paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Tippmann Custom Pro ACT / Tippmann Custom Pro ACT / Tippmann Custom Pro ACT / Tippmann Custom Pro ACT

Tippmann Custom Pro ACT Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Tippmann

Buy Tippmann Custom Pro ACT

Paintball Low-End Mechanical Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Tippmann Custom Pro ACT
[ View Photos (15) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 56
Average Rating: 9.2 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $190

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
ACT (Anti-Chop Technology) is a patent-pending design that helps eliminate ball chopping and ensure consistent performance. Using a new technology that has the front and rear bolts working independently of each other, ACT virtually eliminates chopping and improves accuracy with less barrel cleaning. And unlike other anti chop systems, this system maintains ball velocity shot after shot and does not have to be re-cocked if the anti chop technology had to be engaged.
Product Availability 
The Tippmann Custom Pro ACT is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (6):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6
        Next Page
fernando8877 Tuesday, January 30th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Regular 98c w/ RT, Spyder Fenix, and JT 3.5e.
Marker Setup: Since my other 98c's got stolen, I've gotten a newer version. as of the moment, I have a 98c pro with a Bossman m-16 mag kit & t6 m4 stock & m-16 carry handle. i'm running a 72/ 3000 tank & eggy 2 hopper.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Everything, but the internals.
Strengths: It's very upgradable and it does have alot of affordable parts.
Weaknesses: The barrel is about the only weakness.
Review: I was reading that some people think that upgrading your tippy pro is a costly thing, but to tell the truth it isn't. There are alot of items that you can get on ebay and other places. You just have to do a search for them. Since this is the newer ACT model, there are upgrades for it and they are not that pricey. I have bought only 3 upgrades and I spent just over $100 on them.

As for the marker itself........well it's a very reliable marker and its very well built. This marker goes for about $149.99 to $159.99 for the stock one. I got mine new for $129.99 plus shipping. Its great when you order from a good company. But if you want one cheap, order a refurbished one from tippmannparts.com like i did and they alomst for sure don't have them in stock. So, they WILL upgrade you to a new one at no extra charge.
Conclusion: It's a great marker for anyone from a noob to a seasoned vet.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Hellfighter890 Sunday, January 14th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
6 months5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Kingman Spyder Rodeo - not as accurate, more comparable to the 98 Custom
Marker Setup: M98 Custom PRO ACT camo-finish
Tasco 1x30mm 1/4 MOA Red Dot sight (low visibility/ night sight)
BSA 4x15 1/4 MOA Rimfire rifle scope w/ weaver mount (day sight)
11" Werks Barrel (stock)
Dual Trigger and Drop-forward
Recommended
Upgrades:
Depends on purpose
Strengths: Stong Diecast steel construction
11" barrel more accurate
Drop-forward increases balance
ACT eliminates chopping
Weaknesses: None
Review: I use my custom pro in woodsball as my team's "marksman," and am quite pleased with its out of the package accuracy. Any Tippmann you buy is a quality marker, but if you are looking for a marker for speedball, this is not youre best choice, for the CP is only semiautomatic with stock parts. It is perfect for what i use it for becuase i am not looking for wrought firepower, but single, accurate shots. The 11" barrel is lacking at times, so im soon buying either an after-market 16 - 20" barrel or a Flatline. The ACT system is awesome, not one break in 12,000 rounds using Nelson Precision paintballs. The CP is also very easy to field strip or disassemble for cleaning. Great marker for all, both newbies and veterans.
Conclusion: All and all, it is a great marker, great price for its quality. I recommend it to both newbs and Vets alike. It can take one hell of a beating and fight on and never chops. Keep it properly maintenenced, and you'll have it to enjoy for years to come.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

