paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Planet Eclipse E-Tek EGO / Planet Eclipse E-Tek EGO / Planet Eclipse E-Tek EGO / Planet Eclipse E-Tek EGO

Planet Eclipse E-Tek EGO Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Planet Eclipse

Buy Planet Eclipse E-Tek EGO

Paintball High-End Electronic Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Planet Eclipse E-Tek EGO
[ View Photos (58) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 111
Average Rating: 9.5 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $800

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
• Body – New 06 ETek Body. Def Tek offset feed tube, No Frame Tag slot, No Frame Tag, Body-Ported Barb Fittings for Rammer Inlets. Dual ETek Rubberised jewels, ‘Cocker Threads
• Feed Tube – Standard Clamping Feed Tube the same shape, size and fitting method as Ego 5 and 6
• Barrel – New 13” Length, reduced porting, reduced external machining, new formed stick-in rubber badge. ‘Cocker threaded.
• Bolt – New Shape. Much shorter version of Ego 5 Bolt. Same Ramped Top, ramped ball detent grooves, open bolt face, Drilled single hole inlet, plain shape at rear. Interchangeable with all Ego 05 and 06 bolts.
• New Valve Chamber and Valve – Enlarged Valve chamber offers operating pressures of 250-280 psi
• Rammer Housing – New ETek Rammer and Rammer Housing. No QEVs, but direct Fore and Aft Porting to Rammer. Does not accept any Ego 05 or 06 stock OR aftermarket rammers or rammer housings.
• Bolt Pin – New Shape. Plain Turned Pin. Larger diameter to allow easier grip and removal
• Ball Detents – Same as Ego 6
• Eye Covers – Same as ’05 Ego and Ego 6
• LPR – Adjustable LPR. Remodelled cap. Large Valve chamber for low pressure operation.
• FRM – New Shape and Mounting system.
• Inline Reg – New Shape for ‘06 ETek, same internals as and Ego 5 and 6, Swivel Inlet
• Frame – New Shape, larger trigger guard, single push-button, 3 x True-color LEDs, Rubberised aesthetic semi-transparent control console with EGO logo and viewing windows for LEDs, 4 x tapped bottom-line mounting holes. Spring trigger return, micro switch operation. Integrated slide rail/dove-tail
• Trigger – New for ‘06 ETek. Blade profile, radius edges, thinner section, centrally mounted trigger prong for enhanced PCB contamination protection.
• Parameters – Firing Mode, Eye Off ROF, Capped Modes ROF (Semi 1 is Uncapped), Valve Dwell, Debounce, Ball-in-Place
• PCB – New for ‘06 ETek featuring a micro-switch trigger, 3 x True-color LED, Single external push button, single set-up button, all tourney modes: Semi, Capped Semi. Capped Ramping (NPPL, PSP, Millennium compatible), and a locking facility to make tournament legal.
• On/Off/Purge System – same as system found on SL66
• Break-Beam Eyes – High efficiency break-beam eyes and advanced eye logic. Auto-off default.
• Grips – ‘05 Ego and Ego 6 Style mounting. Current grip is same as the existing Ego 6 grip. Soft rubber wrap-around with metal jewel Logo.

Weight: 1.12 kg / 2.47 lb with Barrel, On/Off/Purge, Regulators, Fittings and Battery Length: 508mm / 20.0” with 13” Barrel
Width: 28mm / 1.1” with Eye Covers
Height: 225mm / 8.8” Including Feed Tube and On/Off/Purge Assembly
Product Availability 
The Planet Eclipse E-Tek EGO is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (12):  First  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  8  |  Last
        Next Page
mxmtl Saturday, July 28th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Eclipse 2005 EGO with and without 06 STAR Frame - Better Trigger Response, Better Efficiency, Easier Programming
Marker Setup: Eclipse ETek EGO
+ Myth Regulator on CP 68/4500 Tank
+ Viewloader VLocity
+ 14" .690 Proto One Piece Barrel
Recommended
Upgrades:
Feedneck
Strengths: Simple
Easy to Clean
Low Maintenance
Weaknesses: Stock Board Programming
Stock Feedneck
Trigger
Review: After selling my 05 EGO with STAR frame that I used for 9 months straight playing almost every weekend, and trying a PM7 for a month, I decided to try an ETek EGO thinking it would perform just as well as my 05 EGO did.

After a few practices, I noticed the performance difference. I'm not sure if it was the trigger setup or the pneumatic limitations, but the ETek was just not as responsive as my 05 EGO. I felt as if my fingers could move faster than the trigger could return. On burst shots, it felt as if the pnematics could not cycle as fast as my 05 EGO did.

