paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Proto Switch FS Mask / Proto Switch FS Mask / Proto Switch FS Mask

Proto Switch FS Mask Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Proto

Buy Proto Switch FS Mask

Paintball Masks / Goggles

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Proto Switch FS Mask
[ View Photos (6) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 38
Average Rating: 8.6 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $70

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The Proto Switch paintball goggle boasts an innovative 1/4-turn snap lock system. Simply turn the locking tabs to the right to unlock your lens frame. Pop out your old lens, drop a new one in, place the frame over the lens into position, and turn the tabs back again to lock it in. Self-in venting, low profile and removable, the Switch visor is able to pivot up and down for easy lens replacement.

FEATURES

* Silicone-woven rubber goggle strap
* Tiger tooth strap buckles
* Multi-ported ear piece
* 1/4-turn buckle
* Uni-directional venting
* Tirodial lens
Product Availability 
The Proto Switch FS Mask is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (4):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4
        Next Page
fuctphuc Sunday, August 26th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Dye, Scott, Vents
Marker Setup: Blue/Silver Epi
Clamping feed neck
360 QEV
TechT L7 Bolt
Halo
91/4500
Strengths: The quick lens change.
Weaknesses: Second lens would be nice.
Review: This is all around a good mask. Takes maybe a 5 minute job for clean up and the looks of the mask arent bad either. Having a spare lens would make this way faster. You can also buy the fan for this too. The bottom half is nice and soft and flexible. Thermal lens also works nice.
Conclusion: Buy it if you like the ease of changing lenses.
Rating:
7 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

heinous Monday, August 13th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Rental VForce
Marker Setup: 2006 MacDev Cyborg
MacDev long rail
MacDev on/off ASA
Vlocity with Speed Feed
Dye Throttle 45/4500
Strengths: Convenient lens removal
Nice view.
Standard anti-fog lens.
Nice foam.
Rubbery jaw bounces balls.
Weaknesses: Mask stays in place, until pushed by something even a little bit.
Tiny chin strap.
Review: The mask is nice. I've gotten quite a few jaw bounces thanks to the rubbery material there. Default anti-fog lens is a plus. Horizontal field of view is wonderful, but for me I really had to turn up my head to see anything tall while I'm crawling, even with the visor off: the lens is wide enough but could be made a little taller, even half an inch taller would be good enough.

The foams are real soft and gets their job done.

The back strap has good quality and keeps the mask in place, but for some reason the masks easily moves out of place when it gets pushed around. I never tried double-strapping like others have though.

The lens system is fast and easy, albeit sometimes needs a little oomph to get things to fit. I suppose better make things fit tightly than to have your lens fall of during a game.

The chin strap is kind of hard to clip on while wearing the mask, especially with gloves on. I wouldn't mind it being one size larger.

The chin strap keeps the mask from flipping over your head, but there is nothing to keep the mask from slipping down toward your neck.

Those are, of course, little pet peeves. Overall I would recommend this mask.
Conclusion: This is a good quality mask with modest looks. It is for those of us who want a quality mask without the showoff styles of the fancy ones.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

zoomie Saturday, May 5th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Dye Invision
JT Elite Nvader
JT Spectra
Marker Setup: Double pistols as primaries.
Core ZX gear was sold and replaced by dual Tiberius Arms Tac8's.
2 Camo holsters
Strengths: Oh so comfortable! Easy lens removal.
Weaknesses: Chin strap annoying if you don't like it.
Review: LENS REMOVAL:
When I heard the lens was easy to remove, I was thinking "So what? Who cares?" After getting this mask and removing it, it's really incredible how easy it is to remove. All other masks I've used take forever to take apart. With the Proto Switch FS, taking it apart takes a whole 15 seconds and all your fingers are intact afterwards. Lens removal is important for cleaning b/c otherwise grease and oils from the paintball field get stuck and breaks it down and gets all nasty.