TippmannTom Saturday, December 30th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Marker Setup: Tippmann Cusom Pro A.T.C.
It is just out of the box, from the store.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Maby a new barrel, but the one out of the box is really good from the start so far. A new trigger may be of some assistance, to help you fire faster, but thats about it.
Strengths: Very Accurate, Bomb-proof, Eay to maintain
Weaknesses: "Slowish" trigger, Tricky to chrony the first time
Review: I purchased this gun at a paintball supply store, and they told me that Tippmann gives their gun a 1 year warranty, including all parts, but on top of that, the store will fix the gun for the rest of the life of the gun ( until i get rid of it). That shows the quality of the product. Other friends of mine have Tippmanns, and they are just as tough. You can throw this gun at a cement wall, and off a 4 story building, and i will vouch that it will still shoot. The other thing with this gun is the sights on the top worked quite well. I was playing quite a few scenario games, and with the sights, i was picking off players one by one, the accuracy of the gun and sights were great. The only thing that I didn't like about the gun, was something that im shure every new gun does. It was quite difficult to chrony, for the first 100 shots. I would recommend that if you are going to a field to play for the first time, bring your own chrony paint, because when they charge you 10 cents a shot, and you are spending 100 shots trying to get your gun to the right FPS it is very frustrating. Once i finally got the gun to the right speed, it stayed there for the entire night, it was great. I must say that i really love this gun, it exceeds my expectations. It is great.
Conclusion: 100% If you are looking at a beginner gun, or an experienced player, get this gun, there is plenty of room to upgrade, and make it even better than it already is. You will never chop a ball, and if you do, it wont be very often. I am extremley happy with this gun.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Zeke Smith Wednesday, December 13th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
spyder pilot acs faster (20bps) not as good for (woodsball)
Tippmann a-5 not as durable (i dont like it as much) it does shoot a little faster stock than the stock custom pro (act) / camo
98 custom- a friends
ion- some guys ion at scary creek (Local Paintball Place)
Spider Victor- my friends it sucked
Spider Victor 2- Matt Frasiers no comment.........................................i can't stand his guts
Marker Setup: a-5
JCS Red Hot Powertube
Vortex Lightning Rod
Vortex Mod
72ci/3000psi pmi tank
32 degree's coiled remote
8+1 pod pack
Polished internals
Recommended
Upgrades:
e-grip
new barrel
electronic hopper
new bolt and power tube

optional:
stock
low pressure kit
compressed air/ nitrogen
Strengths: Many upgrades
Very durable
Good for woodsball
Very accurate
Weaknesses: None really besides minor leak see below.
Review: When I first got this marker off of the shelves of my local dicks sporting goods shelves it looked great. I went to (scary creek) (my local paintball place) it did great i shot 1,000 rounds. When i got home i cleaned it up for the next day. The next day i hook up the air and i could hear a minor leak between the power tube and the steel braided line. I took the air off and took it apart and took the steel braided line off of the power tube and wrapped teflon tape around it two times DO NOT USE LOCKTITE IT DOES NOT WORK. Then i put the gun back together and hooked up the air it hasn't leaked since. I have now shot 5,000 rounds no leaks. Do not let this stop you from getting this. This marker will last forever. You don't really need any upgrades but they woukd be nice........................................................
............................................................
.......................................................If you can afford upgrades get them because they will help.

EDIT i sold this marker because it started leaking again. Then I bought a tippmann a-5 instead. I like the tippmann a-5 because it doesn't leak but HATE THE CYCLONE i much rather have a different hopper. I also think the a-5 is a gas hog. I am thinking about selling my a-5 and buying another custom pro act camo. I will just buy the Jcs Blew Powertube so it won't leak. This gun is the best.
Conclusion: This is the best woodsball marker you can buy get this marker......................................................
.........................if you want an electro pneumatic marker instead of a blow-back get an ion they are durable too but i still like this marker better
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, January 27th, 2007 at 7:30 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

ryan14 Monday, November 20th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
spyder victor (not as good)
spyder aggresor (pretty good but cant use crappy paint)
Marker Setup: Tippman Custom Pro ACT Camo (Stock)
Recommended
Upgrades:
BARREL!!!!
Strengths: The stock barrel it comes with is pretty effective
Weaknesses: Crappy paint does not always work. I recommend
X-Ball
or Dusk
Review: I think this gun is extremely good all it needs is a new barrel. I would recommend it to beginers/ experts. It is also very good because of all the things you can customize on it. Not to mention it has a pretty good ability to shoot cheap paint. But if it is to cheap it will bust in your barrel.
Conclusion: It is a good gun for beginners and even experts. Because of the ability to customize it.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

