paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Proto Switch FS Mask / Proto Switch FS Mask / Proto Switch FS Mask

Proto Switch FS Mask Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Proto

Buy Proto Switch FS Mask

Paintball Masks / Goggles

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Proto Switch FS Mask
[ View Photos (6) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 38
Average Rating: 8.6 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $70

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The Proto Switch paintball goggle boasts an innovative 1/4-turn snap lock system. Simply turn the locking tabs to the right to unlock your lens frame. Pop out your old lens, drop a new one in, place the frame over the lens into position, and turn the tabs back again to lock it in. Self-in venting, low profile and removable, the Switch visor is able to pivot up and down for easy lens replacement.

FEATURES

* Silicone-woven rubber goggle strap
* Tiger tooth strap buckles
* Multi-ported ear piece
* 1/4-turn buckle
* Uni-directional venting
* Tirodial lens
Product Availability 
The Proto Switch FS Mask is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (4):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4
        Next Page
Pballjerk Thursday, January 4th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
1 year1 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Vforce profiler se in red+much smaller and more comfortable than the switch FS, i think the profiler blows the proto out of the water.
Marker Setup: ion, red dusted cp rake trigger,red dusted cp rail and on/off asa, dye ultralite-black dusted back and red dusted tip, redz cam lock, halo b with rip drive, and 5000psi evil tank
Strengths: Large range of vision, protects head well
Weaknesses: TOO BIG, neck strap is annoying and small, and no cool color varieties
Review: I got the proto switch Fs when i really got into paintball, it was good and i liked it for a while. However, it was too big for me, a teenager and it had a really small neck strap that itched and felt wierd if you didnt wear it. the proto rarely got bounces on it and the color varieties were just boring. This is probably a good woodsball mask, but i am a tournament airball player, not woods. I think this mask holds up well, however. It never got old and scratched up. GET THIS MASK IF YOU ARE VERY BIG AND LIKE TO PLAY WOODSBALL BUT NOT IF YOU LIKE AIR AND SPEEDBALL AND ARE SMALLER.
Conclusion: Good 4 woods, NOT FOR SPEED!!!!!!!! not the best mask on the market.
Rating:
6 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

dmz boy Wednesday, December 27th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Invision(slightly better)
Vantage(way worse)
Rental masks(lol)
Marker Setup: PILOT ACS 05'(RED TO BLACK FADE)
SMART PARTS 14 INCH PROGRESSIVE BARREL
HALO B WITH VICTORY
TRINITY Q LOCK FEEDNECK
PURE ENERGY 3000PSI TANK(FIBRE WRAPPED) WITH DYE RHINO COVER(RED AND BLACK)
DYE STICKY 3'S(BLACK)
Strengths: Comfy
Looks pretty sweet
Quality
Weaknesses: Lens change(review)
There are cooler masks
Jaw slap
Review: Well might as well tell you this will be a very balanced review and it is basically a comparison to my invisions. I'll let you know that i've worn these several times and the same with the invisions.

PROTO'S STRENGHT'S

COMFY: Foam is comfy and draws sweat away from you face
LOOKS: Alot of people really like the look of these personally im in the middle, not truly impressed or disappointed by the looks
QUALITY:Proto is a very knowledgeable and dedicated company, there googles are very safe and will last you a long time without scratches

PROTO'S WEAKNESS'S

LENS REMOVAL: Well I think the lens change is very easy to get out however getting it back in, that's a different story, I got everything out in a few second but I couldn't get the lens back in for about 15 minutes. Maybe there's a trick to it but from what i experienced i wasn't impressed.
LOOKS: Nicer looking masks but three's nothing wrong with the look
JAW SLAP: Ok well i wanted to test the bounce of the mask so i put it on and had my friends shoot where the plastic is soft, Yea well I writing this with a fat lip. Granted the ball did not break.

Comfort+4
Looks+2
Quality+5
Lens changing-1
Looks compared to other masks neutral point
Jaw slap-3

11-4=7 I would say that's a pretty fare rating for this product maybe a 7.5

INVISION STRENGTH"S

COMFY: Dye's have the same foam however a slightly more comfortable ear foam insert(molds around ear more)
LOOKS: Sick look honestly with or without the visor(Personally I think the invisions are the most attractive mask ive come upon except for the grilz)
QUALITY: Again Dye is a very trusted well known company, there googles are very safe and will last you for years.