I recently took the whole thing apart in 5 different pieces. It's again, super easy to disassemble and reassemble. It can't get any better for cleaning. I'd give it an 11 out of 10 for ease of removing parts.

COMFORT:
Wow, it's comfortable. It doesn't have Dye's softears, but it does have padding on the ears. It's the most comfortable mask I have.

VISIBILITY:
It has more than decent peripheral vision which is perfect for playing on the field. You don't want to have narrow vision on the field. The Switch FS is perfect.

LOOKS:
I think it's much better than the EL simply b/c it looks cooler with the two tone color scheme. If you want to save some cash, either by the FS used like I did from pbnation.com or buy the EL. It's basically the same mask. I don't know of any difference other than looks.

EXTRAS:
Not all masks on the market come with chin straps. This one does! I use it and kinda like it. It feels like it fits on my face better and it's not going anywhere. Some people find it annoying.

SHAPE:
I like this mask better than the other ones I've used b/c it is wider than most masks. It covers my face more for protection.

MATERIAL:
The bttom part of the mask is very soft and can allow paintballs to sometimes bounce. It also just feels a lot nicer than those nasty hard plastic ones you see for rent on pb fields.
Conclusion: Proto quality is identical to Dye, but just has the cheaper price tag. Go for the EL to save more money. Lens removal is super easy! Someone did their homework and designed the mask very well for lens removal. It's insane how easy it is. You'll love it!
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, May 6th, 2007 at 7:29 pm PST
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

cjlowry Wednesday, April 11th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 years8 of 11 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Marker Setup: Hybrid Fusion (the gun really doesnt need any upgrades), Halo B, Crossfire 92 4500 LP

backup: red ion, locking feedneck, j&j ceramic barrel
Strengths: Price, comfort
Weaknesses: Plain looking, average visibility
Review: My sister bought this for me a few years ago for a christmas present and i LOVE it. this mask is very comfortable and has lasted pretty long. it came with one of the thermal lenses (which actually is two lenses). thermal lenses last only about 1 year, but by taking extra good care of it, mine lasted three years before serious fogging occured. you can hear really well in this. this mask is more comfortable than an average mask, and i have had a lot of bounces off of the soft rubber parts. it has average visibility (better than cheap masks, but its no profiler!) i dont usually play with the chin strap, but its there if you want it. also, it is pretty plain looking. this is a decent mask for speedball. i wouldnt use less than this though. for woodsball this is really nice. if you are one of the players who drape themselves in camo, this is a good mask for you. you can get it in olive green, and the plastic parts are green and the rubber is black. more than anything about masks though is comfort. when your ready to buy, just go into your local store and ask to try on masks. most will let you, and you just need to find one you like most. myself and most others i know are actually more attached to our mask than even our guns. i would say a good feeling mask than a good marker, and many will agree with me. gloves are just gloves, but you mask needs to have a good feel and you need to see well.
Conclusion: Good players dont choose their masks, they let the masks choose them. just find what feels best and dont worry about what others think or say. my only advice is whatever mask you get, make sure it has a thermal lense and not just a fog risistant one. you'll thank me in a month once the fog resistance has worn off and you cant see anything.
Rating:
7 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Lenny17 Monday, March 26th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
rental masks
Marker Setup: PCS US-5 (stock) w/ 48/3k air tank
Strengths: Comfort, field of vision, doesn't fog
Weaknesses: lens cleaning, I guess
Review: After renting and suffering through the garbage masks they give you, I made a point of buying a good thermal lensed mask. I wear glasses, so I tried on a handful of masks before purchasing these.

I am extremely pleased with how well this mask fits. It sits comfortably over my glasses, but is not at risk of coming loose or off. The foam is very comfortable, and I didn't find myself needing to tear of my mask as soon as I was off the field. Even during 6 hours of scenario play, I never had any fog on my lens, even when others I was playing with would.

The field of vision is excellent, I don't lose any peripheral vision at all.