WoodzBallHitMan Wednesday, November 8th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
2 years
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
PMI R6
Spyder MR1, MR2
Tippie eXt & XT
Triton and Brass Eagle junk.
Marker Setup: Tippmann Custom Pro ACT
J&J 16' Full Tilt 2 piece
PMI 20oz CO2
Recommended
Upgrades:
New barrel or kit
Nitrogen tank
Maybe a cheap electro loader
Just don't invest much in it since you'll feel the urge to get a new gun
Strengths: A.C.T
Reliable
Simple
Weaknesses: Its somewhat hefty and clumsy.
You'll get tired of it after a while.
Review: I've been satisfied with it for a while. Havn't broke a single ball of about 7,000+ rounds of paint. Its reliable, it easily takes a beating (dirt, hitting things, dropping, and i've taken few shots on it). The internals are pretty basic so its a walk in the park to kno them.. Easy to clean, but will take a few times to get used to putting everything back correctly. Ehh is pretty easy to make it 'unique' but its heavy enuff to not want to put an extra 5lbs of body-kits and stocks. If you want to go electric, buy the E-Trigger version for like $50 more, then replace it for a APE Board. Thats what i should've done in the 1rst place.
Conclusion: If your tight on cash or just have your mind set on some sort of Tippmann you'll like it. But after a while it will lose its charm. Its overall good starter or backup.
Rating:
8 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, October 3rd, 2007 at 2:18 pm PST
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

minx Friday, October 20th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
6 months2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
A-5 stock and with ups
Ion stock and ups
Marker Setup: ion, q lock, reloader b, minidrop, compressed air (4500/68)
Back-up Tippmann 98 custom pro, compressed air.
Recommended
Upgrades:
barrel kit.
compressed air, (personal preference) 3000/48
battery powered loader, not cyclone feed.
Strengths: When the other markers are on the proshop bench, you will be on the feild.
Weaknesses: Rate of fire.
Feeder Elbow design. Hopper will wiggle, maybe spill.
Size of marker
Review: I like this marker. I owned an a5, ion, and this 98. I sold my a5 because this one just worked better. This marker was the most consistant. It never chops. And if you do need to clean paint from the barrel, it is easy with a pull through squeegee. The feeder elbow has a spring release; this design will give you some wiggle in the hopper. I have had the hopper flop down during play, a big frustration. This maybe possible to fix, but I have not taken the time to mod, this issue.

The question for most beginners... Buy a 98 or an ion? I would suggest, get the 98 first. It is very forgiving, hard to break, and just a fun marker. You shoot halve as much paint as a Ion, and you learn to use cover because your rate of fire will scare no one. Your skill at snap shooting, and accuracy will develope quicker with this marker than an ion, because you will not be a "spray and pray" type player.

The greatest weekness is the rate of fire. I have used the responce trigger. It helps. E - trigger makes your rate of fire equal to the ion. But here is where you need to consider which type of player you want to become. After all these upgrades the Ion becomes the better choice. It is lighter, smaller, less recoil. Price upgrading both markers is about the same.
Conclusion: A great marker. Fun, forgiving, good bang for the buck. Welcome to paintball, everyone wants to upgrade after the marker is 2 weeks old, my guess you will 2. :)
Rating:
7 out of 10Last edited on Friday, October 20th, 2006 at 10:46 pm PST
I found this review  
4 Comments - Add Comment

Vexa Friday, October 20th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
A rental 98 Custom and my brothers A-5
Marker Setup: Tippmann Custom Pro ACT
Smart Parts Progressive 14"
E-Grip
Cyclone Feed System
3000/48 Nitro Tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
I opted for a more accurate barrel, even though the stock one is good.
E-Grip
HPA, but thats mainly my prefrence.
Strengths: ACT
Durable
Camo paint looks sweet
Double Trigger
Drop Forward
Weaknesses: Using my HPA, I cant get that many shots per tank (about 500).
Review: The Tippmann Custom Pro is the first marker that I have ever owned, and I am not disappointed in the slightest.

