paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Viewloader Lancer / Viewloader Lancer / Viewloader Lancer / Viewloader Lancer

Viewloader Lancer Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Viewloader

Buy Viewloader Lancer

Paintball Low-End Mechanical Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Viewloader Lancer
[ View Photos (6) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 35
Average Rating: 7.5 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $50

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
iewloader have released a NEW marker - the Lancer - and it's their best marker yet. The Lancer comes with a Blade Trigger as standard for an increased rate of fire and an Aluminium Body and Barrel for reduced weight. Other features include the Field Strip System for ease of on-field cleaning, a Vertical Feed and an Angled Bottom Line Adaptor to give you a more secure holding position on the marker. Viewloader have enhanced the bolt design on this marker to improve consistency and increase the fire rate to approximately 12bps.
Product Availability 
The Viewloader Lancer is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (4):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4
        Next Page
tbtstt Thursday, August 16th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
1 year7 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Assorted field markers and a variety of friends markers (Tippmann 98 etc.)
Marker Setup: Viewloader Lancer,
Empire Reloader II Hopper,
Standard Barrel (?),
Custom Foregrip,
Custom Sling.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Powered hopper,
Improved barrel (maybe; see review for details!)
Strengths: Price, build quality, finish, accuracy. And value for money!
Weaknesses: Colour; red isn't exactly subtle!
Review: I actually received the Lancer as a leaving present from several colleagues who I'd been paintballing with. I didn't really have much say in the purchasing of the marker (it was a shop recommendation) so I wasn't sure what to expect. Happily, having used the marker on several occasions, I'm now a Lancer convert!

As with the other reviewers I had a massive struggle unpacking the damn thing, but once I did I was impressed at the feel and balance of the marker. Its finish is excellent and the built is rugged and simple. The marker can be stripped and cleaned very quickly and easily. I think the barrel is standard, though mine is cosmetically different to the barrel featured in all the images of the Lancer I have seen online (different profile and mine is black rather than silver); regardless I think it is more then adequate and it has provided an excellent platfore for modification (see later in the review).

I do quite often laugh when I read some of the reviews for paintball guns criticising their respective accuracy; they're not cartridge firing weapons and so, consequently, I don't expect long ranges out of them. As paintball guns go however, I was pleasantly surprised by the Lancer, at any range I would class as "playing" range (i.e. the length of a paintball playing field) the Lancer fires consistently tight groups.

In terms of modifications I've done very little to alter the gun mechanically; however prior to my first use of the gun I made a minor modifcation to the trigger altering the pull distance on it. As a consequence I found that, during the first use, the gun choked a couple of times (as the rate at which I could cycle the gun had increased). I blamed this on the VL200 gravity type hopper I was using at the time and decided to upgrade that before I wrote the gun off as useless. As in turns out that was the problem exactly, with an electronic hopper in place (the rather excellent Empire Reloader II) the marker has been absolutely flawless.

Cosmetically I've made several additions to the gun; firstly I made up a foregrip which clamps roughly midway along the barrel. This gives a much better point to grip from and allows for much more accurate firing, particularly from behind cover. Additionally I tried a "proper" sling for it, but the fit was rubbish and the firing position awkward as hell. Eventually I ended up butchering a heavy duty lanyard and attaching that to the frame behind the bolt. The centre of gravity is quite far back so, with a 20oz tank attached, the marker sits neutrally on the sling. Result.

Rather happily the last time I went to the local field there were several sponsored players sharing the field with me, I didn't get the exact specifications of their guns but I do know that the pair of them had well over £1000+ worth of gear between them. All I saw all day was the pair of them fighting with their markers whilst my trusty Lancer didn't put a foot wrong!
Conclusion: Highly recommended. The build quality, finish and accuracy are all good, especially for such a cheap marker.

In terms of extras an electric hopper is a good investment, particularly if you're a quick on the trigger. The colour isn't exactly great either, but hey, you're not actually going to war with the thing so its not the end of the world - especially at such a good price!
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Tiger_ARVN Tuesday, August 14th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
Fokus rental... though its not really like the VL Lancer experience.

Fokus is a bit heavier and rugged. Lancer is more light but still durable.
Marker Setup: LOL. Low funding creates

= basic gravity VL 200 loader, 9 oz BE co2 tank, stock barrel.
Recommended
Upgrades:
For some I would say a slightly longer barrel. However for me the stock was not a problem. It worked fine, especially in close quarter ambushes and mid distance.
Strengths: - Durable

- Very light

- accurate

- fast for a low end marker

- lubing, cleaning, maintaining easy.
Weaknesses: -trigger pull slightly long.

