paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Warrior Paintball Ion SL Bolt / Warrior Paintball Ion SL Bolt / Warrior Paintball Ion SL Bolt / Warrior Paintball Ion SL Bolt / Warrior Paintball Ion SL Bolt

Warrior Paintball Ion SL Bolt Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Warrior Paintball

Buy Warrior Paintball Ion SL Bolt

Paintball Ion Bolts

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Warrior Paintball Ion SL Bolt
[ View Photos (2) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 8
Average Rating: 3.8 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $22

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The New Warrior SL Ion Bolt will give your marker a whole new feel. Its light weight design reduces marker kick and allows the marker to cycle at higher rates of fire. The double tail o-ring increases efficiency, shot consistency, and helps to decrease o-ring wear. Unlike other bolts on the market, the SL is machined from a single piece of aluminum. This allows for better durability and tighter tolerances. The tighter tolerances keep the bolt from leaking and help to reduce friction in the marker.

Features:

Machined From Aluminum
Air Holes Machined For Maximum Shot Consistency
Double Tail O-rings To Minimize Wear
Bolt Weighs Only 16 Grams
Will Fit Any Ion Or SP-8 Marker
One Piece Design For Maximum Durability

Product Availability 
The Warrior Paintball Ion SL Bolt is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
motoxman.21 Friday, October 17th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
2 years
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
stock
Marker Setup: ion
qev
ape board
This bolt
Strengths: Weight
Weaknesses: None (at least for me)
Review: I'll start out by saying im not sure if i have the second or first version of this bolt. With that said this bolt is awesome. I got it in a combo package ( ape board, warrior QEV, Warrior bolt, clamping feedneck) for 115. Best money i spent in upgrade parts.
Conclusion: Awesome. 9 cuz of the many horror stories.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

floyd4968 Thursday, July 17th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Stock Ion Bolt
Techt L6 Bolt
Techt L7 Bolt
Marker Setup: Smart Parts Ion
Ape Rampage Board
Smart Parts QEV
CP Inline Regulator
Guerrilla Air 45/4500 Tank
Strengths: Price - Cheap!
Weaknesses: Poor Machining/Metal
Increased Kick
Increased input pressure
Poor Efficiency
Review: I bought this bolt awhile back when it was time to upgrade from stock. I checked all bolts out there and didn't want to spend much. I found the Warrior Bolt at a local paintball store real cheap and the clerk said it was a decent bolt, so I went for it. Bad mistake...I got home popped it in aired it up and first thing I noticed was an increase in kick from stock. Then, went to a local field and chronoed and found out I had to increase the input pressure from 160 to 180psi. I played a few games and discovered I was filling up more than usual. This bolt is terrible, it offers no advantages over the stock bolt.
Conclusion: The cheaper price just isn't worth the Warrior bolt's many problems. I recommend NOT purchasing this bolt. Go for something a little pricier, perhaps a Techt.
Rating:
2 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

ionmaster222 Tuesday, April 24th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
i have the firebolt and its amazing, it dosnt compare to this horrific bolt.
Marker Setup: ion
q lock
freak barrel
virtue board/eyes/ez on
empire grips
smartparts drop and dove tail
cp reg
trinity body
firebolt
ND trigger
halo b
Strengths: There is nothing strong or cool about this product.
Weaknesses: The weak metal that is used.
Review: I had this bolt for maybe a month and i go to test my gun out back just to see how it is. and i just got a new product (thewarrior bolt). about 500 shots and snaped right in half and broke my o rings. I really do not recomend this bolt to anyone. cheaper is not better in paintball. trust me. its not worth having something thats only going to destroy your gun.
Conclusion: I give it a 1. no bolt should ever break
Rating:
1 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, April 29th, 2007 at 11:15 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Knot13351 Monday, September 25th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Stock Bolt
Marker Setup: Smart Parts Ion
Lucky S4 w/ Mac Noid
Halo B w/ Rip
Pure Energy 68/4500 Tank
Proto 14" Barrel
Clippard QEV
Orang ADF Detents
Shocktech Drop
Prostock ASA
Warrior Feedneck
Warrior Trigger
Warrior Bolt(broken)
Strengths: Eliminated kick
Was definitely more efficient
Weaknesses: Broke in half
made me angry
Review: I got this bolt along with the feedneck and trigger. I knew that they were having some problems with them breaking, but not everyone had one break, so i played my odds. I put it in my gun as soon as i got it back. I lowered my dwell to 10ms from 12. I set my gun on uncapped on full auto. It shot well as i emptied my hopper. After i shot paint, i dry fired it to see how fast i could get my Lucky S4 to go. As i reached 25/sec, i was impressed. I went to try to see how fast i could walk my gun with my new trigger so i put it on semi in demo mode( 1/2 the dwell) I shot about 3 rounds when it went. I was unfortunately unlucky because before i could even shoot 1500 shots, it broke. There was this weird noise coming from my barrel and my gun was vibrating when it broke.I called the company and they told me that there is a new version, so I am shipping my old bolt out ASAP.
EDIT: I will just make a new review in the Warrior V2 page.
Conclusion: So far it sucks because it is not durable enough for any regular paintballer. Dont buy it until they get the breaking problem fixed.
Rating:
1 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, November 2nd, 2006 at 6:38 am PST
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