Upon reading the manual to change the dwell, I found it confusing and decided to just leave it alone to whatever it was set from the factory. Efficiency was not as good as my 05 EGO. I believe that is due to the high dwell setting from the factory to ensure consistency at the sacrifice of efficiency.

While mainting the simple operation, easy cleaning and low maintenance features of the other EGO markers, I think it is definitely a step down in performance from the 05 EGO.

I think that newcomers to the Planet Eclipse line of markers may be very pleased with the ETek, especially when moving from similar style lower end or older markers such as Spyders and Autocockers.

In tournament play, I noticed the sound signature of this marker was very loud. I found it annoying and loud enough to make it difficult for me to hear my teammates.
Conclusion: I would recommend the ETek to new players who want a brand new EGO at a great price, and want to avoid the hassels of buying a used 05 or 06 EGO.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, November 28th, 2007 at 1:15 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

jonnyboy050 Wednesday, June 27th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Marker Setup: Etek
Recommended
Upgrades:
CCU Kit
Strengths: Fast
Light
Pretty Accurate
Weaknesses: Its really loud, has some kick
Review: I got my etek used from the trade my gun tent at the chicago open this year so it may differ

This gun is pretty sexy, its really lightweight and is pretty accurate from my perspective, the only really weakness as i said is that its really loud, even than most other open bolts, and it has some pretty decent kick to it but i just got if for my pm6 which doesnt even make a sound when you shot it, Overall this gun is pretty amazing 8 out of 10
Conclusion: Buy it
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

mor65 Thursday, June 21st, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 months0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
SP Ion
Pm5
Sl66
Nexus Ego
Marker Setup: Urban E*tek Ego
Pulse Loader
Crossfire 68/45
Recommended
Upgrades:
out of the box nothing but
barrel(optional)
Strengths: Fast
Reliable
Out of the box ready to go
Accuracy
price
Weaknesses: noise
QEV less
Review: this marker rips right out of the box. It is the best marker out there for the price. It is fast, reliable, accurate and somehow people say its loud but i dont care about that is not something to cry for; barrel may me one upgrade after you have it for a long time. I have a virtue on it and i have to tell you it defenatly fights with all the pm7 and ego7 out there.
Conclusion: i would suggest anyone buying it. It rips right out of the box
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

PbWiZ23 Thursday, June 21st, 2007
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
3 months0 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Marker Setup: urban etek ego
ultralite barrel
halo b v35
crossfire 68/3000 tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
barrel
virtue/tadao
new bolt to lower the noise
regulator
Strengths: The electronics are very easy to use and program. very easy to maintaine. very light
Weaknesses: Very loud
Not very accurate
Requoil

Review: In my opinion the etek is a little overpriced. It is very loud and not very accurate. But on the other hand it can reach good rates of fire and has GREAT electronics. The etek comes in a great case.i am probably going to sell my etek and buy the new pm7. I would reccomend buying the etek when the price drops down.
Conclusion: I would give it a 7 because it is loud and not very accurate even though it can reach a bps. I would take accuracy over speed.
Rating:
7 out of 10
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment

scubapro187 Monday, June 11th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Ion doesnt even come close
Marker Setup: -ETEK
-halo b w/ rip
-16" freak kit
-Voodoo trigger
-cure bolt
-Crossfire hp 68 45
Recommended
Upgrades:
most won't agree and it isn't necessary but i'd get a new barrel.
Strengths: Efficient
very reliable
easy to clean
accurate
Weaknesses: Too loud for some
Review: I bought this gun as a step up from my ion. My ion wasn't bad don't get me wrong but this gun is absolutley awesome. It's efficient lightweight and very nicely priced. I picked up the cure bolt just because I'm going to be shooting some brittle paint here soon but it is not needed. This thing is so reliable and easy to clean. I do a ton of superman dives and even though this thing lands in the dirst sometimes its still holding up like a champ. I've never even had a leak with it. I have broke a few balls but that was really old terrible paint and the stock bolt.
Conclusion: It's a sick gun for the money I would totally recmmend it especially over a shocker. Shockers are really finicky and they are gas hogs. I'm giving this one a 9/10 just because it's not a full blown ego.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Monday, June 11th, 2007 at 4:04 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

