paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Alamo City Paintball Low Blow Delrin Bolt / Alamo City Paintball Low Blow Delrin Bolt / Alamo City Paintball Low Blow Delrin Bolt / Alamo City Paintball Low Blow Delrin Bolt / Alamo City Paintball Low Blow Delrin Bolt

Alamo City Paintball Low Blow Delrin Bolt Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Alamo City Paintball

Buy Alamo City Paintball Low Blow Delrin Bolt

Paintball Spyder Bolts

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Alamo City Paintball Low Blow Delrin Bolt
[ View Photos (1) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 7
Average Rating: 8.4 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $29

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The bolt is constructed entirely of delrin so it is extremely light-weight. The new design of the "Low Blow" bolt requires o-rings for best performance. The o-rings must be lubricated with a light film of oil or grease. This bolt helps to impart a slight back-spin on the ball which can help to improve accuracy, flatten trajectory, and improve range. A slightly loose paint to barrel fit is recommended.


Help to reduce blow-back/ball hop

Improves accuracy of low quality paintballs

Imparts a slight back-spin on ball

Increases maximum achievable rate of fire

Reduced weight can also soften recoil

Product Availability 
The Alamo City Paintball Low Blow Delrin Bolt is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
brett1986 Wednesday, April 15th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
None Compare
Marker Setup: VL High Voltage
J&J Ceramic Barrel & Apex Barrel
Rebound Mod
eVLution (egg) Hopper
ACP "Low Blow" Delrin Bolt
Strengths: Distance increased, and a little less kick too.
Weaknesses: No Weaknesses
Review: After using the gun EVERY SINGLE WEEKEND non-stop for about 3 years, I had problems with my stock bolt and decided to buy a low blow bolt from Alamo City Paintball. It arrived in 2 days and truly does add distance with just a stock barrel, the J&J Ceramic, or the Apex barrel system and has reduced kick and noise noticeably as well. Since I've had the Apex barrel I've been pretty content with accuracy and VERY content with distance, but with this bolt.. Using a stock or J&J barrel is just as good in distance as using an Apex turned up about half way. Not a HUGE EPIC 1,000yard added distance, (Use APEX Barrel if you're looking for a HUGE EPIC distance) but it's definitely noticeable & VERY nice with just a stock/J&J barrel setup.
Conclusion: BUY IT if you are looking for a good, light weight bolt that gives a fair amount of flatline trajectory without sacrificing accuracy.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, April 15th, 2009 at 9:39 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

arpphoto Thursday, January 10th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
Stock Bolt on E-MR1
Stock Bolt on Viewloader HV
Marker Setup: Spyder E-MR-1
Polished Internals
J&J 12" Ceramic Barrel
Strengths: Spins the ball
Weaknesses: Could not get it to shoot stright beyond 50 feet
Review: LOW BLOW BOLT FOR SPYDER MR-1;

The bolt itself looks nicely engineered with 2 O-Rings that are suppose to keep a tighter seal so no air leaks past the bolt or blows back into the hopper.

On 01/05/2008 I installed the bolt and went down to Hogan’s Alley in CT to put it to a field test.

To my surprise I could not get it to shoot a straight ball at a target 60 feet or so away. My setup was Polar Ice, J&J barrel, polished internals.

I was aiming at a target about 6’ by 6’ (rolling spool), and 10 out of 10 shots missed it. Most would curve up in the air after about 50 feet and some of them would suddenly drop out of the sky.

I put by stock bolt back in and the problem was gone, I could hit 2’ by 2’ targets 100 feet away with little arch to the gun.

I have since carefully inspected the bolt and could not find any flaws with the bolt, it did not chop any balls, but it would throw a darn good curve ball.

I will probably replace the low blow bolt with a standard bolt with 2 o-rings.
Conclusion: Not sure if it's just me or not but I didn't gain anything from the LOW BLOW BOLT. I could see a good use for a regular bolt with some o-rings thou!
Rating:
1 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

akpbplayer100 Saturday, September 1st, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Stock Bolt - heavy
Anti-Chop Bolt - gas hog
Marker Setup: Spyder Imagine, SP 14" Linear Barrel, Evlution3 loader, Alamo City Paintball Low-Blow Bolt, DH JAVA Titanium Striker, Dye Sticky 3 Grips, Crossfire 48/3000 Steely
Strengths: Increases range
Swoosh AirFlow Design
Delrin so its light
Reduced Recoil
Weaknesses: Chops Balls (easy fix see review)
Review: When I first got it into Canada, I couldn't wait any longer to install it. When I did, I immediately went on the field after chrono. At first, the range really has increased, my paint reached the other side of the speedball field instead of watching it drop into mid-field. But then, I started chopping, I tried again, nothing. My dad told me I didn't know how to invest into improvements which really made me feel bad, but I couldn't throw away such a part, especially if it had a backspin feature, so I got to work in trying to fix the bolts chopping. 5 minutes of sanding and VOILA! I tried again and it finally worked flawlessly, it performed well with my Titanium Striker as well.
Conclusion: I am glad with this bolt and I will never sell this unless it broke, WHICH IT WON'T!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