mckvade Wednesday, September 6th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
None
Marker Setup: A-5 E-Grip w/was board & JCS double trigger
SP Ion w/QEV, CP Sling Blade trigger & Progressive 2K6 Barrel
ICD ProMaster stock Dosn't need improving
Strengths: Price $24.45 shipped
Weight 16 grams
Weaknesses: See review
Review: I just received the Warrior SL Green Bolt a day ago. It seemed well crafted and looked like the write up from the manufacturer said it should. So I installed it and proceeded to load up a hopper and fire some paint. I did so and noticed that the recoil was definitely reduced right away compared to the stock bolt.

Accuracy was also increased due to the reduced recoil. The marker was much more controllable at a high rate of fire. It was far easier to keep paint on target.

Then came a problem, after shooting a hopper (reloaded a time or two) the Ion stopped and all that I could hear was a hissing sound from the barrel. Upon inspection I found that the bolt had broke in two. I contacted Warrior Paintball and they informed me that a batch of bolts had gone out that were not milled properly, they did not notice in time. I was informed to simply return it and they would send a new one

I will continue this review when I get the new bolt and complete testing it. I was informed that I will receive a new version of the bolt at the end of September.

Version 2 has been released - This is the new Version 2 of the Warrior Ion SL Bolt. This version has a slightly different bolt face and has a different type of hole pattern to strengthen the bolt. This bolt has a lifetime guarantee from any type of failure. This new design is guaranteed to never break . Its light weight design reduces marker kick and allows the marker to cycle at higher rates of fire. The double tail o-ring increases efficiency, shot consistency, and helps to decrease o-ring wear.



Conclusion: the new version of the bolt delivers what the manufacturer promises. I will now upgrade my rating to a 10. Lite price and lite weight make this new version a winner.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, October 7th, 2006 at 1:25 pm PST
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

TimberGhost0417 Monday, September 4th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
First Ion bolt I purchased. I have nothing to compare this to.
Marker Setup: Ion
Eggy+Z-Board
88ci 3000psi
10" Evil Pipe Barrel Kit
Check-It Unimount
Check-It Feedneck
CP Roller Trigger
360 QEV
Strengths: Extremely light 16 grams
Price
Stock Bolt is 36 grams
Shoots thin ropes now
Weaknesses: Made my psi go up from 160psi to 180psi
Review: ***EDIT NEW VERSION
I sent my broken bolt in and warrior paintball sent me the new version as a replacement. Looks like they fixed the issue and made the bolt stronger. This one looks like it won't break. It did make my psi jump up by 20. I used to get 272-278 fps using 160 psi, now i have it up at 180 psi to get the same fps.

Good thing about this bolt is it makes my Ion shoot ropes now. All I see now is a thin straight line of paintballs coming out of my Ion when I walk the trigger.
------------------------------------------------------------
----------------------------------------------------------
Review of OLD VERSION

Well I used this bolt for a little less then 2,000 paintballs before it broke.
I bought it online and it took about 11 days to arrive because the seller went on vacation.
During the time between my purchase and the bolt's arrival, three people posted that their warrior bolt broke. I figured this isn't so bad because manufacturing isn't perfect and there's bound to be defects but it made me want to find out if this happened regularly or if it's just an isolated incident.

This lead me to create a poll asking warrior Ion bolt owner's to state whether their bolt still works or if it broke. Here's what the poll looked like. I can't post a URL due to rules on this site so I'll post the results.

16 of 36 said their bolt broke

Broke after 1-5 cases (NO QEV) 7 19.44%
Broke after 1-5 cases (WITH QEV) 6 16.67%
Broke after 6+ cases (NO QEV) 1 2.78%
Broke after 6+ cases (WITH QEV) 2 5.56%

20 of 36 said their bolt still works

Still works after 1-5 cases (NO QEV) 2 5.56%
Still works after 1-5 cases (WITH QEV) 6 16.67%
Still works after 6+ cases (NO QEV) 1 2.78%
Still works after 6+ cases (WITH QEV) 11 30.56%
(One person said they shot 15 cases with a QEV and it still works)

As you can see, the results are very disturbing.

After seeing the results, I recieved my bolt and started hoping I'll be one of the lucky ones and have a great working bolt.

