paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / BT Paintball Design BT-4 Iron Horse / BT Paintball Design BT-4 Iron Horse / BT Paintball Design BT-4 Iron Horse / BT Paintball Design BT-4 Iron Horse

BT Paintball Design BT-4 Iron Horse Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount BT Paintball Design

Buy BT Paintball Design BT-4 Iron Horse

Paintball Low-End Mechanical Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


BT Paintball Design BT-4 Iron Horse
[ View Photos (8) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 13
Average Rating: 9.5 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $319

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Specs:
Caliber: .68
Action: Semi-Automatic
Powered: CO2 or Compressed Air(HP Output)
Cycle Rate: 13BPS
Main Body Material: Aluminium
Accuracy Range: 150+ft

SPECIAL FEATURES - *APEX BT-M16 Barrel *Retractable Barrel Bi-Pod, *Raised Adjustable Sight Rail *Rapid Fire Double Trigger *Collapsible �Car� Stock
BT-4 AT THE CORE
SLIDEAWAY FEEDPORT
ADJUSTABLE VERTICAL FRONT GRIP
SELECTA BARREL � ADAPTOR ALLOWS USE OF MULTIPLE BARREL THREADS
DUAL PICATINNY MOUNTING RAILS
REMOVEABLE GRIP FRAME
TOURNAMENT LEGAL EXTERNAL VELOCITY ADJUSTOR
EASILY ACCEPTS EXPANSION CHAMBERS PLUS VERTICAL AND HORIZONTAL BOTTLE ADAPTORS
WORKS WITH CO2 OR COMPRESSED AIR
1 YEAR FULL PARTS AND LABOR WARRANTY!

Overview:
Not for the meek. The IRON-HORSE is a fully loaded, combat ready, scenario game machine! Built stock with the too good to be true BT-M16 Apex barrel, you will have unrivaled shot range, trajectory, and shot choice. The Apex barrel system is designed to put a back spin on the ball as it leaves the barrel, literally maximizing the energy on the shot, and giving you more distance than any stock barrel on the market. The icing on the cake? You can adjust the amount of backspin you put-on, turn it all the way on-or off, and even turn the barrel tip sideways and up-side down to give you curved shots that your opponents will never see coming!

The Iron-Horse also features a rapid fire double trigger, retractable bi-pod, raised sight rail, and the collapsible BT Car Stock. No one else even comes close!
Product Availability 
The BT Paintball Design BT-4 Iron Horse is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (2):  1  |  2
        Next Page
sloppyone Tuesday, March 23rd, 2010
Period of
Product Use:
2 years19 of 19 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
BT-4 Combat -> Useless barrel
BT-4 Delta -> Useless barrel (i think its the same as the Combat?)
BT-4 Assault
Marker Setup: replaced stock with external velocity adjuster
switch between stock barrel and a 14" .690 tiller barrel.
Chrono'd at 275-290fps
removed sight rail and replaced with BT-4 combat sights (when not using stock barrel)
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrels - there are many options out there.
A5 to spyder adapter (if wishing to use a spyder barrel)
Expansion chamber to improve consistancy (I can't afford one)
Polished internals.
HPA
KEEP IT CLEANED REGULARLY!
Strengths: Rugged marker but keep it clean
Simple mechanics
Easy to disassemble
Customizable
Sling provided (handy)
Weaknesses: Low BPS
Consistency
Chopping & jams @ high ROF
Screws in the grip
Open bolt
Bipod = useless
Review: Background:
Bought this 2 years ago when I wanted to get into paintball. I chose the Ironhorse for these reasons at the time:
Looks (Milsim)
Apex
Stock.
Bipod
Lack of knowledge of other markers and game types.

Only in the last couple of months have I been using it often. It has served me well in bush games but not at all on the speedball field of course.

Review:
First off unless you are using a remote coil you don't need the stock at all as you can use a c02 bottle for the same job but better. The stock limits maneuverability which sucks.
The sights are a waste of time because with a mask on you can't even look down them easily and as they are more there for looks the sights are pretty useless and inaccurate. Even tho the marker looks cooler in its original form I chose to get rid of the stock and the m16 sights. This works better because using the c02 bottle as a stock keeps your head down from the gun which means less exposure and the BT-4 combat sights give you an idea of where your paintball is going to go.

