paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Proto Switch FS Mask / Proto Switch FS Mask / Proto Switch FS Mask

Proto Switch FS Mask Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Proto

Buy Proto Switch FS Mask

Paintball Masks / Goggles

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Proto Switch FS Mask
[ View Photos (6) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 38
Average Rating: 8.6 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $70

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The Proto Switch paintball goggle boasts an innovative 1/4-turn snap lock system. Simply turn the locking tabs to the right to unlock your lens frame. Pop out your old lens, drop a new one in, place the frame over the lens into position, and turn the tabs back again to lock it in. Self-in venting, low profile and removable, the Switch visor is able to pivot up and down for easy lens replacement.

FEATURES

* Silicone-woven rubber goggle strap
* Tiger tooth strap buckles
* Multi-ported ear piece
* 1/4-turn buckle
* Uni-directional venting
* Tirodial lens
Product Availability 
The Proto Switch FS Mask is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (4):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4
                            
NS RecPaintball Thursday, September 28th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
- JT Radar
- Proto Axis (Only tested)
- JT Spectra
Marker Setup: ICD Promaster
CP Inline Regulator
CP 2k5 On/Off
Strengths: -Lense
-Looks
-Padding
-Price
Weaknesses: -Maybe a little heavy
Review: I ordered this goggle system 2 weeks ago, a little skeptical, because I had tried the Proto Axis, which I loved, but it was pretty expensive. I pulled the FS out of the box, and immediately knew I had bought a quality product. Lets start with the lens.

--LENS--
Very nice thermal lens, which is switchable in less than 10 seconds (note: Proto SWITCH). The lens gives you at least 180dgrs of sight, so you can look left instead of moving your whole head left to see someone.

--PADDING--
The padding on this mask is very soft. You get excellent support around the eyes, and a little bit padding that sits just on top of your ears. This mask is very comfy! You could wear it for at least an hour and not complain.

--LOOKS/PRICE--
This mask looks simply awesome in any color. I got mine in Smoke, which isn't black, but isn't grey either. Somewhere in between. I believe it comes in Red, Blue, Smoke, Black, and Olive. In price, these things are going for CHEAP these days (30$ at actionvillage or something like that).

Conclusion: If you want a new mask and don't want to empty your wallet, pick one of these things up! Comfy, durable, and price all make this mask great.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Friday, March 2nd, 2007 at 8:43 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

schecter81 Thursday, September 21st, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
2 years
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Dye Invision
Proto Switch
JT Headshield (Garbage)
Marker Setup: Ion with ANS 90 Degree Frame and Razr Body
UFD S-Roller Trigger,
Trinity Q-Lock feedneck,
Shocktech Superfy Bolt,
SP 360 QEV,
Smart Parts Grips,
Evil Detonator Regulator,
Dye Mini Drop/Smart Parts On/Off
All American 14" Barrel

Proto Switch FS
47/3000 HPA
Strengths: Comfort
No Fog
Easy Change Lense
Weaknesses: Price of replacement lenses.
That is it.
Review: I have had the Proto Switch for about 2 years now and I have been extremely happy with them. They look good, are very comfortable, and have fantastic facial coverage. The Invision(my wife has one) tends to have a little less chin coverage and neck coverage. The Proto is a great mask for anyone. It is light and effective.

The only downfall is the price of the replacement lenses $35 cdn.
If you are replacing them at all often it really begins to add up.
The Profiler has lenses for $20 cdn
The E-Vents lenses are only $25 cdn

Just something to think about before making a final decision.
Conclusion: Great mask as a competitive price. Just make sure this is the mask you want.
Would have given it a perfect ten but the cost of the lenses is ridiculous.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

firecracker91 Thursday, September 7th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
profilers
jt flex 7
Marker Setup: Trilogy Pro Sf
evo 2
48 3000 n2
kaner barrel set
wgp clamp feedneck
Strengths: Very comfy
Nice lookin
Flex bottom
Easy lenses removal
Comes wit mask bag
A proto!!!
Weaknesses: Bit heavy
Nothin else
Review: I jsut got this mask and i loved it right out of the box. it was soooooo comfortable compared to my nooob beginner mask. the flexy bottom was a great add on and the lense removal is very easy and fast. it also looks sweet. i just thought it was a little to heavy and im a small guy so weight matters mucho. btw it was only 35 bucks on pbgear.com.(best site ever!!!)
Conclusion: I'd say go for it!!!
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