- Loud

-9 oz co2 kind of goes by fast.
Review: A durable marker for such a low low price. It took its tumbles and fumbles but kept on going after.

When I held this marker and it was so light to carry, I realized the ease in which to aim/brace/and fire at enemies.

Speaking of which ^^^, this marker was great for close quarter and mid range distances.

Didn't waste shots at all. Simply 1-2 shots was all that was needed.

All of my "frags" on the enemies were from close quarter/mid range via ambush, so I didn't need to waste shots. I seeked cover well, moved only when needed, and lured the enemy by hiding in the shadows.
As the enemy moved forward towards my allies, I would be right there within their breathing space and they did not even know it. From the shadows I pulled and the enemy fell. Seems like they were too pre-occupied with my allies in which they can see or hear..
But me they couldn't even sense I was so close until it was too late.
I would say this marker is made for more close and mid range combat situations.


-------------------------

Now for the slight negatives.

The trigger pull on this marker is a bit long. Thus it would be a waste of energy to attempt multiple burst fire.
This marker will often force you to preserve your shots for guarenteed opportunities.
I only
spent $7 for 100 paintballs the whole day. I played at least 6 games and by the end I had a lot left. Other players bought like 500 paintballs ($35) because they had markers that allowed them a lot of wasted burst.


This marker is loud due to the stock barrel.
Though this did not hinder my performance on the recball field at all. The loudness did not prevent me. In fact the loudness
helped me successfully SHOCK the enemy as he passed by right in front of my hiding spot as I lit him up from so close that the loudness scared the living crap outta him!
A "holy sh1t!" or "OMG!" scream were the typical words of surprised yells from the enemies.
up close with my loudness and element of surprise ;)

However If I am firing from a MID distant range;
I have ways to elude the enemy from finding my positions ;) after my loud shots...

anyways

Only other prob I can really point out is that a Brass Eagle 9 oz co2 tanker might not last too long. I hear that a Pure Energy tank would be better.
Many people have told me that a 20 oz co2 tank is what I need cuz it would last very long even when I take it home and unplug it from the marker.

However, perhaps it is a 9oz or12oz co2 that also contributes to the Lancer's light feel.
Conclusion: Seriously.

Even though I bought this for $79 at Walmart (VL gravity basic 200 hopper included)
I thought it was going to be just okay or not good at all.

However using
this marker for the first time on a recball field and having great results really changed my mine.

This marker is AWESOME for its price and brand name (VL).
This marker can really really help a pballer in improving his stealth/ambush, cover and patience skills.

The trigger pull is slightly long so, you are not really able to fire rapidly but, if your skills are up there you only need 1-2 shots at your enemies to get the job done.
So basically like what I said;
this marker is for more of the beginner pballers
who like to get close in on the action or lure their enemies into ambushes.

GET THIS MARKER if you are very very low on $$$.

I am hoping to get a Tippmann 98 Custom in a year but believe me, I am KEEPING the VL Lancer as a backup marker!

P.S I will update when I have used this marker on my 3rd or 4th times at the rec field.
Rating:
8 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, August 14th, 2007 at 6:04 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

slipknot423 Sunday, July 15th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Brass Eagle Eradicator
Marker Setup: 16oz C02, Viewloader 200rnd hopper, everything else stock.
Recommended
Upgrades:
When you get better I recommend new gun
Strengths: Durable, fairly accurate, good range.
Weaknesses: Loud other than that nothing really.
Review: Before I start I would like to say that I didn't use the gun myself but my friend did because his black max wasn't working. The gun is amazingly pretty good for the price. My friend was on a hill a 100ft and i just turned off this trail before 10 paintballs flew right where i was. it was pretty loud though so it gave away his position a lot.
Conclusion: this gun is good for beginners if you want to keep it cause you like it I recommend a new barrel (not over 14inches or else decreases velocity).
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