The Apex. Well this is a unique option for unique situations which to be honest don't come up very often. I use it for shooting over bushes or use slight amounts of backspin. The backspin makes the ball almost float in the air HOWEVER using the apex doesn't guarantee better accuracy and also decreases FPS which means the ball is less likely to break on impact - which sucks :(
The apex has better range, granted. But will they hit at that range? well that depends on your paint etc but typically not.

I purchased a 14" .69 barrel ($50 NZD) to replace the stock one so I could experiment with them. With certain paint I noticed amazing accuracy increase with the new barrel. I haven't tried using a so called sniper barrel at a ridiculous 20+ inches but I'm sure they wouldn't perform as well as a 12-16". Of course shooting dirty paint or god forbid marbles down your barrel is stupid and will wreck your barrel. If your shooting marbles at people do everyone a favour and give your marker away to someone who deserves it.

Changing all this gear made a much lighter, compact and sometimes more accurate marker which is more idea especially for speedball.

I noticed at a tournament the other day how much the FPS fluctuates (on c02) so am considering HPA. Have had troubles with jams and chops at high Rate Of Fire. I thought it was down to crappy paint but at the tourny I chopped a marballizer so would recommend electro-loaders to keep up if you need it.

Maintenance: This is an area my mates do not excel in and where I see problems with BT-4's. Clean your marker regularly, ASAP if you have chopped balls and have dirt inside the gun. Opened up my mates BT-4 Delta to find brown goo and a rough interior which is not good for cycle speed, looks or efficiency. If your firing a dirty gun with a grubby barrel expect to be shooting all over the place like a r3tard so get yourself a squeegee. When oiling up make sure you use the right oil as some can deteriorate o-rings and make sure you LIGHTLY coat the moving parts. You don't want to be shooting excess oil down your barrel!
P.S: Be careful when screwing the grip back on as over tightening will wreck the plastic where the hexagonal screw is supposed to fit in. If this happens to you and you are clueless how to get the gun apart, get a fine metal saw and cut a grove in the hexagonal screw that is slipping so that you can put a screw driver at one end and an allen key at the other. A lesson learnt at a friends mistake.

Help and support: I have never had to contact BT directly but there is great sources of info on the internet especially this website: http://bt.warrior-online.com/
Loads of info, problems and solutions at your fingertips.
Conclusion: This is a great gun that saw me into paintball and I'm going to keep as long as I can. The Ironhorse is ideal for those going for looks. I wouldn't recommend to a newbie on a budget however, they should run with a standard combat and upgrade parts if necessary.
Don't buy guns due to looks because on the field, looks won't win you the game (unless your a hot chick with a nice rack of course!).
I give the review a 7 because the nice looking additives often prove useless and because this gun cannot keep up with the electro guys no matter what field you are playing on. However it is rugged and easy to pull apart etc.

Keep it simple, keep your gun clean and you will get performance.
Thanks for bothering to read my first review :)

BTW could someone confirm whether the stock barrel is .689 bore?
Rating:
7 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, March 23rd, 2010 at 10:34 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

