paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / The Complete Guide to Paintball Book / The Complete Guide to Paintball Book / The Complete Guide to Paintball Book / The Complete Guide to Paintball Book

The Complete Guide to Paintball Book Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount

Buy The Complete Guide to Paintball Book

Paintball Paintball Books

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


The Complete Guide to Paintball Book
[ Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 33
Average Rating: 9.0 / 10
Manufacturer Website: N/A
Suggested Retail Price: $16

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Paintball is fast becoming the hottest sport in the world. International competitions with prizes of $100,000 and more, televised events on ESPN, and paintball fields sprouting in every corner of the U.S., mean there's never been a better time for The Complete Guide to Paintball. The Complete Guide to Paintball captures the excitement and energy of this dynamic game and provides the reader with a wealth of information for both beginning and advanced play. Paintball combines the skill and patience of a chess game with the fast and furious pace of capture the flag. Both teens and adults are avid fanatics of the game. Includes sections on: How to choose your paintball gun or "marker"; care and maintenance of your gun; the right ammo; safety equipment; beginner to advanced play; tactics; techniques; game rules; a listing of paintball fields in the USA; plus many other important resources and information.
Product Availability 
The The Complete Guide to Paintball Book is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (4):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4
        Next Page
Captain Exar Thursday, February 10th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 months4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
I have never read any actual physical books before this one will. I am however a frequent visitor to every paintball site to keep up on prices, and whatís new in the industry.
Marker Setup: Spyder Pilot ACS
16 inch J&J Ceramic
Evolution 2 Hopper (X-Boarded Smoked Shell)
NDZ Low Rise From Spyder to Impulse Adabtor
Custom Parts Clamping feed neck Impulse threads
90/4500 Nitro Duck Tuff Skin Tank
Strengths: -Good if you are just getting into it
-Nice Pictures?
Weaknesses: -Expensive
-Not updated even though published in 2004
-Biassed
-Expensive
Review: I purchased the 3rd Edition of this Book from Barnes and Nobles for 21 Dollars. I liked it at first it shows some pretty good information if your just starting to get into the sport, but I became pretty upset when I started looking at all the flaws.

First off - For a 3rd Edition Book I don't expect to be buying the first edition with 10 new pages. My friend who has the first Edition showed me his, and they are identical. This upset me because all through the book they are talking about 13 BPS being the cap during this day an age (the book was published in 2004). This is completely false you can upgrade a Spyder to shoot 36 BPS their are very few arguments going on about capping guns permanently at 13 BPS nowadays.

Strike one. Considering that I blame this on just pure laziness I mean how hard is it to update the information, and acquire new interviews from the companies to keep material up to date. Think of a kid turning in the same report twice to the same teacher just with a couple more ďso'sĒ in it. Yeah you can understand why Iím upset about it.

Second - I found the information to be quite bias they cover a lot of old school paintball, but not a lot of new school (this may be in part to the fact that the book was out of date though even though it was published in 2004). They have huge articles with Smart Parts and Tippmann, but exclude other major companies like Kingman and Bob Long I'm sure that both of those companies would have been more than happy to send out a factory representative from their company and answer questions and give out product displays personally.

Strike Two - I didn't enjoy the read its almost like they had to sleep outside of the companies doors in tents just to get the interviews that they got so that kind of made me feel weird. If I called Kingman and Bob Long and said something like "Hey will you give me an Interview for my nationally marketed paintball book" I would expect them to say yes, kind of like Free advertising, and if they couldn't do it in person they could always do it over the phone.

Lets see if they can get at least a hit on the third ball here.......

Third - Why is everyone wearing Camo? For those of you that are new to paintball I'll explain something that this book doesn't, Camo is for woodsball. Speedball is played with sports jersey's and athletic pants. This book covers almost nothing for speedball, and everything for woodsball. They have an Entire Two sections dedicated to Sniping to put all your illusions to rest yes you can sneak around all you want, but their is no sniping, go ahead put a 21 inch barrel on your gun if you think it looks cool I say go for it, but it is not going to help your accuracy any.

