paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Kingman Spyder Xtra 2006 / Kingman Spyder Xtra 2006 / Kingman Spyder Xtra 2006 / Kingman Spyder Xtra 2006

Kingman Spyder Xtra 2006 Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Kingman

Buy Kingman Spyder Xtra 2006

Paintball Low-End Mechanical Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Kingman Spyder Xtra 2006
[ View Photos (13) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 36
Average Rating: 9.1 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: N/A

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Kingman has done it again with their 2006 Xtra! This gun is loaded with features that the competition can't touch.

Features:

Vertical feed system
Aluminum 45 2 finger trigger with guard
Bottom-line set-up with micro-line hose
Rear cocking second generation Venturi bolt
Field strippable pin
Sight rail with beavertail
Anti-double feed
12" micro-polished barrel
Low pressure chamber
TL velocity adjuster
Removable gas-thru fore grip
Mini expansion chamber
Resigned cocking grip
Deluxe drop forward
Product Availability 
The Kingman Spyder Xtra 2006 is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (4):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4
        Next Page
MK7500 Wednesday, September 29th, 2010
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
Only ever used rental equipment
Marker Setup: 12 inch barrel, 9 oz CO2 tank, ACS Bolt
Recommended
Upgrades:
Replace trigger would seem like an obvious choice
Strengths: Accuracy
Lightweight
Very good for a beginner
Weaknesses: Trigger
Review: This is an excellent gun for those that are starting out. It is a very reliable gun out on the field. Just an awesome gun in general and I would recommend it without hesitation. Great gun regardless for all skill levels and ages. I love this gun very much and do plan on keeping it as a back up should I ever get a different gun.
Conclusion: I recommend it for any beginners
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, October 27th, 2010 at 4:19 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

SpyderXtra4life Saturday, July 4th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
3 years3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Rental (98c)
Marker Setup: Spyder Xtra
Smart Parts 14in Progressive Barrel
Warrior Spyder Clamping Feedneck
Invert Too Loader
20 oz Pure Energy C02 Tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
New Barrel
Faster Hopper
Strengths: Stock barrel is very accurate
Very well built
NIce Trigger
Weaknesses: Chops about 3 paintballs per 100 shot
Nothing else
Review: I love this gun. This gun is a very good gun, its accuracy is always on point with stock barrel. I give this a nine becuase the only bad thing is that it chops paint but not that much plus you will chop if you dont have a fast hopper. This is a great buy
Conclusion: This gun is a great gun for begginers and experienced players
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

Holmes875 Friday, November 21st, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
1 year6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder VS1, Tippman 98 Custom (kinda)
Marker Setup: -Smart Parts Epiphany w/Black Q-Loc
-Empire Reloader B
-Guerilla 48/3000 HPA tank w/ myth regulator
Recommended
Upgrades:
-barrel
-clamping feedneck
Strengths: -Built like a tank
- Ready for use until you're ready to upgrade
-Looks
Weaknesses: -Heavy (for a paintballgun)
-Barrel
-Trigger
-Feedneck
-Regulator
-Bolt
Review: THE GOOD:

This gun is great for beginners. You won't be spending money on 9 volt batteries, it's cheap, will never break, and will last you as long as it needs to. It's comfortable to hold, and is better than the first Xtra model (don't know about the new one). The macroline is metal, so you'll never have leaking problems or anything. The dropforward that it comes with holds the ASA in a good place, and doesn't wiggle at all. The detents (more like detent) also works nicely.

THE BAD:

Remember, this is a beginner gun, so it isn't going to be spectacular. For a marker, it's too heavy, the beaver tail bends easily if anything hits it, the reg sucks (up to 15fps difference per shot), the bolt (at least mine) rubs against the hole the feedneck slips into, scratching it all up, the barrel sucks, and the feedneck either needs one of those crappy plastic vertical necks on it or just use a hose clamp (best choice). The trigger is also crap because its like pulling back the trigger on a dollar-store cap gun. Being mechanical, this gun also breaks plenty of rounds, so make sure you have a good squeegee!
Conclusion: Despite the negatives, this gun is overall a good beginner gun. It held up nicely and got the job done. I used it for 4 years and after about a year I was doing great with it and only got better. It's a great foundation builder, but once you've gotten good at the game and you really know what you're doing, that's when you know it's time to upgrade. It's a great gun to get if you've never played paintball before or have rented a gun and just want a cheap working one of your own that doesnt suck horribly. *coughviewloadercough* Otherwise, dish out the extra $50 and get a vibe or pilot.
Rating:
8 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, January 6th, 2009 at 1:33 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

