paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Tippmann Custom Pro ACT / Tippmann Custom Pro ACT / Tippmann Custom Pro ACT / Tippmann Custom Pro ACT

Tippmann Custom Pro ACT Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Tippmann

Buy Tippmann Custom Pro ACT

Paintball Low-End Mechanical Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Tippmann Custom Pro ACT
[ View Photos (15) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 56
Average Rating: 9.2 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $190

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
ACT (Anti-Chop Technology) is a patent-pending design that helps eliminate ball chopping and ensure consistent performance. Using a new technology that has the front and rear bolts working independently of each other, ACT virtually eliminates chopping and improves accuracy with less barrel cleaning. And unlike other anti chop systems, this system maintains ball velocity shot after shot and does not have to be re-cocked if the anti chop technology had to be engaged.
Product Availability 
The Tippmann Custom Pro ACT is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (6):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  Last
        Next Page
InvertBaller08 Sunday, March 23rd, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
2 years
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Similar Products In Price Range:

Tippmann 98 Custom (not as good as custom pro)
Tippmann A-5 (A-5 is better)
Tippmann Model 98 (not nearly as good as custom pro)
Tippmann X-7 (X-7 is better)
Spyders (Custom Pro is way better)
Ion (depends,both are worth price and equal evenly)

Other Markers
Invert mini (custom pro doesnt even compare)
Dye DM4 (custom pro doesnt compare)
Smart Parts Epiphany (about the same epiphany is a little better)
Smart Parts Shocker NXT (nxt rules!!)
Marker Setup: Invert Mini
Pure Energy 68/4500
Halo B

Tippmann A-5
Pure Energy 48/3000
X7 Low Profile
Recommended
Upgrades:
electric loader (this is an upped 98 custom with great accessories stock)
Strengths: Durable, fast, good on air ,easy to use, cheap, upgradeable, flexible
Weaknesses: A little heavy but ok im the kid with the mini lol
Review: the tippmann custom pro is a great gun for its price. i started paintball 6 years ago and got a pmi piranha r6. then, i really got interested in playing competitive paintball and got a spyder imagine. the imagine broke in 2 days (dont buy stuff at walmart) so i bought a custom pro at mcsports for $165? i think. $140-$180 are what they run. last year, i sold it to my buddy and its still being used. its the perfect starter gun in that its better than a 98 custom because it has upgrades so if you first start playing, get this and you will be good for woodsball and an e-grip for speedball at your LOCAL field.
Conclusion: Great gun rated 8 of 10 for the price
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

custompro98 Sunday, March 23rd, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
2 years
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Smart Parts Ion - Way outdoes the CustomPro in everything EXCEPT durability. With the Ion you need to be gentle with the electronic parts.
Spyder Sonix - Stands no chance against the CustomPro
Tippmann A-5 - Very, VERY good gun. Outdoes the CustomPro
Tippmann Custom98 - This is the original version of the CustomPro, enough said.
Marker Setup: I use the CustomPro and the only upgrade I have on it is the Empire Barrel Kit.
Recommended
Upgrades:
I recommend the Empire Barrel Kit. This barrel gives it outstanding accuracy and range for woodsball games and even unofficial speedball games.
Strengths: Durability, Performance, and Mechanics.
Weaknesses: Slow fire rate.
Review: Good gun, not many mechanical problems. Only mechanics problems would be the bolt. My bolt will sometimes close when firing. This is probably only a CO2 problem or a need for oiling, but otherwise this gun works nicely. When using this gun be sure to remember that it is a low-end mechanical marker and therefore won't be effective as an electronic marker (i.e. Ion, EOS, etc.).
Conclusion: I recommend this gun for beginners or even experienced players that want to challenge themselves with a low-end mechanical gun. The gun is inexpensive and that is one of the two reasons I bought this gun, the other being that I love Tippmann.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

