paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Kingman Spyder MR3 / Kingman Spyder MR3 / Kingman Spyder MR3 / Kingman Spyder MR3

Kingman Spyder MR3 Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Kingman

Buy Kingman Spyder MR3

Paintball Low-End Electronic Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Kingman Spyder MR3
[ View Photos (15) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 34
Average Rating: 9.3 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $330

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
-Electronic firing modes: Semi (Eye On/ Off), Auto
-Shoots up to 25 balls per second
-Seamless EYE device breaks less paint
-True military style adjustable shoulder stock
-Removable raised sight rail/ handle
-Full size strength and agility
-Powered by C02 or compressed air
Product Availability 
The Kingman Spyder MR3 is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (4):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4
        Next Page
HellcatCommando Monday, April 2nd, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
6 months4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
MR1, MR2, Tippmann A-5, BT-4
Marker Setup: Spyder MR3 16" Double Rifled Barrel
Spyder Fasta Loader
Sig Sauer RAM 226 Pistol
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel
HPA
Remote
Strengths: Accuracy
Stock
The eyes
Weaknesses: Noise Level
Review: People say this gun is heavy, but I am used to heavy guns from trap shooting and hunting. I am a scenario guy, not a speedball guy. The MR3 is a very good scenario gun. The weight is bothersome to those who play speedball (no offense) and are used to much lighter guns with no kick. The MR3 provides a kick, not a big one, but definately noticeable. The eyes in the gun is certainly some of the best technology I have ever had the fortune of playing with. I have had this gun going on 6 months now and have yet to chop a ball with it. There are few aftermarket parts, but there is no need for replacements. I made myself a barrel and went a bit too far on the rifling. I ported the barrel as much as I could and the gun was still pretty loud. So its not a sniper, but hey, you will never actually have a "Sniper" in paintball. The gun was dead accurate in CQB skirmishes and I was impressed. Kingman has outdone themselves with this. I am dissapointed with the category, low-end electronic, because there is nothing low-end about it. The quality put into the gun was magnificent. I have owned many spyders before and agree that they are simply some of the easiest guns to take care of. Parts everywhere. The internals are almost exactly alike as other Spyders. The options on the E-Trigger are Semi, Semi w/ Eyes, and Full Auto. I never have used full auto, but full auto does not use the eyes so I can imagine that you would chop some balls. I only use the highest quality paint I can get my hands on (definately worth the cost) and the gun works flawlessly. I love the stock, its retractable by 3 inches, not much, but it is more comforatble with the MR1/MR2 stock (which is conveniently interchangeable if you like the other stocks better). The handle/sight rail is also handy. Below the handle part is your sight, and it is suprisingly accurate. At a 50 foot target I was within a couple inches of the target. My reccomendations are certainly a barrel upgrade, a remote, and High pressure air. The stock barrel keeps the gun VERY loud (not the loudest I have ever played, but it is up there). Your choices are limited however, so ask someone if it will fit beofre you buy. The remote will allow you to carry the weight of an air tank off the gun, allowing you to move more freely and keep the gun perfectly balanced (although it is still well balanced with a 20 OZ CO2 tank). And lastly, High Pressure air, or Nitro. HPA will greatly enhance you accuracy and will allow you to make more consistent and accurate shots. It worked great for me. First day I used both CO2 and HPA and there was a very noticeable difference in performance (HPA also seems to make it quiter as well).
Conclusion: I would certainly reccomend as a first gun or any other. Kingman has really outdone themselves when it comes to the MR3. If you like the look of the MR2 or MR1 over the MR3, you are making a bad mistake on the purchase of either of those guns. The MR3 will wipe out the competition while on the playing field.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

tombomb262 Monday, March 26th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder Victor II, Tippmann A-5 and 98 cus.
Smart Parts Ion
Marker Setup: Just stock for now
Recommended
Upgrades:
Apex barrel, remote line, and better sight
Strengths: it's durable, I MEAN BUILT TOUGH! Its easy to clean too
Weaknesses: Stock sight was hard to see though with mask on, but notmuch else
Review: I've had this gun for a month or so and played a little with it. the eyes a help but i wish it was on full auto. beats my friends tippy 98 by a mile at target shootin. everyone is right that it is a tab heavy, but i don't really care. Had a little probelm with the CO2 when i first got it so thats why im only rateing it a 9 when it could easy get a 10
Conclusion: Get if your in to woodsball and hate getting out early. not for new guys, kinda complicated
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

zisiang Monday, March 26th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
X7, A5
totally different mechanism for A5 and MR3, owned both A5 and MR3. However, both are very nice for rec-ball, and sometimes might find the mr3 could be somehow very fun in speedball as well (not to mention about style or performance). There are some friends using A5 in the speedball field and tournament in my location (Malaysia).

