paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Planet Eclipse E-Tek EGO / Planet Eclipse E-Tek EGO / Planet Eclipse E-Tek EGO / Planet Eclipse E-Tek EGO

Planet Eclipse E-Tek EGO Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Planet Eclipse

Buy Planet Eclipse E-Tek EGO

Paintball High-End Electronic Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Planet Eclipse E-Tek EGO
[ View Photos (58) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 111
Average Rating: 9.5 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $800

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
• Body – New 06 ETek Body. Def Tek offset feed tube, No Frame Tag slot, No Frame Tag, Body-Ported Barb Fittings for Rammer Inlets. Dual ETek Rubberised jewels, ‘Cocker Threads
• Feed Tube – Standard Clamping Feed Tube the same shape, size and fitting method as Ego 5 and 6
• Barrel – New 13” Length, reduced porting, reduced external machining, new formed stick-in rubber badge. ‘Cocker threaded.
• Bolt – New Shape. Much shorter version of Ego 5 Bolt. Same Ramped Top, ramped ball detent grooves, open bolt face, Drilled single hole inlet, plain shape at rear. Interchangeable with all Ego 05 and 06 bolts.
• New Valve Chamber and Valve – Enlarged Valve chamber offers operating pressures of 250-280 psi
• Rammer Housing – New ETek Rammer and Rammer Housing. No QEVs, but direct Fore and Aft Porting to Rammer. Does not accept any Ego 05 or 06 stock OR aftermarket rammers or rammer housings.
• Bolt Pin – New Shape. Plain Turned Pin. Larger diameter to allow easier grip and removal
• Ball Detents – Same as Ego 6
• Eye Covers – Same as ’05 Ego and Ego 6
• LPR – Adjustable LPR. Remodelled cap. Large Valve chamber for low pressure operation.
• FRM – New Shape and Mounting system.
• Inline Reg – New Shape for ‘06 ETek, same internals as and Ego 5 and 6, Swivel Inlet
• Frame – New Shape, larger trigger guard, single push-button, 3 x True-color LEDs, Rubberised aesthetic semi-transparent control console with EGO logo and viewing windows for LEDs, 4 x tapped bottom-line mounting holes. Spring trigger return, micro switch operation. Integrated slide rail/dove-tail
• Trigger – New for ‘06 ETek. Blade profile, radius edges, thinner section, centrally mounted trigger prong for enhanced PCB contamination protection.
• Parameters – Firing Mode, Eye Off ROF, Capped Modes ROF (Semi 1 is Uncapped), Valve Dwell, Debounce, Ball-in-Place
• PCB – New for ‘06 ETek featuring a micro-switch trigger, 3 x True-color LED, Single external push button, single set-up button, all tourney modes: Semi, Capped Semi. Capped Ramping (NPPL, PSP, Millennium compatible), and a locking facility to make tournament legal.
• On/Off/Purge System – same as system found on SL66
• Break-Beam Eyes – High efficiency break-beam eyes and advanced eye logic. Auto-off default.
• Grips – ‘05 Ego and Ego 6 Style mounting. Current grip is same as the existing Ego 6 grip. Soft rubber wrap-around with metal jewel Logo.

Weight: 1.12 kg / 2.47 lb with Barrel, On/Off/Purge, Regulators, Fittings and Battery Length: 508mm / 20.0” with 13” Barrel
Width: 28mm / 1.1” with Eye Covers
Height: 225mm / 8.8” Including Feed Tube and On/Off/Purge Assembly
Product Availability 
The Planet Eclipse E-Tek EGO is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (12):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
Dover Saturday, January 22nd, 2011
Period of
Product Use:
1 year2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Orange County Bushwackers SL66
Sacramento XSV Ego 06
1 of 150 blue e-star camo Etek1
Bob Long Closer
DYE DM4
Proto Minion 07
SP Ion, Ion XE
Angel LED, Angel A1
AutoMags and AutoCockers
Invert Mini

The Etek Ego is an extremely well-made and reliable tournament paintball marker.
Marker Setup: I'm a hardcore poor gun whore, seventeen (17) markers and counting:
Orange County Bushwackers SL66
Sacramento XSV Ego 06
1 of 150 blue e-star camo Etek1
Bob Long Closer
DYE DM4 (dust black)
Proto Minion 2007
SP Ion (ShockTech body kit)
SP Ion XE
WDP Angel LED 1999
APS Angel A1
2 Invert MINI (gloss black, dust olive)
5 WGP Autocockers (Bob Long, 2 E-Cockers, pump Trilogy, E2)
6 AGD AutoMags
2 JT E-Excellerators
1 VL E-marker
Recommended
Upgrades:
Laser Eyes, Barrel Kit, Zick Kit, Kila Magnetic Detents, Cure Bolt.
Tadao board if you like a lighter trigger pull.
Strengths: Very Reliable.
Weaknesses: Perceived as the Ego's retarded baby brother.
Review: The Etek Ego is an excellent paintball marker value. Like Uziel Gal from the Planet Eclipse discussion on PbNation.com states, it is a totally different marker than the Ego.