dr2gon Sunday, May 31st, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
spyder imagine
tac 5
tippman 98 custom
Marker Setup: bt-4 ironhorse
bt-4 rip clip
Recommended
Upgrades:
the ripclip
Strengths: Awesome range, feels good, can outshoot most,
Weaknesses: Long, hard to move out in your stuck behind cover
Review: this gun is awesome. this is the first bt-4 product i've used and i have no real complaints about it. i have been in several situations where my gun is shooting past my opponent and theirs are droping yards in front of me. it has a nice sturdy feels to it. the only down side is that because it is so long it makes it hard to move around tight corners. i have a Tac 8 pistol which i take out when i'm pinned down. i would recommend getting a pistol or something just in case. all in all as long as you clean your gun properly it will last and give good results.
Conclusion: Overall it is a great gun for people who like to keep their distance and who can handle the extra weight.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Gunnersrock Sunday, May 24th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
98 Custom
Borrowed a friends X7 Briefly
Marker Setup: BT-4 Ironhorse
Stock Bipod
Trinity Red/Green Dot Sight
BT Flashsight
BT 45 Degrees Offset Rail
Lapco Big Shot Barrel (not yet but will have very soon)
Rip Clip
Recommended
Upgrades:
Upgrade the barrel, Lapco bigshot i have heard great things about, hopefully
A sight is nice but somewhat unnecessary
Rip Clip (never broken a ball, very quiet)
Strengths: Long Range
Looks (VERY intimidating, everyone is always jealous)
Accurate CO2 and Compressed Air
Weaknesses: Heavy
Can be front heavy with Bipod, but it is not too bad
Review: Excellent Marker, lots of fun to use. Make sure you use good paint, though. Bad paint spoils the gun. Like I said, it is very accurate with the long range of the apex barrel. The apex does take some time to ge used to, but once you have, it rocks. People have no clue what hit them if you can hit them around corners. Bipod is great for setting up in a position, or sniping laying down. Easily extendable, retractable, Sturdy... only thing is that the barrel rotates a little bit (this may due to the fact that I bought it used from a guy who had it for 2 years (a testament to its durability) or that I have done some tinkering with it myself). It really isn't that big of a deal though.
Great Gun.
Conclusion: I would recommend this to anyone, I already have to many of my friends.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

angel_maker Monday, October 13th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann 98 Custom
Smart Parts Linear
Tapco Car Stock

Tippmann A-5
A5A2 Kit
Smart Parts Progressive
Raiser Rail
Red Dot
Marker Setup: BT - 4 Ironhorse
Lapco Big Shot Apex Ready
Raiser Rail
Red Dot
Rip Clip
A-5 Hopper
Sling
Polished Internals
Recommended
Upgrades:
Lapco Big Shot Apex Ready
Rip Clip with a not so ugly hopper
Polish the Internals
Strengths: Looks
Durability
Rails for Sights
Bipod for Stability
Weaknesses: Kinda heavey, but it comes with a sling
Review: First thing I noticed when I cocked the gun is that the bolt pulled back really rough. You could tell that the gun had not been well oiled. So I pulled it apart and polished the insides, and lubed it up. It pulls back nice and smooth, so it should be quite a bit more air efficient.Will get back on that one.

The bipod is very well built. The spring loaded stands are awesome for jumping out when you push the button. Makes it real quick to get set up to nail someone. It folds up nice, and out of the way.

M4 sight on the front has a sling mount, as well as the stock. If you attach the sling its good and comfy, feels nice. Its good that you don't have to haul the gun around with no sling. Great idea to throw one in with the whole Ironhorse kit. Way to go BT.

Pictanny and weaver rails are nice to mount stuff on, makes your gun more intimidating as well.

I put a 12" Lapco Big Shot Apex Ready Barrel, it fits perfect in there, I highly recomment that, seeing as the standard barrel isn't that great, its heavy and poorly ported in my eyes.

The Apex is the icing on the cake. With the silencer kinda look that it adds to the gun, it completes the look. But also it gives you a flat, far, and straight shot. It takes getting used to. But when your lighting people up, and they cant even see you, who wouldnt want to get used to that.
Conclusion: I think it looks awesome. If you want snipe or go out and clear house this things is good for you. With the Apex and a Big Shot Apex Ready Barrel you'll be out shooting the opponents and guys on your team. I truely recommend. All in all its a good gun, it has it flaws, but it has its benefits which totally outdo the negative things. If you can afford to buy one, even if you can't pick one up.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

captain-joshy Tuesday, August 19th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
this is my first gun and i love it it is brilliant accurate and very realistic looking. people cant take their eyes off it they love it so much and it is like half the price of theirs too!!!
Marker Setup: bt electronic grip frame
viewloader 3 hopper (rubbish by the way)
Recommended
Upgrades:
e-trigger (grip frame)
bt rip clip
Strengths: Accuracy
Look
Weaknesses: Weight
Cleaning the apex barrel
Review: I love this gun it is accurate, fast (with e-trigger), and very realistic lookin. it is very good for woodsball and snipin however not good for speedball or tournaments. it is very heavy which ruins it a little bit despite it been made of aluminium. and when u are cleaning it out, it is almost impossible to clean the apex barrel (which i hate the apex barrel a load of crap)
Conclusion: Get this gun for woodsball only it is good for woodsball and snipin
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Fortouest Friday, November 16th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann 98, A5, Spyders,...
Marker Setup: Ironhorse
Bi-pod
Sling
Camouflage
Remote
BT Electronic trigger
BT Rip Clip
Carry handle
Folding stock
Recommended
Upgrades:
Expansion chamber
Strengths: The grip and the precision are amazing.
Weaknesses: It is a heavy marker, but with a remote it's lighter.
Review: First of all, I've been playing for a 15 years, mostly woodsball, I try out many markers, they each have their weaknesses and strengths, I don't have one brand preferred to another.