oyssey03 Wednesday, June 20th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 months0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder compact 2 in 1, Viewloader Orion.
Marker Setup: VL Lancer, Vl 200 hopper, 14" ceramic barrel (brass eagle) Stryker paintballs, 9 ozRhino Power Co2 tank.
Recommended
Upgrades:
barrel, e-grip, sell it and buy a new gun.
Strengths: Cheap, Performance for price.
Weaknesses: Bright red color, short stock barrel, nothing fancy could be a good thing.
Review: Well I had this gun as my first gun early last year, I jumped right in playing in true wars against college aged kids with nicer guns (i.e tricked out A-5's, ions, spyder vs3, MR3,etc). After stuggling through a few wars I went to a woodsball training camp over the summer, and it greatly improved my skills and knowledge and I felt the need to upgrade, But this was a great gun to start with. It got me hooked on the sports, I had this gun and I put up a few kills with it. It got me into paintball and for that it's good, I did a minor upgrade on the barrel and it helped the accuracy a bit, and for a 50 dollar gun it's got GREAT accuracy, for the price this is the best gun I can think of, right now I'm using an odyssey 03 mechanical and I can't lie it's a MUCH better gun, but none the less for a cheap gun this lancer shoots real well. It's a semi-auto with good speed and accuracy. It's also quite durable.
Conclusion: I reccomend this gun to anyone trying to get into the sport, it's cheap, and for the price performs real well, I'm glad I didn't go ahead and break the bank when I first started and went with this gun instead. I give it a 9 of 10 for good performance for price and an excellent gun to start with.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

tippmannkiller Sunday, May 13th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
6 months6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
VL Orion (not as accurate)
Spyder Victor II (about the same but more heavy...not as easy to field strip)
Spyder Sport (not as reliable.....bolt shot out barrel:(
Marker Setup: Tac 5 Recon with Camo Paint, 14 inch pmi smoth bore barrel with compensator, dual trigger, smoke camo halo 200 rd hopper with extension, 20oz rhino CO2 with camo cover , m4 three dot sight, right hand sniper position elbow, tactical green laser pointer, new stainless steel reciever, 14 inch bipod, sniper stock
Recommended
Upgrades:
Most would say a longer barrel, or a drop forward........ i dont think u should buy any upgrades cuz it is most reliable as it is...........but if u are burning to upgrade it id get
around a 12" Barrel (make sure its light)
a cap stock if ur using a 20oz (id use a 9oz to keep with its lightness superiority)
fore grip to keep it stable
Strengths: Extremly light
easy to field strip
accurate
good on gas
does not chop
durable
cheap
Weaknesses: Red (wtf)
loader is welded on (wtf)
barrel is not ported (wtf)
threads sorta suck
Review: I bought this gun as a second to my now primary gun Tac 5 (i am amazed at how well my cheaper guns are doing) and i am very impressed with it. It was onlt $40 so it was a quick pick up. Even thoe their are much better guns this one should not be overlooked as it is very cheap and possibly the easiest gun to field strip ive seen. It has a pretty good barrel for its price but like all barrels it could be better.........some ports would be nice. But it shines in how light it is, my Tac weighs like 4 times heaveir than the Lancer.......but id stay with a 9 or 12oz tank to keep it light. The only let downs i sa was the welded loader, and the no fore grip (but u can see both of them when u buy it so its nothing new)

Well i finally put this gun in an extrem match up and it ruled......it broke one ball (actualy jammed in the breach...took like 15 sec to clean.......luv the feild strip....so easy) it still has half a tank left and it put a hurting on sum people...this thing fires fast for a mech...probaly the highest you can get without going eclectric......im thinkin of buyin another so i can make a turret.......
Conclusion: Its a must buy if ur a newb or ur looking for a secondary, or u just dont want ur precius G7 to get musk up.......dont make belive that price reflects the gun cuz it acts like a low bps ion......sorta.........lol.
This gun is awsome......im gonna buy sum spray paint to cover up that red paint...
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Monday, October 29th, 2007 at 7:06 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

akkiller8 Wednesday, May 2nd, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
1 year3 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
My first gun was a Tippman A-5 which was a huge mistake. A great gun but way to much for e to handle as a beginer
Marker Setup: Electric hopper, 14' smart parts linear barrel, a drop forward and a 14 oz co2 tank.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Most important get a drop forward to control the back heavy marker. Then a longer barrel for a quieter more accurate gun.
Strengths: Cheap, veary easily upgraded, and lightwieght.
Weaknesses: Bright red, makes load noise when bolt hits the body of the gun.
Review: This gun is a great overall gun for the money. Some things that are bad but the strengths easily out weighs them.
After selling my A-5 i had plenty of money to buy a new gun and upgrade the crap out of it. So I stroll into wal-mart looking for a decent starter gun. When I saw the Lancer i had to have right then and their. After i get it out the package i hook up my co2 tank and head outside. I stood about 65 feet from the target i made and let it rain. After i conquered the sight issues I could get a 5-6 in pattern with ease. After a little sweet talking I talked my brother into letting me shooting him as he ran around. The gun still performed like a diamond in the rough. However the faster you go you loose your accuracy very fast.
Conclusion: Once you get some upgrades on it I personaly think it is better than my old A-5. Painting it black helps alot to. Very solid gun only one minor problem to date.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