The Etek may well be based on the '06 Ego, but rather than just "downgrading" an '06 Ego to make it cheaper, Planet went back to the drawing board and designed a completely new, Ego style marker, that could be made cheaper. The end result of this is that a lot of the parts of the Ego and Etek aren't actually interchangeable. There is much more of a difference between the Etek and '06 Ego then simplified milling, a lack of QEVs and a cheaper board...

Other changes are basically just down to milling, such as the external look of the front reg mount, the LPR cap and the HPR. All pretty much the same as the '06 Ego parts, but with a plainer, simpler look to them to reduce milling costs and production time
Conclusion: Because you can find the Etek for very cheap used, it is a terrific buy.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

xpbsnypa Saturday, December 12th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder
Tippmann
Ion
Marker Setup: tippmann 98 custom
3 position car stock
20 in. barrel
bi-pod adapter
bi-pod
sealed bolt system
daisy scope
raised sight rail
custom mag kit
Recommended
Upgrades:
Freak Barrel
Strengths: Speed out of the box
Weaknesses: Price
Review: I love this marker...When i first got it, i was amazed about the speed and the feel of the trigger...this marker is easy to maintain and is a blast to shoot, very air efficient and very accurate, and OMG!!! this thing lays down paint... if you want to lane an area, all you have to do is fan the trigger and this thing will kick the paint out, as fast as you want
Conclusion: I'm recommending this marker to any speedball player who wants a marker that will out-do your expectations
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Platania12 Saturday, July 25th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Etek Ego without star frame
Marker Setup: -Black Etek Ego with star frame, white ccu kit, cure bolt, zick kit, HK Decal
-Velocity Jr. with virtue crown
-Crossfire 45/45 carbon fiber tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
-Cure Bolt
-Zick Kit
-Star Frame if you do not prefer the stock trigger which is not bad at all
Strengths: -Barrel Accuracy with stock barrel
-Great body milling
-Many upgrades available
-Good efficiency
Weaknesses: -Nothing
Review: Barrel
-Stock barrel is very accurate no need to upgrade
Bolt
-The stock bolt is good but you can always upgrade to a cure bolt to make it even better
-Easy maintenance
Trigger
-Stock trigger is very good and easy adjustment, (if you do not like it get a new one)
Board
-Stock board is very good, easy to use and has Semi and 3 ramping modes.
-Upgrade to a star frame, its a great investment for a faster board and a nicer trigger
Reg.
-Comes stock with an inline regulator which is one of the best i have used.
-Easy maintenance
Rammer
-Stock rammer is not bad at all but it does add some kick to the gun so if your a person like me and you do not like even a little kick, a good investment is the Zick Kit

Best Upgrades Available
-Boards
-Triggers
-Bolts
-Frames
-Detent/Accent Kit
Conclusion: Overall this gun has been amazing to me. It has never broke down and has always worked perfectly. I would recommend this gun to someone who doesnt want to spend a large too much money and still get good performance. Although I am upgrading to a 09 Ego i will keep the etek as my back up.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

mcmuffin5055 Saturday, June 13th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
Ion Xe
Invert Mini
SLG
Spyders
Cockers
Marker Setup: Dye rotor
68/45
Recommended
Upgrades:
Zick Kit
Cure Bolt
Strengths: I think it shoots very well and very very very accurate
Weaknesses: A little loud but i realy dont think it matters
Review: I think it is an awesome gun it is very accurate i recomend to anymone with smart parts garbage it is an awesome gun it performs well sorta light but its alright i recomend to anymone a b c d e f g h i j k l m o p q r s t u v w x y z
Conclusion: I recomend to anymone
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

johnson114 Monday, March 23rd, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
DM6
UL'ed PMR
Geo
08 Ego
NXT Shocker
Marker Setup: 07 Etek Ego
Halo b w/rip
68/4500 ACI


Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel (if you really want to)
Strengths: Fast
Accurate
Light
Fast
Weaknesses: LOUD
the board is a paint in the A#@
Review: So I got my Etek about a week ago and just shot it two days ago. WOW this gun blew me out of the water i was really supprised how fast and accurate it is. It is really loud but i think a zick and a cure bolt will help with that a little. the board is confussing at first but its easy after you get what is going on. The stocl barrel is good but i think that i will get a stiffi or ultra light. I really wouldn't say that you need any up's off the get go, but i did put a CP asa and reg on it. This gun shoots amazing and is very very worth the money.
Conclusion: This gun is great and it would take alot for me to get rid of this gun.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Monday, March 23rd, 2009 at 1:19 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

cole490 Thursday, March 5th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
none
Marker Setup: Etek ego 06
Empire Reloader B2
Crossfire Stubby 4500 HPA Tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
the only upgrades i would get is a new trigger of any sort and the ego 06 virtue board
Strengths: This gun can shoot as fast as your hopper can load and easy to clean
Weaknesses: So far, i have had no weaknesses
Review: This gun has never failed me yet but just like all paintball guns its bound to happen. So far it is amazing. This gun will easily shoot as fast as pretty much any hopper you can give it and will shoot even if the tank only has 180 PSI left. This gun does not just work for speedball, its amazing in woodsball also. with this gun i can never lose.
Conclusion: Get this gun its all around amazing
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