Strike Three - This Book is out, buy the first edition off ebay for a buck because that is all its worth do not buy the third edition it is overpriced and has all the same information as the first edition.
Conclusion: Iím giving this book a four because I consider it to provide false ideas about this sport, and I think you would be upset at any writer that is to lazy to update his own book. Yeah I will not be buying the 4th Edition thatís all I can say. If you can get it off ebay for cheap, and have never experienced paintball then get it, but just don't take anything to heart seeing as how when you get out to the field things will be extremely different. Thanks for Reviewing My Review.
Rating:
4 out of 10
I found this review  
4 Comments - Add Comment

wahoofan627 Friday, December 17th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Magazines, they are totally different so I can't really compare them.
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98 Custom
14" Tippmann Werks Barrel
Strengths: Very helpful
Covers lots of stuff
Weaknesses: A little bit Noobie ish
Mine was outdated
Review: This is the Complete Gudie to Paintball: 2nd Edition, not the one that is pictured above.

I got this book at my library and read through it. It is really helpful and covers so many topics its incredible. The only problem was that it is outdated (for example: the 98 custom wasn't even invented then) but it did have a black and white insert in the back that was supposed to be the "2nd edition". Oh well, it was helpful.
Conclusion: I would get it from the library, not worth paying money for even though it is a good book.
Rating:
7 out of 10Last edited on Friday, December 17th, 2004 at 1:26 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Zinger Tuesday, October 5th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
A stack of magazines handed to me by some friends: "Here. Learn. Go now, and return when you are competent."
Marker Setup: Tippmann A-5 (ditched the fore grip, Krylon-camo'd the hopper); 14" 32* Night Stick barrel; some impacted dirt
Strengths: Wide overview of The Sport. Great intro for beginners. Updated in 2002 & 2004.
Weaknesses: Some parts repeat. Not much depth on a lot of subjects.
Review: Imagine: your bestest friend in all the world, the one who got you started in paintball, went back through his ten year thick stack of magazines, pulled out the most useful articles, and bound them all together in one neat volume -- just for you! Gear, safety, tactics, history & culture, ethics & etiquette: read it all, and youíll still be a newbie, but not quite a total idiot your first months on the field. And sure, some parts repeat, some are getting a little old, some are just sort of jammed in, but for an easy-to-read broad overview of the subject... man, thatís some book. OK, so maybe you donít have that good of a friend, but for $15 you can have the book. Plus it was just updated in June 2004, so itís still minty fresh.
Conclusion: Maybe if youíve been playing for a while you could skip this book (though you might learn a few things about parts of the sport that you don't usually play), but for somebody whoís in the first year or so of playing, itís money (and reading time) well spent.
Rating:
8 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, October 5th, 2004 at 4:25 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Smart Paint Friday, August 6th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
1 year1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
This is the only paintball book I have ever read. I read paintball magazines, though. They do not compare to this product as far as content.

By the way: I am reviewing "The Complete Guide To Paintball: Second Edition". The 2nd edition has 20 more pages in black-and-white print with a paintball dictionary, paintball field and store listing, product reviews, special paintball events, and extra paintball tactics.
Marker Setup: I own (use) the following marker with the following upgrades/accessories:

Gun: Silver Tippmann 98 Custom.
Barrel (other than stock barrel): Black 14-inch Smart Parts "Tear Drop" barrel.
Loader/hopper: Blue Viewloader 12 volt "Revolution" loader (has an "X-Board" in it).
Special trigger: Response trigger (I own the stock trigger on my gun with the response trigger installed; it is a single-trigger with the response system in it.).
Air source: 20 ounce CO2 tank with a blue thread protector.

Other upgrades/ accessories that are not in use on this gun are a "Flatline" barrel and a "Double Trigger."

Even though it is not a marker, I have no where else to list what mask I have. I own a blue 2003 Dye "Invision" mask.
Strengths: - Gives good advice.
- Great pictures.
- Teaches you new things to help your paintball game.
Weaknesses: - Was made in 2000 (guns are out-dated).
- Big book.
- Sometimes boring to read.
Review: I purcahsed "The Complete Guide To Paintball: Second Edition" for $23. I was a "newbie" when I purcahsed this book. It has helped my game a lot. It gave me lots of advice to step my game up, such as snap-shooting and using hand-signals to not give away positions. Though, when I look at it now, it isn't the best book. The guns that they talk about are out-dated, and a lot of the content is boring if you are a pretty experienced paintball player.
Conclusion: This book is mainly for people who are just starting out with paintball. Looking at now, with 2 years of experience, I'd give it a 7 out of 10. But, when I first got the book, I was a "newbie," so I liked it. Once again, this book is for "newbies," so, if I did this review when I was a "newbie," I'd give it a 9/10.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, November 28th, 2004 at 10:32 am PST
I found this review  
4 Comments - Add Comment