Walker34 Saturday, July 14th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 months0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Hybrid Low-Blow bolt system. (Heavy, and didn't provide a noticeable increase in range.)
Marker Setup: Autococker Trilogy with a handful of ups, (CP vertical reg, Kaner barrel kit, TechT Trilogy adjustable 3-way actuator) and a more-or-less stock Trilogy as a backup gun. Viewloader VL Revolution (12v/X-Board) hopper. Compressed air.
Strengths: It works! I saw an additional 5+ yards of legitimate range with this bolt.
Weaknesses: The horizontal accuracy of this bolt seems to be less than its open-faced counterpart.
Review: I've already reviewed the excellent Alamo City Paintball 2K+/Trilogy 'Cocker open-face delrin bolt in another thread, but I wanted to add my two cents on this model.

Simply put, it works. If you're playing in an area where you really need an extra 5+ useful yards, this is a drop-in solution for you. From my experience shooting Marballizer with a .687 Kaner barrel on an Autococker Trilogy, the low-blow model reached farther than the Alamo City Paintball open-face delrin model consistently. However, the paint tended to "slide" right or left at the farthest ranges by a couple of feet, where the open-faced bolt had a more predictable, if shorter, trajectory. The flight path of the paint with the low-blow bolt is noticeably flatter.
Conclusion: Great product, great price. Alamo City Paintball are also a very friendly, helpful outfit. Strongly recommended!
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, July 14th, 2007 at 5:34 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

fcatman Monday, February 5th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Stock Rodeo bolt
Rodeo bolt with venturi removed
Evil Delrin Bolt
Evil Delrin Bolt with venturi drilled out
Marker Setup: Spyder Rodeo (Primary marker)
J & J Edge barrel kit
CO2
Revolution w/ X-Board
32 Degrees spring kit
Evil Delrin Bolt / Stock bolt with venturi removed

ACI Griffin with stock everything (Was my backup, but it's worn out)
Zap / Archon Hopper

Syndicate Paradox ELE
Spyder Rodeo stock barrel, maybe my J&J Edge kit
Zap / Archon Hopper (The Revvy on this marker would be ironic)
32 degrees remote thick hose
Strengths: Lightweight
Looks nice
Groove for ball detent
x-rings
Weaknesses: Breaks balls more often - see review
less gas efficient
Review: Got the bolt. Installed the bolt. Used the bolt, so far only for chrono-ing and target practice out on the BLM land. Used stock Rodeo barrel. Used GameFace Visible impact paint. Used CO2. Elevation 7000 feet. Temperature 45 degrees F. No perceptible wind.

UPDATE 2-20-2007:

Today have tested about 1500 rounds with the bolt (with one break).

Got one break in the breech. In other words, not an actual "chop", not a barrel break either. It was fairly fresh GameFace Visual Impact paint, not the greatest, but still haven't broken a ball with my stock bolt for comparison. I suspect that it may be due to the pointed location on the front of the bolt where the slot meets the ball cup.

As for bounces, it seems now to be due to the reduced velocity unless I adjust the velocity.

Yeah, I know the myths about bolts increasing accuracy or range, I still fell for it though.

THE GOOD:
-This bolt is lighter weight than stock. Only 1.7 ounces. It seems to reduce kick and makes it a little easier to keep the marker on target.
-Looks unique and not everybody has one.

THE MEDIOCRE:
-Reduces FPS, therefore I need to adust for more velocity (and presumably use more CO2). Reduces FPS by about 10 FPS. Therefore, I increased velocity again by increasing my reg pressure from 550 psi to 650.
-Does not really seem to improve left-right stability or accuracy over my stock bolt.
-Broke one ball out of 200. Then I stopped testing for the day (needed a good cleaning)
-There seems to be a sharp angle drop off out of the barrel. I mean that I had to aim about 10 degrees higher to get a "level" flight path. Not really horrible, just different from what I'm used to.
-Slight backspin on the ball? I dont have any idea if there is any.

THE BAD:
-None. Nothing actually terrible.