This is a nice sniper marker and very precise at 100 feet (distance tested). Shot 400 paintballs without a break in almost automatic mode.

I already read a little about this marker. I wanted to try this one, since most woodsball players use Tippmann products up here in Canada. This guns shoots great out of the box, almost no adjustments to be done, the Ripclip is a little confusing to install, but it fits nice and snug on the marker. The bi-pod is also a little tricky... but hey, nothing is perfect! The looks on this marker are great, I can't wait to walk on the field and see the fear in my adversaries masks! Sling and remote are a must

See you on the fields!
Conclusion: I forgot the expansion chamber, but will be ordering it soon + the cocking handle cover... always nice to cover that area and not get paint inside. I'm simply amazed about this marker... if I do find weaknesses, I'll post them here ASAP!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

predator1 Monday, November 5th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
6 months8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
tipman 98,spyder mr1,spyder shutter. No real comparison.While the BT4 is similiar in appearance to the Tipman 98,that's where it stops. The BT4 seems on inspection to be a better designed marker overall.
Marker Setup: Halo 3 hopper,reaction trigger,The BT 6 stage exspansion chamber(looks like a M16 magazine and really adds to the intimidation level of the marker). Three point assault sling
Recommended
Upgrades:
Definatly the expansion chamber.This marker seems to eat CO2 pretty quickly.The reaction trigger is a definate.
Strengths: intimidating,reliable,well designed.APEX..need i say more
Weaknesses: seems to use alot of CO2,the expansion chamber helps that alot.
Review: I am very pleased with the marker and would recomend it to anyone in the scenario or woodsball gaming realm. It has a huge intimidation factor when you pull it out in front of oponents before a game. It is well designed and thought out.the sliding hopper adaptor is great when you need to squeegy a barrel out(definetly beats the swing down adaptor on a similiar brand). Coupled with a reactive trigger and a good hopper this marker is a force to be dealt with. Not to mention the standard Apex barrel this is all the gun you need in a game. I would recomend whether or not you do a trigger on this gun get a aggitated hopper as it tends to not feed reliably making you have to shake the gun after 5 or 10 shots to keep balls going down range.
<< if you do install the response trigger and start having problems with having to recock the marker after a few shots,replace the sear, it is the same as a tippman, as it gets a little wear it will not catch the bolt every time you fire.
Conclusion: I would highly recommend this gun to any experienced player. It is a little pricey for someone not really seriously into paintball.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, February 18th, 2009 at 9:39 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

broadstretbully Sunday, September 16th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 months5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
tippman fully loaded
spyder e grip
Marker Setup: bt-4 20' custom ported apex barrel m-16 grip, barrel shroud &sight bipod removeable stock qloader- desert eagle convert kit for soloing with 50round mini hopper double trigger (no fence) fro easy two hand gripping - pure energy remote and comp air!!
Recommended
Upgrades:
remote line
response trigger
Strengths: Very accurate very customizable
Weaknesses: Don't get digi camo doesn't work well in the woods
Review: i love this gun it is great for woodsball.
the set up you get stock is mostly for sniping HOWEVER it can be made to fit almost every occasion i had to build a removable stock for it but after that if you take everything off down to just the gun itself, add a 1" barrel and mini hopper you have a hand gun better than a tiberius i play capture the flag and after i snipe off most of the comp i will take all the accessory's off add my mini barrel and go after the other flag with just a 50 round hopper and 1" barrel i can tag the other players with better accuracy than i could with my spyder marker with a 16" barrel this gun is capable of doing anything in my option