INVISIONS WEAKNESS'S

LENS CHANGE: Rarg, honestly i don't know how to change the lens yet. Im honestly afraid i'm gonna break something because it looks so complex.
JAW BONE SLAP: Well I did the same test with the protos. Note i had him shot me with the invisions first, The ball bounced and I barely felt that I was hit. Also note this test was conducted with the shooter being placed around 14 meters away with a tippmann A-5

Comfort+4
Looks+3
quality+5
Lens changing-3

12-3=9 Also I believe to be a fair rating

Finally I just wanted to address the price difference. I payed $100 for the invsions, my friend payed $80 for his Proto's. Basically I encourage you to save another 20 bucks and buy the Invisions however if your into the Protos get em. Just a final note I wasn't being in any way unfair to the protos because in the end you get what you pay for.
Conclusion: Good mask, if you like it get it, if you don't grab some invisions. 7.5 is my rating.
Rating:
7 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

PB Professor Wednesday, December 20th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
V-Force
JT
Scott
Dye Invision
Marker Setup: Tippmann A5
Lapco Bigshot 12"
Strengths: Light
Flexible
Comfortable
No-Fog
Affordable
Easy Cleaning
Weaknesses: None
Review: For a beginner to medium level paintballer, the Proto FS mask is absolutely perfect. It has a thermal cured lens that in 70 degree weather, never fogs. I am not sure about colder climates, but it is otherwise great. It is very light, and sits on the face very securely. I never took it off the whole day on the paintball field, because I forgot it was there. The mask is very flexible, meaning it forms to your face, and allows for many paintballs to bounce off. The only place paintballs will always break is on the lens. The "Switch" lives up to its name in terms of lens changing. It is very easy to change, takes less than 30 seconds.
Conclusion: For the $40 I got it for, it is a wonderful mask. I would rather buy a case of Proto Paint than spend the extra money on a newer Dye mask. However, the serious paintballer may not want this mask.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

lampost411 Tuesday, November 21st, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
dye invision, proto el
Marker Setup: SP Ion
Dye 72ci 4500psi tank
Empire B
dye hybrid pant, c5 jersey
dye attack pack (c7)
Strengths: Looks, comfort, visibility, bounces! replaceable lenses
Weaknesses: None yet!
Review: I bought this mask In June 2006 and played at pevs for a weekend, i was shot up in the face a lot. it was really easy to clean the lens it took 15 minutes to clean and dry! The goggles look amazing not as good as Invision or Axis but for $35 its amazing!
Conclusion: Good price, Great Quality, Great looks, why haven't you bought one yet???
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, November 21st, 2006 at 1:35 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

daytripper Monday, November 13th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Jt enforcers
Marker Setup: Tippmann custom pro E powered by W.A.S, 14 inch J and J ceramic, expansion chamber, cyclone feed system with Palmers Qev, Rocket cock 2, no trigger spring, 20 oz. c02, trigger stop
Strengths: Easiest lens dispense
Look cool
Don't fog
Weaknesses: Kinda big but not enough for you to notice
Review: Got it for $50 and lets just say it was the best deal i ever got. great mask. The view is perfect, its well coushinedd and it protects your face. The best thing about the mask though, is how easy it is to take the lense out. You unscrew the sides, take the strap out, lean it foward and POP its out. makes it much easier to clean
Conclusion: Get it you wont be disapointed. ranks up there with the top Masks out there.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

I'm_Addicted Friday, October 27th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Dye I3
Profilers
Events
Invisions
Proteus
Flex7
Flex8
Marker Setup: Vision Shocker
Smart Parts TurboCharger bolt
Q-Lock Feedneck
Eclipse Rail
NDZ EZ turn on/off
Virtue board
NDZ Rip trigger
Hybrid 06 CK grips
Strengths: Easy change lense
Weaknesses: Size
Review: I bought this off a friend, It was already Legacy Cut, and I put soft ears on it. The lense is great. I love the 1/4 turn to get it off. At first you notice that compared to a filer or an invision it is a small amount heavier. I mostly see woodsballers using these but they are used a fair amount in speedball aswell. I reccomend these to anyone because they are very nice and are also pretty cheap.
Conclusion: Great mask get it
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

caustic Saturday, October 21st, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
i have used vforce armor and a pmi mask
Marker Setup: vs2
egg 3
45/3000 psi nitro
Strengths: Very comfortable
Good lens
Decently priced
Lens does not fog
Weaknesses: Kinda bulky
Pricey, but alot of masks are
Rubber bounce areas are too soft
Review: This was the first mask Ihad since my vforce armor and I love it. The rubber bounce part is great, albeit soft, and the lens is very clear. I first played on a rainy day, and it was about 80 degrees and sprinkling. The lens would not fog, even when I breathed on it. My friend was using an invision and had all sorts of problems, but it was kinda old so I don't know what was up. The mask if very comfortable, it rides nicely on the head, and the foam is very soft, but firm enough for nasal support. I don't wear glasses so I don't know if fits glasses well. The only gripe was it is kinda bulky, especially around the lower jaw, but the bounce rubber is there. I caught a few balls in the mouth because the rubber bent and the balls slipped by. I screamed. I know the rubber is supposed to be soft but that seems too soft. For what it is, I think it is pricey, but like I said alot of masks are.
Conclusion: This is a great mask that I would recommend to anyone who needs a nice mask. It has a few issues but everything does
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Friday, February 16th, 2007 at 11:12 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

iskymeow Tuesday, October 17th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
6 months6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
i own:
Empire e-Vents
Proto Switch FS

i have tried/tested:
Proto Switch EL (rental)
JT Flex8
VForce Vantage
Marker Setup: Tippmann A-5
Flatline / 16" J&J Ceramic
Low Pressure Kit & Tippy Reg
WAS Equalizer e-Grip
JCS Dual Trigger
Maddman Springs
JCS Rear Velocity Adjuster
CP On/Off ASA
Ricochet R5
Internal Polish
Strengths: + Comfortable
+ Easy to dismantle/clean
+ Good visibility
+ Good aural clarity
+ Comes with bag
Weaknesses: - Shortage of replacement lenses
- Thermal lens prone to splitting
- Very short chin strap
Review: I got my Proto FSes earlier this year and have been speed- and rec-/woods-balling with them ever since. (I have my e-vents now but won't use them till next month.)