jomysterPB Saturday, October 18th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
2 years6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
I have used a Tippman 98 custom, A US ARMY Alpha Black Tac edition, Spyder Victor, Icon X
Marker Setup: ~A 14inch rifled linnerar smart parts barrel~
~a 20oz Co2 tank~
Recommended
Upgrades:
~A 14inch rifled linnerar smart parts barrel~
~a 20oz Co2 tank~
Strengths: accurate stock barrel
nice looking
!!DOES NOT CHOP!!
Will last a long time!
Weaknesses: not as durable as Tippman guns
Review: I have used a variety of guns and the Spyder Xtra has been the best investment I have made in a gun. When I first got the gun I shot about 500 through it and I was amazed by how accurate the stock barrel was and its speed for a mechanical gun. For the price of only $140 I believe I got more than what I paid for it. Over the past 2 years with proper matianance I have not had to replace any major parts; just the spring. today. With a $60 dollar upgrade I have added a 20oz Co2 tank and a 14inch linnerar smart parts barrel. Just the $60 alone in upgrades has given me the edge in paintball. I can measure up with the low-range electro guns now. With the guns low matianance and high reliability it has been my favorite gun.
Conclusion: If you are intersted in paintball and want a high-end mechanical gun for a great price then this gun is for you.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

War Lou1 Monday, August 11th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Most low end semis
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98 custom
Drop Forward
Pure Energy 48ci 3000psi
Tapco folding stock
__________________
06 Spyder Xtra
12" Teardrop Barrel
Pure Energy 48ci 3000psi
________________

VSC Phantom Black
3.5 oz tank
Trigger Shoe
Clear feed
8 ball pump
t stock
_________________

2k3 Green WGP Body with "Florida Pump Chumps" down the side
Black WGP Slider
Dye .45 grips
Black Bob Long Torpedo Reg
Venturi Bolt
CCM green Pump kit
CP 12" black .689 Barrel
Duckbill adapter
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel
Compressed air
Maybe a new feedneck
Strengths: Light
Accurate
Upgradeable
stock barrel
price
Weaknesses: If you don't get a new feedneck than the hopper sits VERY high.
Review: This was my first paintball gun and it was a great decision. It works okay on c02 but I was impressed with its overall improved performance when I upgraded to air. Unfortunatly my steely tank adds a ridiculous amount of weight to the gun. Even though the stock barrel was okay, a good aftermarket is great. I reccomend a Smart Parts barrel or a j&j ceramic. This is definatly a good starter gun. I would invest in decent paint like bigball because it shoots marvelous. It is the player not the gun when you get good enough then you can be scary with any gun.
Conclusion: If something is perfect then there is nothing else to strive for. This comes pretty close.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

T-Bouge Wednesday, May 21st, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
3 years4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann 98c
Spyder MR-1
2005 Prostock 'Cocker
Spyder Rodeo
Spyder Pilot
Marker Setup: '06 Spyder Xtra: warrior feedneck, dead on asa, complete low pressure kit (32degrees front block, bob long lpc, detonator reg, madman turbo valve, trinity spring kit, polished internals, lighter striker, aka lightning bolt), killa products detents, 32 degrees gauge, modified stock frame, 14in. Knock Out 3pc. barrel kit, ricochet apache, pure energy 48/3000
Recommended
Upgrades:
If you are just a rec player: hpa, new barrel (stock actually isn't that bad), at least a revy, spring kit.
If you have money to spend...everything!
Strengths: Simple design, rugged construction, cheap, looks awesome.
Weaknesses: Loud, trigger pull, chops w/gravity fed hopper, gas guzzler(stock), profile, kick
Review: Stock Marker:
- Stock, this gun is hands down one of the best low end mechanical markers out there. Its got a simple, easy to maintain design the can take quite a beating. For beginners, this gun would be better to get than a 'cocker because of these two factors. You've got only four o-rings to worry about and the internals are easy to keep track of. Performance-wise, it is allright, yet inferior to the cocker, and is slightly better than a tippmann. The Xtra shoots about 5-6 bps out of the box but the trigger pull is way too long. Also, this thing sounds like a 60mm stock! This gun will chop balls from time to time if you don't have some kind of agitating hopper.
- For the price though, this gun is great deal. It allows a cheap way to get into paintball. Either you sell it and get a better gun eventually, or you progressively upgrade it.

Upgraded Marker:
- As noted in the "marker setup" section, my Xtra is fully loaded. After spending about a month experimenting and modifying everything, i can now get almost 600 shots out of my 48/3000 running low pressure. There is little kick, though still present, but it isn't as bad as stock. The trigger mod that i did now enables me to get give or take 10 bps. This marker definately looks sweet, and turns heads at the field.
Conclusion: After having spent $200 + dollars on upgrades, this gun outperforms any marker in it's class, but will never come close to any high end electros. In fact, i'm going to get an SLG pretty soon for tournament reasons. This gun, however, is perfect for beginers and is a great teaching instrument for those wondering what's happening inside their markers. I really don't recomend spending 200 bucks on upgrades when you could buy something way better. But for me it's kinda like restoring an old muscle car - the satisfaction and the fun. Sad to see these markers slowly dissapearing on the rec fields... 9/10
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

hectorg Tuesday, December 25th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 months52 of 53 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
spyder, tipp 98
Marker Setup: rocking trigger, 14 barrel, dye grips, ndz low neck
Recommended
Upgrades:
barrel, low pressure setup
Strengths: Cheap, upgradable, shoots pretty well
Weaknesses: For the prize you pay, none.
Review: I have had this gun about three months, and this gun is not bad at all, its a great marker for anyone if your Experienced or not. the good thing about this marker is it grows with you and what I mean by that is as your skills get better you can upgrade your gun to fit your paintball needs.