wookiepaintball Wednesday, July 7th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
none.
Marker Setup: tippmann 98 custom, LAPCO snapshot barrel, Empire: reloader hopper, reactive trigger.
Strengths: Very helpful and detailed.
Weaknesses: Some facts were inacurrate.
Review: This book is defiantly for beginner players who need to now rules, feild stripping and other things important to paintball. Helped me with lots of things including defending objects, being stealthy and attacking the enemy properly. The book also contained many paintball games and drills to get your skill up with. It mostly helped me with cleaning my gun and lubing things up.
Conclusion: Great product, if you have the extra money I would get it.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Silverboomstick Monday, October 13th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
3 months0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Action Pursuit Games
Marker Setup: Blue old style BKO
Flame Dropfoward
68/3000 Pure Energy
Halo
Vapor valve
Vapor Bolt
Chaos Chip
Strengths: Perfect for COMPLETE newbs
Weaknesses: Expensive
Doesn't have much important information
Review: Since a guide like this has no compitition I decided to get this guide. Over reading though this I found things that where either worthless, wrong, or stated in the newbish way possible. For example only a newb would think that he is a sniper in paintball. It's people like that give paintball a bad name, such as refering to violence.
Conclusion: Great guide to get if your just cheaking it out of the library but don't spend all the money and don't believe what it says about the people in it.
Rating:
4 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

CnCmaster4life Friday, August 22nd, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
none, but there are others like it out there
Marker Setup: M98 custom, Pro-team hyper star ventri bolt, pro-team power feed, 32 degrees lightning dropfoward, extreme rage omega time grip, GTA sniper barrel
Strengths: it gives detailed articles on stuff newbies should know
Weaknesses: little out dated but i think they have the 3rd version out
Review: i borrowed this out from my local libary(i couldn't belive they had it!!!) i borrowed it cuz it was winter and i just got my tippmann so i really wanted to go out and play but there was snow everywhere where i live. it talked about a paintball sniper and big games, but the only thing i saw wrong with it was it didn't have much about speedball just a few articles here and there it was mainly about woods ball. the part i liked was where they showed u how to clean they tippmann with out taking it apart(though it wasn't very usful) but i was happy to see the marker i used. though they could of used one on how to clean a cocker though cuz it one of the more popular markers being a novice/tounyment level marker at the same time.
Conclusion: it helped me on my woods ball game but i still have a ton of tricks to learn about speedball. i give it a 9 because this helped me on my game and gave me a third opinion on SOME equipment. though they did mention the a-5 in it's developing stages
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

mujothebard Sunday, June 8th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
Gun Fu, doesn't compare
Marker Setup: This is a magazine review...
Strengths: Extremely indepth
So many tips
WILL improve your game
Great photos spell it out
Weaknesses: $20
Nonupdated version is a little behind the times
Review: I have the "2nd edition" of this book, and all I can say is, "Wow". There are drills, opinions, reviews, and EVERYTHING in between. They did a really great job of explaining everything, and using photos to illustrate several points. Did I mention this book is great?
Buy it, you won't be sorry.
Conclusion: Buy it at your first opportunity, you won't regret it. It's hard to give anything a 10, but this book is the exception.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Sparrow Thursday, June 5th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Marker Setup: Pro/carbine with 14" Tru-Flite barrel, red dot sight
Strengths: LOTS of info, great pictures
Weaknesses: ........ ummm....... uhhh......... none
Review: This book is awesome! Tons of information, nothing un-paintball in the book. I would reccomend this book to anybody, new or experinced. The tips contained in this book have taught me a lot of things that would have taken several more years to figure out on my own. One of my favorite books. BUY ONE TODAY!!!!
Conclusion: Go out and get a copy of this book. I think that it's worth the $20 that I gave for it and a whole lot more.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

TSpballer Tuesday, April 8th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
2 years
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Marker Setup: Spyder Imagine
Ricochet AK
12 oz. Co2 w/ on/off valve
Teardrop (soon)
Strengths: Great to introduce you to paintball, & tips/tactics
Very good info.
Cool pictures.
More.
Weaknesses: Not much. Very good book. A little bit for beginners.
Review: I like the book a lot. This is definitely the number one book to get for paintball, don't go for anything different. It helped to tell me what and what not to do as a beginner. then when I got a little more into paintball it told me great strategies and tactics.
Conclusion: Good book. Definitely get it. Good for everyone who is into the sport of paintball.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (4):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media