tristan1236 Monday, June 11th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 months2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Marker Setup: Planet Eclipse EGO e-tek, orange bolt, empire reloader b, smart parts max-flo micro 68/4500, smart parts freak kit
Recommended
Upgrades:
barrel, but thats true of almost every marker
Strengths: Price to quality ratio
Easy to maintain
User friendly board
Iight, fast,
Stock reg
Weaknesses: No qev's :(
Board capped at 15
Spring trigger (matter of preference)
Review: i purchased my e-tek for $675 from actionvillage and i have to say this is an amazing gun. my exact setup is listed so you know what i was using when i got these results. i went to a field about an hour from where i live because they allow carry on paint, and i wanted to torture test this gun. i bought 5 cases of monster balls from wal-mart (some of the worst paint on the market). i shot them all in one day with ZERO CHOPS!!! not one. this gun is amazing. i was actually fairly accurate even though every ball was dimmpled on at least one side. maintaining this gun is fairly simple, if you can clean and service an ion you will have no problems with this gun, if you do the manuel is well writen and illistrated. if you still have problems, or lose some (o rings in my case), customer service is excelent, and they sent me replacement o-rings for free. as i mentioned i dont like spring return triggers, however, this is the best one i have used. its a blade trigger,( the best for walking) and has just the slightest bit of side to side movement it is pretty easy to get up to 14bps in semi,and its a very smooth marker. not to much in the way of kick, but it is a bit loud.(but no where near being autococker loud.)i wont go into the details here but for being an led marker instead of lcd, the board interface is very simple, any 12 year old with about 15 minutes of practice should be able to run this gun, however i would'nt recomend it for a first gun, simply because most people beat the heck out of first guns and may be to rough with the internals, i.e. soloniod, microline, board etc. my only real gripes about it are you cant put qev's in it, (with out lots of modifacation anyways) and that the board caps at 15bps, i know that more wouldnt be tornament legal, but it is nice to be able to show people what your marker is capable of, and a lot of fun at the target range.
Conclusion: All in all, if your looking for a good mid level gun, at a mid level price, and is very easy to run, this just might be the gun for you. I know i love mine.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

breakShoota177 Wednesday, May 16th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
xsv ego
Marker Setup: Black etek with gold accents
eggy 3 w/ z board
68/45 crossfire tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
nothing really unless you want a new trig/barrel/ or board
Strengths: Fast
Weight
Looks
Feels good
Weaknesses: Nothing yet
Review: well, when i first got the gun, i was impressed by the looks of it. VERY sexy. I popped some air in it and put some paitnballs in my hopper and off i went! The thing ripped on semi, once i got to ramp mode 1 i was instantly hooked on the gun. It felt great, along with looks, and the overall performance. I loved it. Planet Eclipse made another, amazing, awsome, marker. Thank you PE for the great marker!!
Conclusion: I say, if you have the money, to go with the tek, more reliable than any PM or DM, and defintely more than a shcoker. GREAT GUNNNNN
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

greenberet2089 Sunday, May 6th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Timmys, DM series, cockers, electro cockers, egos, angels, Matrix lcd, etc.
Marker Setup: Black Etek Ego, Stiffi rage stick urban camo 14", Halo B w/ rip drive and victory board (V35), Crossfine low pressure 92 4500 tank, planet eclipse tnak cover, smart parts 4+3
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel, but even that isnt needed, the stock is fine
Strengths: All
Weaknesses: Price if one isnt rich and famous, but i saved for mine ( yeah for patience)
Review: This is the best tourney marker i have ever touched period. And not that the angels timmys and all the others are worse dont get me wrong because they are all fine markers, the Etek jst feel like they belong in ones hands and they have all of the different modes, they are light, efficient and relatively inexpensive when compare to even their older brother the ego. This is just a great marker and it will go down in history as one of the best
Conclusion: A great tournament marker
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

etekego22 Wednesday, April 11th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Bob Long Aias
Evil Omen
Marker Setup: Evolution II
hybrid grip
Strengths: Reliable
Easy Maintenence
Rips right out of box
Weaknesses: A bit loud for woods ball
Review: Gun is awsome,rips right out of the box.Just keep it clean and the ram lubed and your all set.Need a fast hopper gun is real fast and light.Could not believe how awsome this gun is.Barrell is 13" and paintballs fit just right.I would recommend this gun to anyone.
Conclusion: Go get one !!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

e-tek ego ghurl Wednesday, April 11th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
MR2 (But 2 heavy 4 me)
Fusion (Friend, Nice Gun)
Marker Setup: e-tek ego (Jungle)
Evo III
4500 psi
Recommended
Upgrades:
Nothing, Easy Maintenance. Just Customize the Body.
Strengths: Fast
Accurate
Weaknesses: None
Review: I am very pleased with my e-tek ego. It gives good performance when i play speed ball and woods ball. Easy maintenance. Looks good right when you open it. Green box then a Metal case for it. It has the tools you need and it has oil, stickers. All in all, I love this gun.
Conclusion: Buy it. You wont regret it.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (12):  First  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  8  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media