SanityUnleashed Sunday, April 22nd, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tac 5 (I believe it is) - DECENT accuracy, slightly higher powered, barrel freezes too quickly. Wasn't actually mine, belongs to a friend haha.
Marker Setup: VL Lancer, standard setup. Planning on custom home made modifications including a much longer barrel (roughly 15 inches) and a full body stock as well as a custom hopper setup pitting it at an angle OUTSIDE the standard sighting area.
Recommended
Upgrades:
The barrel length should definitely be increased. I tested a longer barrel (approximately three inches longer) from a friend's gun and the accuracy increased dramatically. I would also suggest any and all methods necessary to increase the front weight as the gun is very very unbalanced towards the rear. If you can get the hopper off to the side, DO IT. I've been dealing with that thing sticking in front of my face for a year and it makes life miserable.
Strengths: Relatively quiet.
Lightweight.
Rarely breaks a ball in the chamber.
Fires quickly and reliably
Weaknesses: Heavy in the rear.
Should be more powerful.
Barrel is too short.
Review: I received a VL Lancer as a birthday gift from my best friend one year ago. I haven't taken it into many games but in those few I was obviously a much more satisfied customer than I had been with my old pump action. Mind you, the pump action was incredibly reliable and high powered but didn't allow for swift and continuous fire which is key. (I now keep the pump action loaded and ready as a reserve in case I need a round while reloading the Lancer, I have it on a side sling).
The weapon is cheap and highly cost effective as it is. If you're looking to just have the occasional game with your friends and aren't playing with an extreme degree of competion, it probably won't be worth it to go through modifications, the gun is highly satisfactory as is.
However, if you're intending on really slamming someone on the field I would definitely recommend (as is stated several times throughout the review) that you find a way to increase the barrel length by at least a few inches. When I added only three inches to the barrel length on mine I gained 100% accuracy from an additional forty feet (assuming zero wind). Obviously this presents a problem with a reduction in power which is one of the beautiful advantages of the wrench that came in the package. Yes, after a certain speed the weapon is illegal in professional games and potentially dangerous however, with the additional barrel length your muzzle velocity is reduced so much by the time the ball comes out that it's essentially a standard speed with far improved accuracy. It's a little bit of work but the benefits are incredible.
I also personally have begun crafting a one piece body/stock that is modeled after both the Italian Carcano and the Kalishnikov AK-47 design. It's kind of a self gratification but I find that because of the fact that the weapon is so heavy in the rear, I NEEDED to increase ease of target acquisition and maintaining balance by having a stock. I also fire REAL rifles so it's also the most comfortable way for me to shoot. The design of the body also very effectively hides the majority of the red portion of the gun so it doesn't stick out in GREEN underbrush.
I would fully and wholeheartedly suggest making sure you at least have an elbow for your hopper (I'm sure this is a common newb mistake), my friend neglected to buy them for our guns and having this big black blob of a hopper in your way when you're trying to line up a shot is a royal pain in the neck. I myself am rigging up a custom design that'll look much more like the feed on an SAW assault rifle but if you want one of those you'll have to design it yourself cuz you won't find it on the market.
I would also like to comment that I have seen quite a few weapons fired very very quickly that either blow balls in the chamber or freeze the barrel. I can say with absolute certainty that I have never once in the year I've owned my Lancer seen it do either. And I am using really really cheap paint balls. The weapon will never spout CO2 fumes nor will you have to clean the barrel from rounds combusting in your chamber. I was very very satisfied by that aspect.
Conclusion: All in all, I was highly satisfied with the purchase and would recommend the piece to anyone, absolutely anyone. For professional or at least hardcore gamers, it's a cheap weapon that can be very easily modified to suit almost any function (sniping, run n' gun, spray n' pray, or as an auxiliary weapon). For newer players it's a very simple very reliable piece that will not fail you and does not require a lot of know-how or maintainence.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

413sonix Thursday, April 12th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Spyders-Better quality
Tippmanns-Same
Marker Setup: Nothing at the moment.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel
Not much I would spend on this gun really.
Strengths: Cheap
Reliable
Spyder clone
The bolt (will explain in the review)
Easy maintenance
Efficent
Weaknesses: Weird air line thing (explain in review)
Grips
Loud
Inaccurate
Feedneck
Review: Well, my friend borrowed this from his friend to play a game. The first thing we did, we bring it to my house, so I could take it apart and fix anything broken on it.