UPDATE 2-26-2007:
Hmm- gave the bolt a shot (ahem, no pun intended) in actual game play. It shot about 15 fps slower than my stock bolt without adjusting the velocity. Played 2 games, I estimate about 400 to 500 balls before I got a break. Oh well.
Conclusion: I was not impressed, but I'll have to play in a game or two to try to get used to the bolt or to decide to dump it. It just shoots differently. I mostly play recball on fields about the size of a football field, so distance is not really a factor for me (you are up on your opponents pretty quickly). It may turn out to be nice to play with for the reduced kick.
Rating:
8 out of 10Last edited on Monday, February 26th, 2007 at 8:48 pm PST
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

Colin Basnett Monday, December 25th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Stock SIM-4 Bolt
Marker Setup: Ariakon SIM-4
Viewloader Revolution
CAR-15 3-Point Tactical Sling
Guarder ACOG Red Dot Scope
Ariakon Replica Silencer
'Low Blow' Delrin Bolt
Strengths: Increased Range
Doesn't Require O-Rings
Very Reasonable Price
Weaknesses: None
Review: I had my doubts about this bolt when I heard that it gave a large range increase, but from the first shot knew that I had made the right decision to buy this bolt.

I use a .688 caliber paintball, XBall Bronze and I see a good 30-50 foot increase in range per shot, if not more. Some people say you need a large bore paint to get the best results. I can hit targets that my buddies can't, which is really useful when some enemy thinks he's out of range of our shots.

Was easy to install, the connector pin was a bit fussy, but once you get it in there it slides in and out with ease. Make sure you have the correct Allan key, it's imperial, I think it's a 3/8" inch Allan key, but don't take my word for it. Only reason I mention this is because I had metric Allan keys left and right but no Imperial ones so I had to go to the hardware store and shell out like $2.50 for a proper key.
Conclusion: If you want an increase in range at an extremely reasonable price, you best be getting this bolt!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Sgt._Slaughter Monday, October 23rd, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Stock bolt and modified Delrin bolt (Ariakon Sim-4)
Marker Setup: Sim-4, led trigger(with custom response mode), Spyder rocking trigger, Palmer stabilizer(inline), 32 degrees 0-1200psi guage, stock single composite trigger. mock silencer(custom), Low Bolt delrin bolt, Magna port valve, New designz high flow valve, Custom ported valve, BSA 4X32 hunting/sniper scope, UTG weaver mounted bi-pod, M-4 weaver rails(for hand guard), M-4 carry handle weaver rail. Guarder fore grip, laser dot sight, Trinity ak-47 expansion chamber, Trinity sypder military stock(custom fitted), and a Kingman java remote+(3) 20oz bottles.
ACP2, Tippmann A-5, Viewloader Triad.
Strengths: Increases range without debasing accuracy, made of Delrin(tm)
Weaknesses: Using the right lubricant for the o-rings is decisive.
Review: Well Alamocitypb is a wonderful company to do business with from ordering to troubleshooting. Ron over there really is a great guy.

Anyways the bolt is made of Delrin. Which enables greater efficiency. They are lighter than the stock bolt and offer a angled inlet (porting to direct the propellant) to reduce turbulence and in return increase fps as well as increase consistency over a stock bolt.

The quality of the material and craftsmanship was perfect, and I had no complications installing this bolt. Prior to installing the bolt I removed the buna-Nitrle o-rings (black) and replaced them with poly-urethane(milky color.) Oiling the o-rings is a bit tricky since Acetal resins are notorious for absorbing oils despite what their perspective manufactures claim. The method that I use and seems work well is simply dipping the o-rings into some synthetic paintball engineered oil (such as Extreme Rage) using the wrong lubricant can cause a hand full of problems and ultimately ruin the effect that Delrin bolts are famous for, Now after you have dipped the o-rings you simply roll them on and into the grooves. Once they are in place use a clean towel and wrap around the bolt. The reason for this is because the grooves are slightly bigger to retain the oil for the o-rings. this method will remove all oil from the bolt and leave a small amount between the grooves to nourish the o-rings.

Now for my results...(note that these will slightly vary from marker to marker)...

I fired a couple rounds and immediately noticed a gain in distance. I didn't have a measure or anything setup but by eying it I could tell I gained around 60ft(effective range is also gained, but I'm not sure on exact distance.) I also noticed an decrease in FPS, and adjusted accordingly.

I then tried using a smaller bore paint and got close to an additional 10+ feet from the first batch. In total a average of 55-60ft was increased (effective range is also increased by similar numbers.)

Accurate and flat, best bolt for your money.
Conclusion: I recommend this product to anyone who wants a high performing bolt, without the extreme cost. This is Increase range and efficiency, what more could you ask for?
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
8 Comments - Add Comment
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media