if you want my plans for converting it to a side arm email me


if you want one for 300$ and a lot of other goodies with it go to ebay
before sept 20 2007 it a really good buy
Conclusion: Best product out there right now i have tested more than 50 snipe/marker setup before i went with this one
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Moloch527 Tuesday, June 12th, 2007
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested5 of 29 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Bt-4 combat
Marker Setup: BT4 Combat with a 7 inch drop foward, 4 inch barrel, BT E-trigger and viewloader hopper
Recommended
Upgrades:
upgrades? are you kidding me?
Strengths: BT-4 is Bt-4, i've never had a problem with any their guns.
Weaknesses: Unnecessarily large and flashy
Review: A waste of money. Now granted, there's nothing wrong with this gun, but you can get a Banshee or an assault for half the price and have the same exact strengths as the iron horse, minus an apex barrell, which if you play woodsball is unneccesary to say the least, the AK-47 barrel on the banshee and the M-4 barrel on the assualt is just as accurate. Hell, you can even get a combat for $140 and be set, you won't have the same range, but you'll have same accuracy. I simply think it's a waste of money, and as all paintballers know, this isnt the cheapest sport to play.
Conclusion: Overrated and overpriced, buy an assualt or banshee
Rating:
7 out of 10
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment

Evil_Wayz Tuesday, March 27th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month14 of 15 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
Rental, Tippmann 98 Custom, Tippmann A-5 RT
Marker Setup: BT-4 Iron horse
BT E-grip
Apex barrel
Ricochet AK loader
specter one point sling
BT magazine expansion chamber
Recommended
Upgrades:
Magazine expansion chamber and BT E-Grip
Strengths: Accuracy, ease of dissasembly
Weaknesses: Barrel furniture, Cost
Review: I picked my 'Horse up on EBay for 232 dollars including shipping. (That has nothing to do with the review, I'm just bragging)

Ok, so the basic iron horse is an m-4 looking marker, with picatinny rails on top and bottom of the receiver, and on the hand grips. It comes with a vertical foregrip and a nice telescoping bi-pod, as well as a removable M-16 style carry handle. The stock is collapsible. There is a sling swivel on the top rail of the carry handle for alternate sling uses. The package i got came with a sling, but I chose a single point sling.


I target shot with the Apex off at 30 feet to get a feel for it, and it was very accurate. Yes I know, thirty feet, big whooop. I just don't believe in going anywhere with a rifle/pistol/marker that I haven't ever shot.

I bought the E-grip and the expansion chamber and installed them before I played an actual game with it.

First of all, this gun is a monster, and it scares the crap out of walk ons. It is also very heavy, which is fine for me, but I wouldn't even bother taking it on an airball field. This marker is strictly for woodsball or scenario games. The weight helps when firing rapid fire shots, you can actually muscle them into place despite the recoil.

I found that once I put the mag expansion on, I coudn't put the grip on the receiver anymore. Which results in my only gripe about this marker, that when you put the grip on the RIS rail on the barrel, sometimes it makes the barrel unscrew. Never happened to me during a game, but I have only played about 5 days total with this marker so it's bound to happen.

I had to take the marker apart to install the expansion chamber, and it is a carbon copy of the 98c without the complicated trigger stuff. The trigger components are modular, they are all located in the grip. The e-grip was literally as easy as removing two bolts. For that reason alone it's a better marker than my tippys. I also noticed that the thread for the receiver is actually an adapter, which means you can get a whatever type barrel thread adaptor you want without getting barrel breaks.

So I played a couple games full auto, and then switched back to semi. This gun is very accurate without the Apex on,and once I got used to it, I found the Apex to be a very easy barrel to adjust to. I will definitely say you need an electric loader with this marker, especially if you get the e-grip. Also, this isn't a quiet marker by any means, the refs told me they could hear my marker firing all the way from the staging area.

I found that once I dialed the Apex in I could hang back and safely take out people out from beyond their range. Not just walk ons with rentals, but people with their own equipment.

I would say honestly if there was a rifle designed for suppressive fire in mind, this would be it. I tend to play as a heavy rifleman and this marker suits me to a "T."

And if you are a former soldier or Marine, this marker feels like going home. :)



Conclusion: If you are a mil sim junkie, this is the marker for you.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, March 28th, 2007 at 9:03 am PST
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (2):  1  |  2
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media