anthony890 Sunday, January 13th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder TL-R doesn't even compare
Marker Setup: New set-up
tippmann 98 custom pro
revy with x-board
smart parts linear barrle 16'' on the way
Old set-up
like 5th hand spyder tl-r
no ups the gun was on its last leg
Recommended
Upgrades:
barrel
electronic hopper
could use a stock if you feel the nessesity
Strengths: The strengths of this gun is it is durable, looks awsome, double trigger, easily upgradable
Weaknesses: Gas hog
Review: I have only had this gun not even a month and i have put about 1600 paintball though it. So far this is a very good gun as said above could use a barrel upgrade but if you don't have the money for one the stock one is fine. even though it is a hog on air its not really a big deal to me and of course it was winter when i first got it and was shooting it so the co2 contracts and freezes up. The ACT is awsome haven't chopped a ball from the 1600 i shot.
Conclusion: If you don't mind a gun that is a hog on air then you will be fine it is a good gun its a strong durable gun and has a ton of upgrades available for it. So far i love mine and can't wait for my barrle to come in so i can really test the gun out with accuracy. the reason i gave it a 9 is because it is a hog on air and i am not really a fan of buying air everytime i go out to play.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

James J Saturday, December 29th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann 98 (rental)
(this is my first paintball marker)
Marker Setup: Tippmann Custom Pro with ACT
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel
X-chamber (if your using CO2)
Stock
Sight
Strengths: Doesn't chop at all
All the strengths of the 98
Weaknesses: Accuracy (Barrel could be better)
Review: Having recieved my custom pro for christmas, you can imagine i was itching to go and have a go. So a few days later, i rang round some buddies and headed down to my local field. When we finally got onto the field, i found this gun plenty accurate for the range we were at (about 20ft). I am more of an up-close and personal type player, so the accuracy didn't bother me much. However, as the day went on, i was picked as 'sniper' (in inverted commas, for obvious reasons). I was put in a tower and was relied on to pick off a few enemies. This was where the accuracy (or lack of it) started getting to me. After about 25 ft the balls started to curl off in random directions. I plan on adding an x-chamber and a new barrel when i next get a chance. By the end of the day i had put around 650 rounds through it and it had not chopped a single one!! I was astonished at this, seeing as the rental markers around were chopping faster than a high lumberjack.
Conclusion: In conclusion, i was very pleased with this marker, but the accuracy was an issue for me. Perfect for people just getting into the sport but it will require a few mods before i could give it ten.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, December 30th, 2007 at 9:56 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Tippmann_dude** Tuesday, December 25th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann 98 Custom.
Marker Setup: 1. Tippmann Custom Pro with Response Trigger, Viewloader eVLution II, '16 CP barrel, 48ci 3000psi pure energy tank.

2. Spyder Pilot, Viewloader eVLuition ll, '12 "X" barrel, 48ci 3000psi pure energy tank.
Recommended
Upgrades:
1. HPA
2. R/T
3. Barrel
4. Hopper
Strengths: 1. Durable
2. Fast
3. Easy to Clean
Weaknesses: None So-far.
Review: I got this for my birthday and i immediatley fell in love with it. I got to use it at the field a few weeks later. I found i could easily outshoot my vl200, so i went to the van, and got out my evo2 i originally had for my spyder. Great! Problem fixed. well anyway, a few months later, i bought a R/T for it, along with a 16inch C.P. Barrel. Now, not to brag, but i thought i could pawn ollie lang right then and there. with the right uprades, i found it can be just as good as some high-end tourny guns which is the reason i prefer airball over woods anyday, but im not going to go into that right now. A big bonus is that since i slide, and dive alot, i need a durable gun. WOW! This lives up to, and exceeds my needs.
Conclusion: If your a new player, or into mil-slim, buy it, you cant go wrong!
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, December 25th, 2007 at 7:39 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Sgt._Schultz Monday, November 26th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 months2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Custom 98, A5.
Marker Setup: Tippmann Custom Pro ACT
BT16 M16 barrel kit
Bt16 sight rail
Tapco six-position stock
Remote coil
Recommended
Upgrades:
Anything you want!
Strengths: Strength, durability, anti-chop-technology!
Weaknesses: What's a weakness again? (You forget when you use Tippmann markers!)
Review: I got this gun for a replacement to "old faithful" (My first 98), and I have been very happy with it. The anti-chop is great! I use a regular stock hopper, and I have never chopped a paintball with it yet! I like that you can get the tippmann egrips for the custom pro, so that is nice. This gun is like a custom 98 on steroids! Buy it!
Conclusion: Buy buy buy buy buy!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