I purchased a 360 qev and the warrior Ion bolt in a packge and they both arrived together.I installed the bolt but didn't install the qev because I was only going to be playing for two hours. I took my Ion with the newly installed warrior bolt to the field and for some reason my fps dropped down to 240-250fps at 180psi. Turning my regulator up would risk harming my Ion so I just played with 240-250fps at 180psi.
I shot 3 1/2 bags of paint that day , about 1,700 paintballs and the bolt works great, except for the fps.

I figured, it's ok I'll just install the QEV and my fps will be normal again, normal being 272-278 fps at 160psi. Well, with a QEV you should be operating at a lower psi pressure while still getting 272-278 fps at the chrono.

So I installed the QEV last night, made my dwell 22 and my ROF 26 (48 rule) and took it to the field to fine tune my Ion's dwell and ROF. I was disappointed when I found out I was still shooting about 250fps at 180psi. Changed my dwell to 27 and ROF to 21. Shot it a few times to check my velocity and.......still around 250fps. I turned up my regulator until I finally shot 270fps and I freaked out when I looked at my gauge and it read 190psi. You should never go above 200psi because it will damage you're Ion. I used to get 272-278 fps at 160 psi. 270 fps at 190 psi is not good. I got mad and ripped on my Ion for about 35 paintballs (a few seconds) and I heard my ion leaving extremely fast and loud. I thought to myself, I hope the hose blew off my QEV. Went to my car, took apart my Ion and I saw that my Warrior Ion bolt snapped in half, exactly like thepictures I saw of the broken warrior Ion bolts on pbnation.

There is a Ion bolt comparison thread and the person who made the thread said the warrior Ion bolt is poorly made. The part which makes it poorly made is the connection between the really fat part of the bolt and the middle of the bolt. He said it's too weak and sure enough, that's exactly where my bolt broke. I'm very disappointed that this bolt broke, because it has all the features of a great bolt. It's extremely light weight. But it breaks very easily and isn't something that will last.

***Edit I just called warrior paintball and they said go ahead and send the bolt in and they'll send me the NEW VERSION I'll add a review of the new version onto this review and update the rating
Conclusion: This bolt has the makings of a great bolt and would be a very good bolt if they made the connection between the largest part of the bolt and the middle of the bolt stronger. As of right now, I have to say I do not recommend this bolt to anyone. They need to address this issue (weak connection) before I purchase another one. At $22 and weighing only 16 grams, this bolt can compete against everyone and win very quickly. However, it's flaw is that it breaks extremely easily. Once this issue is addressed, I'm sure they will sell alot more. I give this a 1 at the moment because it broke after shooting LESS THAN 2,000 paintballs, 16 of 36 bolts broke in the poll I made, and well...it breaks very easily. If it broke in a year, ok fine I'll get a new one. But breaking so quickly? It's a bad product.


***Edit I just called warrior paintball and they said go ahead and send the bolt in and they'll send me the NEW VERSION
Rating:
4 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, January 4th, 2007 at 9:27 pm PST
I found this review  
4 Comments - Add Comment

mercinariesgtr Monday, August 28th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
Less than a month
Similar
Products Used:
none
I used this bolt and after shooting about 500 rnds (in the middle of a game) i heard a hiss. i walked off and figured i had ran outta air or something and that the air was jut coming out the barrell. I went to the tech and he said to lube the gun.. upon taking the gun apart i found out that the gun had actually broken in two, i had to use my tippmann for the rest of the day.
I am currently trying to contact warrior to get a new bolt
Marker Setup: ion , d.o.p. dropforward w/ dye mini guage, freak grips, warrior bolt, 360 qev, empire revolver barrel, powerlyte body kit, t-board w/ membrane
Strengths: Very light
Weaknesses: Boke in two
Review: I got this bolt off ebay for 37 dollars with a qev. when i got it i was amazed at how light it was. i put it in my gun went out to fire some shots and with the new bolt and qev my gun is running 20 dwell and 130 psi. this is a great bolt and is the second or third lightest that you can get. everyone should stop spending their money on orange bolts and firebolts, they are no better and just more money.

I used this bolt and after shooting about 500 rnds (in the middle of a game) i heard a hiss. i walked off and figured i had ran outta air or something and that the air was jut coming out the barrell. I went to the tech and he said to lube the gun.. upon taking the gun apart i found out that the gun had actually broken in two, i had to use my tippmann for the rest of the day.
I am currently trying to contact warrior to get a new bolt
Conclusion: Great bolt for what you are paying
Rating:
2 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, September 16th, 2006 at 8:57 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

heysueskreesto2 Wednesday, August 9th, 2006
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
Stock Ion Bolt (heavier, less efficient)
Marker Setup: Smart Parts Ion Pro (Silver Body Kit, SP On/Off Rail, Q-Lock Feedneck)
Silver Freak Jr. Barrel with .684, .689, and stainless .693 inserts
Smart Parts 360 QEV
Warrior Ion SL Bolt
68ci/4500psi Nitro Tank
Evo II Egg Loader