X7 is considered very light, in comparison.
Marker Setup: MR3 with Fasta 18v LCD, 20oz CO2 tank.
Recommended
Upgrades:
I heard many recommendations about the compressed air tank.

I wonder if a modified drop forward with ASA (Air Supply On/Off) might be good..
Strengths: Good out of the box, very satistied performance.
Weaknesses: grip cover is somehow a little loose.

Weight is not a matter for me.
Review: I find this marker is very consistent, in term of PSI calibration (as I'm currently using the CO2). Feeling good about the stock barrel's accuracy, however perhaps a J&J14" might be a sweet upgrade. I have good experience with the MR3 putting on with the Fasta 18v LCD, however total configuration size is a little heavier and "larger" with the weight of original MR3.
Conclusion: I would recommended this marker to anyone going for serious rec/woodsball that occasionally plays the speedball. Great overall performance.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Monday, April 30th, 2007 at 9:33 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Seankill Saturday, March 24th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
MR2 and MR1
Marker Setup: Empire hopper(to cheap to get another,don't need one anyway) A 14inch muzzle barrel and a 20oz CO2 tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel
Strengths: Strong, shoots well,eyes, and just about everything you want out of a gun.
Weaknesses: No eyes on auto.
Review: Good gun, alot of people complain about it being heavy, true heavier than most guns, but it isn't that heavy, for the weak A. Work out a little B. dont get it, sry sounds mean but what else can i say. The gun is not for beginners in my opinion, and takes a little more time to clean.
Conclusion: Very very good gun, owns tippmann. I suggest to get the gun with another barrel, and be a little experienced.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

straxzion Thursday, February 1st, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippy X7, and various other scenerio markers.
Marker Setup: MR3, Triumph SL-200, 14" J&J Ceramic Barrel, Homemade sling, 48/3000 HPA
Recommended
Upgrades:
Fast loader, Maybe a barrel,sling if you don't use a remote line
Strengths: Acurracy
Rate of fire
Eyes
looks (relative)
Stock
Weaknesses: Flimsy Grips
Kinda on the heavy side
No eyes on full auto.
Review: Just used this gun in an all day scenario game here i NC.Used up 2 cases of paint with not one break using semi w/eyes on. The ROF cap for the game was 15 bps, so the triumph held its on. Went there with a remote line, but it started leaking around the quick connect, so I had to attach the tank directly to the gun, and boy was I glad I took the time to make that sling.After 6-7 hours of running, diving, jumping, etc. with this thing it can get really tiresome. But with that being said I will continue to use it, because of the afore mentioned strengths of the marker, plus I love the sleek look. Some may not, but thats for there review.FYI- I have never tried the full auto with balls, really see no need to. Like another genelmen said you can fire pretty fast walking the trigger, and have the benifit of having eyes.
Conclusion: I would definitly recommmend this gun to anyone, it has a few minor flaws, one of which can be easily remedied with a new pair of grips. But if wieght is an issue for you you may want to look elseware, although when the remote was working it really wasn't that bad. Buy it if you have the cash, and are looking for a decent scenerio type marker.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

AlbanyAmbusher7 Saturday, December 30th, 2006
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month14 of 18 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann Model 98, Brass Eagle After Burner, Tippmann 98 Custom w/ flatline barrel, Tippmann Custom Pro E w/ A.C.T., Spyder Pilot ACS, Spyder VS2, Smart Parts Ion Max'd, Smart Parts Ion w/ APE Rampage
Marker Setup: First: Smart Parts Ion, APE Rampage, Warrior Paintball feedneck Secondary:Spyder MR3, J&J Ceramic 14inch barrel, Halo B w/ ripdrive and V35 victory board, Pure Energy 3000psi 72ci N2 Tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
-Definetley a fast hopper (10+bps)
-Maybe a longer barrel
Strengths: -The Eyes work great
-Durable
-Pretty accurate
-The stock can be adjusted
-Modes switch easy
Weaknesses: -A little hard to clean
-If u don't have a fast hopper it chops
Review: The spyder MR3 is a well built gun. It's pretty accurate and has a very fast shot. You will definetley need a fast hopper for this gun. The eyes work great. It's kind of heavy, but it has the double trigger so it's good for the walk. It's very easy to switch the firing modes on this gun.
Conclusion: I would reccomend this gun to anyone. It's a little expensive, but if u have the money u should buy it. The MR3 is a great gun.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, April 5th, 2007 at 2:05 pm PST
I found this review  
13 Comments - Add Comment

Hyena9 Monday, November 13th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month13 of 13 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann 98 Custom Pro w/ Response Trigger
A-5 w/ Response Trigger
Spyder Extra
Marker Setup: Spyder MR3
Viewloader Vlocity Hopper
PMI 48/3000 Hpa tank
stock barrel
Recommended
Upgrades:
A motorized hopper with at least a 15 bps feed rate is the most important. The second most important upgrade is a compressed air tank. These two items will bring the MR3 to almost peak performance. Also, a longer barrel would be nice for increased distance, but the stock barrel is already very accurate.
Strengths: Very fast fire rate
Accuracy
Very Durable
Anti chop eyes work perfect
Easy to clean
Weaknesses: Heavy.
Stock becomes slightly loose while playing.
Grip does not cover electronics well enough.
Review: This is a very good marker. The trigger is very smooth. The stock barrel that comes with it is decent for only being 10 inches long. With it's speed and accuracy, it is deadly in any woods game.

