are pretty expensive.
Conclusion: My first impression of the gun was that I loved it out of the box, except I almost cried when I realized how horrible the stock barrel was. Its not too heavy and with a remote its just right in my opinion, well balanced and not once have I been hindered by the weight. The foregrip is very ergonomic and provides good support especially when crawling (I play woodsball by the way). As far as reliability I have yet to ever chop any paint, either in the barrel or the gun.

All in all I'd say it's a great marker out of the box that anyone can pick up and easily play with. It's intuitive and very durable. It's probably more ideal for the woodsball player than anything else, because many of the upgrades seem to be focused more on the tactical/scenario player. A good beginner's gun.

I give it an 8 because it's a good deal for the money, but I'm not completely blown away by it either.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
10 Comments - Add Comment

triggapull Wednesday, May 17th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
All Tippmanns
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98 custom with
flatline barrel and stock
viewloader quantum
daisy red dot sight
12 and 20oz
Recommended
Upgrades:
R/T
Cyclone feed or a electronic hopper
Regulator
Expansion chamber
New barrel
New internal parts
Trigger
Grip
Low pressure Kit
Bi-pod
Strengths: Accuracy, reliability, durability
Weaknesses: None
Review: This gun is great. It is more of a woods-ball gun than a speed-ball gun. The feel to it is very comfortable(even better with a new grip). On the inside the parts are strong but you will eventually need new parts, the ACT improves your gun with less cleaning.
Tippmann is known for ther reliable products, and this does not change at all. It is just as reliable as the other products. You can leave it on your porch and it will still work good.
Conclusion: This is durable, it can take one hell of a beating so why are you waiting
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

C-Tipp Wednesday, May 17th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder Rodeo,
Marker Setup: Tippmann Custom Pro ACT
No trigger spring
Polished internals
4X scope
Custom mounted red dot sight
Dye sticky grips
PMI razzor 14" barell
Custom drop forward
20 oz brass eagle tank
Trigger wobble fix
Recommended
Upgrades:
NEW BARELL
Strengths: Never chops
Fun to use
Respected
Weaknesses: trigger pull, trigger wobble, Stock barell.
Review: This is a great gun. the A.C.T. works wonders. I've had the cheapest paint in the world in my gun and it still shoots them like an other ball. For me alot of modding had to be done and it can all easily be done. Just go to www.model98.org. There's really nothing wrong with this gun I love it. If you going to buy this gun definetly look into a new barell.
Conclusion: Great gun fun to use, easy to maintain, I recommend it for sure.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

BMPOD14 Tuesday, May 16th, 2006
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
First Gun
Marker Setup: Tippmann Custom Pro ACT
J&J Full Tilt Ceramic 16" Barrel
20oz Pure Energy Tank
Scope
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel
Sight
Strengths: Durability in strength
Looks- Solid
Anti Chop Tech
Weaknesses: Not very fast
Expensive upgrades
Not really anything
Review: A very nice gun to own. I especially like the ACT option because you can put any kind of paint through it and the gun will treat the ball like any other ball. Never chops and uses CO2 more consistant. A better barrel would be better. I like the J&J Full Tilt Ceramic 16" because it is soo accurate and looks great on the gun. Perfect woodsball sniper gun. Accepts large scope or sight. I like the parallel action of the guns look. The double trigger is not a major advantage because of rate of fire or pull inability. Drop forward is very nice, durable and acting as a sub-perfect stock.
Conclusion: I literaly love this gun and hope to get the response trigger and cyclone feed. I would recommend this gun to any woodsballer and even for speedball, with upgrades. ACT is a great advantage and saves a little money on paintballs. For around $160 at paintballonline.com, this gun is a great investment for the inexperienced and the experienced.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, June 6th, 2006 at 7:21 am PST
I found this review  
7 Comments - Add Comment

Tippmann pb Sunday, May 7th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months4 of 16 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
spyder sonix
98 custom
paradox whatever
Marker Setup: Tippmann Custom Pro
14" silver faded EVIL driver
Recommended
Upgrades:
new barrel
Strengths: -Never chops
-Reliable
-Fast
-Respected
Weaknesses: -Bad barrel
-Nothing else
Review: This thing never chops paint. I have shot over 1000 paintballs and i havent had any problem with broken paint. Its reliable and shoots fast. You can customize this marker with anything you want, because there are sooooooooo many accesories for it. blah blah blahblah blah blahblah blah blahblah blah blahblah blah blahblah blah blahblah blah blahblah blah blahblah blah blahblah blah blahblah blah blahblah blah blah
Conclusion: BUY IT! its a great gun.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (6):  First  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6
                            
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media