allamericanman Wednesday, July 25th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann model 98, 98 custom, Spyder markers (worse)
Marker Setup: Setup A.Tippmann 98 custom, response trigger, progressive barrel, double trigger.
Setup B.Tippmann 98 custom, response trigger, J@J Ceramic barrel, realtree camo.
Setup C.Tippmann 98 custom, double trigger, all american barrel, tactical stock.
Setup D.Tippmann Custom Pro ACT, Bt16 apex barrel, tactical stock.
Setup E.Tippmann A5, Response trigger, All american barrel.
Setup F.Brass eagle eradicator, all stock.
Recommended
Upgrades:
E-grip, apex barrel, tactical stock.
Strengths: Durability, it's a tippmann, anti-chop, accuracy.
Weaknesses: Yeah right.
Review: I got this marker a few days ago and I am VERY impressed with it. It is very accurate, VERY durable, it won't get scratches because of Tippmann's new type of coating, and it NEVER chops. I shot very fast using VERY brittle paint, and it didn't chop one.




Conclusion: Another great Tippmann, BUY IT BUY IT BUY IT!!!!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Dube Monday, July 9th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 months0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
98C rentals
Marker Setup: Tippy 98 custom pro stock with CO2
Recommended
Upgrades:
None
Strengths: Shoots everytime
Weaknesses: Difficult to clean
Review: I decided to get the Custom Pro as my first marker because of all the kickass reviews it got and the look. I found a refurb shop on ebay and bought one for a bit cheaper then new. When I got my marker i was so exited so i took it out for a nice spin. First time out, pops a ball. Found out it was dirty so i clean, lubbed, and set everything nice and shiny. Pops another one. Its probably defective in some way since its refurb, but my marker pops a ball almost every time I go out.
I loved that it shoots no matter, even if its dirty, or full of paint, it will shoot, no problem.
Conclusion: I really like this gun but the one I bought did not impress me and im getting a different one because of it. I recommend it very highly for casual play and as a first marker. Great price and great marker, keep it clean and its amazing.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

painting turtle Sunday, June 10th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
6 months2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
The regular 98
Marker Setup: Tippmann - custom pro
Evil - driver barrel
Tippmann - SSL-200
Tippmann - expansion chamber
Lapco - direct feed
DOP - rocket cock 2
DOP - custom 98 pro seal
Shocktech - superfly bolt
Tasco - red dot
Remote coil
Recommended
Upgrades:
expansion chamber or reg
Strengths: Tippmann
A.C.T.
Comes with drop forward and double trigger stock
Weaknesses: Drop forward fell off
Review: This is my first marker and I have been living off rentals and friends markers until seven months ago. I have put about 7 cases of paint threw this gun and it has not chopped one. The A.C.T. works perfectly.

It is also very rugged. It just fells tough and it's made by tippmann so it is tough. I love the feed neck. If you get a barrel break, just flip the hopper down run a squeegee trough it, slap the hopper back into position and your ready to rock.

The stock barrel is very good. Everybody made it look like stock barrels suck and that's what I thought. It is an excellent barrel. Don't give me crap about this because I agree that basically any after market barrel is better, but it is WAY better than expected.

The drop forward falling off I think was my fault and I didn't properly tighten it when I put it back together. So remember to keep those bolts tight.
Conclusion: Great marker, It is amazing stock. If you don't want to spend a lot of money on a marker or upgrades, get this one. I give it a nine because it's not the best, but it is pretty dang close(for the price).
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, August 23rd, 2007 at 3:00 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

kboy Thursday, June 7th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
1 year1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Model 98, 98custom, a-5.
Marker Setup: Flatline, vl revalution, co2.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Flatline barrel, nitrus tank, a-5 cyclone loader.
Strengths: It shoots very hard, its accurate.
Weaknesses: Hard to take apart to clean.
Review: I have had this gun for 1 year and i love it so much its not funny. Its never broke on me so i only use it for woods because its shoots to far with the flatline barrel i allways over shoot. this probably the best tippmann on the market. Its act(anti chop tech.) so it never chops so u can shoot as fast as u want and NEVER EVER chop. this gun is so tuff u could drop[ it from a 2 story window onto concrete and it would just scratch up.
Conclusion: If you play woodsball a lot this the gun for u.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, June 7th, 2007 at 8:13 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (6):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media