The MR3 is built like a tank. It can take all the abuse you can give it, except in one area, the grip. The grip does not seal the electronics behind it well enough. I can see water or snow easily working its way onto the circuit board, even exploded paintballs. This and the fact that the marker is fairly heavy, (about 4 lbs by itself) are the only serious imperfections I have noticed with the marker. The screw that extends the stock also seems to come loose, but this is an easy fix with some thread tape or lock-tite.

It is a very easy marker to clean, on or off the field. Just remove a pin and three screws, run a squeegy through it, and you are good to go. The electronic eyes work pefect. They are also easy to clean, even without removing the bolt.
You will chop balls in full auto without a fast feeding loader, so don't even try it without one. The eyes only work in semi-auto, which is the mode I recomend.

Shooting compressed air with the MR3 is awesome. This is the only way to go. The shots are clean and precise. Also, every shot has a nice snap sound to it that really scares your oppenents. I would not try to hide for too long while shooting this marker, its lowd and easy to spot. Its an excellent marker for running and gunning.
Conclusion: I strongly recommend this marker to any serious woods baller out there. Out of the box the MR3 shoots perfect. This first time I used it I was outnumbered three to one and eliminated all three players with ease, and they are good players. True story. It shoots so fast you can keep any ones head down with it. It is also very loud. I like that because when you shoot at someone, they run away in fear. It's very intimidating.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

stickit Sunday, October 15th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months26 of 26 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Smart Parts SP-8 - very good but much more fragile and upgrade are more expensive, seems to have some problems with the eyes.

Spyder Rodeo - doesn't really compare as it is a mechanical however stock barrel is pretty nice.
Marker Setup: Spyder MR3 with 3000psi HPA, remote coil, viewloader Evlution II
Recommended
Upgrades:
Remote coil, fast e-hopper, air is possible, maybe a longer barrel if you like to play back/sniper.
Strengths: Very fast trigger
Accurate stock
Eyes work great
Very durable
Easy to Maintain
Nice feel
Weaknesses: Grip is a little loose.
A bit heavy if your used to tourney style markers.
Review: I used this marker for the third time on a game day yesterday and was very impressed yet again with its performance,
Firstly the gun is incredibly durable being mostly metal with an ultra hard plastic hand guard which is always a good thing when playing scenario.
Its also very low maintanence as long as you don't get it wet all you need do is put a little oil in the asa before use.
One thing I really like about the MR3 is its military feel being more of a scenario player my self. Although it may seem heavy once you have the stock attached and your using a remote line its handling becomes effortless. The trigger frame is also incredibly quick on semi - eyes on and you can easily shoot 15bps. The battery also last more than long enough for a good days paintball (I usually shoot around 3000 balls+).
People say that the bolt is open when the stock is removed and this is true but to be honest I can't see myself removing the stock as its very light anyway and it makes the gun much heasier to hold still for longer shots.
The stock barrel is surprisingly accurate considering its only 10" and I could hit targets at 70 feet on about 280fps although I think I may get a longer barrel for the times when you want to play back.
The eyes also work a treat, I have used the gun on semi-w/eyes virtually all the time and I havn't suffered one break so far.
I've been using diablo formula 13 and it runs fine.
Lastly I would recommend the VL evo II for this gun as it easily keeps up on semi and it has a nice low profile.
Conclusion: Brilliant scenario gun, can outshoot all competitors and the eyes work a treat. Very durable, will really help improve your game with its speed, accuracy and manouverability as the hand guard helps to decrease barrel vibration at high bps's allowing you to maintain your accuracy.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
5 Comments - Add Comment

SpecialOps Friday, October 13th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month9 of 10 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
My other guns were a(n) JT Excelerator 5.0, a(n) Icon E, and I have also used a Spyder Shutter, Veiwloader Genesis, Tippman 98, and a Tippman a-5.
Marker Setup: Spyder MR3 (w/ Stock barrel)
Ricochet Rhino Hopper
Remote Coil
20oz. C02
NXe 4+1 Pod Pack (w/ Draxxus Pods and suspenders)
Recommended
Upgrades:
Personally, I couldn't say for sure but get a great electronic hopper that can do at least 15+ bps (which mine isn't, a 15+ bps). Also, it's a little heavier than your average paintball gun so having a remote coil for your C02 helps to reduce some extra weight. And maybe a better barrel.
Strengths: Stock barrel is accurate
Nice feel
Good feed neck system
T-bar system
The "eyes"
Weaknesses: Without stock, bolt is open
Heavier than an average paintball gun