the good think about this marker it never breaks down most of all my friends I go play with have top of the line markers and while they are fixing their guns Im out there playing.
Conclusion: Well guys the gun helps but to win games its all about skills and teamwork.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Monday, September 22nd, 2008 at 2:45 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

bunker_bud93 Monday, July 16th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
-Spyder Pilot ACS
-Spyder Victor 3
-Tippmann 98
Marker Setup: -2006 Spyder Xtra
-14" Freak Barrel
-Spyer Full Force bolt
-Drop kicks
coming soon
-rocking trgger 2.0
-halo b w/ rip drive
Recommended
Upgrades:
for sure a barrel and a bolt if you have the money
Strengths: -Accurate
-Cheap
-Upgradeable
-Doesnt chop
Weaknesses: -Stock barrel
-A bit loud
Review: The first day i got my xtra i was really excited to try it out so i bought some paint and went to try it out with my friends. The first thing i noticed when i started shooting was that the ball curved alot but mt new barrel fixed that.
Conclusion: A great upgradable gun that you will keep for along time that is both good for new players and the more experienced ones.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

skyline4747 Sunday, June 24th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
tippman 98 custom, spyder pilot ACS , spyder sniper , and spyder sonix
Marker Setup: spyder xtra with with a sniper barrel and 24 oz tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
prob new barrel mayb spring kit and new trigger
Strengths: light if you use its 12 oz co2 LOL pretty accurate with standard barrel
Weaknesses: Deff the trigger long pull kinda hard to double trigger with it
Review: Basically this was the first gun i got its a really good starter gun if you want something good for a low price this is it ... this gun only chopped once on me but thats cause i turned the velocity as high as i could and fired it as fast as i could lol but other then that NEVER extremely easy to clean takes like 5 minutes just lube the rings on the bolt and your set to go just make sure you tighten the grip on the screw on the velocity adjuster casue if its not tightened enough itll start jumping the velocity lower then higher and so on and i do mean by alot like from 280 to like the 300s which is weird .but other then that its a good gun but im gonna upgrade to an ion marker with a halo hopper and A cheap HPA tank lol all i can afford !!
Conclusion: Yea this is a great start off gun all you basically need if you can afford a new trigger and for some speed shooting an elctronic hopper thats about it great gun for starters like me :) lol
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

mikegetz Wednesday, June 13th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 months4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
old skool rock&cocks, pumps
Marker Setup: spyder xtra 06
14" Lapco BigShot
Warrior lowrise Feed
20oz C02
coiled remote
spyder 4+1 buttpack
Recommended
Upgrades:
1: lo profile clamping feedneck
2: regulator & spring kit
3: barrel kit
Strengths: Simplicity.
Upgradeable.
Value.
Reliability.
Weaknesses: Height profile.
Trigger pull.
Stock barrel.
Review: I recently got back into paintball after a 9 year hiatus. after researching the market extensively, i snagged a package off of ebay that included the 06 xtra, 20oz CO2, 4+1 w/ 4 pods, remote, and gravity hopper.

I was concerned about the perceived recoil that everyone attributed to the stacked blowback design. i was amazed that it really didn't bother me once i actually got it out on the field. I used to shoot a 22cal RWS model 45 pellet rifle in matches at my grandparents German club, and it kicked WAY more than my xtra does. I am sure that if you are used to high-end electro markers the spyders and clones feel like a jackhammer.

I only have a few things that i want to do to this marker right away.
First, a clamping, low rise feedneck. it is just too tall. maybe a ricochet gravity hopper (no need for electro unless you go with a new trigger) to bring the profile down.
Second, new barrel. being able to match to paint would be a definite plus. i wouldn't spend 200$ on a barrel kit for a 100$ marker, but the stock barrel is way too loose. lots of hooking and diving balls.

If i get out enough to make it worthwhile, i will probably tune the gun to be more efficient, and switch to HPA with a reg, bolt/striker, valve, and spring upgrade. not essential though.

Conclusion: If you are a rec player, and looking for a reliable marker - the xtra is not a bad choice.
i would not recommend it to someone looking to compete, or for pre-teen beginners. it is simply too big, and the stock trigger too heavy.
for an old-skooler making a comeback, it was a cost effective and reliable way to get back into the sport.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, July 18th, 2007 at 2:21 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (4):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media