Tippmann 98 Custom
14" Silver Xcel Barrel
Adco Hot Shot Laser Sight
Flatline Barrel( for sale)
Gravity Fed
3 12 oz. CO2 Tanks
Strengths: Cheapest Bolt Out There
Light, Reduces Kick, Maximizes Efficiency
Dual Orings
Aluminum, Durable
Quieter
Weaknesses: IT SNAPPED in half on me
Review: REVIEW BEFORE IT SNAPPED IN HALF:

In many cases, cheaper is not better. The more expensive product is the better of the two. Well, not in this case. Minus the l6, this has to be one of the best bolts out there. It did everything that I expected from an aftermarket bolt for about half the price.

STEP 1: My Research:
Price: The warrior ion bolt is a mere $21.95 from warrior's site, www.warriorpaintball.com. Shipping for me was only about $2.50, so I ended up spending only $24.45 on the bolt.

Weight: The bolt only weighs 16 grams. That's like the second or third lightest bolts made for the ion, at only a fraction of the cost.

Design: Much like the design of the TechT L6 Bolt, which is the best out there in the opinion of many owners (I've never shot with one)

Why I purchased: I wanted the best for my gun, but I'm not about to go out and spend 60 bucks on a machined piece of metal. The warrior bolt is a cheap alternative. It only weighs 2.4 grams more than the l6, and is $30 cheaper. Honestly, how much of a difference is 2.4 grams gonna make. With that $30, you could buy a new trigger, feedneck, qev... Whatever other internal part you need.

STEP 2: First Impressions of the Bolt:

Taking it out of the box: Well, not really a box. It was an envelope. The bolt came in a small plastic bag. Now at first, I didn't really notice the weight. Having never held the stock bolt in my hands, I had nothing to compare to. But it was light. The first thing I noticed, however, was how finely crafted the SL was made. It was smooth and look very aerodynamic. There were no scratches or scuffs from the factory.

Installation: Installation was just like that of any other bolt. Take out the stock, lube the o-rings, and put in the new. When you hold the two bolts, the weight difference is obvious. The SL is about half the weight of the stock, which looks like a piece of crap when compared workmanship wise to the SL.

STEP 3: Firing the Gun

The first time I fired the gun, the set-up was the same as up top, with the qev and bolt installed. I have fired my ion with only the qev, and, as many of you know, it was louder and had a little more kick than stock. When I put the bolt in, I was very impressed with the increase in performance. The decibel increase that I had with the QEV was gone, and my gun was now a little quieter than stock. I next tried out full auto, to see of what magnitude the kick was reduced. Now, it's really hard to tell for me, because I never really felt the kick of my stock ion, as I was too focused on other things, like not getting shot and finding a way to get the flag in CTF games. But when I compare my accuracy, which is a major sign of kick, it is a lot better. Im shooting tighter ropes and with the new bolt, there isn't much kick at all. I just don't remember the stock kick.
The only thing that I currently can't tell you about the new bolt is my gain in efficiency, which seems to be pretty good, but I don't have any numbers, and the psi and settings I'm running at to get 290-295 fps. This is soon to come in my next section, when I actually go out to get my gun chronoed. The one things that I'll never be able to tell you is if I had an increase in consistency, as I never found out my stock reg consistency, which, as a lot of ion owners know, can vary a lot from gun to gun. I'll tell you my consistency, but not if its better or worse.

STEP 4: Field Performance, Efficiency, Consistency, Operating Pressure for 290-295 FPS, and Board Settings: COMING SOON

____________________________________________________________
________

GUESS WHAT- THE BOLT BROKE ON ME, JUST LIKE WITH OTHER PEOPLE

DO NOT BUY THIS BOLT

in memorium:
my warrior bolt hath died, during the process of dryfiring at 10:02 a.m. on this sad day of the 2006th year of our lord, and the 2nd day of the month that is october

ANS ALSO TOOK 6 WEEKS TO SEND ME A REPLACEMENT V2, WHICH I WILL ALSO ADD, DOES NOT WEIGH ANYWHERE NEAR 16 GRAMS, MORE LIKE 20-24.
Conclusion: i would not recommend this bolt to anyone except my arch enemies on the paintball field. It broke on me after a mere 2000 shots, and the replacement bolt from ANS arrived 6 weeks after i sent them my broken bolt. I also wouldnt recommend the v2, as the thing about weighing 16 grams on that bolt is a complete lie. I am happy I bought a firebolt in the meantime, and I plan on buying a Techt L7, which is what you should do too
Rating:
1 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, December 24th, 2006 at 6:59 am PST
I found this review  
13 Comments - Add Comment
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media