nightmare122489 Sunday, August 27th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
2 years0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Ive tryed just about every mask I know 3 different store owners.
Marker Setup: Sp Ion with everything except grip frame
Strengths: Comfy
Weaknesses: Heavy
Review: Protos are good masks and they are very comfy but they are really heavy. When I wear these the weight makes me hotter and that makes more sweat then the weight makes the mask fall off my face because its too heavy and the sweat is preventing it from staying.
Conclusion: If you dont care about weight than this is a great mask.
Rating:
6 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

moose70 Saturday, August 12th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Java Crap Mask
Dye Invision
Marker Setup: Tippmann Custom Pro E with ACT
W.A.S. Board
Rufus Dawg Stick Trigger
'06 Smart Parts Linear Barrel
Ricochet 2k
Strengths: Very Comfortable
Doesn't Fog
Good Ventilation
flexible jaw
Weaknesses: Not as pretty as the others EDIT-the lense is kind of easy to scratch.
Review: I picked this up off of action village for like 68.00us or something like that. It is a huge step up from the crappy java mask that came with my first gun. I was amazed at how I didn't get any fog; we were playing on about 16 acres so the games were long enoght to make other masks fog but apparently not this one. It doesn't look as good as the invision, but I thinks its more comfortable and bigger. It also has a flexible jaw so if you're lucky enough to get hit there it might bounce off. EDIT-The lense scratched after the third time I used it. Maybe I was just being too rough with it; i have land covered with low mesquite trees, so it could've scratched any masks.
Conclusion: Great mask, get it especially if you have a big head like me.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, November 30th, 2006 at 7:22 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

vbg17 Monday, August 7th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
none
Marker Setup: Custom 98
Strengths: Its very comfortable, and its very fog resistant.
Vary simple to change lenses.



Weaknesses: Can fog in extreme circumstances.
Its a little too big for my tastes.
Review: I have been wearing this mask for about a year now and I have never had a problem. When I first started with the rented mask I swore that I would never own a mask that wasnt thermal. And for the price you really cant beat it. It is very comfortable. Its big too, completly covering my jaw. This is a big deal for some people but for those that want an "agg" mask it is a simple mod to trim the mask down a little. And breaking down the mask to clean or switch lenses is very simple.
Conclusion: I would suggest this mask to anyone. It is comfy and it will treat you well.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

ycfan456 Thursday, July 20th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month15 of 19 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
VForce Profiler
Marker Setup: - Tippmann A-5
- Hammerhead BattleStixx 5 fin kit
- SpecOps Dogleg Stock
- 32 Degrees coiled remote w/ slide check
- Crossfire 92/4500 HPA tank
Strengths: - Very, very comfortable
- Flex on bottom half
- Easy lense change, no tools
Weaknesses: Nothing really...
Review: This is the most comfortable mask I have ever worn. The foam is not quite as soft as my Profiler, but it is plenty soft enough. There is extra padding by your ears so the plastic doesn't rub against them. The mask really forms to your face well. It stays on very well too. Most other masks I have to use a hat or something to keep them on. It's price is fairly good. ($70) I think the Profiler is like $80 and the Invision is like $90 or something. I haven't tried the Invision but the Switch FS is soooooo comfortable.

The lense change:
1. Take the strap out of the little cover things (5 sec)
2. Twist up the two locks (5-10 sec)
3. Pull the locks out (3-5 sec)
5. Take the lens frame out (2 sec)
6. Swap the lenses (2 sec)
7. Do the opposite in reverse order (25 sec)

Total: 45-50 sec

Pretty darn good.
Conclusion: This mask is the best value on the market. It is comfortable, flexible, makes for easy lense changes, and is relatively cheap for masks in it's class. Great product.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment

peteralexander7 Friday, July 14th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months3 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
JT thermal Spectra, JT Flex 7, JT Elite, PMI X ray
Marker Setup: AGD ULE Minimag, RPG sub zero feed neck, Level X, Dye double trigger frame, On/off drop, Old school one piece 12in AA barrel
Strengths: Cleaning the mask and lens is sooo easy. Comfortable, good thick lens
Weaknesses: None that I can see
Review: I love this mask for the simple reason of maintanence. It quick to break down and clean the mask 100% in minutes. It has a nice flexible jaw for bouncing paint. The lens is nice and thick with 260 degrees of vision. Because it is an FS it also comes with a thermal lens which makes a world of diffence with fogging. The f an also slides into place and has one clip that is easy to remove for maintance on the mask. The cost isnt too bad for what you get. I got mine on ebay used for $30 with the fan. My brother got his new on ebay with the fan for $70.
Conclusion: This is one of the best masks on the market. If you get shot a lot in the lens from playing peek a boo then this is the mask for you. Simple to clean and looks great. Price isnt bad for what you get because you pay for what you get!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (4):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4
                            
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media