rkaldas Tuesday, February 17th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Marq 7 rapper
DM4
DM5
freestyle
Marker Setup: Etek ego
destroyer trigger
titanium rammer
cure bolt
laser eyes
hybrid grips
Recommended
Upgrades:
nothing really maybe a new barrel or board.
Strengths: sexy looking
FAST
light
accurate
small profile
Weaknesses: Reg exhaust hole
Review: I love this gun it shoots ropes very accurate and fast. it has all the requirements for a tournament player like myself. very light and a plesure to use dont even hezitate. I used it for about a month now and i traded it for my marq 7 rapper the only bad the thing is maybe the reg wich can be cheaply replaced.
Conclusion: Get the gun
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

avanilekiller Friday, January 30th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
etek 2, protege, older egos
Marker Setup: etek ego with 56/45 and a a vlocity with a virtue chip
Recommended
Upgrades:
none needed but...
if you play recball it will shoot great stock
if you are playing in tounrys on a higher level i would recomend a zick kit, cure bolt (if u shoot something like evil) a new barrel for that extra bit of accuracy, and if u got money buring a hole in ur pocket get a star frame and some more bragging rights.
Strengths: Light but not the lightest
Little loud
Good accuracy
Shoots smooth with some kick
Weaknesses: Effiency could be better ( max people get on a 68/45 is 1500 or less)
Review: Great gun for any player, i bought this gun for 350 brand new from the store so for the 400- range this is one is on top. If u need a new gun to get to places from ur old ion grab this it is worth evey peny and with all the upgrades can match any ego from 07 and bellow.
Conclusion: I give this gun a 9 because it comes good stock but if u want it to a ego it takes some serious cash, other than that they r nice to shoot , and have well dirturbited wieght.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Friday, January 30th, 2009 at 6:52 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

LimeEgo Wednesday, January 14th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
N/A
Marker Setup: Lime Green Etek Ego
CP Barrel Kit
Zick Kit
Cure2 Bolt
Recommended
Upgrades:
Zick Kit - Reduces Kick
Strengths: Very Accurate Stock Barrel, Very Reliable, Shoots Really Fast, Weight Well Balanced, Oops Nob
Weaknesses: No Clamp on feed neck, Changing settings can be confusing, Eye Plates should have seals.
Review: This is the first electronic marker that I have used in the 10 years I have been playing, so I cannot compare it to a lot of other electronic markers. With that said, I could not ask for much more out of an electronic gun. I know that there is an Ego 7,8, and 9 at this point, which look really awesome, but if you want a great gun for less money, the Etek Ego is the one to get.

Maintenance is really simple, the first three months I owned the gun the only thing I did was put a drop of oil in the HPA fitting and lubed the bolt. You should periodically take apart other stuff and clean it up, but in the first 3 months it ran flawlessly without doing any of that.

Reliability is great. I have been playing with this gun for upwards of 7 months now and I have never chopped a ball (unless I forgot to turn my hopper on). This is good because unlike barrel breaks, if you break a ball in the feed neck area you might have to clean out your eyes.

Accuracy and Speed are good. This gun stock only shoots like 15bps, which is fast enough for me, but it is not the fastest on the market by any means. The accuracy is amazing, especially for a stock barrel. I tend to not shoot as quickly because I hit what I am aiming at most of the time within a few shots.

The Looks are great. The first day I played with a Spyder Shutter, got picked almost last for the teams, the next day I had an Ego and was picked first every time. coincidence? I think not.

Build Quality is pretty good.

A few negatives:
- If you over tighten the back two grip screws, you can damage the solenoid and have to shell out $120 for a new one.
- Poppet Valve is louder than other spool valve guns.
Conclusion: If you are looking for a great and reliable gun that will keep you on pace with other high tech guns, this is the one to choose.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

pballpunisher Wednesday, January 14th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder TS (low end suckish)
Spyder Electra Acs (my first electronic gun)
Ion Xe (good gun but to many problems)
Marker Setup: I have an etek ego jungle with an empire reloader B, a crossfire 47/30 tank and a Freak barrel kit.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Get a fast hopper and a clamp neck if you dont want to break out the allen wrenches.
Strengths: Its light and shoots fast
Weaknesses: Its a little loud and hard to figure out in the begining
Review: Over all this gun is amazing. It shoots very fast and the restart ramp after 1 second of stopping ramping also is nice. The only major thing I would buy is a fast hopper because this gun goes through paint like a painter. If you wan ti would buy a freak adds to the gun immensley. It is a little loud so if you wan tyou could also buy the zick kit which replaces the etek's rammer with an ego 08 i think. It is the best gun i have ever owned!!!
Conclusion: This gun is amazing for a little price. I bought an Ion Xe and it was a total waste of money because of the problems i encountered but i have had this gun for about a month and nothing went wrong or broke yet.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (12):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media