Somewhat loud
drop/curve
Review: It's a great gun. It's made by Kingman (Spyder) which means it will be customizable. I think that it is a little heavier than an average paintball gun, but if you have a remote coil it helps. It will, in my opinion, be an okay gun for speed ball/air ball/hyper ball. But, if those are the main types of paintball you play then don't get it. It is a milsim marker so it's not exactly made for those types, but it still will work. I play most all types that why I bought it. It has great qualities like the anti-chop "eyes", the carrying handle/sight rail, easy-to-switch fireing modes (semi, semi w/ "eyes", full-auto), it has the new delrin spyder bolt, and it has an off-set feed neck. the bad things are that if you have the stock off the bolt is wide open, the grips are hard and somewhat open, and it's a little heavy. Overall, it's a great gun to buy. But, if your a starting player I wouldn't recommend it for you. It's a little complicated with it's new technologies, so if you're a noob it will be harder for you. If you want an overall good gun buy the MR3!!!!
Conclusion: I think this is a great gun. The price is a little spending, but it pays off. Though, it's heavier than an average paintball gun, I think it will still work for speed ball/air ball/hyper ball. I personally think that if you do a speed ball/air ball/hyperball game with it you should be back. Overall, I would say that this is a great but, but not for starters.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Greyzdme Friday, September 22nd, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months89 of 93 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
MR2, Tippmans, Cheap basic Spyders, Ariakon Sim 5...
Marker Setup: Kingman Spyder MR3, Q Loader, 14" J&J Ceramic Barrel, 32 Degrees Remote, Green/Red Dot Scope and Laser on remote with taclight-Just for sexiness. 2 pics above with different attachments- white background.
Recommended
Upgrades:
-Definately...a great hopper. I'd heavily suggest a Q Loader, or at least a Halo B or Reloader B.
-Barrel upgrade would be good, but not completely necessary.
-Go for HPA if you have the cash.
Strengths: -Described Below-
Weaknesses: -Described Below-
Review: Let's cut to the point. Despite the less-than shiny reputation that seems to follow Spyders, Kingman got it right with the MR3. Here's the breakdown:

PROS
-It's designed as rugged as anything I've held. You don't have to treat it with kid-gloves.
-The Electronic Eye, under the right conditions, will not let you chop or dry fire.
-It has the potential to shoot ropes. (Semi-Auto w/ eye on, HPA, and a great hopper)
-It is suprisingly accurate with the stock barrel. Not perfect...but good.
-Also has a suprising range.
-It is very upgradeable, especially in the accessory department.
-Comes complete with adjustable stock.
-Has some wicked looks.
-Compatable with co2 and HPA.
-Cheap...compared to some other milsims.
-Veeery easy to strip and clean.

CONS
-The electronic eye is not available in Full-Auto. Huh? And there is no Burst mode at all (unlike the MR2).
-You will get many chops in the breach if your hopper can't keep up. I was using a Reloader B and still got a chop in the gun fairly regularly. Mostly shooting bursts of full auto ( no eyes).
-Plan to invest in this marker to bring it to its full potential. (it's worth it)
-A little heavy...but who cares?

All in all...
I gave up on the Reloader B, and mounted a Q loader ( easily, using the screw for attaching the stock), added a J&J 14' barrel ( Excellent inexpensive upgrade), switched to 48/3000 HPA with a remote line.....and now this marker plays as mean as it looks. I exclusively play semi-auto w/ eyes on, and I haven't chopped a ball (AT ALL) out of almost two big boxes of paint. I don't even miss the full-auto. My trigger is veeeery light. I'm shooting faster just walking the trigger anyway.. And now this milsim marker can shoot ropes! Amazing. (You also might want to lower the velocity a little...factory preset is a little high and might lead to barrel breaks).
These upgrades make all the difference. My setup is uber fast, very accurate, highly dependable, and very low-profile. It is definately worth the time and effort...and cash.


Conclusion: This marker is intimidating and it deserves to be. With the right setup, the MR3 is almost impossible to beat. It's worth every penny. Although it's not completely perfect, it's closer than anything else I've come across. So I'm giving it a 9 out of 10. I'm registering a 10/10 to make up the difference of someone else's review. While I respect him having an opinion...you gotta do more than pick the gun up to review it.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Friday, March 16th, 2007 at 4:44 pm PST
I found this review  
40 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (4):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media