Changing the lens is also very easy. Just twist the two locks a bit, and the front frame pops out allowing you to get to your lens. Reassembly is just as easy.

Communication seemed unimpaired as well. The venting around the mouth and ears didn't seem to affect my heaing or speaking. Only issue might be that when yelling, your jaw does drop below the lower edge of the mask a little. I haven't been shot in the jaw yet, but I suppose it is a possiblity.

Cleaning the lens was a bit annoying. I found that only using water and a lens cloth, I would still sometimes have an oily residue on my lens that would require a little more cleaning. Not terrible, but just kind of annoying.

Other: the mask did include a chin strap, which is a very tight fit. I guess this is to keep it secure, but I find it annoying and don't use it. I've found that the mask stays in place just fine without it. The mask also includes a visor, which I do use. It doesn't obstruct your vision at all, and has deflected a few shots for me. It also came with a mask bag.

*EDIT* THESE GOGGLES ARE NOT THERMAL. The guy that sold them to me said that they were, and in my lack of experience I believed it. They have been good goggles to me, but are a little overpriced considering they don't come with a thermal lens. For that I knock the rating down to 8. You can buy thermal replacement lenses, but the ones that come with the mask are not.
Conclusion: Definitely worth the money. To have a crystal clear, non-fogging full field of vision in a comfortable mask is worth it. Nothing makes your game quite like being able to see. I hate giving 10s for ratings, because not much is perfect, but this mask is darn close
Rating:
8 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, May 31st, 2007 at 10:57 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

brando2569 Monday, March 5th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
2 years0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
cheap JT goggles, V-force Profiler
Marker Setup: set up 1- ICD Lasoya promaster black/Grey fade, black CP low pressure regulator, black CP razor drop forward, black CP on off asa, Black CCM adjustable no-rise feedneck, Black Smart parts Freak jr. barrel with .689 insert, Black Halo B hopper with rip drive, 50ci 3000psi tank (upgrading to 68/45 DXS tank soon), Proto Switch FS goggles with yellow/smoke faded lenses.

set up 2- Spyder Fenix, 14 inch j&j ceramic barrel, dye sticky grips. Ricochet apache loader, 50ci 3000psi tank.
Strengths: Field of vision, looks, comfort, easy to take apart.
Weaknesses: A little heavy
Review: These are great goggles i have used mine for two years now, I have replaced my stock lens with a yellow/smoke fade lens which make them look really cool, the field of vision is great, they are VERY comfortable, and they are easy to take apart and clean which is a great feature. when I bought mine 2 years ago i paid 70 dollars for them and now I see them as low as 45 dollars NEW which is a great price for such a great product. the only hindrance with these goggles is their weight which isnt THAT bad, but their still heavier than other goggles such as the profilers.
Conclusion: Overall these are great goggles for the price especially now.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

EMPaint Monday, March 5th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
JT Enforcer
Strengths: - Very comfortable
- Good vision
- Good value
- Quick lens changes
- Fits well
Weaknesses: - The chin strap is kind of annoying
- Kind of large
Review: Before this, I used a JT Enforcer, which wasn't bad, but it sure wasn't great. This Proto is about $70, and gives excellent comfort and protection. I really only had two beefs with it, one being that I found the chin strap to be kind of annoying. I think it would work well for younger children, but for me, it was just something that rubbed me the wrong way, literally. Basic solution to this is just not to use it, and all is well, simple fix. My other beef is that it is kind of large, compared to things like the JT Proflex, or Dye Invision but, this is only a minor set back which is only barely worth mentioning.
Conclusion: For its price, it is probably the best thing you can get on the market. 9 out of 10 only because he chin strap annoyed me.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Monday, March 5th, 2007 at 12:14 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

TheFuzz7532 Monday, February 26th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
JT Regular Mask
Java Masks
Marker Setup: Dragun T.E.S
Evil Detonator
Evil Pipe Kit
Alamo Paintball Delrin Bolt
Scenario Dreams T-Board w/ Ultra Chip
Lightened Spring
Lightened Micro Switch and trigger
48/3000 Pure Energy Comp. Air