The ACT in this gun works amazingly well, up to the point where I am not afraid to put my finger in the bolt and pull the trigger. Needless to say, I have not chopped a single ball since I bought it, and I go through about 4-6000 rounds a week.

As for durability, this gun is unsurpassed. I have dropped in/on both mud and concrete floors, dove for cover and accidentally landed on it, and even had it completely submerged in water, and once I got some new paint in, (cant use wet paint!) it worked perfectly, without even a scratch on it.

I have first hand experience that although this gun was not made for it, it can perform well in a speedball environment. At the field that I go to, we decided to play a "tourney style" match (single flag in the center, with inflatable bunkers all over the place). With a Custom Pro, most people were surprised to find that I was the one to recover the flag from the center and plant it on the opposing teams pole, winning the game.


EDIT: I recently got an E-Grip and Cyclone Feed shipped over to me, and I tell you, this gun is absolutely freakin' sweet now. With the E-Grip and Cyclone installed, I am shooting at a consistent 15 bps with no chops or breaks. When I don't want full auto, or it runs out of battery, the E-Trigger turns off and I am back to a mechanical marker (the point being that it doesn't need a battery to fire, adding to the reliability). The completely programmable modes of the E-grip allow the individual player to customize the fire modes to their liking, or to the rules of a tournament; and, with practice, the modes can be changed in about 15 seconds (you need a small poking tool to change modes, in compliance with tournament rules).
Conclusion: The Tippmann Custom Pro is the absolute most durable and reliable gun out there, hands down. It's definitely worth buying.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, March 6th, 2007 at 6:46 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

xmrichx6151 Tuesday, October 17th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
Less than a month
Similar
Products Used:
Rental gun- Tippmann 98 custom
The Tippmann 98 custom Act Pro is a huge improve over the regular Tippmann 98 custom. It is faster, more accurate, and it doesn't chop.
Marker Setup: I only have the stock equipment, though I am going to buy a new barrel called the Smart Parts "20 inch" tactical barrel which I have heard good reveiws from.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel
Hopper
Strengths: ACT
Weight
Length
Grip
Double Fingered Trigger
Weaknesses: The only thing I could thinks of was the barrel, which isn't that bad.
Review: I bought it off Actionvillage.com. Tippmann is always a good and reliable choice. You can't go wrong with Tippmann unless you buy one from some place that doesn't even give you the real gun. DO NOT GO TO Paintball Online. My brother bought a gun from there and it was plastic, the cyclone feeder was broken, and the response trigger did not work! Make sure if you buy a gun it is off a reliable website. I highly recommend ActionVillage.com. Please listen to me and do not go to Paintball Online. Trust me you will thank me. So the Tippmann 98 custom act pro is a choice that you can't go wrong with. It is a great gun for any type of paint-ballers.
Conclusion: I would recommend this gun to anybody Begginer or Pro. It is sure a pro choice. It is good for little kids because it is easy to cary and run with. I recommend that you buy it off Actionvillage.com
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

ittalianstalion Monday, October 9th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
tippman 98 custom, spyder tl
Marker Setup: tippman custom pro, longbow barrel. halo b with rip drive, response trigger
Recommended
Upgrades:
gotta get a response trigger stock sucks, new hopper, better barrel
Strengths: Reliable
Life time warranty
Weaknesses: Slow shooting
Awful barrel
Bad trigger
Review: Any tippman is a good reliable gun, great for begginers. but once you get to a tournament level it just don't cut it anymore. the custom pro is a pretty good gun, it lacks things such as a fast trigger and a accurate barrel. but if your just starting out this babey is a charm
Conclusion: Tippmans are great, better for a begginer, buy it if your just starting out
Rating:
7 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (6):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media