One thing I immediately noticed was the bolt. I thought it was a AKA Lightning bolt, and it is very trick. Has three O-rings, and no venturi. I thoguht this was a cool little feature for such a cheap marker.

The fact that it is a Spyder clone also leaves it to be upgraded some, but this is less upgradeable than a Spyder, and wouldn't be that great to upgrade since you could get a higher quality marker after you're done upgrading this. This also means that mosr Spyder repair parts can be interchanged with this marker.

It is very easy to maintain. Pull out the strip knob, and cocking knob, and oil the bolt and striker. Re-install, and put oil in the ASA, air it up, remove barrel, and dryfire. You're done oiling it. You may want to take the whole thing apart to thoroughly clean it, but this is where it gets annoying. In the body where the air hose goes, it blocks the valve from going out the front, which is an annoyance in my eyes. It is also a pain to get the cupseal, valve spring, and valve pin back into the valve.

The grips had to be Gorilla Glued to the frame because my friend and I thought they were annoying, and they felt great after that.

It is loud because the barrel is unported, but it also makes it very efficent, along with the bolt. When my Sonix ran out on a 12oz.., his gun with the 12oz. was still going, and I had to use his 20oz. The barrel is also inaccurate. My Sonix's stock 9.5 inch barrel was more accurate than the stock 12 incher. Yes the paint to bore match was perfect, we were using Monster Balls, but it was horribly inaccurate with the stock barrel. Couldn't hit crap.

Last thing that kinda made me made was the feedneck. Why would they weld it to the body? It makes cleaning harder, and if you want a lower rising feedneck, or something that clamps (which helps a lot with this thing's no O-ring feedneck), you can't change that out, unless if you cut it off, thread the breach, and put in an aftermarket feedneck, which I don't see why you'd waste that amount of time and money on this gun.
Conclusion: A reliable, sold, beginners marker. If you need a gun for cheap, this is the one to buy. It has its flaws of course, but it's $40. You shouldn't be expecting top quality out of it. I will give it a seven because it is a solid, beginning level performer, but definately has its flaws.
Rating:
7 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

spydaman2k5 Wednesday, March 7th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Viewloader Triton
spyder imagines
smart parts ion ( not similar lol)
Marker Setup: vl lancer
viewloader high performance 12 inch carbon fiber barrel
gravity feed hopper
co2
Recommended
Upgrades:
barrel is a must
large co2 tank
drop forward
Strengths: Cheap
Weaknesses: See review
Review: I bought this gun when my spyder broke just because it was very cheap and i was already at wal-mart. So i purchased it and brought it home put some paint in the hopper and connected the co2 tank. first shot it chopped the ball, second third and fourth where spinning all over the place. So i thought that my velocity was turned up to high so i adjusted it but it still shot sideways lol. The grips are also very cheap and uncomfortable. This gun also jams and misfires constantly. I do have one thing to say about this gun it is very easy to field strip, just remove one bolt and you ARE DONE. over all i guess if you have a very pressed budget like i did it would be ok but if you can afford something better DO NOT BUY THIS GUN!!!!! For those of you who think im just ragging on this gun you are wrong im just telling the truth.
Conclusion: This gun is ok for the money but if you have more than 50 dollars do not buy it it is very unreliable!
Rating:
4 out of 10
I found this review  
4 Comments - Add Comment

bjones@aol.com Monday, February 12th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 months7 of 9 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
tippman 98 custom, spyder TL-R
Marker Setup: Lancer
9 oz co2
200 round hopper
9 inch barrel
Recommended
Upgrades:
bigger barrel for better accuracy
and maybe a fore grip for comfortable hand positioning
Strengths: Look at review.
Weaknesses: Look at review.
Review: Key Strengths :
personally like blade trigger
price
great gun for beginners

Key Weaknesses :
bright red
very loud

This gun is easy to matinees and works well.
Shoots five balls per second.
This gun is semi auto and uses fair amount of co2
If your a beginner looking for a gun i would recommend this gun.

Conclusion: I like this gun overall.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (4):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media