Viewloader Egg 2 w/ Z board
Strengths: Lens Change
Fit
Quality
Fog resistant
Flex Bottom
Weaknesses: Top part of mask doesn't seem to deflect paint that well.
Review: Well, I bought this mask a few months ago, I decided to get it on a few things. For one, its made by Proto, so you know you're getting a good product. I also decided to get a fog resistant mask that I could easily change lenses and take out to clean. This mask is great. It fits my face perfectly, and its comfortable too.

The chin strap is a nice touch too, I haven't found the mask out of place. I know some people said that they were pretty heavy, and that the mask would slide down. I can say it hasn't happened for me, then again, I'm a bigger guy so that might be helping.

The lens is top notch, I haven't had the mask fog up on me at all during a game. You CAN get it to fog if you're really trying and blowing hot air on it...but...usually you don't whip the mask off and do that in the middle of a match. The only thing it did do was to get a moisture build up. It was about 95 degrees out when it did, and it got it at the very top of the lens, and didn't really hurt my vision at all. As for changing the lens in the mask...well, let me count here and I'll do it right now to get the exact time it takes me. Well, it took me about a minute and a half, to take it apart and put it back in, taking my time and not being an idiot and ripping at it.

The bottom flex is very nice, I had ball bounce right off of it. The top though, doesn't seem to be as flexible, and I had a ball bread right at the side when I put my head out to check my situation. Bummer, but, that doesn't make it a horrible mask, it actually makes it a very safe and reliable feeling mask.

And don't forget, if you MUST have the fan or timer, they can also be purchased for this mask.
Conclusion: Okay, I'm not a seller, I'm not trying to get people to buy this, I'm simply reviewing with my feelings about it. This is all up to you. I love this mask, its slick, reliable, and definitely worth the money I spent on it. It's another quality product from Proto. Nothing is perfect and theres always room for improvement, so I can't give it a ten, but a 9 is definitely acceptable for this great item.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

pbponcho Sunday, February 18th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
2 years2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
bunch of high end masks
Marker Setup: Invert Mini and a karnivor
68/45 ACI tank with a Empire Feul reg
VLocity with a camo widemouth shell
Strengths: Comfortable
good Vision
quick lense change
Some think its an Invision (is that good?)
Weaknesses: Its not the smallest mask
Chin straps a little short
Review: This mask is the most comfortable mask ive worn and the lenses allow for a great view. The lenses change pretty fast allowing you to carry a couple (i prefer to have a mirror and yellow with me). the only problems ive found with it are that it may be a little big for some players(not realy a problem for me) and again isonly a problem for some people was the chinstap which when i wear it it is pretty tight on my neck. Inve noticed that a lot of people think its a dye invision so i guess that might be good if you want one but dont wanna pay extra.
Conclusion: Buy it if you want a good mask. Im probly gonna replace it at some point with a newer smaller mask but it is definately comfortable and stays in place even if you dont wear the chinstrap
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

patfa38 Thursday, January 25th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
nvader
Marker Setup: 98 custom, 16inch jj, 20 oz w/ on off, vl revvy, expansion chamber, rocket cock
Strengths: Doesnt fog, very soft foam, comfortable
Weaknesses: None at all
Review: I got the blue fs. i love it, the best mask ive ever owned.. i started off with just the plain old clear lense, then i scratched it in the woods so i went out to my local shop and got the smoke to clear fade, it looks great and helps with the sun in the winter. i havent been shot yet in it so i cant really say how good the rubber is with bounces but it should be alright. the chinstrap is a little tight so i dont really wear it. it does not fog at all it never has, my glasses will fog up before the lense
Conclusion: The fs is a good mask, not so bad on the wallet, i got mine for 60. and best of all it doesnt fog. buy one
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (4):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media