The comfort, in my opinion, is top-notch: for me it really doesn't get in the way of my playing. I feel secure enough wearing them out on the field - the fit is great on my head and doesn't feel like it's going to slip off anytime soon. The foam around the eye/nose area and in the earpieces are to my liking. However, the chin strap is something I really hate, as even on it's maximum length and with the comfort pad removed, I can't get it to fit me. You may want to disregard this however if you don't even use the strap, but it's just one of the little niggles that bugs me.

The coverage definitely can't match the comprehensive cover from a mask like the Pro Vantage, for example, but it is certainly more than the Empire e-Vents or the Profiler can provide. That is all probably up to personal preference, though - I have a squarish facial structure so masks like the Profiler leave quite a lot of skin exposed for me.

Where the FS really excels is how easy it is to remove the lens for cleaning or replacement. The system really does work to offer quick removal. You just have to be careful when cleaning the lens itself - getting water in the foam separating the two layers will result in them splitting apart, thus letting moisture and air get inbetween. One con of the lens, though, is that not cleaning them with proper materials - for instance, wiping off splatter dots with, say, a glove - will leave nasty smears on the front layer of the lens. Then again this might happen with any other mask, but maybe not as badly as it happens with the FS.

Visually though, the lens is an OK piece of work. Visibility and optical clarity are good enough for any level and type of paintballer. Unfortunately, when it comes time to replacing them, you may have to look around a bit harder than you should have to. I still can't seem to find a replacement dual-layer anywhere.

Ventilation on the FS is nothing to shout about. Hot breath will get all over the cheek and mouth area unless you exhale with your lips pursed downwards. It works fine for shouting out and listening to commands on the field however. This lack of proper ventilation probably leads to the fogging that occurs on most FSes. However this does not come into play unless you are playing for long durations, or in extreme weather conditions.

As a side note, the FS comes with a mask bag too.
Conclusion: Personally, I find it to be a comfortable mask. The rubber jaw and mouth protection supposedly helps with paint bounces, but I personally have not been hit in those areas so I can't attest to that.

Overall, I think it's a fine product for the money.
Rating:
8 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, February 1st, 2007 at 1:30 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

maxxch05 Friday, October 6th, 2006
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
6 months1 of 9 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Skul Mask
JT Spectra
V force V Shield
Marker Setup: Autococker Trilogy
00' Shocker S/F
00' autococker
05' Racegun HB
Strengths: Great look
Great protection
Weaknesses: Bad visability
Bad condensation
Review: I was excited to use the goggles because they looked awsome. In colder or more humid climates condensation builds up on the inside of the mask. I believe this is due to breath not venting away from the inside. It was also very dificult to clean the mask off between rounds. It would leave a haze the caused bad glare. I have used other masks that you could wipe with your sleeve and clean easier than that mask could be cleaned with a rag and windex.
Conclusion: Great look, bad lenses, bad venting. since being able to see clearly is atleast a 3rd of the total function for a goggle system it should loose that much of a score.
Rating:
6 out of 10
I found this review  
4 Comments - Add Comment

achab Tuesday, October 3rd, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
V-Force Pro Vantage
Marker Setup: SP Ion
Strengths: Wide field of view
Weaknesses: A real fiddle to get lens back in
Fogging every game
Review: I bought these goggles on-line after reading reviews on this site. They seemed to fit the bill for me, but I've been disappointed.

I wanted to avoid misting up more than anything, so I decided it was worth the money to buy thermal goggles.

They fit well and look good, so I was looking forward to trying them out, but they have misted up on me every single game. I live in the UK which admittedly is damp and wet. I play in the woods and admittedly I run around like a loon and sweat a lot. But we're talking about fogging so badly I haven't been able to see to walk and eventually had droplets running down the insides of the lens - The sort of thing you want to see on the outside of your beer glass not inside your mask. I wondered if my breath was getting into the lens space but the foam is pretty tight onto my face.

They are heavier than the V-Force Pro Vantage I initially bought, but the field of view is much better. Sadly I've given up and gone back to the cheaper V-Force. I could fork out for a fan but I can't decide if it's worth forking out for something that may or may not work and could just be an additional pain
Conclusion: Goggles are fairly personal in what suits who. These were utterly useless for me but others like them. Moral of the story: Probably best to try before you buy if you can when it comes to goggles. I've given a four for looks fit comfort and field of view, or you could say taken off six points for the monsoon that occurs behind my lens.
Rating:
4 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (4):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media